SONY TV 2020 available for order

simmarjit
post Apr 26 2021, 10:43 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Apr 26 2021, 10:10 AM)
Hi guys. Wondering any experts here can provide some input, since I'm a total newb when it comes to these TV audio stuff.

I have a older model Sony Kd55x7000f and it does not support dolby atmos based on my checking. Was wondering if I get a soundbar that has dolby atmos (for example : HT-x8500) would I be able to enjoy the dolby atmos function on the soundbar? Since the TV doesn't support dolby atmos.

I did a research and there's one article that says this can be done. But I'm not 100% convinced so would appreciate any input from experienced people here, if any.

Or do I just get a soundbar that doesn't support dolby atmos like the HT-S350?
If I am not mistaken only eARC can do Atmos and DTS:X , so if your TV has eARC instead of ARC then you will be able to get Atmos.

I think some sound bars also have multiple HDMI inputs, so maybe you can plug your sources into a sound bar HDMI hub and then HDMI from sound bar to your TV. I think Samsung Q950T can do that.
fruitie
post Apr 26 2021, 11:09 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Apr 26 2021, 10:39 AM)
It was Thye Hin. Hope you get good price as well!
Oh Thye Hin, famous electrical shop in Seremban. Thanks, I will check it out later!
writesimply
post Apr 26 2021, 05:36 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Apr 26 2021, 10:43 AM)
If I am not mistaken only eARC can do Atmos and DTS:X , so if your TV has eARC instead of ARC then you will be able to get Atmos.

eARC is Enhanced Audio Return Channel. ARC is a subset of eARC.

It’s worth noting ARC doesn’t allow you to bitstream the full-fat high-quality codecs such as Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio or DTS:X soundtracks that you find on Blu-rays and 4K Blu-rays. It simply strips out the core 5.1 data stream. If you want this level of functionality, you’ll need HDMI eARC.

ARC can, however, allow you to receive Dolby Atmos audio from streaming services that use the format, including Netflix and Amazon Prime Video. These services embed Dolby Atmos in a Dolby Digital Plus stream, which ARC can handle.
Enhanced Audio Return Channel (also known as eARC) is the next generation of ARC. It’s a feature implemented in the most recent HDMI 2.1 specification.

The main benefit of eARC is a big boost in bandwidth and speed. This allows you to send higher-quality audio from your TV to a soundbar or AV receiver.

There’s scope for eARC to deliver up to 32 channels of audio, including eight-channel, 24bit/192kHz uncompressed data streams at speeds of up to 38Mbps.
HDMI ARC and HDMI eARC: everything you need to know - From WhatHiFi

So if a TV has eARC and a soundbar supports Dolby Atmos 5.1.2 (minimum), then you're good to go.
timo1003
post Apr 26 2021, 07:58 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Apr 26 2021, 10:43 AM)

I think some sound bars also have multiple HDMI inputs, so maybe you can plug your sources into a sound bar HDMI hub and then HDMI from sound bar to your TV. I think Samsung Q950T can do that.
Appreciate the reply. I think based on your reply and the other one by writesimply, I think this Sony model of mine can't support it. It only has arc. Not earc.

Thanks very much anyways. It's been helpful.
attacusatlas
post Apr 27 2021, 01:12 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Apr 26 2021, 09:38 AM)
A8H is definitely has better picture quality, tutup mata boleh beli, if one has the budget  thumbup.gif

Nowadays, doesnt really matter, if its bought outstation, since support is from the service Center, hardly shops provides any support.

I bought mine from Seremban as well.

Enjoy your TV!
Thanks!

My concern is on the extended warranty, 2 years after the manufacturer’s warranty.

My recent experience with my Dyson fan was I need to return to where I purchased the extended warranty.
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 27 2021, 01:27 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Apr 27 2021, 01:12 PM)
Thanks!

My concern is on the extended warranty, 2 years after the manufacturer’s warranty.

My recent experience with my Dyson fan was I need to return to where I purchased the extended warranty.
usually that is how extended warranty works.

non manufacturer extended warranty is basically an insurance scheme u take for your applicance.

if it spoil within that period they will try to repair it and if they determine the cost is higher than your current value of your insured item, they will try to replace it with equivalent value item (sometimes ask u to top-up)

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Apr 27 2021, 01:27 PM
attacusatlas
post Apr 27 2021, 01:57 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 27 2021, 01:27 PM)
usually that is how extended warranty works.

non manufacturer extended warranty is basically an insurance scheme u take for your applicance.

if it spoil within that period they will try to repair it and if they determine the cost is higher than your current value of your insured item, they will try to replace it with equivalent value item (sometimes ask u to top-up)
Appreciate your reply.

You are right on the extended warranty hence it makes more sense to get it locally.

Still hunting for a decent sound bar though but will update it here once the search is finally over.
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 27 2021, 02:54 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Apr 27 2021, 01:57 PM)
Appreciate your reply.

You are right on the extended warranty hence it makes more sense to get it locally.

Still hunting for a decent sound bar though but will update it here once the search is finally over.
Personally I think it's a waste of money. But to each their own.
writesimply
post Apr 27 2021, 06:27 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Apr 26 2021, 07:58 PM)
I think this Sony model of mine can't support it. It only has arc. Not earc.

You don't need to buy a new TV just to get DAtmos. You just need to get a new DAtmos/DTS-X system.

Media Player/UHD Player -> HDMI Input -> DAtmos/DTS-X system -> HDMI Video Out -> 4K TV
This works when the DAtmos/DTS-X has inputs and video output. This is how DAtmos/DTS-X receiver delivers 4K video and sound for you. The receiver/soundbar becomes the HDMI switcher to switch AV inputs.

Media Player/UHD Player -> HDMI Input -> 4K TV -> HDMI Audio Out -> DAtmos/DTS-X system
With this method, the TV becomes the HDMI switcher.

To get the Atmos experience, the soundbar/HT must be 5.1.2 at the minimum. Just because it labels itself Atmos, doesn't mean anything.

If you don't mind cable management, a 5.1.2 HT is the way to go.
attacusatlas
post Apr 27 2021, 07:09 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 27 2021, 02:54 PM)
Personally I think it's a waste of money. But to each their own.
Were you referring to the sound bar? Yeah I heard about it as well. However I am not so inclined in getting a home theatre or 5.1 set up; a simple sound bar should fit my requirements.

This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Apr 27 2021, 07:11 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 27 2021, 08:21 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Apr 27 2021, 07:09 PM)
Were you referring to the sound bar? Yeah I heard about it as well. However I am not so inclined in getting a home theatre or 5.1 set up; a simple sound bar should fit my requirements.
laugh.gif I mean extended warranty. But that's my own personal opinion la. Don't apply to other people.
attacusatlas
post Apr 27 2021, 09:12 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 27 2021, 08:21 PM)
laugh.gif I mean extended warranty. But that's my own personal opinion la. Don't apply to other people.
Ah I see...

Well, I am just worried if anything is going to happen after 2 years after trading off my kidney.
airtawarian
post Apr 29 2021, 06:15 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Mar 17 2021, 06:40 PM)
My 85 inch x90h is with extra 3 yrs warranty at 13k ++
Is it worth to buy 85 or 75? How is the difference? For semi-d house
terryfu
post Apr 30 2021, 05:09 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Apr 29 2021, 06:15 PM)
Is it worth to buy 85 or 75? How is the difference? For semi-d house

Bigger always better. If u have a huge living room yes it’s worth it. I also live in semi-d
airtawarian
post Apr 30 2021, 10:54 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Apr 30 2021, 05:09 AM)
Bigger always better. If u have a huge living room yes it’s worth it. I also live in semi-d
Thanks Bro. If view from Left or right angle ok?
BChLZ
post May 2 2021, 08:57 PM

38 posts

Saw Sen Heng selling 65" a8h for RM10599, and will get 10% rebate in member point.
Is this a good price?
yujin86
post May 3 2021, 09:40 PM

1,737 posts

I also saw 65 inch x90h for 6179-15%=5252.
Quite tempted😫😫😫
cyrobytes
post May 4 2021, 01:14 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ May 3 2021, 09:40 PM)
I also saw 65 inch x90h for 6179-15%=5252.
Quite tempted😫😫😫
I saw Harvey Norman Batu Kawan doing a clearance 2 weeks ago selling 65x90h at 5199. Last week went there again, all sold out and left only display set selling at 4699.
yujin86
post May 4 2021, 09:15 AM

1,737 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ May 4 2021, 01:14 AM)
I saw Harvey Norman  Batu Kawan doing a clearance 2 weeks ago selling 65x90h at 5199. Last week went there again, all sold out and left only display set selling at 4699.
wow
mayb i will try my luck for HN outlet here in jb

btw for display set is it still under std warranty?

This post has been edited by yujin86: May 4 2021, 09:16 AM
cyrobytes
post May 4 2021, 10:33 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ May 4 2021, 09:15 AM)
wow
mayb i will try my luck for HN outlet here in jb

btw for display set is it still under std warranty?
I have no ideas, should have warranty. Didnt ask the sales there.

92 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.1081sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:59 PM