Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140/E2160/E2180 Thread, Discussion & Compilation

goldfries
post Sep 1 2007, 11:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Sep 1 2007, 12:32 PM)
waa....goldfries on an oc frenzy, whole night didnt sleep ka? hahahaha

OCer since long time ago. biggrin.gif yes, OCing frenzy due to the new BIOS.

as for how much voltage i pump? i didn't change voltage on anything. smile.gif

lobuni
post Sep 1 2007, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 1 2007, 06:22 AM)
w00t!!!

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=237020 biggrin.gif 3.2ghz!!!

Added on September 1, 2007, 11:27 amw00t again!!!

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=237022 3.325ghz! now for some testing.

Added on September 1, 2007, 12:27 pmawww crap. just now 3dmark06 hang on CPU test. so i lowered it a little bit and now i can't get to 3.325 already. smile.gif highest now is 3.318. aihh. well good enough la.
Is the Biostar a reliable board?
I read over at Polygons forums that sometimes it wont boot with right OC settings on a 800 FSB cpu. Also found a report of the onboard soundcard malfunctioning with new 823 bios.

And about the GA-P35-DS3
Does the 1:1 divider function correctly with this board?
I have read that some gigabyte boards dont have this option when used with a 800 FSB CPU
fesick
post Sep 1 2007, 11:27 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(lobuni @ Sep 1 2007, 11:08 PM)
I read over at Polygons forums that sometimes it wont boot with right OC settings on a 800 FSB cpu. Also found a report of the onboard soundcard malfunctioning with new 823 bios.

And about the GA-P35-DS3
Does the 1:1 divider function correctly with this board?
I have read that some gigabyte boards dont have this option when used with a 800 FSB CPU
yu..this gigabyte got lot divider function..and the function actually hidden..need Ctrl+F1 ..credit to bryan ~
goldfries
post Sep 1 2007, 11:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

so far mine is ok. smile.gif
bryanyeo87
post Sep 2 2007, 12:06 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

ehehe, goldfries is not going down to bangsar tonight for clubbing session, instead hes gonna continue his OC frenzy tonight right? some more it just rained, should cool the temps a few more C eh? brows.gif

@lobuni
well, it works just fine for me, worst comes to worst, install memset and clockgen in windows and OC from there lor laugh.gif
goldfries
post Sep 2 2007, 12:22 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Sep 2 2007, 12:06 AM)
ehehe, goldfries is not going down to bangsar tonight for clubbing session, instead hes gonna continue his OC frenzy tonight right? some more it just rained, should cool the temps a few more C eh? brows.gif

me no clubber. biggrin.gif OC enough already la.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 2 2007, 07:13 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Sep 2 2007, 12:27 AM)
yu..this gigabyte got lot divider function..and the function actually hidden..need Ctrl+F1 ..credit to bryan ~
err... wat kind of divider are u refering to...? as far as i know only the RAM latency and advance Voltage management features are hidden... hmm.gif
allenultra
post Sep 2 2007, 08:32 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Sep 1 2007, 01:54 PM)
Tried those d.. Still stuck at 335mhz.. Duno wats wrong also.. Sumore mine is mo stepping...  cry.gif
try other ram and see
maybe ram compatibility problem.

then u know what hold u back
goldfries
post Sep 3 2007, 12:11 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 1 2007, 11:32 PM)
so far mine is ok. smile.gif
OK. here's what i found out.

as mentioned by others, i DID face the same thing. 400mhz option - sound screwed. check out my Review. I've updated it again. This lowered their score by far cos I'm freakin pissed. Their latest BIOS allowed 1:1 ratio for 400mhz processor which i'm very happy about and gave them perfect score but............oh well, heck it shouldn't be perfects core anyway. tongue.gif I changed my mind.

the board was good. it's just the BIOS issue.
fesick
post Sep 3 2007, 07:01 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

guys..do u think the temperature`s normal?
how to solve this fan speed error?
and whats the temp 3: for?

This post has been edited by fesick: Sep 3 2007, 07:02 PM
allenultra
post Sep 3 2007, 07:17 PM

9,027 posts

fan speed error can't be solved. just ignore it.

idle 55c? wow....
that's pretty high if u ask me.
fesick
post Sep 3 2007, 07:20 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

not idle..im running sumthin that time..currently idle arround 40-43c for both core..normal?
davidletterboyz
post Sep 3 2007, 08:10 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 3 2007, 12:11 AM)
OK. here's what i found out.

as mentioned by others, i DID face the same thing. 400mhz option - sound screwed. check out my Review. I've updated it again. This lowered their score by far cos I'm freakin pissed. Their latest BIOS allowed 1:1 ratio for 400mhz processor which i'm very happy about and gave them perfect score but............oh well, heck it shouldn't be perfects core anyway. tongue.gif I changed my mind.

the board was good. it's just the BIOS issue.
Actually, I noticed that almost all Tforce have this issue, except previous S939 and S754 versions. Their AM2 and 965 mobos are physically great, but come with 95% done BIOS, hmm.gif A decent BIOS will only come after a few months....

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Sep 3 2007, 08:11 PM
goldfries
post Sep 3 2007, 09:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

95% done BIOS is fine.

but from what i observe, the P35 BIOS was horrible.

till now, even my EIST i disabled in BIOS, my multiplier still keeps changing. latest BIOS choose 400mhz on RAM config then audio won't work.

and that's the 3rd BIOS, EIST still like that.

sorry long time didn't use Intel setup BUT AFAIK EIST multiplier shouldn't be jumpign once in disabled EIST.

or else waffor the system allow me to choose multiplier to set. smile.gif after DISABLE the EIST, the option allowed me to set multiplier. so i set 8 la. boot to Windows, i still see 6. smile.gif jumps automatically to 8 when it's processing. so makes no difference.
davidletterboyz
post Sep 3 2007, 09:31 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 3 2007, 09:09 PM)
95% done BIOS is fine.

but from what i observe, the P35 BIOS was horrible.

till now, even my EIST i disabled in BIOS, my multiplier still keeps changing. latest BIOS choose 400mhz on RAM config then audio won't work.

and that's the 3rd BIOS, EIST still like that.

sorry long time didn't use Intel setup BUT AFAIK EIST multiplier shouldn't be jumpign once in disabled EIST.

or else waffor the system allow me to choose multiplier to set. smile.gif after DISABLE the EIST, the option allowed me to set multiplier. so i set 8 la. boot to Windows, i still see 6. smile.gif jumps automatically to 8 when it's processing. so makes no difference.
Maybe u should take a look at power management thingy in ur control panel (forgot where...not in winxp now). Sometimes ACPI will force enable speedstep, like notebook.
bryanyeo87
post Sep 3 2007, 10:06 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

go bios, disable EIST,

Enable C1E if you want to have power saving

disable C1E for max speed 24/7
goldfries
post Sep 5 2007, 01:53 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'll try later. smile.gif baru flashed new BIOS.

now finally can have audio.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 7 2007, 09:35 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 5 2007, 02:53 PM)
i'll try later. smile.gif baru flashed new BIOS.

now finally can have audio.
eh... i heard it's a good thing to keep the EIST when u reduce the multiplier and increase FSB for some Biostar board due to a bug... cuz the multiplier will go straight up at full load... true ar...? hmm.gif
bryanyeo87
post Sep 7 2007, 11:46 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

not sure about biostar mobo, but EIST limited my OC by 20mhz of the fsb lol

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Sep 8 2007, 12:23 AM
max_cjs0101
post Sep 8 2007, 12:14 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

My new Pentium Dual Core E2140.Only managed to get it at 3.120Ghz.
Beyond that it wouldn't want to enter windows. sad.gif

CPU:E2140/1MB/800FSB
Mobo: ASUS P5NE-SLI
RAM: Promos 2x512MB DDR2 667

138 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:55 PM