143 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

dwRK
post Dec 24 2021, 04:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(premier239 @ Dec 24 2021, 04:54 PM)
hmmm, means if more than rm20k, for normies better save in cimb sg... or hedge/invest in ibkr
wise is not a bank... just a payment gateway...
kokomon
post Dec 24 2021, 05:01 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(leo2010 @ Dec 24 2021, 11:47 AM)
Received MY Wise card this week and managed to activate/use it for chip & pin transaction.

However, it failed to get through contactless transaction yesterday, after activation.

Anyone faces similar problem ?

Is your pin 4 digit? Does it work with pin and pay because in MY we need 6 digit pin.
leo2010
post Dec 24 2021, 09:00 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kokomon @ Dec 24 2021, 05:01 PM)
Is your pin 4 digit? Does it work with pin and pay because in MY we need 6 digit pin.
It's 4-digit PIN and worked with chip & PIN transaction.

I just tried contactless at another store just now and the transaction went through successfully.

It's all good to go.

red streak
post Dec 28 2021, 12:54 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Just got my WISE card rclxm9.gif Ready to keep it in the drawer laugh.gif
ZeneticX
post Dec 28 2021, 03:27 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

got my wise card as well today. surprisingly its on time within the deadline they mention (28th Dec)
annoymous1234
post Dec 28 2021, 09:11 PM

7,616 posts

Received my card too. Not gonna use it but since its free to apply why not. Next year want to apply need to pay. Plus no annual fee. Free things must take biggrin.gif
iqlas
post Dec 29 2021, 12:27 PM

214 posts

I have 2 question:

1) if i have usd balance in wise account, then i use the card to pay for myr goods. It will auto convert the balance need to pay for the goods correct? Which is around 0.2% expense if im not mistaken.

2) if i have myr balance in wise account and want to transfer it to myr bank account what is the charge incurred? As in is it fixed value or % based?
TSweisinx7
post Dec 29 2021, 02:43 PM

213 posts

So anyone can take over this post and change it to transferwise discussion? Admin can help?
baby_4ever
post Dec 29 2021, 02:45 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(iqlas @ Dec 29 2021, 12:27 PM)
I have 2 question:

1) if i have usd balance in wise account, then i use the card to pay for myr goods. It will auto convert the balance need to pay for the goods correct? Which is around 0.2% expense if im not mistaken.

2) if i have myr balance in wise account and want to transfer it to myr bank account what is the charge incurred? As in is it fixed value or % based?
0.2% very cheap
post Dec 31 2021, 10:56 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(iqlas @ Dec 29 2021, 12:27 PM)
I have 2 question:

Check the conversion calculator here:
https://wise.com/price-change/borderless-co...879&scl=7969227

it's 0.5% it seems.

For 2, I'm not sure if you can do MYR to MYR transfers, at least it seems so on business accounts

QUOTE(kokomon @ Dec 24 2021, 05:01 PM)
Works fine, just do the 4pin and confirm it. Funny thing actually, if you go to europe and use your MY chip and pin card, some machines only accept 4 pins, so you have to input the first four pin of your six instead

QUOTE(RickJames09 @ Dec 21 2021, 06:45 PM)
Hey. Wondering if wise business account is available right now in Malaysia? If yes, will I be getting business card (debit)
There are business accounts in Malaysia. But the business accounts do not have debit card support like individual account, it's not available yet. Like others mentioned, to verify your business acc, you have to pay a fee and submit documentations. If they are not able to verify you, they will refund the payment. So check your email, in most cases, there are followups on documentation submissions

This post has been edited by 000022: Dec 31 2021, 11:13 AM
Davidtcf
post Dec 31 2021, 03:05 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

So next time if I wanna transfer to IBKR how? I deposit money direct into my USD wise then transfer to IBKR. After May 2022 I can’t do so anymore?

Nvm got the answer from this post. Thanks

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 17 2021, 03:58 PM)
Can get. You will get a routing number for Wire, can't setup ACH though.

Just deposit and click send in multicurrency balance, and send with the personal balance account details they give you. I deposited with GBP, USD and SGD this way.

I even withdrew GBP from IBKR to Wise at 0 fees.
This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 31 2021, 04:44 PM
greyshadow
post Dec 31 2021, 04:01 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

anyone tried using their card on some foreign sites that only accept their local CC?

I noticed we can change the billing address of the card including the country

dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 05:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Dec 31 2021, 04:01 PM)

I noticed we can change the billing address of the card including the country
means you haven't done any transactions
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 05:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Dec 28 2021, 12:54 AM)
Just got my WISE card rclxm9.gif Ready to keep it in the drawer  laugh.gif
support wise... use it lah... laugh.gif

if not later they cancel card service for malaysia... hahaha
Justmua
post Dec 31 2021, 06:14 PM

418 posts

Does anyone know when we use the Wise debit card to withdraw cash, which bank's ATM allow for zero charge? If there is a charge, how much is it?

Thank you.

MUM
post Dec 31 2021, 06:21 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Dec 31 2021, 06:14 PM)
Does anyone know when we use the Wise debit card to withdraw cash, which bank's ATM allow for zero charge? If there is a charge, how much is it?

Thank you.
While waiting for value added responses, I Googled and found this.
Hope it can provides you with some info while you wait....
How much does it cost to withdraw cash?
https://wise.com/help/articles/2935769/how-...o-withdraw-cash

alextan99
post Dec 31 2021, 06:22 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 31 2021, 06:21 PM)
While waiting for value added responses, I Googled and found this.
Hope it can provides you with some info while you wait....
How much does it cost to withdraw cash?
https://wise.com/help/articles/2935769/how-...o-withdraw-cash
This is WISE charge but I think usually bank's ATM have some kind of charge to use them as well. I'm unsure of the amount
Justmua
post Dec 31 2021, 06:25 PM

418 posts

OK. If anyone knows of local ATM charges, do share.

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Dec 31 2021, 06:22 PM)
This is WISE charge but I think usually bank's ATM have some kind of charge to use them as well. I'm unsure of the amount
SUSyklooi
post Dec 31 2021, 06:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Dec 31 2021, 06:25 PM)
OK. If anyone knows of local ATM charges, do share.
From that link,...
If you got your debit card in Japan, Singapore or Canada you won’t be able to use it to make ATM withdrawals locally.

Did not include malaysia? 🤔🤔
Or not yet update the info yet? 😳
street
post Dec 31 2021, 08:29 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(000022 @ Dec 31 2021, 10:56 AM)
Works fine, just do the 4pin and confirm it. Funny thing actually, if you go to europe and use your MY chip and pin card, some machines only accept 4 pins, so you have to input the first four pin of your six instead
I was just about to ask this regarding 4 pins here and 6 pins overseas and vice-versa. Thanks for the info! smile.gif

143 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:17 AM