Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN

Jjuggler
post Jun 12 2023, 01:49 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2023, 12:39 AM)
Yes, that CRS305

2.5G and 5G has two standard:
1. Speed Up 1Gb
2. Slow Down 10Gb

Speed Up 1Gb: SGMII at 2X lane (2.5Gb) and 4X lane (5Gb)
Slow Down 10Gb: The 10GBase-T slowed down to 50% (5Gb) and 25% (2.5Gb)

Most Enterprise router out there only support slowed down 10Gb timing, thus NBase-T standard existing for Wi-Fi 6 (because Wi-Fi 6 are much faster than 1GbE)

the MII standard has been existing quite long time, thus SGMII (1Gb) and HiSGMII (2.5/5Gb), implementation increased speed of SGMII very easy, just double and quadruple the SGMII Lanes, simple.

I don't know why Ubiquiti won't support it even hardware they use support it...

Also this is the reason why 2.5Gb Switch are still expensive, they just use same 10Gb that they already have and just slow it down with little price discount
So, Ubiquiti's hardware is completely useless against any hardcore customizations? I find surprising to think Ubiquiti gears doesn't support HiSMII. Now I get the logic behind 2.5G switches are damn expensive.
Jjuggler
post Jun 30 2023, 06:26 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2023, 08:43 PM)
yea, very simple tweak, just slow down 10G, come NBase-T standard rclxm9.gif
I can say many Enterprise Router wont support HiSGMII or 2500Base-X
Understood.

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 24 2023, 11:04 PM)
Doing two in one, went to Anime Fest, COD and giving out DPN-FX3060V... have great networking talk rclxm9.gif

I cracking open chong601 DPN-FX3060V, this what inside

UART:

Block Diagram (Revision 26/June/2023):

SoC is RTL9607DQ, ARM Cortex A55 at 1GHz (not sure how many cores)

Same environment as RTL9601CI and RTL9601D, has omcicli, flash get/set, diag, etc...
Run on newer Linux Kernel hence using newer Realtek ASDK instead of Realtek Luna SDK (that used most GPON ONU SFP)

Perhaps Realtek ASDK is for ARM, meanwhile Luna SDK is for MIPS, which is highly modified MIPS, can be run on QEMU to test but complied binary wont run, I have tested, it appear missing Luna toolchain for compile...
As chong601 said...

Here full DPN-FX3060V UART Dump

This what I see:
CODE

bandwidth get egress port all
port: 0  rate:1024000

bandwidth get ingress port all
port: 0 rate:32767999
port: 1 rate:32767999
port: 2 rate:32767999
port: 3 rate:32767999
port: 4 rate:32767999
port: 5 rate:32767999
port: 6 rate:32767999
port: 7 rate:32767999

this cause RTL9601D (ODI Stick) has very low upload speed, what I assume was correct, OMCI that ODI Stick received cause wrong value (not what ODI Stick expected)!
Ayooo.. Looking at the router, dirt cheap. Looks like a enclosure casing bought from pasar malam. hmm.gif

Jjuggler
post Jun 30 2023, 06:30 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 30 2023, 02:27 PM)
I got call from someone claiming be TM...

tldr; TM want user to stop using ODI DFP-34X-2C2 on 2Gbps:
1. Conflict OMCI parameter with D-Link (I blame Realtek for this, inconsistency between RTL960x family)
2. Don't call 100 to troubleshoot ODI DFP-34X-2C2
3. Keep old ONU (when technician come, revert back to original ONU)
4. Using custom ONU, please clone ONU properties properly, no missing single property or even one character! (if this keep wrong or wrong place, TM has right to ban your unifi)

TM not saying this illegal, but trouble for them and technician team

I been instruct to edit main thread and my GitHub about these

I hope this not haram  mega_shok.gif
TM's technician knows nothing about networking lol. Their SOP is just to come, basic troubleshoot, change device and go. You initiate any conversation with them related to advance networking, they will be passive and remain unresponsive all the time.

They have rights to ban the unifi account if they identified users using custom ONU? Walao... Shitty company that provides lousy CPE can do that meh?
Jjuggler
post Jun 30 2023, 09:58 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 30 2023, 09:02 PM)

not just TM, same with TIME. since GPON ONU SFP is rooted, you basically can do anything, including "force TX laser on" and this will cause other user lose their internet connection.

and you can sniff down stream packet, even with AES encryption, I guess this can be crack, most GPON use basic 128-bit just fast enough to decrypt.

also hijacking GEM Port to by pass OLT speed cap, if OLT is configured badly.

fiber is shared connection...

so, TM just don't want another RTL960x GPON ONU on their fiber, this clash with D-Link that use RTL9607DQ (part of RTL960x family)

as we know, ODI Stick unable to saturate upload speed, because OLT use different parameters that RTL9607DQ understand, not RTL9601D/CI

buying ODI Stick now can be risky if you don't set ONU Information properly, TM or other ISP has right to ban,

bad setting ONU information mean not hiding enough,
check what OLT, if OLT is Nokia, avoid using Nokia ONU info, etc...

I am NOT RESPONSIBLE for this, I merely share what can be done if you do it correctly.

I am looking another solution, most GPON ONU SFP that I sell lately is not Realtek based, it's Intel based SFP which is hard to get since it's part of 4G/5G Cell Tower
Understood. I don't think casual users willing to take risk into doing this. Power users will utilize this with compatible equipment with right ONU information correctly without getting their account to be banned. They still using 128-bit, still in 2023? Very bad CS practice.

Jjuggler
post Jun 30 2023, 10:19 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:12 PM)
what I read, same with XGPON/XGSPON, just need better down stream encryption at 256 or above, if SoC manufacturer willing sell it cheap...
Good things doesn't comes cheap. Sigh. sweat.gif

0.0655sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:59 PM