UNIFIED SMART HOME - GOOGLE HOME AND APPLE HOMEKIT, Connected home with no compromises
jaaway
Nov 21 2020, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(angmodan @ Nov 20 2020, 11:19 PM) Can share what are the reasons for you to use homekit instead of alexa or others? I know GA/Alexa is more established and I am an Android fanboy for yesrs. No particular reason, just Homekit got better and usable now mainly because I am planning to change to Apple phone from Android. bored of Google/android after so many years.
angmodan P
Nov 27 2020, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(adamw @ Nov 21 2020, 05:01 PM) I know but dare not say  PM? hahahah
knuxed
Jan 6 2021, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Jun 1 2020, 09:14 AM) Ok noted, so basically just get the 4 gangs whenever possible? since i can just not connect the wires and program the button instead, one last thing, without internet those i connected with wires will still work like a normal switch right? Lucky it's gonna be a new house, so i'll make sure everything point is connected to neutral. is it possible to retrofit a neutral wire onto a house?
adamw
Jan 6 2021, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(knuxed @ Jan 6 2021, 12:26 AM) is it possible to retrofit a neutral wire onto a house? If you have 3 pin socket or airco/heater switch nearby still possible but if you are not doing any renovation might be a bit messy.
hungrygodzilla
Jan 6 2021, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(knuxed @ Jan 6 2021, 12:26 AM) is it possible to retrofit a neutral wire onto a house? Possible definitely yes, just matter of how troublesome and how much.
knuxed
Jan 6 2021, 05:09 PM
am trying to find a 4 gang live wire switch though i cant find any in the market.
aqara and tency only has 3 gang for live wire.
any recommendation?
celciuz
Jan 19 2021, 08:41 AM
Nice thread! Just to check a if I understood correctly... Terncy switches are HomeKit compatible which means you wire
a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod b. Terncy Switch --> HomePod
a. or b.?
Also unfortunately my house which I just got keys back in Dec'20, does not have neutral wire for the switches. So I will need to work around it... if I were to loop from close by 13A/aircond/heater, they have to be within the same phase? eg. lights are on R1 while the aircond is on Y5 so I won't be able to use those right?
idoblu
Jan 19 2021, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 19 2021, 08:41 AM) Nice thread! Just to check a if I understood correctly... Terncy switches are HomeKit compatible which means you wire a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod b. Terncy Switch --> HomePod a. or b.? Also unfortunately my house which I just got keys back in Dec'20, does not have neutral wire for the switches. So I will need to work around it... if I were to loop from close by 13A/aircond/heater, they have to be within the same phase? eg. lights are on R1 while the aircond is on Y5 so I won't be able to use those right? there are switches with no need for neutral - https://shopee.com.my/Terncy-Wall-Switch-wi...3185.7229753354a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod loop from same phase neutral This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 19 2021, 09:04 AM
celciuz
Jan 19 2021, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2021, 08:59 AM) there are switches with no need for neutral - https://shopee.com.my/Terncy-Wall-Switch-wi...3185.7229753354a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod loop from same phase neutral I see! Thanks for the clarification. Well I guess, ideally I would prefer the neutral switch... by pulling wire from the ceiling down or from nearby 13A with same phase. But meaning R1 I can pull neutral from R2 or R3 right? Assuming there is one nearby... Need to get my contractor to identify my wirings. Added quite a bit of sockets so the original MnE isn't matching already. So if I'm mixing different brands... but I still get to control via HomeKit right. Brand A switch --> Brand A hub --> HomePod Brand B switch --> Brand B hub --> HomePod This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 19 2021, 10:29 AM
sixfooter
Mar 22 2021, 04:54 PM

Hi. It looks like Aqara has launched a new hub which support Zigbee as well. Would this be a good buy to set up an 860sqft apartment? https://www.aqara.com/us/smart_hub_m2.htmlAlso did you guys did all the wiring yourself or get someone to do it? I am also sourcing for those 3-pin UK wall plug but it seems to be only US plug are available.
celciuz
Mar 22 2021, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 22 2021, 04:54 PM) Hi. It looks like Aqara has launched a new hub which support Zigbee as well. Would this be a good buy to set up an 860sqft apartment? https://www.aqara.com/us/smart_hub_m2.htmlAlso did you guys did all the wiring yourself or get someone to do it? I am also sourcing for those 3-pin UK wall plug but it seems to be only US plug are available. M1S is already zigbee right? But this one has ethernet connection though.
sicklad77
Mar 22 2021, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 22 2021, 04:54 PM) Hi. It looks like Aqara has launched a new hub which support Zigbee as well. Would this be a good buy to set up an 860sqft apartment? https://www.aqara.com/us/smart_hub_m2.htmlAlso did you guys did all the wiring yourself or get someone to do it? I am also sourcing for those 3-pin UK wall plug but it seems to be only US plug are available. Officialy sold in malaysia for a few weeks already.. got it from ai home. Awesome zigbee device. For ur 807sqft will be more than enough. For lights, suggest to go for the d1 no neutral smart switches. Easy to install. A bit pricey but compare to those other smart switches that comes with neutral wires, u need to install a capacitor, which will make it a hassle..
celciuz
Mar 23 2021, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:06 PM) Officialy sold in malaysia for a few weeks already.. got it from ai home. Awesome zigbee device. For ur 807sqft will be more than enough. For lights, suggest to go for the d1 no neutral smart switches. Easy to install. A bit pricey but compare to those other smart switches that comes with neutral wires, u need to install a capacitor, which will make it a hassle.. How much did you paid for it? UK plug? Cheapest I found on Shopee is RM269, coming from China instead of local.
sixfooter
Mar 23 2021, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:06 PM) Officialy sold in malaysia for a few weeks already.. got it from ai home. Awesome zigbee device. For ur 807sqft will be more than enough. For lights, suggest to go for the d1 no neutral smart switches. Easy to install. A bit pricey but compare to those other smart switches that comes with neutral wires, u need to install a capacitor, which will make it a hassle.. I still don't get it for the difference between non-neutral and neutral smart switches, it is only to make the connection more reliable and fast? Since mine is a new home I think I can get the wireman to help install it, unless he doesn't know how. But I found out that Xiaomi design looks nicer but without ethernet: https://www.aihome.my/XIAOMI-Intelligent-Mu...?search=gatewayAlso can I know how does Zigbee works? Does it need to be setup so that it can communicate with each other or everything will be automated once connected to the gateway?
sixfooter
Mar 24 2021, 12:18 PM

@kokhoong0624 Are you using this Terncy switch/gateway for your home? https://www.terncy.com/en-us/homecenter/
celciuz
Mar 24 2021, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 12:18 PM) @kokhoong0624 Are you using this Terncy switch/gateway for your home? https://www.terncy.com/en-us/homecenter/Terncy Shopee enabled the discounts again after I messaged them haha, gonna grab 1 set during 4.4
YH820
Mar 24 2021, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 24 2021, 03:34 PM) Terncy Shopee enabled the discounts again after I messaged them haha, gonna grab 1 set during 4.4 which discount u r refering to? previously they offer 50% leh... now 35 je.... btw, i juz found out there is actually new terncy wall switch launched but tat is in china..... er... actually this newly launch switch jade is the 3rd ver.... the 2nd ver is so damn exp n look premium..... the new version max 3 gang onli.... n look more normal, price lower than current version available in shopee..... if u r not rushing.... can wait for the new switch... but no news on when they will launch in malaysia la....
celciuz
Mar 24 2021, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 24 2021, 03:59 PM) which discount u r refering to? previously they offer 50% leh... now 35 je.... btw, i juz found out there is actually new terncy wall switch launched but tat is in china..... er... actually this newly launch switch jade is the 3rd ver.... the 2nd ver is so damn exp n look premium..... the new version max 3 gang onli.... n look more normal, price lower than current version available in shopee..... if u r not rushing.... can wait for the new switch... but no news on when they will launch in malaysia la....  Ahh got 50% before?? The time when I read it.. was RM129 for 4 gang neutral wire. I looking at Terncy mainly for the 4 gang capability, so will be grabbing this series. Damn, quite a few switches to change... If look like this might as well I buy Aqara This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 24 2021, 04:32 PM
sixfooter
Mar 24 2021, 05:05 PM

Noob question: What is 1 Gang to 4 Gang switch? Haha
yfyap69
Mar 24 2021, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 05:05 PM) Noob question: What is 1 Gang to 4 Gang switch? Haha 1 gang mean 1 switch per panel and 4 gang means 4 switch per panel