UNIFIED SMART HOME - GOOGLE HOME AND APPLE HOMEKIT, Connected home with no compromises

XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM

455 posts

Hi everyone, I've read through the whole topic but still a little confused on a few things.

1. Is it all Zigbee protocol switches and appliances can connect to any Zigbee hub? Like if I buy other appliances also can connect to Terncy hub?

2. The extra switch that has "no gang" means cannot directly connect to a light/fan in your home, but can be used to control any other connected devices like one of those "cube" remotes or wireless remotes right?

3. I plan to use homebridge anyway because there will definitely still be things (e.g. xiaomi) that will probably never be homekit compatible, should I still try to find as many homekit accessories as possible then the rest use homebridge, or should I just go for the budget-friendly option for everything?

Thanks sifus for your time!
XweienX
post May 5 2021, 01:14 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM)
Hi everyone, I've read through the whole topic but still a little confused on a few things.

1. Is it all Zigbee protocol switches and appliances can connect to any Zigbee hub? Like if I buy other appliances also can connect to Terncy hub?

2. The extra switch that has "no gang" means cannot directly connect to a light/fan in your home, but can be used to control any other connected devices like one of those "cube" remotes or wireless remotes right?

3. I plan to use homebridge anyway because there will definitely still be things (e.g. xiaomi) that will probably never be homekit compatible, should I still try to find as many homekit accessories as possible then the rest use homebridge, or should I just go for the budget-friendly option for everything?

Thanks sifus for your time!
Anyone can help? notworthy.gif
XweienX
post May 6 2021, 03:51 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 5 2021, 02:53 PM)

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ May 5 2021, 06:04 PM)

thanks for the replies, and yup, because the dicussion in the forum was a little complicated when they kept talking about the gangs and switches.

Always thought Zigbee was more like a universal language, so I guess I need to get a Terncy hub for Terncy products then another Aqara Hub for Xiaomi Products rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by XweienX: May 6 2021, 03:51 PM
XweienX
post Jul 23 2021, 08:09 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(devil17 @ Jul 22 2021, 05:21 PM)
Can I use Terncy Wall Switch (with Neutral Wire) for Water Heaters and Air conditioner?
are they 20A switches?
XweienX
post Jul 27 2021, 10:57 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(devil17 @ Jul 25 2021, 11:35 AM)
Haha thanks that answered my question.
Haha, actually my meaning was more towards "are they 20A switches? Because if they are, I also want!"
tongue.gif
XweienX
post Oct 22 2021, 06:39 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Westwood @ Oct 16 2021, 08:11 PM)
Hi, read the article, very informative and thanks for taking time to write on this topic.

I need some help since I'm planning to demolish my house and rebuilt it from 2 to 3 storey. Its just a corner terrace house. I am not so savvy on programming  and don’t have time to tinker with hardware. I also have parents who are not so tech savvy.

So, my question is this,

1. since its a demolish and rebuild, should i wire the house ( like for normal wiring of houses) and then install the switches or just plan from beginning as a smart house design

2. I'm looking at Lutron system (not decided), planning to have a look at their showroom at Kelana Jaya. This appears to out of the box setup from what the sales person is saying and they will help set it up.

3. I see lots of contractor not keen to have this and always have something negative to say about HA and smart home. Your opinion?
Please help me decide on the above matters, please also feel free to comment any other things that i have misses.

Thanks a lot for the input. smile.gif
I think at the end of the day still only 1 thing matters - budget.

If you have tons of money, just build the house as you like it then install a full smart home system that can control everything from 1 iPad like Crestron.

If no budget then only have to think which is better for you. So, if you can include your budget, probably easier to give suggestions. biggrin.gif

0.0258sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:55 AM