125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jul 14 2020, 12:15 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Jul 13 2020, 01:06 AM)
i posted here time to time with another account. Now change account because privacy invaded matter  laugh.gif

anyway i just built this keyboard
user posted image'
gateron brown with springs changed to 55g, switch film added, springs lubed with 104, stabs band aid+clip, 4mm eva foam between pcb/backplate and everything else lubed with 205.

A lot of building processes which I thought was easy, turned up to be not.  tongue.gif I made tons of mistakes and took very long time messing around with the keyboard  biggrin.gif . Every thing is quite fun for me except the lubing part.  ranting.gif

The major mistakes i did were
- soldering quite a number of switches without the switches fully touching the PCB. Luckily i realized something was wrong before i proceeded to solder more switches. I learnt that it is very difficult to push the switches 'into' the pcb. My fingers are hurt now because of it.  biggrin.gif

-cutting the foam to put between plate and pcb. I ended up giving up and put nothing in between the plate and pcb. Have to be very precise in cutting the foam to leave enough space for each switch and stabilizers, but I failed miserably. All the shapes i drew by aligning the plate to the foam were all incorrect due to the stretchy nature of the eva foam and also not drawing exactly at the edges using pen. I wasted most of my time here.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif Here is the showcase of my masterpiece. 

I feel that Gat browns lubed are indeed overly light for me as oppose to be using MX Blues which I think is heavy. Might have to change all the switches to heavier ones in the future bangwall.gif  shakehead.gif

I had bought some 3mm LED bulbs, but havent soldered them yet. The led holes are at the lower part of the switches. I tested the leds through the holes with a lithium bat, but the effect is like very disappointing. All the letters/symbols are floating towards upper part of a key cap. I think last time someone asked the same question, but now how ah? I didn't know because I see the mx switches in razer mkb are all upside down one. XD

Also, the taihao keycaps im using dont have R0 1U Ctrl, FN, Alt and numpad 0 & R4 Delete, End and Page Down. doh.gif I wasn't thinking so thoroughly before this. I think most of the keycaps set doesnt have these, am i right? I read some where people saying have to buy the ortholinear keycap set of a GB/preorder lol. Can any1 give me advice regarding this?
not all have such matching key caps. try look for key sets that can support multiple layouts, e.g. those from enjoypbt (and also jtk, or gmk)

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jul 13 2020, 05:47 PM)
Hi all,

My Aula mechanical keyboard space bar is not working properly. And I'm unable to remove the space bar. Anyone can help me? I'm in PJ area.

it should be a space bar key cap that has tight stem holes. just lift it up with relatively more force, but do this slowly.

jdachum
post Jul 14 2020, 05:47 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jul 13 2020, 05:47 PM)
Hi all,

My Aula mechanical keyboard space bar is not working properly. And I'm unable to remove the space bar. Anyone can help me? I'm in PJ area.

I got the same keyboard as yours. Try pulling with equal force on left, middle and right as it has 3 stems.

I got a quesstion for the pros here, is it that any keycaps can be used for this keyboard? I'm thinking of getting some cheap keycaps for it.
PalakOtakHang
post Jul 14 2020, 06:48 PM

144 posts

Soldered leds. Learnt the hard way that not all legs orientation are the same. Had to resolder some leds too because they are too “shallow”. Learnt some tricks when desoldering/desoldering, im getting better at it biggrin.gif

PalakOtakHang
post Jul 14 2020, 06:54 PM

144 posts

Double posting because cant edit prev post.

Thinking of getting thicker non shine through
key caps too. Also backlit effect turns out to be less decent than how I imagined it to be.
FunkyBass
post Jul 15 2020, 12:13 PM

119 posts

My razer blackwidow stealth now got double click key problem..

Thinking want to change to Tecware Phantom 2020 TKL RGB....

is it recommended?
nders
post Jul 15 2020, 02:21 PM

Age of lost direction
1,069 posts

QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Jul 15 2020, 12:13 PM)

is it recommended?
That will be a downgrade in more ways than not.

I suggest you can get something similar to this:
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=f2eoes4od5c4

just a few drips into the problematic switches and it works wonder. I've fixed 5-6 misbehaving keys on a kb and another 2 keys on another kb.

I think it is only some thin lubricant, so it also reduce some scratchiness for me.
nbotsduo
post Jul 15 2020, 06:00 PM

25 posts

Is there any gateron brown keyboard beside tecware elite?
Need keyboard recommendation sifus
horns
post Jul 16 2020, 01:34 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Jul 15 2020, 12:13 PM)

is it recommended?
if possible get phantom elite tkl. afaik, phantom 2020 tkl uses outemu sockets, which can only support outemu switches.

QUOTE(nbotsduo @ Jul 15 2020, 06:00 PM)
Is there any gateron brown keyboard beside tecware elite?
Need keyboard recommendation sifus
iinm there are models from coolermaster that uses gateron brown.

however i think it's better to get phantom elite if you are interested in experiencing different switches later. with tweaks, tecware phantom elite is a good option imo.
nders
post Jul 16 2020, 10:13 AM

Age of lost direction
1,069 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 16 2020, 01:34 AM)
if possible get phantom elite tkl. afaik, phantom 2020 tkl uses outemu sockets, which can only support outemu switches.
iinm there are models from coolermaster that uses gateron brown.

however i think it's better to get phantom elite if you are interested in experiencing different switches later. with tweaks, tecware phantom elite is a good option imo.
any idea where to find Phantom Elite TKL? seems like only full size got stock on shopee and laz locally.
horns
post Jul 16 2020, 01:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nders @ Jul 16 2020, 10:13 AM)
any idea where to find Phantom Elite TKL? seems like only full size got stock on shopee and laz locally.
er for this part i think you have to do some leg work. i have mine from digital mall; bought it when it was it was still fresh in the market though.

StuartLee2015
post Jul 16 2020, 09:08 PM

1,221 posts

Recently my G613 got few keys starting to not responding, double type, or even triple... ( numpad area ), including the Enter Key from Numpad too... when it's not working, i pop off the keycap, blow into it, and it works for a while before back into not working. same for other keys... what's wrong?

I used Contact Cleaner, alcohol too.

horns
post Jul 16 2020, 10:36 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 16 2020, 09:08 PM)
Recently my G613 got few keys starting to not responding, double type, or even triple... ( numpad area ), including the Enter Key from Numpad too... when it's not working, i pop off the keycap, blow into it, and it works for a while before back into not working. same for other keys... what's wrong?

I used Contact Cleaner, alcohol too.
it should be dust. usually. if this is the case you can just repeat the air blowing part when it happens again.

however if you are ok with desoldering, you can just desolder, open them up, then clean them up

StuartLee2015
post Jul 17 2020, 12:16 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 16 2020, 10:36 PM)
it should be dust. usually. if this is the case you can just repeat the air blowing part when it happens again.

however if you are ok with desoldering, you can just desolder, open them up, then clean them up
I am looking at solder kit sold on shoppe...

those one with a bag... inside it has the solder wire.... ( is that what you call them )... will that be okay for use on soldering keyboard switches?

if i remember correctly... i read somewhere that the solder wire has size and must use xxmm on certain soldering on pcb.
PalakOtakHang
post Jul 17 2020, 06:45 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 17 2020, 12:16 AM)

those one with a bag... inside it has the solder wire.... ( is that what you call them )... will that be okay for use on soldering keyboard switches?

if i remember correctly... i read somewhere that the solder wire has size and must use xxmm on certain soldering on pcb.
Solder you can use 0.8mm or 1mm. If smaller than that, you will have to keep feeding solder to tip; If bigger, you might face difficulty melting the solder. You don't want your solder iron to be too hot too because will damage PCB.

StuartLee2015
post Jul 17 2020, 11:58 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Jul 17 2020, 06:45 AM)
Solder you can use 0.8mm or 1mm. If smaller than that, you will have to keep feeding solder to tip; If bigger, you might face difficulty melting the solder. You don't want your solder iron to be too hot too because will damage PCB.
This one says adjustable heat..... not sure about the solder wire diameter....

Do i need to put a thin coat on the switches bottom pin before inserting into the pcb?

How hot is too hot to avoid damaging PCB?

horns
post Jul 17 2020, 12:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 17 2020, 12:16 AM)

you can search this thread with keyword 'solder'. we talked about this just recently, with some reference on which solder wires to use.

about size, i use 0.6mm because it's comfortable for me to solder switches and led.
StuartLee2015
post Jul 17 2020, 12:50 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 17 2020, 12:39 PM)
you can search this thread with keyword 'solder'. we talked about this just recently, with some reference on which solder wires to use.

about size, i use 0.6mm because it's comfortable for me to solder switches and led.
not very versed in soldering terms... lol....
horns
post Jul 17 2020, 01:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 17 2020, 12:50 PM)
not very versed in soldering terms... lol....
same here hahaha

however, a temperature-controlled soldering iron, good solder wires, and a good desoldering pump allow me to manage my custom builds much easier now. still lack of practice, but can get the jobs done lol

niakulah
post Jul 17 2020, 01:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 17 2020, 01:11 PM)
same here hahaha

however, a temperature-controlled soldering iron, good solder wires, and a good desoldering pump allow me to manage my custom builds much easier now. still lack of practice, but can get the jobs done lol
How many times would you dare to desolder a board? What's a safe limit in your opinion?

I just lifted a pad in my cospad the other day....I think I was desoldering it for the 3rd time.
StuartLee2015
post Jul 17 2020, 02:08 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 17 2020, 01:11 PM)
same here hahaha

those solder kit in a bag cost about 40 - 50 is good?

what you use?

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:50 AM