7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

UNIFIED SMART HOME - GOOGLE HOME AND APPLE HOMEKIT, Connected home with no compromises

sixfooter
post Mar 24 2021, 09:35 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Mar 24 2021, 09:02 PM)
1 gang mean 1 switch per panel and 4 gang means 4 switch per panel
You mean those buttons?
celciuz
post Mar 24 2021, 09:45 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 09:35 PM)
You mean those buttons?
This Terncy design a bit unique... weather 1 gang or 4 gang, it comes with 4 buttons which you program to do some actions.
adamw
post Mar 24 2021, 11:31 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,356 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 24 2021, 09:45 PM)
This Terncy design a bit unique... weather 1 gang or 4 gang, it comes with 4 buttons which you program to do some actions.
You can buy 4 Gang Tuya and only used 1 gang & the other 3 gang can also be pair for other uses, nothing special about this feature.

This post has been edited by adamw: Mar 24 2021, 11:32 PM
yfyap69
post Mar 25 2021, 06:28 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 09:35 PM)
You mean those buttons?
Yes
celciuz
post Mar 25 2021, 09:11 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 24 2021, 11:31 PM)
You can buy 4 Gang Tuya and only used 1 gang & the other 3 gang can also be pair for other uses, nothing special about this feature.
I see, thanks for the info. Did a quick google for it, aiya I don’t like the design unfortunately but carries an attractive price tag 😆

The Tuya able to do like double tap and long press as alternative action?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 25 2021, 09:11 AM
adamw
post Mar 25 2021, 10:18 AM

3,356 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 25 2021, 09:11 AM)
I see, thanks for the info. Did a quick google for it, aiya I don’t like the design unfortunately but carries an attractive price tag 😆

The Tuya able to do like double tap and long press as alternative action?
Not on the smart switch, only their remote switch have this triple action.

XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM

455 posts

Hi everyone, I've read through the whole topic but still a little confused on a few things.

1. Is it all Zigbee protocol switches and appliances can connect to any Zigbee hub? Like if I buy other appliances also can connect to Terncy hub?

2. The extra switch that has "no gang" means cannot directly connect to a light/fan in your home, but can be used to control any other connected devices like one of those "cube" remotes or wireless remotes right?

3. I plan to use homebridge anyway because there will definitely still be things (e.g. xiaomi) that will probably never be homekit compatible, should I still try to find as many homekit accessories as possible then the rest use homebridge, or should I just go for the budget-friendly option for everything?

Thanks sifus for your time!
XweienX
post May 5 2021, 01:14 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM)
Hi everyone, I've read through the whole topic but still a little confused on a few things.

1. Is it all Zigbee protocol switches and appliances can connect to any Zigbee hub? Like if I buy other appliances also can connect to Terncy hub?

2. The extra switch that has "no gang" means cannot directly connect to a light/fan in your home, but can be used to control any other connected devices like one of those "cube" remotes or wireless remotes right?

3. I plan to use homebridge anyway because there will definitely still be things (e.g. xiaomi) that will probably never be homekit compatible, should I still try to find as many homekit accessories as possible then the rest use homebridge, or should I just go for the budget-friendly option for everything?

Anyone can help? notworthy.gif
Kiding
post May 5 2021, 02:53 PM

1,135 posts

1. No
2. what brand of product are you talking about?
3. if you are tech savvy, you can use homebridge to make all of your smart devices as homekit. if you are just a normal user, and wanted to use apple homekit to manage smart home, then get Aqara or Xiaomi.
hungrygodzilla
post May 5 2021, 06:04 PM

456 posts

1. answered by kiding
2. I believe you are asking for switches that have lesser gang vs the physical button, like terncy switch have 4 buttons but they are sold in 1 to 4 gangs. If you buy switch with 4 buttons with 1 gang, means you can have 1 button connect to wires. So that 1 gang will work as per normal dumb switch without any setup. The other 3 buttons is call programmable buttons, they are useless button if you never set up any automation. If budget allowed, buy full gang switch, at least for terncy's switch, say i buy 4 gang, only 2 connected to wires, 2 more empty gang can be used as programmable buttons.
3. That's my intended strategy, but based on my research, not a lot of the appliances is homekit enabled. Im ok with this route, mainly because im using terncy for all my switch, at the worst case scenario, i have a "universal" remote control version of "dump" smart home. Yes, can add more devices via homebridge, but again, not everything is straight forward to install and set up. At the very least a lot of the xiaomi stuff required more effort to get the token required to add to homebridge. Plus, i will set up home assistant as well to have a "more smart" smart home in long run.

This post has been edited by hungrygodzilla: May 5 2021, 06:05 PM
XweienX
post May 6 2021, 03:51 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 5 2021, 02:53 PM)

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ May 5 2021, 06:04 PM)

thanks for the replies, and yup, because the dicussion in the forum was a little complicated when they kept talking about the gangs and switches.

Always thought Zigbee was more like a universal language, so I guess I need to get a Terncy hub for Terncy products then another Aqara Hub for Xiaomi Products rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by XweienX: May 6 2021, 03:51 PM
celciuz
post May 6 2021, 04:09 PM

14,037 posts

So I bought some Terncy including the hub to try out... and now the switches prices went up quite a bit (no longer 129 for the 4gang) might need to consider Aqara instead... probably save more in the long run.
hungrygodzilla
post May 7 2021, 02:03 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ May 6 2021, 03:51 PM)
thanks for the replies, and yup, because the dicussion in the forum was a little complicated when they kept talking about the gangs and switches.

Always thought Zigbee was more like a universal language, so I guess I need to get a Terncy hub for Terncy products then another Aqara Hub for Xiaomi Products  rclxub.gif
It is supposingly and ideally a universal language, but company built the wall around their product to suck you into their eco system.
devil17
post Jul 22 2021, 05:21 PM

35 posts

Can I use Terncy Wall Switch (with Neutral Wire) for Water Heaters and Air conditioner?

XweienX
post Jul 23 2021, 08:09 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(devil17 @ Jul 22 2021, 05:21 PM)
Can I use Terncy Wall Switch (with Neutral Wire) for Water Heaters and Air conditioner?
are they 20A switches?
devil17
post Jul 25 2021, 11:35 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Jul 23 2021, 08:09 PM)
are they 20A switches?
Haha thanks that answered my question.
sawhueijye
post Jul 26 2021, 10:44 PM

30 posts

Hello all sifus, I have come across this brand WPM Home and they’re carrying devices and smart switches which labeled with Tuya, Google, iOS, android and tmall genie.

1. Does anyone heard about this brand? What are the pros and cons?
2. The switches are without neutral wire and claimed responsive, however the price is relatively cheaper than other brands like Terncy or Aqara. Are they okay?
XweienX
post Jul 27 2021, 10:57 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(devil17 @ Jul 25 2021, 11:35 AM)
Haha thanks that answered my question.
Haha, actually my meaning was more towards "are they 20A switches? Because if they are, I also want!"
tongue.gif
devil17
post Jul 30 2021, 10:51 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Jul 27 2021, 10:57 PM)
Haha, actually my meaning was more towards "are they 20A switches? Because if they are, I also want!"
tongue.gif
found this > https://shopee.com.my/Tuya-Water-Heater-Air...5457?position=6

Not sure if it helps.
adamw
post Jul 30 2021, 11:53 AM

3,356 posts

QUOTE(devil17 @ Jul 30 2021, 10:51 AM)
Single pole not safe for Aircon. Better look for double polling.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0349sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:11 PM