83 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN

RViN
post Jan 4 2024, 05:33 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Jan 1 2024, 04:27 PM)
here's something new i found

if you use this

the dual/quad port broadcom 10g pcie card would have to hang off the side externally haha

https://www.servethehome.com/cwwk-crazy-a-s...b-super-system/
This is a lot more interesting

Four 10GbE SFP+ ports and five 2.5G ethernet ports. I wonder though how much switching/routing throughput that 8 core atom can support.

Power consumption would be higher but its a lot more flexible.

https://www.servethehome.com/the-everything...qnap-teamgroup/
StarPrimo
post Jan 4 2024, 05:41 PM

1,845 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jan 4 2024, 05:33 PM)

Four 10GbE SFP+ ports and five 2.5G ethernet ports. I wonder though how much switching/routing throughput that 8 core atom can support.

Interesting info
Great 👍🏻
yenchenje
post Jan 4 2024, 06:41 PM

932 posts

Don’t forget, it’s not a 57810S chipset, so still can’t do AIO
paultantk
post Jan 4 2024, 06:51 PM

407 posts

theres alot of this box with built in 10gbe, but we it seems cannot use any of them because they dont use the right NIC chipset

thats why i highlighted the other box which has a pcie slot, so we can use it with a broadcom 10g NIC
RViN
post Jan 4 2024, 09:38 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Jan 4 2024, 06:51 PM)
theres alot of this box with built in 10gbe, but we it seems cannot use any of them because they dont use the right NIC chipset

thats why i highlighted the other box which has a pcie slot, so we can use it with a broadcom 10g NIC
Ah alright.

It has M.2 slots so potentially can through a m.2 -> pcie adapter, though will have to figure out how to make it fit neatly.
yenchenje
post Jan 4 2024, 10:01 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jan 4 2024, 09:38 PM)
Ah alright.

It has M.2 slots so potentially can through a m.2 -> pcie adapter, though will have to figure out how to make it fit neatly.
Most likely have to use 3D printed case tbh, fitting this in the same case seems like lots of trouble, especially with the need to manually cut the aluminum to fit it in.

Not to mention the cooling part, these BCM57810S gets HOT, putting it this close seems like a horrible idea in general.

Next best option is harvest 12V off the power connector for another fan onto the NIC, which is another hurdle lol
TSAnime4000
post Jan 5 2024, 11:32 PM

2,399 posts

I have been told that I need change the guide to more user friendly and quick to setup for ISP Technician who supply my PON Stick for their client's

I have saved the snapshot at Web Archive

also I have backup the my raw lowyat post
TSAnime4000
post Jan 6 2024, 04:28 PM

2,399 posts

I added new section for client who have 2 or more Unifi Ultra by using VRRP tricks

yenchenje
post Jan 7 2024, 01:39 AM

932 posts

"If it aint broken, dont touch it" point reached..

OPNSense with VoIP/TR069 finally working

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Jan 7 2024, 01:44 AM
TSAnime4000
post Jan 7 2024, 02:18 AM

2,399 posts

How to read and know what LAN port TM that provisioned

On D-Link SSH/Telnet (sh) type:
CODE

omcicli mib get 171

Unifi (OLT: FHTT)

Maxis (TM, OLT: ALCL)

See the AssociatedMePoint

ONT LAN LAN 1 LAN 2 LAN 3 LAN 4 LAN X - - - - POTS
Interface eth0 eth1 eth2 eth3 ethX nas0 nas1 nasX ppp0 nasX
AssociatedMePoint 0x101 0x102 0x103 0x104 0x1## 0xe01 0xe02 0xe## 0x4### 0xff##
Type PPTP PPTP PPTP PPTP PPTP VEIP VEIP VEIP PPP VEIP

VEIP is most common use on TR069 and VoIP, and PPTP for Internet.

but OLT can use VEIP for Internet and this prevent bridging as per Standard

For Allo, some area using CALX OLT which is no VLAN treatment, OMCI 84 and 171 come up blank.

eth = Ethernet (Physical Port)
nas = Network Acceleration Subsystem (similar to tun0 or tap0 (virtual), this interface created when OMCI kick in and active)

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Apr 1 2024, 09:33 PM
TSAnime4000
post Jan 8 2024, 09:05 PM

2,399 posts

Yesterday I went to Pulau Meranti at Puchong to setup the PON Stick with Archer BE800

Test PON Stick directly, it work by enter the command after PPPoE connected

but decide to use 2.5G HiSGMII Converter and wait TP-Link release stable PON Stick compatible firmware, since this will run on production environment, if blackout happen, going back online quick as possible.
Xhr0no
post Jan 9 2024, 04:45 PM

28 posts

Hi, just want to know anyone has experience setting this up with a TP-Link ER8411 Router?

We have this router and it has 2 10G sfp ports, and we have subscribed to Unifi 2gbps.

This post has been edited by Xhr0no: Jan 9 2024, 04:46 PM
paultantk
post Jan 11 2024, 11:39 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Jan 4 2024, 10:01 PM)
Most likely have to use 3D printed case tbh, fitting this in the same case seems like lots of trouble, especially with the need to manually cut the aluminum to fit it in.

Not to mention the cooling part, these BCM57810S gets HOT, putting it this close seems like a horrible idea in general.

Next best option is harvest 12V off the power connector for another fan onto the NIC, which is another hurdle lol
internal pcie slot!

https://www.servethehome.com/minisforum-ms-...-mini-pc-intel/
yenchenje
post Jan 11 2024, 10:24 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Jan 11 2024, 11:39 AM)
Nearly SGD910 whew rclxub.gif

Maybe I'll keep my supermicro router for a month or two more before pulling the plug on this
TSAnime4000
post Jan 12 2024, 01:19 AM

2,399 posts

I try to repair someone PON Stick, the Rx keep repeating True, False when fiddle with UPC connector
though it was bad BOSA (Bi-Directional Optical Sub Assembly), or BOSA didn't aligned.

Open the PON Stick, the BOSA pin out is shorting 🤣

TSAnime4000
post Jan 16 2024, 01:28 PM

2,399 posts

I went to friend house hezaika at Sri Damansara, as some of my VM server hosted there,

so I upgrade his old GPON ONU Stick to mine one to allow working on latest Mikrotik ROS

my GPON ONU Stick works with TIME Huawei OLT
ahmadpi
post Jan 18 2024, 06:19 PM

157 posts

I have studying your post and would really ask this question. The GPON ONU SFP have DHCP capability? Becasue I have 2.5Gbe unmanaged switch.
yenchenje
post Jan 18 2024, 07:18 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(ahmadpi @ Jan 18 2024, 06:19 PM)
I have studying your post and would really ask this question. The GPON ONU SFP have DHCP capability? Becasue I have 2.5Gbe unmanaged switch.
It’s a miniature GPON, not a router

You still need a router, a switch won’t be able to do PPPoE dialup, especially not an unmanaged switch
TSAnime4000
post Jan 19 2024, 12:24 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(ahmadpi @ Jan 18 2024, 06:19 PM)
I have studying your post and would really ask this question. The GPON ONU SFP have DHCP capability? Because I have 2.5Gbe unmanaged switch.
as yenchenje said before.

This SFP is very small only can do bridge effectively, adding function like DHCP, PPPoE, NAT (like a router) will kill the performance.

not mention about heat from PON Laser 😅 adding router like function will generate more heat and slow performance

liquid.D
post Jan 21 2024, 12:06 AM

117 posts

Hi All Sifus,

I have 1 UDM PRO, may i know the above statement means that onu have problem cucuk direct the sfp? need to use media converter? … hehe so sayang if cannot because thinking to upgrade 2G from TM

83 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:16 AM