QUOTE(RAL @ Mar 30 2020, 05:17 PM)
Your employer should be providing you with a medical insurance. Do check with HR on that first, and then you will have clarity on what kind of coverage you would require.
Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance
Mar 31 2020, 04:00 PM
1,307 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Apr 18 2020, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(RoGuEWaVe @ Apr 17 2020, 12:47 AM) Hie... Looking for suggestions for life insurance. Hi Roguewave, Planning to take 2M coverage for life and 500k for critical illness. Is it advisable to take under 1 company or multiple company ex 500k per comp to diversify. Kindly advise I have been working together with a GE and Allianz agent for reasons being some clauses that we like in each other's products. But it's what you want that matters and we'll see what we can work out for you, and we can proceed from there. |
Apr 23 2020, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(CoronaV @ Apr 22 2020, 06:32 AM) Company insurance comparing with medical card insurance and critical illness. Will it be necessary to have own medical insurance assuming working till retirement age at 55 years old? Say company gave you insurance benefits like hospitalisation according to your position and grades and also free panel clinics. Will it be necessary to have own medical insurance assume working till retirement 55 years old. Tq No, it is not necessary. No laws dictate that you HAVE to have it. It is your decision, and you decide if you would like to take the risk, or transfer it to the insurance company. The risk I am referring to, is the risk of hospitalization. For most of us, if the illness doesn't kill us, the hospital bill will. "But I have my company insurance to pay for it." Yes, you do! For now, while you are still employed by the company. As long as you are an employee of your company, you are an insurable interest. After you retire, you are no longer an insurable interest to the company. So what do you do? You go shopping for a personal health insurance plan. At age 55, we are not as healthy, our risk of a critical illness are higher, and for some of us, we already have some medical history. While you're out shopping for a personal health insurance plan, you may or may not get one, no matter how much money you are willing to pay. I believe the real question is, WHEN is the best time to get your own medical insurance? I can't predict your future, but the answer is YESTERDAY. Maybe I'm an insurance salesmen, and I do this for a living. But I only ask that you seriously consider getting yourself insured. |
Apr 24 2020, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(taiping... @ Apr 23 2020, 06:12 PM) Pls excuse me if I’m ignorant Yes, most of us are covered by our employee benefits throughout the tenure of our employment. Example: firstly, I’m covered by my company both life and medical. By the time I’m 55, there will b an amount that I’ve saved up for insurance. I then use this amount to purchase insurance at the age of 55 (let’s say) Secondly, if I were to buy insurance at 30years old or 55 years old, the premium would roughly be the same? If not how much difference is the premium? The money saved for 30 to55 years old, could b use to purchase insurance at 55 years old By the time you're 55, yes, you would have saved up an amount for lots of various purposes, insurance can be one of your purposes. But money is actually the secondary factor in buying personal insurance. First, we have to ensure that we are in reasonable health condition to be "insurable". Buying now at 30 vs buying later at 55. The premium will ROUGHLY be the same, CONSIDERING in 25 years from now, there is no improvement in product, no inflation, no improvement in coverage, and no change in your health condition. If all these conditions are met, then yes, your statement is correct. |
Apr 29 2020, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Apr 29 2020, 12:25 PM) Hi all. No its not the same. Can I know whether the COI is same or not between standalone and ILP in same company? I heard that COI of standalone is higher than ILP. Let say for example for 30 years old male non smoker for 500k term life compared to 500k life ILP plain plan with no other riders. The premium for sure will be different but I eager to know their COI is same or not each year. And whether it also same if compared between online products and tru agents. Thanks! Standalone is higher than ILP across all insurers, COI wise. I believe only term products are available online. What you can do is get a quote online, and from the quote, pull out the schedule where you have a projected premiums year-on-year. In the same schedule, you should be able to pull out all the necessary info such as COI and surrender value (if any). Then what you need to calculate, calculate lah. Finally, you can compare it with a quote from your agent. |
Jul 7 2020, 11:00 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jul 6 2020, 06:49 PM) Hi guys Banks very cham now. They hunting down business like mad. I am getting a 200k house loan and the mrta being offered for 200k is rm6500 (25 year) & my age is 34 non smoker. Wonder if i go buy an basic cheap life insurance 200k for 25 year will the bank accept? And usually how much will the cost of the insurance in this case? Thanks Even someone like me who push bank officers very hard, last week still the bank persist on minimum 5 years MRTA. So my customer accept lo. The branch manager also very pening, kiap between us and his superiors. You can always buy a Term Life and assign it against your loan. For the bank, it is just paper work. For us as consumers, it is our family and our lives. Just take up a 20-year Term Life la. Term Life prolly run you around 1k annually for 200k, plus-minus depending on your age. This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Jul 7 2020, 11:01 AM |
Jul 10 2020, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Jul 9 2020, 04:05 PM) But she did offer to convert my hospitality coverage to another coverage (more comprehensive critical illness coverage) to not overlap, so have to assess that as well I have 11 policies under my name. however my feeling, serving 2 (or multiple) policy seems not financially wise. is there any practical consideration on doing so? No such thing as "overlap" in terms of coverage ah. Any practical consideration on doing so Got ah, I have 6 Life Policies assigned against my loans. Then some others for different areas of my ventures, and for different purposes. What's your concern? |
Jul 13 2020, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(AgentVIDIC @ Jul 11 2020, 11:06 PM) Hi my mother in law bought her insurance at 69 and monthly cost is rm1k, medical card and little bit of life I think. Is it normal? Can she get cheaper premium? Thanks in advance. Is she already insured? If she is already insured, I encourage you to not change around. Each time you change it around, you are subjecting her to another round of underwriting. You buy insurance with your health and age first before you can buy it with money. |
Jul 18 2020, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(AgentVIDIC @ Jul 13 2020, 02:06 PM) Yes already has a policy but it's rather expensive, 1k a month,thinking if can get something cheaper There is always something cheaper, always someone willing to bend lower. Worth it or not, only you can be the judge for it. QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 17 2020, 03:03 PM) It is irresponsible to post any figure, as insurance company never promise any figure to start with. Betul.Any increment in premium (standalone) or cost of insurance (for ILP) is depended on insurance pooling situation. High percentage of claims, inflation in medical cost are factors that determine the incremental. |
Aug 5 2020, 10:01 AM
Very rare to have to look for this topic thread.
I guess a lot of people are very active on share counters nowadays. |
Aug 6 2020, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(JSZE @ Aug 5 2020, 12:14 PM) Hi, not sure whether this is the right place to ask. I have a medical card given by company which covers Outpatient GP & SP. I would like to do an xray for chiro purpose but I know that will not be covered by insurance. Is there any way I can get the xray to be covered by insurance? Perhaps visit SP to get them to recommend xray? Only if there is a treatment required. And said treatment is performed at the same facility where the xray was done, by your attending physician. |
Aug 10 2020, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 10 2020, 07:26 PM) thanks for telling about that.... I believe anyone that is "good" is someone who would help you and be on your team. this get me thinking..... how should one liked or think the ethical agent should have explained to his potential client? i know many of you are knowledgeable in this insurance industry,.....mind telling how do you pass on the knowledge of how best to spot a good or more ethical agent from the way they promote their product to a client? let's say, in a situation where, you cannot communicate about what you knew about insurance to your loved one,....(example, you kena stroke cannot communicate in writing or verbal), then there is an agent came to your house to try to promote an insurance product to your grandsons or son or daughter inlaw (let say you had not bought for them any insurance) you are aware, listening on the conversation of the agent and your loved one..... how do you tell if that agent is "good" or so so or just not good to have? what are some of the basic should have? i googled and found this... How To Know If You Have A Good Insurance Agent? Does your insurance agent fit the bill? https://dollarsandsense.my/how-to-know-if-y...nsurance-agent/ are those enough or there should be more based on your vast experience gained? (i am try to compile a list of "how to spot" a good one, to be passed on to my sons when they are starting to work....) And to get there, maybe it's best if we both know where you stand financially, your cashflow, your affordability, and your objectives. Only then could we begin to understand what you need to make it happen. So we worked out what you need, and you want to buy a product that we both know you need. How do you know you can confidently buy from this agent? Maybe arrange for the sales appointment at their agency office. This gives you the opportunity to get acquainted with their agency staff, and you can take a look at how things are run there. If it's messy, maybe look for someone else? If you like what you see, hey, come often! We also got down periods wan, sometimes you come visit us, we also very happy to see you. So in short, how to spot a good agent? Go see their office and then maybe if you like what you see, and the approach checks all your boxes, open up to them about your finances, and visit them regularly. It's always a work in progress. Just my 2 cents. |
Aug 10 2020, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 10 2020, 09:05 PM) Just a simple example and you are ready to pounce on it or to punch holes.. lol.. make it 5k per month passive income then if you like Chill bruh, I think he meant well. Even without that... even on 3k per month, u assume he needs caretaker? Every illness so serious need caretaker? Change of diet need so much? What about spending less now cause stopped partying ( assume still partying lol)... what about decided to cut dancing class or eating or mahjong sessions... When ppl say assume already FI means he alresdy think of all contingencies lah.. insurance ppl like u think of all scenarios to “scare” ppl into buying .. quite unethical Yes, there are a lot of "What ifs", that's why people buy insurance (or Kuda, Toto, Magnum or make trips to Genting). Changing lifestyle is always good, just like how we review and readjust ourselves from time to time. It's not about balance, but we do it because it is always a balancing process. We're always balancing, always readjusting. In fact, the person want to buy or not, the person already bought. It is only the difference between 1. buying from an insurance company (so premiums are paid to the insurance company) or 2. buying from oneself (so the premiums are paid to his/her own banking account) At the end of the day, we choose the route with less pain. Regret due to paying premiums "for nothing"; or Regret didn't buy or didn't buy enough. Insurance is like that, betting also the same, play share market also the same. Don't angry ah, he meant well. Always good to have good reminders around mah. Like having a mom around. I really really miss my mom bruh... |
Aug 10 2020, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 10:49 PM) after having paid them a visit, all the boxes checked out, then what if that agent starts with "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more"? (as yklooi posted) Unless that also checks one of your boxes lah... Otherwise, why linger around? If lidat also you stay and still buy, you better find out what coffee the bugger serve you. Must be some damn good coffee. |
Aug 10 2020, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 10:57 PM) so the questionnaire to check as "no buy" if the agent mentioned "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more"? If the person is selling you what you don't need, not aligned with your objectives, then why buy leh? what else? What else ah, I also not very sure. But I'd love to discuss the topic with you to better improve on my training to my agents. Would you be so kind to help me? |
Aug 10 2020, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 10 2020, 11:09 PM) Er... suddenly I am summarised as a troll.. lol... I don't think he is gambling lah. After all, it is using $6 to buy $10. The only real cost to the person is opportunity cost.Once a person has achieved FI, if he continues to buy CI insurance, he is gambling... I always argue with facts.. not anger... anger is not in my dictionary at all... 1. If insurance is needed when building wealth and family is at risk of losing the main income earner, insurance is needed... when I pay for such insurance premiums...it never cross my mind that I regret paying for nothing... if one regrets, he does not understand insurance at all 2. When insurance is deemed not needed ... e.g, CI insurance not needed after achieving FI, I dun regret didn’t buy or didn’t buy enough .... if think like that , might as well as u regret u didn’t keep buying rm500 big and small on your birthday 4D and one day it came out first price and u could have gotten 2.5mil 1st price money ... or u didn’t sailang on TopGlove last 3 months when the price is obviously going through the roof.....or regret u should dump your insurance premium into monthly installments for a landed house 10 years ago and sitting on a million profit instead of “burnt “ premiums.. lol Then again, I feel is a bit unfair to say "CI insurance is not needed after achieving FI". Maybe this works for you, but for the rest of us still swimming in the ocean, or those of us "almost-there", a CI event can really impact our lives, our family, etc. So we buy and keep our CI policies la, "what if" mah. I'm in no way encouraging gambling, I was just elaborating on the many "What ifs" that could happen due to the choices we make. And we're not living in an either-or scenario between paying premiums and everything else we need to live (ie: roof over our heads, car, investments, occasional luxuries, etc). But yes, I do regret didn't put more into technology and glove makers. But ship already sailed. So what to do? Readjust portfolio, read read and read, and reinvest into other counters / channels. XOX let's go! This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Aug 10 2020, 11:46 PM |
Aug 10 2020, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 10 2020, 11:45 PM) I dunno what is this $6 and $10 leh... forgive me.. I just jumped into this thread randomly posting as nothing to do... lol Is a rough estimate of total premiums paid vs the sum insured over the duration of the policy lah. Ya... I was just “agreeing” with another poster (I think he sells insurance too - Holocene?) that CI not needed when one has achieved FI .... just a simple statement and I agreed and someone else got triggered ... Aiseh, people can have different game plan and different priorities mah. I prefer to goreng in share market, some others prefer to jump on funds. No right no wrong wan mah. But I can see where he is coming from lah. He meant well lah. Come down to it, fact finding most important. If it is not suitable, then it is not suitable. The plan how good also no use. |
Aug 11 2020, 12:32 AM
K lets end this meaningless back and forth.
Aug 11 2020, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(CoronaV @ Aug 11 2020, 09:13 AM) Myself also have medical coverage from company. For now not considering any additional insurance. I think the worst fear is the fund pool depletes and premium increase I urge you to consider taking up a personal medical cover now. Why? 1. You are now healthy and very insurable (i assume). So underwriters are happy to take you in with the standard rates, no exclusions. This is such a wonderful thing, isn't it? We buy insurance first with our health. If our health is accepted, then comes the money to feed the premiums/contributions. If our health is less than favorable, so is the premiums/contributions (loading/exclusions). If our health is not welcomed, then our premiums also not welcomed (reject). 2. You do not know your health condition in the future (i also don't know). When you leave your company, the coverage stops. Nobody wishes ill on anyone, but when reality strikes, it just strikes. Your company medical benefit may take care of your bill now. When you are finally ready to take up your own personal medical insurance, the insurance company may not be as ready/keen to take you up. Which scenario would you regret more? i. Having paid the premiums over the years with no claims? Or ii. Saving up the premiums over the years and faced with a hospital bill? If you're lucky, it is only a one-time bill. Otherwise, the follow-ups may not clean you out, but it's definitely a considerable dent in your finances. Either way, you will have to pay. So now you have the luxury of an option between paying the bill, or paying the premiums. Which one do you think is cheaper? |
Sep 7 2020, 10:57 AM
Why are we focusing on returns with insurance products?
| Change to: | 0.0313sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:40 PM |