83 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN

White2000
post Jun 6 2023, 07:39 AM

272 posts

Is it true turning off modem (ONT) at night bad because it might trigger automatic line condition retraining / error correction that makes internet very slightly bit slower?

I though this apply only to ADSL modems.

This post has been edited by White2000: Jun 6 2023, 07:42 AM
TSAnime4000
post Jun 6 2023, 07:17 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(White2000 @ Jun 6 2023, 07:39 AM)
Is it true turning off modem (ONT) at night bad because it might trigger automatic line condition retraining / error correction that makes internet very slightly bit slower?

No, fiber doesn't do like that
go626201
post Jun 6 2023, 07:30 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(White2000 @ Jun 6 2023, 07:39 AM)

TM keep changing the routing causing the connectivity cant maintain on a high and stable quality connection.
So sometime you get stable connection with good routing,but sometime the connection is bad due to routing changed or congestion.

And so far TM to Local national network connection is improved,so it is better than past 1-2 years. (Now Almost 97% stable, but still got some time will having crap connection)
But TM to worldwide network like SG or others region network still crap,everyday get different connection stability.

OlgaC4
post Jun 6 2023, 08:01 PM

5,296 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jun 6 2023, 07:30 PM)
TM keep changing the routing causing the connectivity cant maintain on a high and stable quality connection.
So sometime you get stable connection with good routing,but sometime the connection is bad due to routing changed or congestion.

And so far TM to Local national network connection is improved,so it is better than past 1-2 years. (Now Almost 97% stable, but still got some time will having crap connection)
But TM to worldwide network like SG or others region network still crap,everyday get different connection stability.
I concur.
ssslayerrr
post Jun 7 2023, 08:50 PM

805 posts

Just want to confirm, even with the fixed mtu of the onu at 2000, whatever config we do on our side, we still need TM to support pppoe mtu of 1500 to connect with this mtu right, otherwise we're all stuck at 1480
TSAnime4000
post Jun 7 2023, 09:28 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jun 7 2023, 08:50 PM)
Just want to confirm, even with the fixed mtu of the onu at 2000, whatever config we do on our side, we still need TM to support pppoe mtu of 1500 to connect with this mtu right, otherwise we're all stuck at 1480
yea, somehow TM downgrade their PPPoE AC, even I set 1508 MTU, it still revert back to 1480, but MRU is 1500!!!

well, this what I got after PPPoE connected:
MTU: 1480
MRU: 1500

I not sure TM is dumb or what
TSAnime4000
post Jun 10 2023, 11:44 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jun 5 2023, 07:04 AM)
Where do you guys get your Mikrotik RB5009 routers from? Subtel?
you can buy RB5009 from CureComp
khjh1976
post Jun 10 2023, 01:04 PM

Finally 2Gbps run in full speed wub.gif

TSAnime4000
post Jun 11 2023, 08:24 PM

2,399 posts

one user (off Lowyat Forum) managed to get extra speed on 1Gbps plan:

Note: This is not ODI SFP Stick
TSAnime4000
post Jun 11 2023, 09:27 PM

2,399 posts

I updated main thread about 2.5Gb HiSGMII PHY, HiSGMII MAC, 2500base-X and NBase-T (2.5GBase-T, 5GBase-T)

just because they see this:
and complain to me GPON ONU SFP he purchase outside can't get 2.5Gb work....
That picture show is using NBase-T RJ45 SFP!!! -> Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G SFP+

Ubiquiti wont support 2.5G HiSGMII:

-T mean Twisted Pair, LAN Cable, CAT5e, CAT6, CAT6a LAN Cable...

ALL GPON ONU SFP using HiSGMII and 2500Base-X

-X mean Fiber Channel aka Fiber Optic

If you plan to use GPON ONU SFP, avoid buy Ubiquiti, Fortinet and Aruba!

If you have those stupid Router, use CRS305 as Medium Converter!

GPON ONU SFP -> 2.5G -> CRS305 -> 10G DAC -> Ubiquiti/Fortinet/Aruba

This method will work 100%!

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jun 11 2023, 09:32 PM
tng55
post Jun 11 2023, 11:13 PM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 11 2023, 09:27 PM)
I updated main thread about 2.5Gb HiSGMII PHY, HiSGMII MAC, 2500base-X and NBase-T (2.5GBase-T, 5GBase-T)

just because they see this:
and complain to me GPON ONU SFP he purchase outside can't get 2.5Gb work....
That picture show is using NBase-T RJ45 SFP!!! -> Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G SFP+

Ubiquiti wont support 2.5G HiSGMII:

-T mean Twisted Pair, LAN Cable, CAT5e, CAT6, CAT6a LAN Cable...

ALL GPON ONU SFP using HiSGMII and 2500Base-X

-X mean Fiber Channel aka Fiber Optic

If you plan to use GPON ONU SFP, avoid buy Ubiquiti, Fortinet and Aruba!

If you have those stupid Router, use CRS305 as Medium Converter!

GPON ONU SFP -> 2.5G -> CRS305 -> 10G DAC -> Ubiquiti/Fortinet/Aruba

This method will work 100%!
wow to many project
they use swtich gpon you found facebook he use CRS305
facebook CureComp correct

look photo silver big that they use CRS305

correct ?????

TSAnime4000
post Jun 12 2023, 12:39 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 11 2023, 11:13 PM)
wow to many project
they use swtich gpon you found facebook he use CRS305
facebook CureComp correct

look photo silver big that they use CRS305

correct ?????
Yes, that CRS305

2.5G and 5G has two standard:
1. Speed Up 1Gb
2. Slow Down 10Gb

Speed Up 1Gb: SGMII at 2X lane (2.5Gb) and 4X lane (5Gb)
Slow Down 10Gb: The 10GBase-T slowed down to 50% (5Gb) and 25% (2.5Gb)

Most Enterprise router out there only support slowed down 10Gb timing, thus NBase-T standard existing for Wi-Fi 6 (because Wi-Fi 6 are much faster than 1GbE)

the MII standard has been existing quite long time, thus SGMII (1Gb) and HiSGMII (2.5/5Gb), implementation increased speed of SGMII very easy, just double and quadruple the SGMII Lanes, simple.

I don't know why Ubiquiti won't support it even hardware they use support it...

Also this is the reason why 2.5Gb Switch are still expensive, they just use same 10Gb that they already have and just slow it down with little price discount

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jun 12 2023, 12:42 AM
Jjuggler
post Jun 12 2023, 01:49 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2023, 12:39 AM)
Yes, that CRS305

1. Speed Up 1Gb
2. Slow Down 10Gb

Most Enterprise router out there only support slowed down 10Gb timing, thus NBase-T standard existing for Wi-Fi 6 (because Wi-Fi 6 are much faster than 1GbE)

the MII standard has been existing quite long time, thus SGMII (1Gb) and HiSGMII (2.5/5Gb), implementation increased speed of SGMII very easy, just double and quadruple the SGMII Lanes, simple.

Also this is the reason why 2.5Gb Switch are still expensive, they just use same 10Gb that they already have and just slow it down with little price discount
So, Ubiquiti's hardware is completely useless against any hardcore customizations? I find surprising to think Ubiquiti gears doesn't support HiSMII. Now I get the logic behind 2.5G switches are damn expensive.
go626201
post Jun 12 2023, 02:00 AM

1,882 posts

2.5G unmanaged switch is cheaper since April,now 5port only cost around RM200+-

8 port with 1xSFP+ cost RM255+-

More cheaper switch should be coming soon in next or next 2-3 year.

For managed switch,still expensive, almost 2.5X-5X price per unit,but with more port and multiple 10G Ethernet /SFP+ port.
tng55
post Jun 12 2023, 02:39 AM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2023, 12:39 AM)
Yes, that CRS305

1. Speed Up 1Gb
2. Slow Down 10Gb

hmm slow down 10Gb

if 2.5Gb Switch wont slow it down

2.5Gb Switch are still expensive what model

TSAnime4000
post Jun 12 2023, 08:43 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jun 12 2023, 01:49 AM)
So, Ubiquiti's hardware is completely useless against any hardcore customizations? I find surprising to think Ubiquiti gears doesn't support HiSMII. Now I get the logic behind 2.5G switches are damn expensive.
yea, very simple tweak, just slow down 10G, come NBase-T standard rclxm9.gif
I can say many Enterprise Router wont support HiSGMII or 2500Base-X

Only Mikrotik and few China TP-Link such as ER2260T Router

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 12 2023, 02:39 AM)
2.5Gb Switch are still expensive what model
This, not under RM200
https://www.tp-link.com/my/business-network...ch/tl-sg105-m2/
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...9242881006.html

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jun 12 2023, 09:20 PM
tng55
post Jun 12 2023, 11:10 PM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2023, 08:43 PM)
yea, very simple tweak, just slow down 10G, come NBase-T standard rclxm9.gif
I can say many Enterprise Router wont support HiSGMII or 2500Base-X

Only Mikrotik and few China TP-Link such as ER2260T Router
This, not under RM200
https://www.tp-link.com/my/business-network...ch/tl-sg105-m2/
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...9242881006.html
that tplink don't have SFP+ for 2.5G Switch
TSAnime4000
post Jun 13 2023, 01:33 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 12 2023, 11:10 PM)
that tplink don't have SFP+ for 2.5G Switch
indeed, quite expansive without SFP,
use that switch for with 2.5G router like RB5009 for expanding 2.5G networking
tng55
post Jun 13 2023, 01:57 AM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 13 2023, 01:33 AM)
indeed, quite expansive without SFP,
use that switch for with 2.5G router like RB5009 for expanding 2.5G networking
mean RB5009 2.5G X1 to switch extra Port 8 2.5G right

but CRS305 don't have 2.5g Port but 1G Port only

you told slow down for CRS305

erict68
post Jun 13 2023, 01:39 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(liquid.D @ May 13 2023, 11:24 PM)
Edit This:

I’ve just got mine from lazada together with 2.5G media converter,
Updated : Mine seems to have this (i think v1)
Firmware Version V1.0-220923

Btw the version means it’s not compatible with same firmware as what yea all using?

I want to upload the image from my ipad but seems loyat said it’s too large haha

Below are the information on the ODi
DFP-34X-2C2
1.25/2.5G 1310nm 20km
XPON 23……87 (i guess this is the serial number)

Another Question…
Any of you sifu use viewqwest in the home area where Unifi infra is? ..
Any Of you sifu2 use 2 fibre subscription per house number?… success or not? Not sure 1 house / 1 fibre or can multi subscribe.. smile.gif
I think i have the same new stick as your which is v6, you can check the version as picture attach.

It's using RTL8672 SOC and default flash with 220923 SFU firmware.

83 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:20 AM