Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0
Steve78
Oct 21 2023, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(veloos @ Oct 21 2023, 11:23 AM) Do have the MCA debit card... but the rate remain as expensive once clicked in. Try mobile apps also showing the same. Seem may need to drop by branch to enquiries.  Yes, there seems to be an issue with your rate. For your reference, here's my rate.
veloos
Oct 22 2023, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 21 2023, 02:42 PM) I think they did not link your MCA debit card. I remembered when I created mine, the officer says need to link the card or you won't get the special rate. You need to go to the branch for them to set it right. BTW, do you now have only 1 debit card (ie MCA debit card now combined with ATM debit card). Officer told me that I had to combine them into 1 card only 1 debit card. Maybe didn't linked properly causing the issue.
Medufsaid
Oct 31 2023, 05:29 PM
just a reminder that new wise signups won't have USD accounts for now
blabla987
Nov 6 2023, 08:29 AM
Hi sifu all, i am going taiwan soon... but i realise wise no support taiwan... should i go taiwan to withdraw money via wise or just use the contactless feature... which is better and cheaper
yushin
Nov 9 2023, 03:21 PM
I just withdraw twd20k cash from ATM in Taiwan airport now. Yes, wise works in Taiwan.
This post has been edited by yushin: Nov 9 2023, 03:23 PM
Takudan
Nov 10 2023, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 9 2023, 03:21 PM) I just withdraw twd20k cash from ATM in Taiwan airport now. Yes, wise works in Taiwan. How about ATM/Wise charges, if any?
yushin
Nov 10 2023, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(Takudan @ Nov 10 2023, 01:55 PM) How about ATM/Wise charges, if any? ATM will charge 229.63twd. Wise has their currency conversion charges. This post has been edited by yushin: Nov 10 2023, 05:00 PM
laymank
Nov 10 2023, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 10 2023, 04:59 PM) ATM will charge 229.63twd. Wise has their currency conversion charges. That's likely the Wise's 1.75% for amount more than RM1000 in ATM withdrawal. ATM withdrawal fee, if any, usually is about TWD100.
laymank
Nov 10 2023, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(blabla987 @ Nov 6 2023, 08:29 AM) Hi sifu all, i am going taiwan soon... but i realise wise no support taiwan... should i go taiwan to withdraw money via wise or just use the contactless feature... which is better and cheaper Withdraw RM1000 worth of TWD (around TWD6700) from ATM free of charge from Wise. Then use the contactless (paywave) feature of Wise card wherever acceptable. If you are coming during month end crossing over to new month, can withdraw another RM1000 worth of TWD for free. ATM at the convenient store, if not from bank usually imposes TWD100 withdrawal fee. I've tried 國泰銀行 ATM, no ATM fee imposed.
elea88
Nov 10 2023, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 10 2023, 05:21 PM) Withdraw RM1000 worth of TWD (around TWD6700) from ATM free of charge from Wise. Then use the contactless (paywave) feature of Wise card wherever acceptable. If you are coming during month end crossing over to new month, can withdraw another RM1000 worth of TWD for free. ATM at the convenient store, if not from bank usually imposes TWD100 withdrawal fee. I've tried 國泰銀行 ATM, no ATM fee imposed. thank you so much for the information.
blabla987
Nov 11 2023, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 10 2023, 05:21 PM) Withdraw RM1000 worth of TWD (around TWD6700) from ATM free of charge from Wise. Then use the contactless (paywave) feature of Wise card wherever acceptable. If you are coming during month end crossing over to new month, can withdraw another RM1000 worth of TWD for free. ATM at the convenient store, if not from bank usually imposes TWD100 withdrawal fee. I've tried 國泰銀行 ATM, no ATM fee imposed. thank you sifu for the information...
premier239
Nov 13 2023, 01:39 PM

saw bigp@y will charge for topup to card using credit card now right for wise virtual card, cant topup using credit card?
This post has been edited by premier239: Nov 13 2023, 01:40 PM
Medufsaid
Nov 13 2023, 02:02 PM
not just credit card. Debit card never an option for Wise also. just switch to tng ewallet, RM1k free cc topup monthly
amy33
Nov 14 2023, 11:26 AM
Hi, A company in US is reimbursing me USD 180 and requesting for my bank account details. Is it better to receive this via Wise USD account or to our local bank ? Anyone faced any issues receiving money transfer using Wise ? I'm worried my fund may get stuck. They are asking for bank name. Do I use the name in the Wise app (Community Federal Savings Bank) or Wise? Thanks.
ericlaiys
Nov 14 2023, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(amy33 @ Nov 14 2023, 11:26 AM) Hi, A company in US is reimbursing me USD 180 and requesting for my bank account details. Is it better to receive this via Wise USD account or to our local bank ? Anyone faced any issues receiving money transfer using Wise ? I'm worried my fund may get stuck. They are asking for bank name. Do I use the name in the Wise app (Community Federal Savings Bank) or Wise? Thanks. u can refer to wise acc info
Medufsaid
Nov 14 2023, 11:45 AM
cheapest way to get it back in ringgit - make sure Wise have already given u a bank acct info
- ask them to ACH to your US bank acct provided by wise
- after hours or couple of days, wait for U$ to be banked in
- convert to ringgit
- using your wise debit card, reload RM to your TnG ewallet/BigPay
brianw87
Nov 14 2023, 11:45 AM
Can you send money from your Wise business account to your MYR local bank account?
amy33
Nov 14 2023, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 14 2023, 11:34 AM) u can refer to wise acc info Hi Yes, I got it the details from there. I'm just wondering if anyone faces any issues or its better to save the headache and use our local banks. But their rates are so low. Thanks.
amy33
Nov 14 2023, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 14 2023, 11:45 AM) cheapest way to get it back in ringgit
- make sure Wise have already given u a bank acct info
- ask them to ACH to your US bank acct provided by wise
- after hours or couple of days, wait for U$ to be banked in
- convert to ringgit
- using your wise debit card, reload RM to your TnG ewallet/BigPay
Thanks so much ! Will do as advised.
Garysydney
Nov 14 2023, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(brianw87 @ Nov 14 2023, 11:45 AM) Can you send money from your Wise business account to your MYR local bank account? My Wise acct is Aust-based as my address is in Paddington, Sydney. I have been given an acct in Aust which i use to regularly transfer from Aus->RM. I wonder how if i need to transfer RM->Aus? Wonder if i can ask Wise to give me a local MYR acct? If not, i will need to ask my wife to open up a Msian-based WISE acct like how most of you guys in here are doing.