Cycling V37: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, Average speed 30km/h is so 1786

benbeaninc
post Dec 14 2021, 11:15 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 14 2021, 11:02 PM)
I managed to hit 30km/h average speed with old road bike before heavy rain pour
Solo, No Stop, No Water for 50km. this the way how I load myself.

full carbon road bike: 30.1km/h
https://www.strava.com/activities/6339937316

full alloy road bike: 30.1km/h (before thru heavy rain), 29.2km/h (after thru heavy rain when last 5km)
https://www.strava.com/activities/6382544422

So I would say, is depend on yourself whether can ride faster or not, your bicycle wont help you improve significantly.
Hence, I always swap between alloy bike and carbon bike, so that i know how far I improved day to day.
Wow... Good that u can see urself Improving...

Imo, if both bike are the same weight n profile, it won be much different..
It will b a better ride quality on the carbon...

Dun mind me asking wat r those both bikes weight in?

Meanwhile...
In the world of aerodynamics, weights does not matter, but the bike profile does.

Anyways I m not that fast... I santai rider who just trying to be fast, 😜
gkl83
post Dec 15 2021, 08:21 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Dec 14 2021, 11:15 PM)
Wow... Good that u can see urself Improving...

Imo, if both bike are the same weight n profile, it won be much different..
It will b a better ride quality on the carbon...

Dun mind me asking wat r those both bikes weight in?

Meanwhile...
In the world of aerodynamics, weights does not matter, but the bike profile does.

Anyways I m not that fast... I santai rider who just trying to be fast, 😜

total weight differences about around 1.5kg
but still, compare RM2k alloy rb and RM8k carbon rb. Both of results are not big differences.
So those rb cost RM20k-60k, i have no idea. sweat.gif
benbeaninc
post Dec 15 2021, 08:45 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 15 2021, 08:21 AM)
total weight differences about around 1.5kg
but still, compare RM2k alloy rb and RM8k carbon rb. Both of results are not big differences.
So those rb cost RM20k-60k, i have no idea.  sweat.gif
1.5kg can consider alot for most weight weenies...
But then again reality is that we can reduce 1.5kg body weight also...
😂😂😂😂

20k-60k does not mean they are lighter...
But they are confirm stiffer and more comfortable...

Stiffer bike (at the right place) makes the power transfer better...
But also reduce the comfort...

honestly, I hvn try to ride a alloy bike to compare the difference with my current performance...

from what I know, every bikes has its limit... It is possible tat u hv reached the peak performance of ur carbon bike... Tat s y u felt the same 😎... It is a calling for a NBD
geno
post Dec 15 2021, 10:26 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Dec 13 2021, 09:46 PM)
You never reveal your SAER race result by riding in a big group most of the time?

Or you go Melaka and back logging 35kph….IIRC haha
Now sudah pencen racing, just wanna ride and see new places on the bike for now..
geno
post Dec 15 2021, 10:31 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 14 2021, 11:02 PM)
I managed to hit 30km/h average speed with old road bike before heavy rain pour
Solo, No Stop, No Water for 50km. this the way how I load myself.

full carbon road bike, full ultegra groupset, 3 months old
30.1km/h
https://www.strava.com/activities/6339937316

full alloy road bike,full tiagra groupset, 7 years old
30.1km/h (before thru heavy rain), 29.2km/h (after thru heavy rain when last 5km)
https://www.strava.com/activities/6382544422

So I would say, is depend on yourself whether can ride faster or not, your bicycle wont help you improve significantly.
Hence, I always swap between alloy bike and carbon bike, so that i know how far I improved day to day.
Good on you if you feel motivated to ride more, but dont get sooo into numbers is my advise.. and please drink water, its bad for your kidneys
TSlilredridinghood
post Dec 15 2021, 11:27 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Dec 15 2021, 10:31 AM)
Good on you if you feel motivated to ride more, but dont get sooo into numbers is my advise..  and please drink water, its bad for your kidneys
Lmao
benbeaninc
post Dec 15 2021, 11:54 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Dec 15 2021, 11:27 AM)
Lmao
the way u bold it make it sound like drinking water is bad fod kidney biggrin.gif
TSlilredridinghood
post Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Dec 15 2021, 11:54 AM)
the way u bold it make it sound like drinking water is bad fod kidney  biggrin.gif
Nope, I find it hilarious that he had to highlight that. I drink water as soon as I’m on the bike warming up.
benbeaninc
post Dec 15 2021, 02:12 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM)
Nope, I find it hilarious that he had to highlight that. I drink water as soon as I’m on the bike warming up.
my bad, if i plan on long ride, i will start drinking days before ...
fc2628 P
post Dec 15 2021, 06:41 PM

Probation

newbie reporting in, just started this year, mostly solo, hope can join some ride soon thumbup.gif
benbeaninc
post Dec 15 2021, 09:04 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(fc2628 @ Dec 15 2021, 06:41 PM)
newbie reporting in, just started this year, mostly solo, hope can join some ride soon  thumbup.gif
Welcome...
Mind poison us with ur bike?

I usually ride at hulu langat... If u go there let me know... 😂
fc2628 P
post Dec 15 2021, 10:00 PM

Probation

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Dec 15 2021, 09:04 PM)
Welcome...
Mind poison us with ur bike?

I usually ride at hulu langat... If u go there let me know... 😂
normal bike only tongue.gif
I'm staying nearby mahkota cheras/sg long, definitely will buzz u brows.gif

benbeaninc
post Dec 15 2021, 10:04 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(fc2628 @ Dec 15 2021, 10:00 PM)
normal bike only  tongue.gif 
I'm staying nearby mahkota cheras/sg long, definitely will buzz u  brows.gif
that is what we all said...

gkl83
post Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Dec 15 2021, 08:45 AM)
honestly, I hvn try to ride a alloy bike to compare the difference with my current performance...

from what I know, every bikes has its limit... It is possible tat u hv reached the peak performance of ur carbon bike... Tat s y u felt the same 😎... It is a calling for a NBD

alloy bike will much softer like normal family car as the frame are flex enough.
much comfortable to ride but harder to control. so it can train your reflex and focus.

QUOTE(geno @ Dec 15 2021, 10:31 AM)
Good on you if you feel motivated to ride more, but dont get sooo into numbers is my advise..  and please drink water, its bad for your kidneys

simply want to physco my brain that dont instruct my body to ease down for a rest when running short of food and water. You wont know when is your next tough ride that will forcing u to drink much water till you cant find somewhere to refill. sweat.gif Hence I even purposely skip some famous landmark too like Starbuck so that I can convince myself continue to ride with higher motivation.

now my main challenge is the hot sun which can drain my power easily
My brain keep asking me to get rest every 7-10km. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Dec 16 2021, 12:10 AM
benbeaninc
post Dec 16 2021, 08:22 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM)
alloy bike will much softer like normal family car as the frame are flex enough.
much comfortable to ride but harder to control. so it can train your reflex and focus.
simply want to physco my brain that dont instruct my body to ease down for a rest when running short of food and water. You wont know when is your next tough ride that will forcing u to drink much water till you cant find somewhere to refill.  sweat.gif  Hence I even purposely skip some famous landmark too like Starbuck so that I can convince myself continue to ride with higher motivation.

It does sounds like ur body is giving u signs that it is lacking of something.

Unless u r training for something, best listen to ur body. Imo.
Not worth draining ur body for the sake of just riding..

Fyi
We do not need to ride long hours or long distance to train to be faster...
Just a structured training will do...

If that is not ur goal,
just enjoy the ride,
enjoy the scenery,
enjoy the process..
ijan
post Dec 16 2021, 08:42 AM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Dec 16 2021, 08:22 AM)
It does sounds like ur body is giving u signs that it is lacking of something.

Unless u r training for something, best listen to ur body. Imo.
Not worth draining ur body for the sake of just riding..

Fyi
We do not need to ride long hours or long distance to train to be faster...
Just a structured training will do...
If that is not ur goal,
just enjoy the ride,
enjoy the scenery,
enjoy the process..
Welcome the PM
Hail PM
benbeaninc
post Dec 16 2021, 08:44 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 16 2021, 08:42 AM)
Welcome the PM
Hail PM
😂😂
geno
post Dec 16 2021, 10:58 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM)
simply want to physco my brain that dont instruct my body to ease down for a rest when running short of food and water. You wont know when is your next tough ride that will forcing u to drink much water till you cant find somewhere to refill.  sweat.gif  Hence I even purposely skip some famous landmark too like Starbuck so that I can convince myself continue to ride with higher motivation.

I would say constantly sip on water if its a hot day. If you wait till you are thirsty its too late. Long rides usually target 1 bottle per hour.

You want your body to perform, you need to give your body the resources it needs. Same with food or more specifically carbs, you dont diet on the bike.. you give your body the resources it needs to perform. With proper recovery it can adapt to your training.
dickybird
post Dec 16 2021, 02:44 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Dec 13 2021, 10:19 AM)
same, if I want solo ride avg 30km/h for 35km I need to park on top of frasers and ride downhill cry.gif
jom ride to kuala selangor, flatter route maybe can get 30km/h avg. did a 3 man ride to sekinchan from kota damansara, only managed 29.9km/h strava avg cry.gif

yesterday tried new climb, bukit mas at taman melawati. longer than stelvio, steeper than mayor/hantu reverse. 11% was the recovery gradient, was seeing 16% gradient on my garmin lol. my nenek gearing 33/28 also suffering like hell lol. didnt help that I rode from kota damansara, already tired before starting the climb haha.
Fuyoh cross town ride
TSlilredridinghood
post Dec 16 2021, 04:59 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Dec 16 2021, 10:58 AM)
I would say constantly sip on water if its a hot day. If you wait till you are thirsty its too late. Long rides usually target 1 bottle per hour.

You want your body to perform, you need to give your body the resources it needs. Same with food or more specifically carbs, you dont diet on the bike.. you give your body the resources it needs to perform. With proper recovery it can adapt to your training.
Tak bonk tak taw

436 Pages « < 372 373 374 375 376 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:18 PM