Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

laymank
post Dec 5 2022, 11:47 AM

4,232 posts

Was wondering how some people can add Wise Card to Google Pay.

https://wise.com/help/articles/2977965/how-...with-google-pay

Can I add my Wise card to Google Pay?
At the moment, you can add your card to Google Pay if your address is in Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK, and the US.
laymank
post Mar 16 2023, 09:38 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Mar 13 2023, 09:50 PM)
so I read we can withdraw RM1000 max per month

so does it mean IF I go Singapore, 1000/3.3 = SDG303 MAX per month

same concept to other currencies?
That‘s only true for 'Free' withdrawal fee.
You can withdraw more than RM1K, but with a fee.
laymank
post Mar 17 2023, 09:55 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Mar 17 2023, 09:43 PM)
u guys still can change country?
mine is disabled

[attachmentid=11441056]
Mine is also disabled.
laymank
post Apr 17 2023, 09:35 AM

4,232 posts

Quick question,

Any Thailand ATM that doesn't charge additional fee to withdraw from Wise's thai baht account?

or all ATM withdrawal in Thailand subject to network fee by the bank? Couldn't find a clear answer from the thread.

laymank
post May 11 2023, 09:47 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ May 11 2023, 03:04 PM)
Can, but there will be hefty charges by CC company. I think they treat it as cash advance or something. My friend tested topup RM100 for her new card, kena charge RM18 or so for it. WTF.
Mine credit card option is marked as 'unavailable payment option'.
laymank
post Jun 8 2023, 01:22 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jun 3 2023, 03:44 PM)
Can I withdraw TWD in Taiwan ATM machine with the wise card? I plan to go Taiwan later but I can't find TWD currency in my wise app.
Yes, you can withdraw TWD from Taiwan's Bank ATM without withdrawal fee if withdraw less than RM1000/month.
If withdraw from 7-11 ATM, may incur TWD100 withdrawal fee.

And no, you will not have TWD currency in Wise wallet. But you can keep the money in any other currencies, it will auto convert from the best currency for you.

laymank
post Sep 26 2023, 02:44 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 25 2023, 02:28 PM)
Contactless doesn't work last year and looks like still not working today.
can consider using Google Wallet with Wise now for contactless.
laymank
post Nov 10 2023, 05:16 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 10 2023, 04:59 PM)
ATM will charge 229.63twd.
Wise has their currency conversion charges.
That's likely the Wise's 1.75% for amount more than RM1000 in ATM withdrawal.
ATM withdrawal fee, if any, usually is about TWD100.
laymank
post Nov 10 2023, 05:21 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(blabla987 @ Nov 6 2023, 08:29 AM)
Hi sifu all, i am going taiwan soon... but i realise wise no support taiwan... should i go taiwan to withdraw money via wise or just use the contactless feature... which is better and cheaper
Withdraw RM1000 worth of TWD (around TWD6700) from ATM free of charge from Wise. Then use the contactless (paywave) feature of Wise card wherever acceptable. If you are coming during month end crossing over to new month, can withdraw another RM1000 worth of TWD for free.

ATM at the convenient store, if not from bank usually imposes TWD100 withdrawal fee. I've tried 國泰銀行 ATM, no ATM fee imposed.
laymank
post Dec 11 2023, 10:48 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 11 2023, 07:27 PM)
Hi wisers,

I tend to use those virtual debit card to do booking. For example agoda.

But when I use wise. It keeps declining. But if I use bigpay with no fund inside, the booking goes through.

Any idea how we can do booking using wise card and without putting fund in there first.
Bigpay can use on Agoda without fund in it?
laymank
post Dec 13 2023, 09:31 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(TappyBird @ Dec 13 2023, 07:01 PM)
Can i use directly the currency(YEN) i converted few month before when i am in Japan with wise?
of course you can! that's the whole purpose why we convert yen ahead of the trip right?

laymank
post Feb 10 2024, 12:33 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Feb 7 2024, 05:40 PM)
i see. hmm then i think i’ll transfer all my MYR out from Wise and just keep the AUD for the trip to be my main and only jar
you can put your MYR into JAR, by so doing, it won't be touched.
laymank
post Feb 27 2024, 04:09 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Feb 27 2024, 04:06 PM)
Hi Wise users, want to ask. Can I top up my wise account using credit card and then use wise account to make payment to a local vendor?
No, you cannot.
laymank
post Mar 7 2024, 11:35 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Mar 6 2024, 07:51 PM)
I transferred RM101 to activate my MY Wise account. Anyway to transfer it out for free? Surprised they charge fee to either convert or transfer it out
can top up touch and go and DuitNow out.
laymank
post Sep 25 2024, 08:38 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 24 2024, 01:37 PM)
For Wise Debit Card, based on my understanding

1. 2 free withdrawal locally, and abroad?
2. Both withdrawal combined should not be > RM1000 per month, else would be charge 1.75%?  If abroad we need to make sure amount withdrawn is <=RM1000 after conversion?

Any other fees that I need to take note apart that some ATM would have some additional charge?

Despite the 1.75% extra charge, i think withdrawing money from ATM aboard using Wise may still be slightly cheaper than changing money in Money Changer.

Planning to exchange less cash in money exchange this round and withdraw money using wise.

Today Rate JYP: Mid Valley: RM297 / JYP10,000
Wise: RM291.33 / JYP10,000
Withdrawing cash using Wise abroad is subjected to the local bank's policy. Some may impose quite expensive withdrawal fee or corresponding rate based on the amount withdrawn.
Do google for such rate/fee in your target country first before making a decision.

Alternatively, it could be better rate if you use the card to pay instead, provided you have 'secured' a good exchange rate.
laymank
post Jan 21 2025, 08:51 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jan 17 2025, 10:38 AM)
I've been reading many TS recommending to use Wise card for overseas trip. Just curious is the rate really that competitive? Not comparing to credit card, usually I go for the old fashioned way of exchange foreign currency notes prior my oversea trip. Just curious if this is as good as bringing cash then I don't have to bring so much cash or go to exchange the notes before flying.
if my memory serves me correctly, withdrawing cash from the local ATM (國泰世華) in convenient stores has no ATM withdrawal fee and there was only exchange rate + fee from Wise if you are withdrawing under RM1000 / month. And convenient stores is so many that you can find one in almost everywhere in the city.

Using google/apple pay or credit card is widely acceptable in urban cities in Taiwan. Night markets, quite a number will accept the local ewallet such as LinePay or JieKou (街口支付). In such cases, cash is still easier.

Personally, I don't like to keep small change from travelling, most of the time, money changer from Malaysia would not accept small change. Therefore keep cash to minimal is preferred. If you are travelling with friends, pool the cash together and spend, lesser change scattered around.
laymank
post Feb 8 2025, 08:59 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Feb 6 2025, 11:44 AM)
Alright, guess I will just stick to around TWD7000.

I just got this Wise card as recommended by others since it seems pretty useful for oversea usage. I'm considering to get GX card too, so I guess stick to Cathay United Bank and there will be no extra fee charged for cash withdrawal? Any limit for cash withdrawal limit like Wise using GX card?
Yes on the TWD7,000 ATM withdrawal via Cathay United Bank.
laymank
post Feb 12 2025, 01:16 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Feb 12 2025, 01:26 AM)
Can any sifu advise me regarding this? Is my calculation correct? Coz I realized it seems better than I change $$$ at money changer locally than withdrawing or using wise card using their conversion rate?

Let's say I wanna buy TWD1000 at money changer, I have to pay RM133.95 (we sell at 13.395).

And if I use Wise card to make TWD1000 or withdraw TWD1000 cash from ATM, then after conversion it actually cost me RM136.02?

When you go to money changer, you are to pay the rate what they 'sell'.

This is the rate at 2025-02-12 10:56 AM taken from https://www.exchangerate.my/maxmoney/midvalley-megamall:

so you will be paying RM133.75 for every TWD1,000.00

If Wise rate is higher than RM133.75 for the same time, then money changer is a better choice.

Edit:

However, I noticed the mid market rate is actually higher than 13.3750
https://www.xe.com/currencyconverter/conver...From=TWD&To=MYR

so there is a chance, the rate may be revised at the money changer any time.

This post has been edited by laymank: Feb 12 2025, 01:37 PM
laymank
post Feb 13 2025, 08:39 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Feb 12 2025, 03:02 PM)
Thanks for the confirmation, cuz I do notice the rate is better at the money changer these 2 days. For exchanging money at money changer, I am more familiar with. What I would like to find out is for Wise, if I withdrawal cash from ATM in Taiwan or use my Wise card to make payment in Taiwan, the conversion rate in Wise should be from TWD to MYR right?

The reason I posted this cuz I remember everyone is saying Wise/GX is a better option so I quickly ordered both cards so now wondering if I should just stick to old fashioned way since I don't mind exchanging money first locally, as long as I could save some bucks  tongue.gif
It's always good to have both, just in case.
Like what the other members has suggested, unless you are planning to go back Taiwan again, the small change like coins are not acceptable at money changers. So there is a chance that you save RM2 for using money changer but losing it at the coins you bring back (Taiwan currency has coins of amount 1, 5, 10, 50, which is equivalent to approx. RM0.13, RM0.68, RM1.37, RM6.80 respectively).

If you are traveling with a group, suggest to pool cash to pay, reduce chances of accumulating coins individually.

Personally, I would prefer least cash possible and use card for most expenses wherever possible.
laymank
post Apr 8 2025, 08:40 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(seikoho1 @ Apr 7 2025, 10:02 PM)
Can I use credit card to top up my wise card?
Nope.

0.0774sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:46 PM