6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN

yenchenje
post Aug 27 2022, 03:01 AM

932 posts

Hi all sifus, just spent like 2 hours reading from page 1 to the final page and I’ve learnt a lot, but just asking a few questions cause I’m tempted to attempt this (Planning a DIY OPNsense build to replace the default TP-Link router)
1. Do I just need a SFP+ port for connecting the GPON Stick, and making sure FreeBSD supports that card? (Planned build is for a 6/7th i5 with 2/4 10GBe RJ45, and either quad/octa port 1GBe, and adding a SFP+ card for SFP+ ONU)
2. How can I get my PLOAM password? My ONU is the FiberHome HG6240A. Other than getting TM technicians to come and replace the unit with a new unit and asking for the ID/Pass.

Appreciate all the answers and thanks to all the member here for the hard work to reverse MY Fibre infra. rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Aug 27 2022, 03:02 AM
yenchenje
post Aug 27 2022, 06:02 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 27 2022, 03:15 PM)
Hahaha, my 2 years of hardwork to get it working, also thanks to lwk523 and izhamsatria for 2.5Gb testing on Allo and Unifi

1. SFP NIC just fine, most used market and modified Intel SFP+ NIC on AliExpress appear to work, if you plan to 2.5Gb, choice of SFP+ card is limite, one guy from italy manage to work with DELL SFP+ 2.5Gb

2. You can try login FiberHome HG6240A via 192.168.1.1 I believe, need fiber to be disconnected and reboot (prevent OMCI Provisioning take place)

if you have 800Mbps or 1Gbps, you need strong single core performance, because PPPoE is not multi-threaded, many router like Asus, Ubiquiti, Mikrotik has Hardware Accelerated PPPoE
Got it, my local link will be 10gb to my NAS, probably not to the broader internet, so it should be fine to obtain PPPoE lease from TM only.
And is there any known ID/passwords combination for FibreHome HG6240A? Google searching didn't return much. And I'll keep that in mind when speccing the system notworthy.gif
yenchenje
post Aug 28 2022, 01:46 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 28 2022, 12:16 AM)
try with stock firmware version first, if didn't work in TM fiber, try use firmware version 220304 or 220414
have you try tmadmin, Adm@XXXX ?
XXXX being last 4 digit of the S/N of the ONU box I assume? I have not, I'll give it a try when my family members isn't around to use the internet tongue.gif
yenchenje
post Aug 28 2022, 09:56 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 28 2022, 12:36 PM)
Last 4 hex digit of MAC Address
Oh, won't it only be 16 digits in HEX form? And your like original post on the first page has the 20 digits PLOAM password right? Or does it not matter as long as the password is correct in HEX form?

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Aug 28 2022, 09:58 PM
yenchenje
post Aug 29 2022, 12:45 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 28 2022, 10:26 PM)
my bad,

for login into ONU, try this:

tmadmin
Adm@XXXX

where XXXX is last 4 digit hex in capital letters,
if you see got write like this: Usr@DE1A
just change Usr to Adm
Alright I've tried that combination and is indeed working and have gained access to the ONU management page, now I just need to convert the Adm@XXXX into HEX form for PLOAM password right? And also for VoIP, is it the same deal as yours TM-Maxis connection?
yenchenje
post Aug 29 2022, 04:25 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 29 2022, 01:25 PM)
VoIP should be same procedure, if didn't work, need find correct User-Agent for Unifi
From the settings I've gathered from GPON ONU, it looks similar to your Maxis VoIP address for the gateway, ins.tm.com.my and all the port being 5060, and that's basically it, the proxy is also a private IP, looks like there's gonna be quite some fiddling that needs to be done as my family uses VoIP from time to time, and porting it over from ONU box seems hard, and not like your Maxis VoIP Archer C5v settings

Also has anyone here tried to build a PFSense/OPNSense box properly? Have you found out which card works with GPON ONU SFP? So far I've found a few cards that might work on eBay, I'd list the cards but at the end of the day it's just all chipsets doing the heavy lifting. Mellanox ConnectX-3, Broadcom BCM57810S, Intel 82599, BladeEngines 3 (BE3) Emulex, Solarflare SFC9120 are the ones that I can find, but on the official github page, the only one tested with PCIe is just BCM57810S, but what about the other ones? I know that the Intel X540 has the SFP MAC module not supported issue, other than that is there any other known issues with certain chipset?

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Aug 29 2022, 04:41 PM
yenchenje
post Aug 29 2022, 05:42 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 29 2022, 05:09 PM)
Unifi VoIP need to try and more testing,
I maxis customer, I have time to time to check and test...

most PCIe SFP is limited, require some hack to make it work, I think better use Mikrotik or Ubiquiti for highly compatible most SFP module.

most ONU SFP are in base-X and SGMII, even RTL960x can emulate fiber Transceiver, but I can't confirm that work on manu PCIe SFP
The thing is with Mikrotik/Ubiquiti. unless I fork out an insane amount of money, it's basically near impossible to get a cheap 10GBe capable device, there's QNAP/ASUS/Netgear as the cheaper and more home friendly option, but as the only device that'll be capable/need to be 10GBe is just my NAS and or my PC, and it'll be doing at most streaming media locally. The highest bitrate content that I have access to currently is still just 70mbps, which for gigabit is still more than sufficient, but as I also have home surveillance running, hence the idea of getting a 10GBe link to it.

But as it's still only 1-2 devices at max, a single X540-T2 RJ45 is more than enough for my use. And I also do have a POE 8 port switch, to handle my cameras. There's the XG-U2008 but no point to just get that for the two 10GB port when the other 8 won't really be used.

My usage will mostly be consisting of.
5 LAN devices (PC GBe, NAS GBe, CX65 100MB, Tuner Box 100MB, HikVision 100MB Camera)
2 Wired AP Backhaul (1 PoE AP, 1 Wired AP)
Rest of the devices are all wireless (2 Wi-Fi 5 AP, 1 Wi-Fi 6 AP)

That's basically a full job for even my current 8 port TP-Link PoE switch. At most I'll just upgrade to a 16 port PoE switch down the road (I use a lot of PoE). I plan to size down my current setup to a 2/3 plug at most setup. Currently it's ONU, Router, Switch (Routing seperate VLAN to free up port on router), PoE switch, NAS to probably just router/PoE switch (Throwing VLAN seperation onto the poe switch if possible when I upgrade), or an AIO NAS/router setup with Proxmox.

If there's a need to test it then I guess the only choice is to just get the broadcom one as it's been proven to work. And just not get anything that isn't X540 rclxub.gif

yenchenje
post Sep 1 2022, 03:28 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 1 2022, 11:14 AM)
hello, I have not much knowledge on networking.

is there something like ONU+router all in one unit?
like old time ADSL modem+router combo?
This thread is an example of "If you don't know anything even in layman terms, you probably don't need it."
So far almost all ISP provides you with 2 devices by default, ONT/ONU box to terminate your fibre into a signal your router can understand, and the router for the actual PPPoE, AP, etc etc. I have seen AIO boxes that has the fibre directly connected into the router itself but those are rare and replacing those are super hard. But if your ISP provides you with two boxes, you can just swap the router given to you out quite easily.

Most people here wants to ditch ONU boxes due to the extra plug that it takes up hence extra power consumption, also you can assume if you're investing upwards of 1k in network gear, you'll most definitely have a UPS. And with UPS comes limited power plug and limited battery capacity to keep their internet up and running even in an event of blackout.

Hope this clarifies why people are doing it this way and why you probably again, don't need to do any of this. rclxms.gif
yenchenje
post Sep 2 2022, 04:23 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 2 2022, 10:42 AM)
I see and understood your explanation.
so that All in One(ONT+Router) combo only exist in enterprise grade device or got consumer grade out there (maybe another thread for that kind of discussion?)
Willing to know.

thank you.
Yes, I understand that logic.
'If you don't know anything even in layman terms, you probably don't need it' this depend on people.
With no offense, I literally try to decrease the device (not power consumption wise), because current i got 2 streamyx and 1 4G. if i use modem+router config, that will be 6 device filling up my desk.
With incoming fiber plus my friend not far away from me have issue with unifi. i probably will left another streamyx for a while, maybe keep it.

not expert for all these thing, but i try to keep my build as simple as it be.
I don't exactly understand how your config is working currently but here's my parent's old house procedure. TM upgraded infra around that area, we went from Streamyx 8mbps to Unifi 30mbps fibre, FOC and with discount iirc, and is currently paying 60-70ish RM per month for it. They let us keep the old Archer C5v, but pulled new fiber from our backyard to in house, both of the ONU/router are both FiberHome. And with how TM is trying to transition away from copper, I doubt they'll let you "keep" the Streamyx ADSL connection. Our old phone line that's used for ADSL is left as is and not touched since then.

And for your usage, the best I can recommend is the TP-LINK XDR5480, a TP-Link router from China that has been proven to work with SFP ONU xPON stick here and is probably the best use case for what you're trying to do. For your 4G whatever, I assume it's either a 4G dongle or Unifi mobile? No offense but your wording is all over the place so I can only assume it's a 4G dongle? For that you're probably gonna have to just trial and error with, Anime4000 here has succeeded in putting their dongle as 4G backup in case of Unifi side failure but it's really complicated for a beginner.

Or... the other option is get a Mikrotik hEX S/hEX POE, repurpose your old router as pure AP and off you go. There's not that much options that's somewhat cheap-ish that is an AIO(ONU + Router + AP, that's not pure e-waste anyway).

Side-note the XDR5480 is about RM550 on AliExpress atm.
yenchenje
post Sep 2 2022, 05:27 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 2 2022, 04:42 PM)
thanks both of your input even my question not related with enterprise grade device.

from what i heard tm will keep copper line for phone etc for some people that not upgrade to unifi, but i will make double check about it.
XDR5480 marked will do research about it.

the 4G device using not dongle, is router alike device from Huawei, model B628.
Edit:
Is that sfp correct for fiber optic to plug in?
I don't see why TM would let people keep original phone line where it's more susceptible to copper damages, pretty sure all Fiber connection has a phone line that's based on a seperate VLAN, VLAN400 iirc, Unless it's not covered by Unifi, then they'll do it. Even if not covered by Unifi, currently Allo is working extra hard to cover areas not covered by Unifi. Unless you live somewhere REALLY remote, you'll most likely get Unifi and Streamyx will be deprecated/legacy for your area. If I'm not wrong people that's still on Streamyx will be forced to upgrade to Unifi if the infrastructure is available at their area. That's what happened to my parent's old house anyway, they just send a message informing they'll be performing an upgrade from Streamyx to Unifi.

For your huawei 4G modem, what purpose is it serving? Backup? Fallover? As I don't see why not just get a smaller dongle/router that has only a single LAN, or better even, consult Anime4000's setup for their 4G dongle in router as failover, saving another plug and space.

And yes that's the SFP port you'll need to plug in SFP ONU xPON. And you don't need the 2.5G SFP module that is packaged as a combo from what I can only assume taobao? As that is for multi mode LC. Malaysia fibre uses both UPC and APC. APC is only used by Time and UPC is used by TM, and other ISP that runs on the same infra. The SFP ONU xPON stick u can buy from TB/AliEx is suitable for TM by default, so just buy that and you'll be good to go. It'll only be a single port and not like the dual port SFP module in the picture of the router.

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 2 2022, 05:34 PM
yenchenje
post Sep 2 2022, 05:35 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 2 2022, 05:33 PM)
4g is my main internet right now, using unlimited quota and unlimited hotspot i able to legally plug into modem can reach 30-160m download, 10-12m upload.Β  One streamyx is old primary, one streamtx for cctv.

Noted about sfp port.Β  Will study abit make sure what i think will match what result it will provide.
Then I'd recommend you look into using your 4G as failover with Anime4000's setup as reference. If your package is the default 30mbps then you can probably consider to keep 4G as main? But if it's 100/300, just ditch the 4G modem, put the SIM into a dongle, use it as a backup and change to Unifi as your main. Or if you really have the budget to spare, consider going 800/200 and use SFP ONU xPON to maybe bypass hard cap of TM OLT to reach higher speeds, Anime4000 has managed to surpass 200mbps upload provided by TM and get about 500mbps upload, way beyond what TM offers as part of their package.

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 2 2022, 05:37 PM
yenchenje
post Sep 2 2022, 06:15 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 2 2022, 05:43 PM)
Will go 300mbps,  already planned totally ditch 4g or keep it on dongle.

But the Anime4000 set up i need extra study, because i got 0 knowledge about the that sector. Only basic networking knowledge. So now i can't tell its realistic to do like that or no.
It's just a lot of tweaking and manual configuration for your devices. It's possible but it'll be quite a lengthy process until you reach that part. Even as someone is doing networking/PC as a hobby it's a lot to take in for me as well, so good luck console.gif
yenchenje
post Oct 4 2022, 04:46 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(rockstar_ @ Oct 2 2022, 02:16 AM)
that switch is quite powerful. i'm planning to setup networking for my new house. is it good to use PoE WIFI AP directly from this switch?

am thinking to put about 3 APs on my ceiling, pull cable into upper floor. also, PoE CCTV is quite convenient without need additional power cabling
I'm personally using a TL-SG1008P for my switch and it costed me about 280, and is currently running a 1080p capable HikVision camera + 1 AP. Fo GPON ONU afaik you can run a switch with an extra SFP+ cage and run it in unmanaged mode(1 SFP+/1 RJ45) and use it to pipe through to your router WAN. Not the best solution but it'll work if you don't want to spend on a router with SFP+ cage.
yenchenje
post Jul 4 2023, 09:43 PM

932 posts

So currently still feasible to run ONU stick? Plan to buy one but from all the info I've been seeing, may still have to continue using TM's own crappy ONU..

But might be changing over to Maxis at my parents new place from Unifi currently, but not sure if still can be reliable atm Hmm
yenchenje
post Jul 5 2023, 10:21 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 5 2023, 12:01 AM)
if you don't use 1 or 2Gbps, better stay with stock Bridge ONU.

only feasible use SFP when you use Mikrotik, Have UPS, Very High End Router like Asus ROG Router, 1Gbps or 2Gbps subscription.

using SFP based is invalidate your ability to call Customer Support. they still can detect and refuse to support unless change back to Original ONU

using SFP will lose your ability to have VoIP, unless do some additional trick.

taking other ISP on TM fiber also limit one brand SFP that have firmware bug, you can't use stable GPON ONU SFP that use Intel GPON SoC.

above all, is just for fun and no benefit using GPON ONU SFP when your speed under Gigabit.
That's the thing, I've currently consolidated my main router into my Proxmox box now and my server basically is my router, and if GPON stick can be used on my PCIe SFP+ card, I can techncially just put everything into one box, and also making my UPS more easier to be managed, since I do have one. Granted not a high end one but it'll protect my equipment against blackouts.. Currently I'm running an extension connecting the FibreHome ONU, Proxmox box and switches into the same box, one less plug is one less load I have to put onto my UPS.. but I guess if they're cracking it down then really not much of a choice ranting.gif
yenchenje
post Aug 2 2023, 11:32 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(76radius @ Aug 2 2023, 10:35 PM)
Hi there, I am the one who bought from the EU guy. After conversion / courier it costs RM423/- reached my place less than 5 days. BTW, my service provider is Time Broadband. The GPON stick is very stable since day-1. Just plug & play and requires no knowledge of IT πŸ˜‚. The photo is attached.
The whole unit only costs RM432 after courier? Wow, is it preconfigured by the seller?
yenchenje
post Sep 4 2023, 10:24 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 29 2023, 01:20 AM)
A little insider told me that, I need update the first post, out a warning that I and you all here are not responsible for other user bad action that cause disruption of TM, TIME and other ISP.

also, gov agency and high TM not know about GPON ONU SFP yet, but among TM technician know this.

then, rooted ONU may illegal especially diagnostic program is accessible by user, can cause issue on production GPON, the diagnostic program mainly use for troubleshoot within own GPON private network.

so far only RTL960x based provide diagnostic program by default, I need find back and eradicated the command I wrote long time ago that force laser on and etc... πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…
Hi sifu, just curious but can we use XPON stick if we don't use GPON stick? Also currently I'm looking at ONU OLT from Alibaba that has 10GBe and 2.5GBe LAN, would we be able to mod that with our original ONU OLT info onto it?

Also if we were to use let's say a Intel 82599ES SFP+ PCIe card, would we be able to theoretically pull greater than gigabit if our Unifi is on a 2Gbps plan with an XPON stick? Appreciate your input on this!
yenchenje
post Sep 6 2023, 04:50 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Sep 6 2023, 03:53 PM)
Mind sharing the XPON stick model, is it XGSPON? if yes, that it wouldn't work unless connected to XGSPON OLT, as their wavelength is different
Should still be the same as the ones on Aliexpress/taobao link. But currently TM is still using GPON OLT as opposed to XPON OLT correct? And hence the compatibility issue?
yenchenje
post Sep 7 2023, 09:08 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 6 2023, 05:14 PM)
XGPON uses different wavelength of light. Unless the product advertises backwards compatibility with GPON, else I would assume it's XGPON only.
Noted, so for TM for best compatibility it’s still better to get a GPON rather than XPON stick correct?
yenchenje
post Sep 13 2023, 10:50 PM

932 posts

Curious but something like this should work if it explicitly states GPON/EPON support on the page? Although the title states XGPON, want to try and get this or any other GPON that supports RJ11 as well since my parents still need landline from time to time.

If I go to straight GPON ONU SFP, only way is to use an IP phone right? And that hasn't been well documented yet as far as I'm aware :/

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0675sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:53 PM