Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 09:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(street @ Dec 31 2021, 08:29 PM)
I was just about to ask this regarding 4 pins here and 6 pins overseas and vice-versa. Thanks for the info! smile.gif
i have a 6 pin foreign card... when I use here, cucuk into pos straight away approve and print receipt liao... no need to enter pin... pin only for ATM withdrawals... lol
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 09:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Dec 31 2021, 06:14 PM)
Does anyone know when we use the Wise debit card to withdraw cash, which bank's ATM allow for zero charge? If there is a charge, how much is it?

Thank you.
QUOTE(alextan99 @ Dec 31 2021, 06:22 PM)
This is WISE charge but I think usually bank's ATM have some kind of charge to use them as well. I'm unsure of the amount
QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 31 2021, 06:30 PM)
From that link,...
If you got your debit card in Japan, Singapore or Canada you won’t be able to use it to make ATM withdrawals locally.

Did not include malaysia? 🤔🤔
Or not yet update the info yet? 😳
i dunno how wise set up the card for local ATM...

If treated as local card... just withdraw amount and wise will manage the fees per t&c... I suspect this is the case

if treated as foreign card... you have option to pick conversion by the atm bank with its cut throat fx rate, or no conversion that will be then handled by wise
post Jan 1 2022, 08:42 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 31 2021, 09:19 PM)
i dunno how wise set up the card for local ATM...

If treated as local card... just withdraw amount and wise will manage the fees per t&c... I suspect this is the case

if treated as foreign card... you have option to pick conversion by the atm bank with its cut throat fx rate, or no conversion that will be then handled by wise
From the debit card pricing
https://wise.com/my/multi-currency-account/pricing

Pretty steep if you withdraw > rm 1000 per month @ 1.75%. Better to just remit to local bank account and withdraw there.
dwRK
post Jan 1 2022, 10:06 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(000022 @ Jan 1 2022, 08:42 AM)
From the debit card pricing
https://wise.com/my/multi-currency-account/pricing

Pretty steep if you withdraw > rm 1000 per month @ 1.75%. Better to just remit to local bank account and withdraw there.
at least they give some free withdrawals... its not a bank card so it's to be expected

some local banks also charge if you withdraw more than x times depending on type of account

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 1 2022, 10:07 AM
SUSTOS
post Jan 2 2022, 05:07 PM

8,667 posts

Ordered my Wise card today. Still free of charge with the standard postal delivery. Seems like the "promotion" has been extended.

Side note: I am interested in how much Wise makes out of all the kind and nice services provided, checking their IR page, while gross margin is close to 70%, the bottom line net margin is somewhere between 3-10%.
Davidtcf
post Jan 3 2022, 07:45 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

Wtf this is year 2020 thread. Who went and resurrect this thread? Darn
Archemedia
post Jan 3 2022, 08:01 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 3 2022, 07:45 PM)
Wtf this is year 2020 thread. Who went and resurrect this thread? Darn
this is an active discussion thread.... no resurrection or whatsoever

xdontmessup
post Jan 3 2022, 10:11 PM

20 posts

anyone have experience with wise business? is it instant approval when open account? do they have debit card for business? thanks
killeralta
post Jan 3 2022, 11:02 PM

244 posts

I got the wise card today but then when wanna activate the app say not available at Malaysia.
Justmua
post Jan 3 2022, 11:06 PM

418 posts

I can activate.

QUOTE(killeralta @ Jan 3 2022, 11:02 PM)
I got the wise card today but then when wanna activate  the app say not available at Malaysia.
!@#$%^
post Jan 3 2022, 11:20 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

I got the wise card today but then when wanna activate  the app say not available at Malaysia.
try website
Kadaj
post Jan 4 2022, 09:54 AM

584 posts

You need to spend by using Pin to active the card.
post Jan 4 2022, 12:53 PM

761 posts

Make sure you're using your personal account. Business account has no support for it yet
fruitie
post Jan 4 2022, 01:58 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

Got my card today too. Contactless transaction activation requires one PIN transaction. Not sure where to spend RM 1 with PIN to avoid cashier giving me long face. sweat.gif
ZeneticX
post Jan 4 2022, 04:38 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

If not mistaken for the first PIN transaction, withdrawal at ATM is counted as well. Not necessary need to spend at merchant terminal

Please correct me if I'm wrong
Hoshiyuu
post Jan 4 2022, 08:51 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 4 2022, 01:58 PM)
Got my card today too. Contactless transaction activation requires one PIN transaction. Not sure where to spend RM 1 with PIN to avoid cashier giving me long face. sweat.gif
I did it at McD for an ice cream cone at the self serving panel biggrin.gif
unknowmaster
post Jan 4 2022, 11:42 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(xdontmessup @ Jan 3 2022, 10:11 PM)
anyone have experience with wise business? is it instant approval when open account? do they have debit card for business? thanks
I got one opened earlier today.

1) Sign up, fill in all the information.
2) You are unable to topup the fund to verify your account via MYR bank.
3) Complete your verification by paying 112RM using credit/debit card using SGD (Extra charges will apply due to exchange rate and charges by card company)
4) Once you try to add fund into your account, they will hold the fund and request documents for verification via email
5) Follow email link to upload the documents(SSM INFO not the SSM cover cert, and credit card statement stating your house address, Telco bill not accepted)
I found out there is 2 link. One for Ssm and one for bank statement
6) Wait a while and your account will be verified and you can obtain 8 currency bank account SGD,EURO,US and etc. Malaysia is not supported yet.

Finally no business debit card yet. You can only transfer fund to other bank acc.
I have yet to try transferring to my personal wise account yet. Will give it a try once I receive payment from my SG client.
Davidtcf
post Jan 5 2022, 09:14 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Archemedia @ Jan 3 2022, 08:01 PM)
this is an active discussion thread.... no resurrection or whatsoever
It says wise closing borderless account in year 2020. I was thinking it is referring to 2022. Check title of thread. After read closely only realise.

So no more such news of them closing borderless account right for Malaysia? Now smooth sailing adi?

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 5 2022, 09:14 AM
fruitie
post Jan 5 2022, 09:50 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 4 2022, 04:38 PM)
If not mistaken for the first PIN transaction, withdrawal at ATM is counted as well. Not necessary need to spend at merchant terminal

Please correct me if I'm wrong
Need to pay for the withdrawal charges right?

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Jan 4 2022, 08:51 PM)
I did it at McD for an ice cream cone at the self serving panel biggrin.gif
Yeah, I was thinking the same too. laugh.gif
kart
post Jan 5 2022, 09:57 AM

1,597 posts

I am sorry that I cannot locate a more recent PayPal thread. Anyway, I want to ask on how to transfer USD from my PayPal Malaysia account, to my Wise Multi Currency USD account.

I have tiny amount of USD in my PayPal Malaysia account. The issue is that PayPal Malaysia allows withdrawal to only Malaysian bank savings accounts. As such, my USD will be converted at PayPal's unfavourable USD-MYR rate.

I would prefer that my USD is directly transferred from my PayPal Malaysia account, to my Wise Multi Currency USD account. That way, I can keep my money as USD, avoiding the loss to currency exchange. I do not mind paying some fee for the direct transfer, as long as my money is retained as USD.

Thank you for your advice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kart: Jan 5 2022, 09:58 AM

143 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 AM