203 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

post Sep 26 2024, 09:12 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Sep 25 2024, 11:56 PM)
Hi guys, need some pro tips. I’m travelling as a family of 4 with 2 young kids under 3.

Looking at airport transfer from Narita to Tokyo city, are there any good affordable options to consider as it’s a 1 hour journey?

Here are my thoughts:
1. Easiest is rent a private limo/ride. Most convenient and straight to Airbnb, but costly. Checked klook it’s RM470 one way.

2. Take train as a family of 4 but 2x big luggage will use luggage forwarder. However I found Yamato service a bit expensive, total costs RM280 for 2x big luggage one way (28 inch luggage). And cons is the luggage will only arrive a day later.

3. Are there similar ehailing services like grab? Would those be cheaper?

Don’t think I can brace carrying 2x 28 inch luggage, each 30kg while also taking care of 2 kids and 1 wife throughout the 1 hour train ride to Tokyo city.

Appreciate your advice on what’s the most affordable way U would choose. (Let me know if I calculate this wrongly)
you really should opt for private transfer, 470 one way is not expensive from narita to tokyo city, considering the kids and bags too. wont you want to relax also after 6-7 hours flight from KL as well? i suppose you will bring stroller too?

choose the alphards range..I booked mine last time via klook approx rm500.

This post has been edited by 47100: Sep 26 2024, 09:12 AM
tzxsean
post Sep 26 2024, 10:31 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

-removed-

wrong post

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Sep 26 2024, 10:37 AM
hye
post Sep 26 2024, 09:38 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Sep 26 2024, 09:12 AM)
you really should opt for private transfer, 470 one way is not expensive from narita to tokyo city, considering the kids and bags too. wont you want to relax also after 6-7 hours flight from KL as well? i suppose you will bring stroller too?

choose the alphards range..I booked mine last time via klook approx rm500.
One thing I noticed (correct me if I'm wrong), those services offered in Klook are legal? Typical taxi ride Narita to town could set you back RM1K, any lesser is rather strange. These providers are called "White taxis" in Japan, means they are potentially illegal transportation providers in the eyes of Japanese law.
applesmiley
post Sep 27 2024, 12:35 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Sep 25 2024, 11:56 PM)
Hi guys, need some pro tips. I’m travelling as a family of 4 with 2 young kids under 3.

Looking at airport transfer from Narita to Tokyo city, are there any good affordable options to consider as it’s a 1 hour journey?

Here are my thoughts:
1. Easiest is rent a private limo/ride. Most convenient and straight to Airbnb, but costly. Checked klook it’s RM470 one way.

2. Take train as a family of 4 but 2x big luggage will use luggage forwarder. However I found Yamato service a bit expensive, total costs RM280 for 2x big luggage one way (28 inch luggage). And cons is the luggage will only arrive a day later.

3. Are there similar ehailing services like grab? Would those be cheaper?

Don’t think I can brace carrying 2x 28 inch luggage, each 30kg while also taking care of 2 kids and 1 wife throughout the 1 hour train ride to Tokyo city.

Appreciate your advice on what’s the most affordable way U would choose. (Let me know if I calculate this wrongly)
3. They have Uber & Didi

RegentCid
post Sep 27 2024, 02:15 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(applesmiley @ Sep 27 2024, 11:35 AM)
3. They have Uber & Didi
Uber & Didi in Japan are actually Taxi too. Using Uber & Didi are actually more expensive because adding 500Yen surcharge as calling taxi.
E-hailing driver in Japan consider as professional job. The training are same standard as taxi and need to take license. Those uber driver need go thru all same standard as taxi driver, might well become Taxi driver with extra Uber ability only.

Uber in Japan are actually called "Taxi caller" biggrin.gif
post Sep 27 2024, 02:40 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 26 2024, 09:38 PM)
One thing I noticed (correct me if I'm wrong), those services offered in Klook are legal? Typical taxi ride Narita to town could set you back RM1K, any lesser is rather strange.  These providers are called "White taxis" in Japan, means they are potentially illegal transportation providers in the eyes of Japanese law.
You are right, thats why pre-booking helped "reduce" the cost.
I used their service 3 times so far. Nth negative, on time both drop to airport and pickup from airport.

Klook is only a platform for those vendors, but i doubt KLOOK will endorse nor promote any illegal operator in their bucket.
Albeit I cannot tell if is illegal in terms of local law or not but they are registered companies.
tohff7
post Sep 27 2024, 03:00 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

since we are talking about taxi and transportation. perhaps just want to ask a question for confirmation

should be easy to book or get a taxi in Arima Onsen? Saw from GO app there's few cars there la usually.

Need to get from Arima Onsen to Itami Airport to catch 2pm domestic flight to Narita Tokyo (then 5pm flight back to KL). Arima Onsen Osaka Liner only got 1 bus reaching Itami Airport at 12.45pm, cutting it quite close since it's advised to reach at least 1hr early for passengers with luggage check-in for connecting flights.

This post has been edited by tohff7: Sep 27 2024, 03:01 PM
RegentCid
post Sep 27 2024, 03:07 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Sep 27 2024, 02:00 PM)
since we are talking about taxi and transportation. perhaps just want to ask a question for confirmation

should be easy to book or get a taxi in Arima Onsen? Saw from GO app there's few cars there la usually.

Need to get from Arima Onsen to Itami Airport to catch 2pm domestic flight to Narita Tokyo (then 5pm flight back to KL). Arima Onsen Osaka Liner only got 1 bus reaching Itami Airport at 12.45pm, cutting it quite close since it's advised to reach at least 1hr early for passengers with luggage check-in for connecting flights.
Got overnight at Arima Onsen? Ask the Ryokan arrange taxi for you with extra surcharge.
Infornt of Arima Onsen Station always go Taxi standby.
Go App are calling taxi app. But need to pay extra surcharge by calling taxi coming to your spot.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 27 2024, 03:07 PM
tohff7
post Sep 27 2024, 03:21 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 27 2024, 03:07 PM)
Got overnight at Arima Onsen? Ask the Ryokan arrange taxi for you with extra surcharge.
Infornt of Arima Onsen Station always go Taxi standby.
Go App are calling taxi app. But need to pay extra surcharge by calling taxi coming to your spot.
yea staying overnight. yea I'll ask the ryokan easier also. but preparing some alternatives just in case.

the ryokan I am staying probably slightly more away from the station. it's closer to the Mt Rokko ropeway haha. so best to get taxi to come to my ryokan/spot
dawho
post Sep 27 2024, 03:28 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 24 2024, 04:25 PM)
going to osaka in end of Nov

u guys think i should exchange Yen now through Wise?

or wait a little longer
how to use wise? im going osaka to in early october...first one also....teach me please sifu
Sitting Duck
post Sep 27 2024, 04:03 PM

473 posts

Hi All,

Is there other cheaper alternative JR travel pass other than the JR Rail Pass that covers Osaka to Fukuoka?
Am planning to fly to Osaka but would like to visit Fukuoka for a few days.
Is it cheaper to use JR travel pass or just take the Shinkansen?

Planning to stop by multiple location along the way between Osaka and Fukuoka (Kobe, Okayama, Hiroshima, Kitakyushu if possible).

The duration of my trip is between 10-14 days, and would be flying out from Osaka. Unfortunately flying out from different airport cost a lot more. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 27 2024, 04:03 PM
hye
post Sep 27 2024, 04:12 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Sep 27 2024, 02:40 PM)
You are right, thats why pre-booking helped "reduce" the cost.
I used their service 3 times so far. Nth negative, on time both drop to airport and pickup from airport.

Klook is only a platform for those vendors, but i doubt KLOOK will endorse nor promote any illegal operator in their bucket.
Albeit I cannot tell if is illegal in terms of local law or not but they are registered companies.
It's the members contributions here to made aware of all these ground information so that travellers make the decisions at their own risk.
Just bear in mind just because they are running a registered company, doesn't mean they will not potentially run foul of the law.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 27 2024, 04:14 PM
xiaomoon
post Sep 27 2024, 05:13 PM

1,446 posts

u guys now using which website to search for hotel/homestay?
tzxsean
post Sep 27 2024, 06:36 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dawho @ Sep 27 2024, 03:28 PM)
how to use wise? im going osaka to in early october...first one also....teach me please sifu
Buy Yen and store in the card

Then use the card and withdraw Yen from 7-11 ATM
post Sep 27 2024, 09:57 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 27 2024, 04:12 PM)
It's the members contributions here to made aware of all these ground information so that travellers make the decisions at their own risk.
Just bear in mind just because they are running a registered company, doesn't mean they will not potentially run foul of the law.
well said, please exercised all due diligence.
19 Degree South
post Sep 28 2024, 11:48 AM

1,681 posts

use ic card is so convenient . lol
Scissorshand
post Sep 29 2024, 06:24 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Sep 18 2024, 12:13 AM)
Which airlines do u guys prefer fly to Japan?Is AA seat thinly cushioned?I cant sit longer that 3 hrs in AA seat. Japan Airways?
QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 27 2024, 04:03 PM)
Hi All,

Is there other cheaper alternative JR travel pass other than the JR Rail Pass that covers Osaka to Fukuoka?

Planning to stop by multiple location along the way between Osaka and Fukuoka (Kobe, Okayama, Hiroshima, Kitakyushu if possible).

The duration of my trip is between 10-14 days, and would be flying out from Osaka. Unfortunately flying out from different airport cost a lot more. sad.gif
I booked on ANA for $2586 nett, KL Narita Osaka and Tokyo KL for mid Oct vacation
adele123
post Oct 1 2024, 10:18 PM

4,726 posts

Hi All,

You just have to sum up the cost for each train trip you might take, and compare with the jr pass price.

Google maps do indicate the price for each train trip which makes it easier for you to sum them up.
tohff7
post Oct 2 2024, 01:50 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Hi All,

https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/pass/sanyo_sanin/ - Sanyo Sanin Pass (until Hakata, Fukuoka)

https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/pass/ssnk/ - + Northern Kyushu (all the way until Nagasaki)

Only 7 days so u might need to plan your itinerary properly. For example, only activate the pass after visiting Kobe

This post has been edited by tohff7: Oct 2 2024, 01:54 AM
buffa
post Oct 3 2024, 01:09 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Sep 21 2024, 04:51 PM)
everything is good in osaka. just stay around namba area will do.  I now in osaka staying near the namba maid street. you can pick up young maid along the street. laugh.gif
This April I went, also stay airbnb around the namba maid street, really convenient. Just that airbnb not up to my standard.

Next year, February going again, you have any nice hotel or airbnb suggestion? Around that area too notworthy.gif

203 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Top

0.0447sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:48 AM