82 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Banking Privilege$aver by Standard Chartered, up to 4.75%, Seems like so few people talk about it

GrumpyNooby
post Apr 3 2020, 07:53 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Apr 3 2020, 07:51 AM)
Thanks for the headsup, now I can tekan the bank.
Before you go tekan the bank, do ensure the settlement date of your WMP that you bought falls in February and not on March.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Apr 3 2020, 07:54 AM
cklimm
post Apr 3 2020, 11:45 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 3 2020, 07:53 AM)
Before you go tekan the bank, do ensure the settlement date of your WMP that you bought falls in February and not on March.
Well, placed in 24 Feb, plenty of time for them to process.
My RM is now writing an email to product manager on my behalf.
prescott2006
post Apr 4 2020, 09:21 PM

892 posts

Hi sifu, I have a semi flexi Maybank Islamic housing loan with an interest rate of 3.75%, since there is this moratorium right now, should I just stop the monthly instalment for 6 months and put my money in SCB PrivilegeSaver to maximise the saving? After 6 months, one shot dump back the money back to my housing loan.
zenquix
post Apr 4 2020, 10:29 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 4 2020, 09:21 PM)
Hi sifu, I have a semi flexi Maybank Islamic housing loan with an interest rate of 3.75%, since there is this moratorium right now, should I just stop the monthly instalment for 6 months and put my money in SCB PrivilegeSaver to maximise the saving? After 6 months, one shot dump back the money back to my housing loan.
on paper it is a good idea as long you did not cap the 100k in PrivilegeSavers. I also noticed most banks refused to take the payment and opt to accumulate interest instead (though no compounding interest).

I would suggest checking with Maybank - if you did bank in the installment, will it reduce the loan interest or will it just hold the payment as "advanced payment" which in most cases do not reduce the interest.
!@#$%^
post Apr 4 2020, 11:52 PM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 4 2020, 09:21 PM)
do note you will still be charged interest on your housing loan balance for 6 months.
bokbokchai
post Apr 5 2020, 09:44 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 4 2020, 11:52 PM)
do note you will still be charged interest on your housing loan balance for 6 months.
I heard the interest will still compound on your principal but not on top of your loan interest.
Don't know how true is that.
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 09:47 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Apr 5 2020, 09:44 AM)
I heard the interest will still compound on your principal but not on top of your loan interest.
Amount of principal is frozen from the start of moratorium.
Interest will be accrued based on the frozen amount.
You have accumulated interest during the period.

!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 09:50 AM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Apr 5 2020, 09:44 AM)
it is true. bank not doing charity yo.
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 09:51 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 5 2020, 09:50 AM)
it is true. bank not doing charity yo.
That is so obvious and so many people are discussing on the other thread on how to take advantage of the moratorium.
Come on, guys! There's no free lunch form the banks. sweat.gif
!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 09:57 AM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 5 2020, 09:51 AM)
That is so obvious and so many people are discussing on the other thread on how to take advantage of the moratorium.
there is only one way to make money out of this, ie make sure ur investment is consistently higher than mortgage interest in the next 30 years or so.
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 10:00 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 5 2020, 09:57 AM)
there is only one way to make money out of this, ie make sure ur investment is consistently higher than mortgage interest in the next 30 years or so.
That's true.
For example, if your total monthly repayment is close to RM 20k and you're not capped to RM 100k for this PSA with current subscription to the highest tier at 6% pa.
Even you're at 4% tier, you won't gain much.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Apr 5 2020, 10:01 AM
!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 10:08 AM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 5 2020, 10:00 AM)
That's true.
For example, if your total monthly repayment is close to RM 20k and you're not capped to RM 100k for this PSA with current subscription to the highest tier at 6% pa.
Even you're at 4% tier, you won't gain much.
also must remember mortgage interest will not forever be this low. anything can happen in the next 30 years.
cucikaki
post Apr 5 2020, 11:31 AM

2,722 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 5 2020, 09:51 AM)
I guess ure referring to the asnb thread?

I guess the monthly interest accrued based on the frozen principal amount is lower than the ‘possible’ return in forms of dividend, hence, why those people are taking advantage of the moratorium.
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 11:39 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Apr 5 2020, 11:31 AM)
I guess ure referring to the asnb thread?

I guess the monthly interest accrued based on the frozen principal amount is lower than the ‘possible’ return in forms of dividend, hence, why those people are taking advantage of the moratorium.
Moratorium thread.
I don't know there's heavy discussion in that too since I don't have those products in my hand.
!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 11:50 AM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Apr 5 2020, 11:31 AM)
ultimately, the loan belongs to each individual. if they made the decision after fully understanding it then that's good. otherwise, if made decision with misconception, then it's their loss for not fully understanding the moratorium. many give advice and opinion, but always remember the one with the loan is you, not them.
prescott2006
post Apr 5 2020, 12:15 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 4 2020, 11:52 PM)
Ya, I know that. But 4% PrivilegeSaver is > 3.75% interest. I know the saving might be little, but heh free money right. 😆
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 12:22 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 5 2020, 12:15 PM)
Ya, I know that. But 4% PrivilegeSaver is > 3.75% interest. I know the saving might be little, but heh free money right. 😆
Using RP example of principal amount of RM 500k with loan interest of 4% and monthly repayment is RM 2390.52.
At end of September, your accrued interest is RM 10,000.02.

Let's say you're to divert the 6-month repayment into PSA, the total amount is RM 14343.12.
The total interest earned at 4% is RM 167.92 for the period from 1/4/2020 to 30/9/2020.

April 2020 2390.52 7.86
May 2020 2390.52 16.24
June 2020 2390.52 23.58
July 2020 2390.52 32.48
Aug 2020 2390.52 40.61
Sep 2020 2390.52 47.16
TOTAL 167.93
Worth it?

And where is the free money comes from?
Your housing loan is still accruing interest (not no interest at all).

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Apr 5 2020, 12:40 PM
!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 01:03 PM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 5 2020, 12:15 PM)
if u are very sure that PSA or similar investment/account can give u 4% per annum for 30 years and your mortgage loan interest will remain 3.75% for the next 30 years. then yes.

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 5 2020, 12:22 PM)
Using RP example of principal amount of RM 500k with loan interest of 4% and monthly repayment is RM 2390.52.
At end of September, your accrued interest is RM 10,000.02.

Let's say you're to divert the 6-month repayment into PSA, the total amount is RM 14343.12.
The total interest earned at 4% is RM 167.92 for the period from 1/4/2020 to 30/9/2020.

April 2020 2390.52 7.86
May 2020 2390.52 16.24
June 2020 2390.52 23.58
July 2020 2390.52 32.48
Aug 2020 2390.52 40.61
Sep 2020 2390.52 47.16
  TOTAL 167.93
Worth it?

And where is the free money comes from?
Your housing loan is still accruing interest (not no interest at all).
extend this to 30 years
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 5 2020, 01:17 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 5 2020, 01:03 PM)
if u are very sure that PSA or similar investment/account can give u 4% per annum for 30 years and your mortgage loan interest will remain 3.75% for the next 30 years. then yes.
extend this to 30 years
This only valid if you do no need the money on 1/10/2020 and beyond.
On 1/10/2020, I need to service the housing loan and the diverted amount needs to be withdrawn out to put back to the housing loan.
!@#$%^
post Apr 5 2020, 01:24 PM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 5 2020, 01:17 PM)
This only valid if you do no need the money on 1/10/2020 and beyond.
On 1/10/2020, I need to service the housing loan and the diverted amount needs to be withdrawn out to put back to the housing loan.
oic, if u intend to put the money back into the housing loan by the end of 6 months moratorium then it's a more complicated calculation which i'm not good at. i know what u mean. but have to consider the interest saved if you continue paying your loan for the 6 months (since mortgage is reducing principal) thought i don't think it's significant.

This post has been edited by !@#$%^: Apr 5 2020, 01:30 PM

82 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:18 PM