Checked with the seller and apparently any stick will work within this, GPON/EPON/XPON/XGSPON etc..
Considering pulling the plug to get full 10G to counter the overhead
Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN
Oct 5 2023, 10:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
932 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Saw this a bit ago on Taobao, from the looks of it, it's a customized Huawei ONU with a custom soldered on 10G port, if my guess is correct, the stick should be able to be used on this since there's a SFP+ port but ONU within ONU is
Checked with the seller and apparently any stick will work within this, GPON/EPON/XPON/XGSPON etc.. Considering pulling the plug to get full 10G to counter the overhead |
Oct 5 2023, 10:47 PM
1,882 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Oct 5 2023, 10:30 PM) Saw this a bit ago on Taobao, from the looks of it, it's a customized Huawei ONU with a custom soldered on 10G port, if my guess is correct, the stick should be able to be used on this since there's a SFP+ port but ONU within ONU is No need to get this at 2023 lah...wait 3-5year later then okay.Checked with the seller and apparently any stick will work within this, GPON/EPON/XPON/XGSPON etc.. Considering pulling the plug to get full 10G to counter the overhead Anime4000 liked this post
Oct 5 2023, 11:02 PM
2,399 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: /dev/null |
QUOTE(go626201 @ Oct 5 2023, 10:47 PM) I agree, even TIME 10G PON not all place available, yenchenje why not take RB5009 PoE instead, or go advanced CCR2004, plus Docker Support can install AdGuard or even KMS Server that router have telephone jack which is nice to have, my last experience buying China router, WebGUI is in Chinese Malaysia have slow adoption rate, I think... from upgrade from GPON to 10G, why not 50G PON which is more economy since more customer can fit (avg: ~100Mbps per customer) with Unifi price reduction, I think it's far away for TM upgrade to 10G PON |
Oct 5 2023, 11:08 PM
1,882 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 5 2023, 11:02 PM) I agree, even TIME 10G PON not all place available, My opinion will be 3 years later-the max speed will be almost remain at around 2G+(max gpon DL speed 2.4G maybe but i dont think so),but price drop,and further higher speed upgrade might come after 5years later.Malaysia have slow adoption rate, I think... from upgrade from GPON to 10G, why not 50G PON which is more economy since more customer can fit (avg: ~100Mbps per customer) with Unifi price reduction, I think it's far away for TM upgrade to 10G PON |
Oct 5 2023, 11:15 PM
4 posts Joined: May 2013 From: Philippines |
QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 5 2023, 05:05 PM) you try, if both give same performance, which mean no need to worry... Yeah, I have until October 18 to return this. I can just return it and buy another one but it would just be a waste of time if it's the same issue. At least the temps on my v6 is similar to the temps you get on your similar board. What ambient temps do you have when you tested that?it's not like copper, laser either have light or no light. my reference board so far same as other stick... I can't test it yet Aside from the upload issue for the v6, any other issues with it? |
Oct 5 2023, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Oct 5 2023, 11:08 PM) My opinion will be 3 years later-the max speed will be almost remain at around 2G+(max gpon DL speed 2.4G maybe but i dont think so),but price drop,and further higher speed upgrade might come after 5years later. Unless Government funds TM to upgrade 10G PON or 50G PON to solve 2Gbps being shared with single fiber, got this issue when two home subscribe 2Gbps and do speedtest in same time, speed drop ~900Mbps each...QUOTE(kevindd992002 @ Oct 5 2023, 11:15 PM) Yeah, I have until October 18 to return this. I can just return it and buy another one but it would just be a waste of time if it's the same issue. At least the temps on my v6 is similar to the temps you get on your similar board. What ambient temps do you have when you tested that? have another user report same high RX as youAside from the upload issue for the v6, any other issues with it? ![]() besides wrong calibration, another guess is newer V06 Laser PD using Class C instead of usual Class B, thus high sensitivity... or some kind "overclock" to make PD more sensitive my network rack don't have any fans, ambient around 34-37°C, I have been running almost 3 years at high temps, no issue, the SFP is build like a Tank! my PON Stick don't have upload issue so far, aside integrating D-Link ONR code into my firmware. other than that, Stick work as expected. |
Oct 6 2023, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Oct 5 2023, 10:47 PM) QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 5 2023, 11:02 PM) I agree, even TIME 10G PON not all place available, That’s the main thing I’m looking at, telephone jack tbh, rn the only thing keeping me from going full SFP GPON. I need to test on bridging VoIP with IP phone to see if it’ll work before moving fully off. yenchenje why not take RB5009 PoE instead, or go advanced CCR2004, plus Docker Support can install AdGuard or even KMS Server that router have telephone jack which is nice to have, my last experience buying China router, WebGUI is in Chinese Malaysia have slow adoption rate, I think... from upgrade from GPON to 10G, why not 50G PON which is more economy since more customer can fit (avg: ~100Mbps per customer) with Unifi price reduction, I think it's far away for TM upgrade to 10G PON If it doesn’t work, then either stick with stick ONU or go with this Huawei unit. But if it works, then I can safely move over to GPON SFP ONU |
Oct 6 2023, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Oct 6 2023, 07:44 AM) That’s the main thing I’m looking at, telephone jack tbh, rn the only thing keeping me from going full SFP GPON. I need to test on bridging VoIP with IP phone to see if it’ll work before moving fully off. test on PC via MicroSIP, bridge VLAN400, no need to modify User-AgentIf it doesn’t work, then either stick with stick ONU or go with this Huawei unit. But if it works, then I can safely move over to GPON SFP ONU |
Oct 6 2023, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 6 2023, 12:16 PM) Weekends coming up, I’ll give it a try and report back, already got all the credentials in clear text from technician during upgrade period ejery liked this post
Oct 6 2023, 01:22 PM
1,129 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any con for using GPON sft instead of unifi one? I have a ccr1109 but only subscribe 500Mbps plan
This post has been edited by cyberic: Oct 6 2023, 01:22 PM |
Oct 6 2023, 01:25 PM
Oct 6 2023, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 6 2023, 01:25 PM) I think you are referring to pro instead of con? If the fiber have issue, I normally see red LED on ONU. Support usually ask to off/on...etc. I wonder any different with sft setup, if there is LED status.I will ping you when I have the need for speed in the future then. Thanks. |
Oct 6 2023, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(cyberic @ Oct 6 2023, 01:35 PM) I think you are referring to pro instead of con? If the fiber have issue, I normally see red LED on ONU. Support usually ask to off/on...etc. I wonder any different with sft setup, if there is LED status. cons like any other ONTI will ping you when I have the need for speed in the future then. Thanks. if no fiber, Mikrotik simply say no link |
Oct 7 2023, 04:59 PM
Oct 13 2023, 11:34 PM
Today, I made the switch from Maxis fiber to Unifi Ultra 2Gbps. This upgrade allows me to thoroughly test, troubleshoot, and engage in reverse engineering of PON Firmware to optimize throughput.
Then I can experimenting Unifi VoIP |
Oct 14 2023, 01:58 AM
134 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri <-> KL <-> Penang |
Oct 14 2023, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(aztech @ Oct 14 2023, 01:58 AM) Jelly see you all having fun with 2Gbps!I at Ampang Point right now, setup TM + TIME PPPoE Load Balance (1G + 1G) my PON Stick can use on TIME! here OLT FwdOp VLAN: ![]() both using PON Stick on CCR2004-16G-2S+ Today I learned something, If you using 1 or 2Gbps, better let Technician setup the D-Link first because of this: D-Link ONR never connect/use or setup during installation, then using stick, you will get O3 and dead, Huawei OLT provision: ![]() after let D-Link ONR setup for the first time, Provision now different: ![]() |
Oct 15 2023, 10:17 PM
OMCI Dump before switch from Maxis to Unifi:
EntitiyID Meaning 0x1XX = PPTP 0xeXX = VEIP 0xffXX = VoIP * as majority world wide same as Malaysia to Europe to US to Japan * might incorrect, will update accordingly » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This received from stupid Nokia OLT PPTP will use when lock at LAN 1 or 2 or else VEIP will use to assign VoIP/POTS This post has been edited by Anime4000: Oct 18 2023, 10:26 PM |
Oct 18 2023, 10:28 PM
Oct 19 2023, 11:30 AM
| Change to: | 0.0313sec