203 Pages « < 176 177 178 179 180 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

RegentCid
post Jan 7 2025, 01:35 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 7 2025, 11:28 AM)
Wife want to visit farm and eat fruits. All is covered in snow in March while to late (read: too expensive  laugh.gif) to plan for this year's Furano Biei.

So to appease, aim for Tokyo instead while browsing for cheap flight tickets  biggrin.gif
June Tokyo Rain will be 3/4 Of the Day. Rain stop for 1 hour then continue rain again...then stop...then start
24 Hours got 15 Hrs is raining. Raining Season go Japan can experience exchange umbrealla with stranger. biggrin.gif

Buy Transparent Standard Umbrella from Convienance Store...go Restraurant for lunch, after lunch my brand new Transparent Umbrella will be gone, But same type older will be there, Take it to next Convinenance store buy some drinks, Umbrella gone again with another even old same type. Then I bring this CB umbrella cross a road to another Convinenance store and take away ppl new transparent umbrella and left that CB one to another unlucky stranger..... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jan 7 2025, 01:42 PM
Sitting Duck
post Jan 7 2025, 04:01 PM

473 posts

Hi All,

I'll be visiting Osaka area in Feb 2025. The last time I visited Japan was back in 2018.

Please help me with a couple of questions:

1. For immigration and custom clearance (inbound and outbound), is it compulsory to digital immigration and custom clearance via https://services.digital.go.jp/en/visit-japan-web/ ?

2. Tax return, I remember I read somewhere in the past there's also a digital ID that we need to sign up in advance. Is that still the case?

3. Is Japan still a cash society or they are now more cashless? I'm going with family of 3 including myself for 10 days, is 90K yen cash sufficient and the rest can be pay by credit card / TNG / Apple Suica . I also saw a few post about pay pay, do i need to sign up for pay pay as well?

4. I have a physical suica card. I'm planning to link my physical suica card to my iphone wallet. Once the suica card is link to iphone, can I still use the physical suica card ?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Icehart
post Jan 7 2025, 07:25 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 7 2025, 04:01 PM)
Hi All,

I'll be visiting Osaka area in Feb 2025. The last time I visited Japan was back in 2018.

1. For immigration and custom clearance (inbound and outbound), is it compulsory to digital immigration and custom clearance via https://services.digital.go.jp/en/visit-japan-web/  ?

2. Tax return, I remember I read somewhere in  the past there's also a digital ID that we need to sign up in advance. Is that still the case?

3. Is Japan still a cash society or they are now more cashless? I'm going with family of 3 including myself for 10 days, is 90K yen cash sufficient and the rest can be pay by credit card / TNG / Apple Suica . I also saw a few post about pay pay, do i need to sign up for pay pay as well?

4. I have a physical suica card. I'm planning to link my physical suica card to my iphone wallet. Once the suica card is link to iphone, can I still use the physical suica card ?

For 1 & 2, last month I was there, don't remember signing up anything.
When departing Tokyo, for duty free, the customs officer direct you to self scan your passport before the immigration counter. I thought supposed to have check but all they do is touch n go your passport.

For 3, yes, but it's changing. If you have iOS you can rely on digital Suica. For PayPay just use TouchNGo app. Most shops accept digital payments these days, except few old shops.

Your physical suica still got balance? If no balance just use digital ah laugh.gif
Sitting Duck
post Jan 7 2025, 08:22 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 7 2025, 07:25 PM)
For 1 & 2, last month I was there, don't remember signing up anything.
When departing Tokyo, for duty free, the customs officer direct you to self scan your passport before the immigration counter. I thought supposed to have check but all they do is touch n go your passport.

For 3, yes, but it's changing. If you have iOS you can rely on digital Suica. For PayPay just use TouchNGo app. Most shops accept digital payments these days, except few old shops.

Your physical suica still got balance? If no balance just use digital ah  laugh.gif
Thanks for the reply. So for Pay Pay we can use TNG Ali Pay for payment? Don't have to sign up for Pay Pay wallet ?

Physical Suica still have some balance if I remember it correctly. I was suppose to get some refund for the Suica card back in 2018 but refund counter was closed when I reached the airport, hence didn't get any refund for the Suica card.

Btw, If I buy cloths or shoes in Japan and eligible for tax refund, can I still wear the cloths and shoes when I'm still in Japan? I know consumable , cosmetic products are sealed and should not be open in Japan. What about cloths and shoes?

Thank you.
Icehart
post Jan 7 2025, 08:27 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 7 2025, 08:22 PM)
Thanks for the reply. So for Pay Pay we can use TNG Ali Pay for payment? Don't have to sign up for Pay Pay wallet ?
Physical Suica still have some balance if I remember it correctly. I was suppose to get some refund for the Suica card back in 2018 but refund counter was closed when I reached the airport, hence didn't get any refund for the Suica card.
Btw, If I buy cloths or shoes in Japan and eligible for tax refund, can I still wear the cloths and shoes when I'm still in Japan? I know consumable , cosmetic products are sealed and should not be open in Japan. What about cloths and shoes?

Thank you.
Paypay utilizes Alipay+ network. So Touch N Go works. Tried and tested. Most major chain that accepts card generally accepts Paypay.
Human Nature
post Jan 8 2025, 02:25 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

What are the options if departure from Narita at 8:15am means have to arrive by 5:15am? Thinking to stay overnight at airport. Maybe from Disneyland after fireworks take train to the airport and overnight. Hmm
RegentCid
post Jan 8 2025, 02:54 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2025, 01:25 PM)
What are the options if departure from Narita at 8:15am means have to arrive by 5:15am? Thinking to stay overnight at airport. Maybe from Disneyland after fireworks take train to the airport and overnight. Hmm
1st Bus leaving Tokyo Station Yaesu Side Bus Platform was 5am. Journey took 60 minute.
You had to buy Bus ticket 1st from Yaesu Express Bus Ticket Office.

https://tyo-nrt.com/en/busstop/tokyo

https://tyo-nrt.com/wp/wp-content/themes/ty...imetable_en.pdf
Human Nature
post Jan 8 2025, 08:36 PM

26,524 posts

Booked Tokyo in July - no turning back liao sweat.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 9 2025, 08:47 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2025, 07:36 PM)
Booked Tokyo in July - no turning back liao  sweat.gif
Habislah.....you pick most wet season. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Jan 9 2025, 09:49 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2025, 08:47 AM)
Habislah.....you pick most wet season.   biggrin.gif
I checked, rainy season till mid July. Going on the last week. Finger crossed haha

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 9 2025, 09:49 AM
Rexoz
post Jan 13 2025, 09:53 PM

72 posts

Hello everyone,

I'm planning to visit Tokyo in March and only that city I suppose, any recommendations of hotel that I can stay that is near the center/downtown or perhaps around Ginza?

I have surveyed the hotels in numerous sites and I would like to seek advice whether its better to book hotels directly at their main website or its good to book through agoda/booking.com/expedia?
Just afraid of the stories that sometimes(although rare) that bookings through agoda/booking.com can sometimes be invalid due to overbooking and would like to lock in the best as possible.

I'll be traveling alone and will be there for 4D/3N

Any suggestions and recommendations will be appreciated.

Thank you! notworthy.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 13 2025, 10:03 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Rexoz @ Jan 13 2025, 08:53 PM)
Hello everyone,

I'm planning to visit Tokyo in March and only that city I suppose, any recommendations of hotel that I can stay that is near the center/downtown or perhaps around Ginza?

I have surveyed the hotels in numerous sites and I would like to seek advice whether its better to book hotels directly at their main website or its good to book through agoda/booking.com/expedia?
Just afraid of the stories that sometimes(although rare) that bookings through agoda/booking.com can sometimes be invalid due to overbooking and would like to lock in the best as possible.

Thank you!  notworthy.gif
Center / Downtown will be very expensive. What is your Budget?
Want cheap hotel can stay at Ikebukuro. You want even cheaper can stay at Kitasenju.
Blofeld
post Jan 14 2025, 01:08 AM

4,701 posts

QUOTE(Rexoz @ Jan 13 2025, 09:53 PM)
Hello everyone,

i prefer Hotels.com and i always use this platform because of the free one night after collecting ten nights of booking and the price guarantee (if you found a cheaper price elsewhere, they will refund the price difference to you).

You can use the platform to list the hotels based on nearest to farthest location, lowest to highest price, etc.

I have used it countless times in various countries (including Japan and China) and never experienced them saying they don't recognise the booking. I even received several free nights stay and price difference reductions.

I always used those third party platforms to talk to the hotel receptionist because most of the time they don't speak English and they dont reply my emails. So i relied on the help centre agents of the platform to get the answers i want. They will call the hotel and speak in their language and then they will get back to me.
Rexoz
post Jan 14 2025, 01:23 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 13 2025, 10:03 PM)
Center / Downtown will be very expensive.  What is your Budget?
Want cheap hotel can stay at Ikebukuro.  You want even cheaper can stay at Kitasenju.
I think i wouldnt mind spending abit on hotels haha and i see that the prices in downtown is indeed expensive. I will also look at Ikebukuro as its my first time in Japan biggrin.gif
Thanks man notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jan 14 2025, 01:08 AM)
i prefer Hotels.com and i always use this platform because of the free one night after collecting ten nights of booking and the price guarantee (if you found a cheaper price elsewhere, they will refund the price difference to you).

You can use the platform to list the hotels based on nearest to farthest location, lowest to highest price, etc.

I have used it countless times in various countries (including Japan and China) and never experienced them saying they don't recognise the booking. I even received several free nights stay and price difference reductions.

I always used those third party platforms to talk to the hotel receptionist because most of the time they don't speak English and they dont reply my emails. So i relied on the help centre agents of the platform to get the answers i want. They will call the hotel and speak in their language and then they will get back to me.
Ah thanksssss, I am currently looking at it and comparing since I usually directly book those hotel franchises like Marriot during my stay in US and even when i went over to check in, there was a customer that was making complain on his bookings that he paid for but was told its full and the manager and supervisor came out and apologized so that made me scared.

I defo will check out on hotel.com, so far all my friends have been saying theyve only used agoda and bookings so I was just curious. Thanks for the recommendations notworthy.gif
Chinoz
post Jan 14 2025, 02:34 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Hi All,

1. For immigration and custom clearance (inbound and outbound), is it compulsory to digital immigration and custom clearance via https://services.digital.go.jp/en/visit-japan-web/  ?

2. Tax return, I remember I read somewhere in  the past there's also a digital ID that we need to sign up in advance. Is that still the case?

1 - I didn’t digital anything. Just rocked up and filled the paper forms while on the plane and handed it over at immigration.

2 - again I didn’t digital anything. There was a self-scan facility when exiting the country, but it seemed to be opt-in rather than mandatory. I did it, but not sure what would’ve happened if I didn’t.

3 - in Tokyo, I only used cash for kids’ train tickets and coin-operated laundries. Everywhere else I used suica and credit card.

4 - not sure, I set up digital suica on my iPhone from scratch.

Human Nature
post Jan 14 2025, 08:42 AM

26,524 posts

Suica is back on stock? I have 3 icocas from my previous trip. Just need 1 more IC card.
iXora.ix
post Jan 14 2025, 10:39 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

Hi All,

4. No. once you transfer your physical IC card to ipong, the physical card is no longer working. Advisable just to create from ipong(wallet) itself
Human Nature
post Jan 14 2025, 03:31 PM

26,524 posts

If I am taking the Keisei Main Line Rapid Limited Express from Narita, can I just tap using IC card or I still need to get a physical ticket? It is not reserved, so I think it is just like any local train right.
HumanExtinction
post Jan 14 2025, 04:27 PM

364 posts

Hi All,

1. I prefer digital since can complete everything back at home and faster to go through immi and custom. This only apply to inbound, outbound no need.

2. For tax free again can use the visit japan web to register all your info and will give qr code for you too like immi and custom. If not mistaken now tax free will need to be done in airport rather than individual shop starting 2025 cause a lot of c country ppl abuse the system. But im not sure accurate or not.

3. For tokyo most of the place accept cashless like cc, suica. But some places like ramen shop only accept cash so better take some. If need extra cash can just withdraw from 7/11 atm. No need paypay, afaik pay pay need japan phone no to register.

4. You can only choose one physical or on iphone. Once linked, the physical no longer can use.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jan 14 2025, 04:33 PM
HumanExtinction
post Jan 14 2025, 04:29 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Rexoz @ Jan 13 2025, 09:53 PM)
Hello everyone,

Since you just travelling alone, i suggest to just stay in business hotel like toyoko / sotetsu inn to save some money. The extra money can spend on food biggrin.gif

203 Pages « < 176 177 178 179 180 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:25 AM