Banking Privilege$aver by Standard Chartered, up to 4.75%, Seems like so few people talk about it

zenquix
post Feb 4 2020, 11:11 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Feb 4 2020, 09:59 AM)
For condition #1 - bank in RM3k for 2%,
if beginning of the month I bank in RM3k, but next day I withdraw RM3k, still entitled?

not sure why got 2 threads - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4439367/

but yes - the RM3k can be used. I use it to settle my credit card bills
zenquix
post Feb 4 2020, 11:55 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

OK - although i would suggest post#1 be updated with the FAQ from the general post like

1. Must get a debit card
2. The RM3k can be used

This post has been edited by zenquix: Feb 4 2020, 11:55 AM
zenquix
post Feb 11 2020, 04:54 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(christie_ang @ Feb 11 2020, 04:46 PM)
it's quite weird that w/o debit card then can't get the 1.5%, because from the product page, this 1.5% is coming from the spend by using credit card not debit card.

Spend

Spend RM1,000 on your credit card to earn 1.5% p.a. bonus interest.

How to automate your savings?

Set-up Standing Instructions (IS) for bill payments.

Note: The eligible Bonus Interest of 1.5% p.a. for spend category is for maximum deposit balance of RM100,000 only. Eligible Customers must use Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad credit card.

All of the bank do offer free debit card for basic saving account, this is per BNM guideline. But since PSA is not basic saving account, thus the officer told me we need to pay RM8 is valid.
my CS also told me need debit card to get the 1.5%.
zenquix
post Feb 11 2020, 06:16 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(christie_ang @ Feb 11 2020, 05:33 PM)
May I know when your wife open the account?
I just get to know from one of the agent, they mentioned that before feb, it's compulsory to get debit card, after feb it's optional.
T&C already shared. Good luck if you want to complain - "Agent told me so"
zenquix
post Feb 18 2020, 02:27 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Orchid beauty @ Feb 18 2020, 12:19 PM)
The unit trust requirement , how to fulfil? What if unit trust give shitty return. Isn't it drag down the percentage
QUOTE(David_Yang @ Feb 18 2020, 02:17 PM)
YOU select the unit trust (with the minimum 2.5 % sales charge), so YOU need to blame YOURSELF if you selected one with shitty return.

Overall this deal is great, you only need to put 1k a month in unit trust for one year and can enjoy the fat 2% bonus interest on the PrivSaver. So the interest return will definitely be unbeatable, if you feel uncomfortable with the potential that you get negative return from the unit trust investment, stick to the 4.0% for deposit and spend.
please be aware of the latest T&C - where you need a higher commitment of RM6k per month to get 2% on the first 100k and it is only valid for 12m (if you are a new account holder - never get invest % before). RM1k a month only gets you 2% for the first 20k.

https://av.sc.com/my/content/docs/campaign-tc-psa.pdf

do your own calculation on whether the sales charge is worth the 2% extra interest.

This post has been edited by zenquix: Feb 18 2020, 02:32 PM
zenquix
post Feb 19 2020, 01:36 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

Eurobeater could you however correct the typo on the topic?
zenquix
post Feb 19 2020, 11:05 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Feb 19 2020, 10:40 PM)
I liked it too. But the credit card spending put me off a bit, since i usually don't spend anywhere near 1k
bigpay / boost it
zenquix
post Feb 28 2020, 12:34 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Feb 27 2020, 11:00 PM)
now it is 4,2% which still is great. but promo ends FRIDAY I was told
i was told new to bank customer only
zenquix
post Mar 6 2020, 12:09 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Mar 5 2020, 11:23 PM)
Long time never open a bank account. What document to bring along to branch if wanna open this standard chartered account? Don't wanna be sozai reach only say need this need that if not cannot open
IC and cash. if your IC address is no where near the branch (i.e hometown) must bring utility bill (proof of address)
zenquix
post Mar 6 2020, 01:19 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Mar 6 2020, 01:02 PM)
how to get to this page?
https://www.sc.com/my/deposits/psa/

Click get in touch
zenquix
post Mar 9 2020, 10:50 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Mar 9 2020, 06:09 PM)
to get the 2% + 2% ....
i need to :
1. spend RM1000  credit card
2. fresh fund of RM3500 monthly.

need to go to branch to open ?
or can do ONLINE ?
planning to transfer from OCBC-360 , current = 3.6% .
fresh fund 3k

QUOTE(Messiahword @ Mar 9 2020, 10:49 PM)
I'm new to this
One of the criteria is to put 1k/month into UT/insurance. If I don't want put 1k for UT /insurance is this worth to register?
yes. The UT / insurance is a bit of trap. Read earlier in the thread for the analysis. Note that it is also only applicable for first 12m

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 9 2020, 10:51 PM
zenquix
post Mar 10 2020, 11:53 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

because majority prefer to be spoonfed... they actually believe more on what ppl say compared what they read on their own
zenquix
post Mar 25 2020, 11:34 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(bm_kia @ Mar 25 2020, 03:44 PM)
Should be FOC rite? I used before and the charges were credited the next day
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 25 2020, 04:00 PM)
There's pre-condition to meet.

Customer who Deposit minimum RM1,500 fresh funds into the Promotion Account in one single transaction is also entitled to fee waivers on cash withdrawal transactions via MEPS and HOUSe ATMs. The fee reversal will be credited into Promotion Account at end of the month.

https://av.sc.com/my/content/docs/my-revise...er-campaign.pdf
which easily met by anyone seriously trying to hit 4% on PSA
zenquix
post Apr 1 2020, 06:18 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(vfoong @ Apr 1 2020, 06:03 PM)
Hi guys,

Just applied for this account mid month, having moved from OCBC 360. Anyone notice any discrepancy in the calculation for the spend bonus (1.5%) for March? From my calculations it is more like 1% (and I've factored in the fact that the spend bonus only applies to MAB up to 100,000)

So conclusion from me it was more like 0.5% (base) + 2% (save) + 1% (spend). I to plan to call the bank and clarify why this is. Just wondering if anyone has noticed this? If your MAB is less than 100,000 the spend bonus should be 0.75 times of your save bonus.
it's daily rest - have you factored the reduced days from mid month?

Based on GrumpyNooby post it is very close to 1.5 / 100 * 100000 * 31 / 365
zenquix
post Apr 1 2020, 06:25 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 1 2020, 06:24 PM)
Based on MAB of 100,000, if I use 1.5 / 100 * 100000 * 31 / 365, I get RM 127.397
But this year is a leap year right, if I use 1.5 / 100 * 100000 * 31 / 366, I get RM 127.049
very few banks change calculation based on leap year (MBB is one of them)
zenquix
post Apr 2 2020, 04:14 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 2 2020, 12:01 PM)
oic, i'd usually go FSM to buy unit trusts. but just exploring the feasibility of this option to get some additional interest. not attractive.
not to mentioned the 2% is only valid for 12months. for 100k applicability need to buy 6k a month of UT
zenquix
post Apr 4 2020, 10:29 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 4 2020, 09:21 PM)
Hi sifu, I have a semi flexi Maybank Islamic housing loan with an interest rate of 3.75%, since there is this moratorium right now, should I just stop the monthly instalment for 6 months and put my money in SCB PrivilegeSaver to maximise the saving? After 6 months, one shot dump back the money back to my housing loan.
on paper it is a good idea as long you did not cap the 100k in PrivilegeSavers. I also noticed most banks refused to take the payment and opt to accumulate interest instead (though no compounding interest).

I would suggest checking with Maybank - if you did bank in the installment, will it reduce the loan interest or will it just hold the payment as "advanced payment" which in most cases do not reduce the interest.
zenquix
post Apr 5 2020, 05:20 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Apr 5 2020, 05:10 PM)

But if you want to put money in a unit trust and increase your balance with SC, why not?

If one thinks 2020 is a good year to put RM 6000 in a unit trust every month, also can consider, at least you are lowering the 2.5 % sales charge a lot with the bonus.
2.5% at 6000 a month = total RM1800 in sales charges this year.

Offset by extra 2% presumably on maxed RM100k account = RM2000.

so you earn RM200.. basically RM16 a month.

So you are just risking 72000 - whether you have benefit or not wholly depends on the UT you buy.

If your PSA <100k the maths are even worse

--- 1k a month

sales charge = RM300

20k @ 2% = RM400

so clean additional RM8 a month of interest.

If die die must take i would recommend sticking to 1k. 6x the exposure for 2x the gain doesn't make sense unless the UT is sure win

This post has been edited by zenquix: Apr 5 2020, 05:25 PM
zenquix
post Apr 23 2020, 10:02 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 22 2020, 12:38 PM)
My statement for SC credit card (statement date: 9th) and PSA (statement date: 19th) are sent out separately.

The consolidated statement doesn't have details on SC credit card. The configuration isn't set by me. The bank officer who opened/processed the account opening set it,

Usually, you get statement for saving account at early of the month not middle of the month. The cut-off date is just weird.
depends on bank..

so far my experience some banks like MBB and CIMB follow calendar month, while SCB and HSBC follow statement date
zenquix
post May 2 2020, 09:00 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

interests should be auto system calculated and generated

0.0655sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:48 AM