126 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

chris2k
post Oct 26 2020, 03:55 AM

104 posts

Hi all, I've had Great Protectlink ILP for many years, with Lion Strategic Fund. I've now realised that the performance has been terribly bad and I've actually lost money after so long (double digit percentagewise). If I had put the money even in a savings account, I would've actually made money. Yes, that bad. sad.gif

Could I get some advice on what's the best thing to do right now? Switch to a different fund (which fund)?

Or reduce premium and put it in EPF or something else instead?

My objective is retirement funds. Thanks for your help.

This post has been edited by chris2k: Oct 26 2020, 04:07 AM
Cyclopes
post Oct 26 2020, 10:17 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(chris2k @ Oct 26 2020, 03:55 AM)
Hi all, I've had Great Protectlink ILP for many years, with Lion Strategic Fund. I've now realised that the performance has been terribly bad and I've actually lost money after so long (double digit percentagewise). If I had put the money even in a savings account, I would've actually made money. Yes, that bad. sad.gif

Could I get some advice on what's the best thing to do right now? Switch to a different fund (which fund)?

It would be unwise to just switch funds without knowing it's performance, though past performance is not a guarantee. Maybe your agent can provide you guidance what are the better funds to invest.

Reducing premium may affect your current coverage, you may have to reduce the coverage or cover for a shorter period.
lifebalance
post Oct 26 2020, 10:39 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Oct 25 2020, 11:05 PM)
Came across this, was surprised cause most of the content I saw / heard from insurance agent suggested otherwise (which is understandable as they earn a living out of it).
I wonder if taking insurance early (and never changed company since) will increase the likelihood of the company accepting the application / upgrading our plan when we ages? (assuming ceteris paribus)
No, taking a policy early even at 1 years old and hold until 100 years old would not increase your likelihood of the same company to accept future / upgrade of the plan.

It's based on your existing health condition at that moment of application that is the consideration before the company accepts your application or choose to offer you any upgrades.

You may choose to switch the funds to reduce the risk of losses

if you've bought it for the purpose of investment to grow the funds ... then you've bought the plan for the wrong purpose

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Oct 26 2020, 10:42 AM
ckdenion
post Oct 26 2020, 10:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(riceuball @ Oct 25 2020, 07:27 PM)
hi riceuball, reply as per above in spoilers wink.gif anyway, don't feel lost. at least you landed up here. laugh.gif

hi chris2k, the plan comes with some insurance benefits. in terms of retirement, it depends on how much do you currently have and what is your expected lifestyle in the future. of course, in terms of growing your funds, insurance products can't really do that. Accumulation wise, yes but not really for aggressive growth. Can't really give you a proper advise on what to do with that current plan, because it might have certain insurance benefits that you might need. but if you are looking in terms of planning for retirement, definitely putting in other investment vehicle is better compared to Great Protectlink.

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Oct 26 2020, 10:14 PM
eviechu28 P
post Oct 26 2020, 11:54 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Holocene @ Oct 22 2020, 05:39 PM)
If you’re buying Allianz PowerLink, it’s unlikely that it will be “one price forever”. Most likely is your current premium contribution is 3 - 4 times that is required hence giving you a projected larger cash value which translate to a policy that is able to sustain more than 100 years old hence “one price forever”.

Do note that insurance company do have the right to increase the COI which inadvertently will affect the sustainability and premium of the policy.

Best,
Jiansheng
it is allianz power link.
MUM
post Oct 27 2020, 12:45 AM

14,929 posts

from Allianz Powerlink brochure....
https://www.allianz.com.my/documents/144671...8f-f04cb636a9c3

neoexcaliber
post Oct 27 2020, 10:24 AM

86 posts

I received a notification from PruBSN today that my policy will be repriced from 2021 onwards with a whopping 25% increase. Is this across the board or only me?
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2020, 10:25 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Oct 27 2020, 10:24 AM)
I received a notification from PruBSN today that my policy will be repriced from 2021 onwards with a whopping 25% increase. Is this across the board or only me?
Across the board

neoexcaliber
post Oct 27 2020, 10:26 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 27 2020, 10:25 AM)
Across the board
25% increase is insane though. I've had two increases in the last 7 years. I shudder to think how much I'd have to fork out in 20 years just to maintain the same benefits.
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2020, 10:27 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Oct 27 2020, 10:26 AM)
25% increase is insane though. I've had two increases in the last 7 years. I shudder to think how much I'd have to fork out in 20 years just to maintain the same benefits.
smile.gif healthcare is expensive
sieghurt
post Oct 27 2020, 10:52 AM

hi,
i am a uni student that still have few months till graduate and i am seeking to get started some insurance coverage.

can i have some recommendation thats below RM 100 which i can upgrade it later in the future?
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2020, 10:54 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sieghurt @ Oct 27 2020, 10:52 AM)
hi,
i am a uni student that still have few months till graduate and i am seeking to get started some insurance coverage.

can i have some recommendation thats below RM 100 which i can upgrade it later in the future?
You can start with a standalone, payor can be your parents
encikbuta
post Oct 28 2020, 03:37 PM

275 posts

not sure if this has been asked before but here goes. I'm currently reviewing my Great Eastern ILP plan and I noticed that my funds are 100% invested in Lion Strategic Fund. I am just wondering if that really is the most suitable fund for me? A bit about me, I'm 35 yrs old and I don't mind going high risk (heavy on equities).

Looking at the fund description, this Lion Strategic Fund floats between Fixed Income and Equity with the goal of reducing downside risk. Seems a bit 'safe'. I think I'm more a 'Lion Enhanced Equity Fund' kind of guy. Besides having huge weight in equities, I also like it that they diversify out of Malaysia (i.e. 50% M'sia, 25% HK, 25% SG).

I usually would do my own analysis but public information on these funds are quite hard to obtain. Best i could do is compare the bloomberg chart but that just goes as far 5 years only. Also, Bloomberg just tracks the unit price and doesn't account for the fund distributions.

If you guys also know where I can access the latest fund factsheet for all the Great Eastern Lion funds, that would be greatly appreciated biggrin.gif

If I had it my way, I would just go all into Lion US-i Fund (just track the S&P 500) but the GE e-connect website won't allow me the option to do so. I guess they only allow transfer between local funds.

Edit: I do understand that insurance plans should not used as a vehicle to grow wealth. That said, I guess there is no harm in trying to maximize returns since there is already an investment element in it? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Oct 28 2020, 03:50 PM
lifebalance
post Oct 28 2020, 04:31 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Oct 28 2020, 03:37 PM)
not sure if this has been asked before but here goes. I'm currently reviewing my Great Eastern ILP plan and I noticed that my funds are 100% invested in Lion Strategic Fund. I am just wondering if that really is the most suitable fund for me? A bit about me, I'm 35 yrs old and I don't mind going high risk (heavy on equities).

Looking at the fund description, this Lion Strategic Fund floats between Fixed Income and Equity with the goal of reducing downside risk. Seems a bit 'safe'. I think I'm more a 'Lion Enhanced Equity Fund' kind of guy. Besides having huge weight in equities, I also like it that they diversify out of Malaysia (i.e. 50% M'sia, 25% HK, 25% SG).

I usually would do my own analysis but public information on these funds are quite hard to obtain. Best i could do is compare the bloomberg chart but that just goes as far 5 years only. Also, Bloomberg just tracks the unit price and doesn't account for the fund distributions.

If you guys also know where I can access the latest fund factsheet for all the Great Eastern Lion funds, that would be greatly appreciated  biggrin.gif

If I had it my way, I would just go all into Lion US-i Fund (just track the S&P 500) but the GE e-connect website won't allow me the option to do so. I guess they only allow transfer between local funds.

Edit: I do understand that insurance plans should not used as a vehicle to grow wealth. That said, I guess there is no harm in trying to maximize returns since there is already an investment element in it? biggrin.gif
https://www.greateasternlife.com/my/en/pers...t-of-funds.html

You can also look up the details in Bloomberg.

Cheers.

Holocene
post Oct 28 2020, 04:46 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

If you guys also know where I can access the latest fund factsheet for all the Great Eastern Lion funds, that would be greatly appreciated  biggrin.gif

Don't believe there is any fund fact sheet available online but next best thing is here.

https://www.greateasternlife.com/my/en/abou...-annual-reports

Hope that helps.

Best,
Jiansheng
ckdenion
post Oct 28 2020, 04:52 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

hi encikbuta, you can ask the fact sheet from your GE agent. it is not available online. you are right though on maximizing return, of course not for wealth growth but to minimize the chances of having premium increased OR reduce the possible premium increment in the future. for GE, i will usually recommend the Fixed Income fund and Lion Balanced Fund. Others not performing so well.
JIUHWEI
post Oct 28 2020, 05:23 PM

1,333 posts

hi,

Maybe you want to check with your parents?
See what do they already have in place for you.
Then build from there.
adele123
post Oct 29 2020, 01:02 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Oct 27 2020, 10:26 AM)
Switch to plan with co-takaful or deductible. It will help. That is if you are ok with bearing some hospitalisation cost on your own.

hi,

Why not wait till you graduate? This way you have a better gauge of your income vs expenses then. For lower budget, maybe you should look at online for some simple coverage. Then buy a full fledge comprehensive plan via agents later on.

This post has been edited by adele123: Oct 29 2020, 01:03 AM
cybpsych
post Oct 29 2020, 08:59 AM

---------------------
65,322 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Oct 29 2020, 08:49 AM)
Hi all sifus,

Anyone experienced their medical card premium increased?

Am using Great Eastern, today I received an email that my premium will be increased.

However, I have 2 options: either to Accept or Reject the increment.

My question is, if I choose to reject the increment, will it affect my coverage in the future?

Thanks!

#hidupsusahsekarang
QUOTE(GTA5 @ Oct 29 2020, 08:57 AM)
I already have medical card coverage.

The increment actually not today a lot, RM 40.

But, I just want to understand the effect on my policy if I reject the increment.
maybe someone here can help explain the impact/effect to the coverage
GTA5
post Oct 29 2020, 09:05 AM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 29 2020, 08:59 AM)
maybe someone here can help explain the impact/effect to the coverage
Ah yes, thanks!

126 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top