UNIFIED SMART HOME - GOOGLE HOME AND APPLE HOMEKIT, Connected home with no compromises
celciuz
Jan 19 2021, 08:41 AM
Nice thread! Just to check a if I understood correctly... Terncy switches are HomeKit compatible which means you wire
a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod b. Terncy Switch --> HomePod
a. or b.?
Also unfortunately my house which I just got keys back in Dec'20, does not have neutral wire for the switches. So I will need to work around it... if I were to loop from close by 13A/aircond/heater, they have to be within the same phase? eg. lights are on R1 while the aircond is on Y5 so I won't be able to use those right?
celciuz
Jan 19 2021, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2021, 08:59 AM) there are switches with no need for neutral - https://shopee.com.my/Terncy-Wall-Switch-wi...3185.7229753354a. Terncy Switch --> Terncy Hub --> HomePod loop from same phase neutral I see! Thanks for the clarification. Well I guess, ideally I would prefer the neutral switch... by pulling wire from the ceiling down or from nearby 13A with same phase. But meaning R1 I can pull neutral from R2 or R3 right? Assuming there is one nearby... Need to get my contractor to identify my wirings. Added quite a bit of sockets so the original MnE isn't matching already. So if I'm mixing different brands... but I still get to control via HomeKit right. Brand A switch --> Brand A hub --> HomePod Brand B switch --> Brand B hub --> HomePod This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 19 2021, 10:29 AM
celciuz
Mar 22 2021, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 22 2021, 04:54 PM) Hi. It looks like Aqara has launched a new hub which support Zigbee as well. Would this be a good buy to set up an 860sqft apartment? https://www.aqara.com/us/smart_hub_m2.htmlAlso did you guys did all the wiring yourself or get someone to do it? I am also sourcing for those 3-pin UK wall plug but it seems to be only US plug are available. M1S is already zigbee right? But this one has ethernet connection though.
celciuz
Mar 23 2021, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:06 PM) Officialy sold in malaysia for a few weeks already.. got it from ai home. Awesome zigbee device. For ur 807sqft will be more than enough. For lights, suggest to go for the d1 no neutral smart switches. Easy to install. A bit pricey but compare to those other smart switches that comes with neutral wires, u need to install a capacitor, which will make it a hassle.. How much did you paid for it? UK plug? Cheapest I found on Shopee is RM269, coming from China instead of local.
celciuz
Mar 24 2021, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 12:18 PM) @kokhoong0624 Are you using this Terncy switch/gateway for your home? https://www.terncy.com/en-us/homecenter/Terncy Shopee enabled the discounts again after I messaged them haha, gonna grab 1 set during 4.4
celciuz
Mar 24 2021, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 24 2021, 03:59 PM) which discount u r refering to? previously they offer 50% leh... now 35 je.... btw, i juz found out there is actually new terncy wall switch launched but tat is in china..... er... actually this newly launch switch jade is the 3rd ver.... the 2nd ver is so damn exp n look premium..... the new version max 3 gang onli.... n look more normal, price lower than current version available in shopee..... if u r not rushing.... can wait for the new switch... but no news on when they will launch in malaysia la....  Ahh got 50% before?? The time when I read it.. was RM129 for 4 gang neutral wire. I looking at Terncy mainly for the 4 gang capability, so will be grabbing this series. Damn, quite a few switches to change... If look like this might as well I buy Aqara This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 24 2021, 04:32 PM
celciuz
Mar 24 2021, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(sixfooter @ Mar 24 2021, 09:35 PM) This Terncy design a bit unique... weather 1 gang or 4 gang, it comes with 4 buttons which you program to do some actions.
celciuz
Mar 25 2021, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 24 2021, 11:31 PM) You can buy 4 Gang Tuya and only used 1 gang & the other 3 gang can also be pair for other uses, nothing special about this feature. I see, thanks for the info. Did a quick google for it, aiya I don’t like the design unfortunately but carries an attractive price tag 😆 The Tuya able to do like double tap and long press as alternative action? This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 25 2021, 09:11 AM
celciuz
May 6 2021, 04:09 PM
So I bought some Terncy including the hub to try out... and now the switches prices went up quite a bit (no longer 129 for the 4gang) might need to consider Aqara instead... probably save more in the long run.