99 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

LG LG KU990 Viewty, 5 MegaPixels, 3" Touch Screen, HSDPA

kysham
post Dec 27 2007, 11:21 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

ahza7880: ouch.... that's gonna hurt. i just use a normal pouch that looks like a sock. for the time being, hantam first lah. better than no protection at all.

seaedge: thanks for confirming my speculation about the re-entering of the time after each time we remove the battery. this is a real bummer, especially for people who swap their memory card or sim card very often (not me).
ahza7880
post Dec 27 2007, 03:18 PM

25 posts

I'm planning to get pouch for my handphone.. is magnetic pouch safe for this handphone since i heard it can effect the touch screen?
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 03:24 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 27 2007, 09:06 AM)
tony_chew: talk about taking pics, did you notice a peculiarity with the Viewty's camera function? i found out that if i set the ISO to 100, then the flash will not fire. In any other ISO settings, the flash will fire. Is this the funny thing with this phone?

And why is it that I have to enter the time everytime i removed the battery from the phone? Is this another one of those LG "features"? sorry, this is the first time i'm using LG so not sure if this is a norm or not.  whistling.gif
Yes I noticed that about the ISO100 setting. In most cameras, this shouldn't happen so I'm guessing it's a software/firmware issue.

Affirmative about the time resetting, as well. I think this is also firmware issue.

Added on December 27, 2007, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(ahza7880 @ Dec 27 2007, 03:18 PM)
I'm planning to get pouch for my handphone.. is magnetic pouch safe for this handphone since i heard it can effect the touch screen?
I bought a magnetic leather slip-in case for my Viewty. Very cool. But everytime I put the phone in and take it out, the screen goes on. Plus, if you read the manual (don't remember the page) which states to keep magnets away from the back of the phone.

Needless to say, I am using a sock-type cover for the Viewty now. haha

As for the Viewty, I have to say it is growing on me. The touchscreen is not too bad, and as seaedge said, as long as you refrain from sms-ing whilst driving it's easy to use. And I am beginning to get the hang of the camera too and I have to say, it is giving my N82 a run for its money (IMO, the N82 is THE ultimate camera phone because of its Xenon flash).

Just have to remember not to expect miracles in low light indoors situations (TRICK: use flash, get close to your subject), and in good light, pictures can come out quite excellent. I don't think I'm selling my Viewty anytime soon.

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 03:38 PM
carpathia
post Dec 27 2007, 04:34 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(ahza7880 @ Dec 27 2007, 10:34 AM)
My worst fear happened yesterday.. I accidentally dropped my phone when I wanted to exit from my car and as a result my phone chipped at the corner near the charging port and badly scratch at below  cry.gif .. so, anyone can tell me where i can get silicone case or crystal case for this phone?
i dropped mine twice and so far, so good. touch wood

when is LG gonna release the damn leather pouch anyways

oh yeah, my earlier question - who have gone for the viewty field trip?
dgtel2
post Dec 27 2007, 04:38 PM

966 posts

Tony,

Hows HSDPA for Viewty currently? any speedtest screenshots?
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 05:56 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Dec 27 2007, 04:38 PM)
Tony,

Hows HSDPA for Viewty currently? any speedtest screenshots?
No lah, sorry no have speedtest. But I can get H most of the time (HSDPA on the Viewty), when on Maxis. Enough for me, la.

Surfing speed has too many variables, anyway, so speedtests are pretty useless, for my money. Variables include, but not limited to, # of persons in the same area surfing at the same time, weather conditions (don't laugh, it's true), your device processor speed, the website you're surfing to (i.e. use Javascript, amount of pictures & graphics, etc), # of running programs in background, and d@mn worst of all, because you have no say in it, network problem.

So speedtests for me don't really tell much and practically useless. Sorry.

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 05:57 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 06:06 PM

55 posts

This is the sock-type leather case I use for my Viewty. Best of all, it can also fit my N95 8GB (a bit tight), and my N82 as well. It measures 5in x 2.8in wide. It's a For Nokia case, btw.

It looks fat because the N95 is in there when I took the picture. haha

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 06:07 PM
Seaedge
post Dec 27 2007, 11:41 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

wahlao carpathia... so fast ur phone open-flower ka?????

tony... nice pouch ehhh... i like the colour theme... tongue.gif
niel
post Dec 28 2007, 12:44 AM

321 posts

hi guys.. any stability issue/technical glitches with your unit so far?
carpathia
post Dec 28 2007, 09:37 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 27 2007, 11:41 PM)
wahlao carpathia... so fast ur phone open-flower ka?????

tony... nice pouch ehhh... i like the colour theme... tongue.gif
not really open flower la...its not like a ten foot drop.....

QUOTE(niel @ Dec 28 2007, 12:44 AM)
mine- twice already my phone just switch itself off and will not switch on unless i take out the battery and reinsert it. maybe mine is loose or have issue with the connectors..... i dunno....

Seaedge
post Dec 28 2007, 09:44 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

tempted to get one and play around with the camera...
hmmm.. but no money and will not give up my pda for viewty~!

carpathia, still drop on the floor consider open flower mahh... biggrin.gif
G-Izzat
post Dec 28 2007, 09:48 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 28 2007, 09:44 AM)
tempted to get one and play around with the camera...
hmmm.. but no money and will not give up my pda for viewty~!

carpathia, still drop on the floor consider open flower mahh... biggrin.gif
Give up your PDA, then buy the viewty. If you don't like it, sell the Viewty, and get a new PDA. Haha.

Right now you're using the Dopod D810 is it?

Off-topic: Just wanna ask how was the P1i?
Seaedge
post Dec 28 2007, 09:56 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

p1i? u really wanna know my opinion ah? hehehehehhe.. i wrote something abt p1i in my multiply...
yeah, bought d810 recently after 2 weeks of using p535.. tongue.gif
G-Izzat
post Dec 28 2007, 10:03 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 28 2007, 09:56 AM)
p1i? u really wanna know my opinion ah? hehehehehhe.. i wrote something abt p1i in my multiply...
yeah, bought d810 recently after 2 weeks of using p535.. tongue.gif
Heh, just read your review about the P1i. I'm kinda interested actually. Used the M600 before, so I guess the keyboard won't be much of a problem.

tony_chew
post Dec 28 2007, 02:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Dec 28 2007, 12:44 AM)
No stability issues but I have sent mine back to check the camera. I get hot spots and chroma noise in the dark areas when I take indoor pics. Do any of you have the same problems with your camera? Try this: take an indoor picture with or without flash on Auto ISO, at night, of a scene with dark background, maybe your cupboard or dark wall. When I do this, I get white spots (hot spot) and red spots (chroma noise).

ahza7880
post Dec 28 2007, 05:07 PM

25 posts

Just bought pouch for my phone.. it's actually pouch for iphone but fit nicely with viewty..

user posted image user posted image

hope it will protect my phone sweat.gif ..

One more thing, does anyone know what is the maximum size for document we can view with this phone? cos I saved 1 pdf file with 100 mb size but I can not view the file..but i can view the 400kb file..
jabbaian
post Dec 29 2007, 02:24 AM

151 posts

yo guys.
juz got my viewty fr the Curve. on impulse i gues cos i actually wanted to get N82. zzzzz. now getting disappointed after reading wat u guys wrote in here. n everybody seems to get it cheaper than me too. got it at $2099. shud hv done my homework b4 getting it. haizzzz.
Seaedge
post Dec 29 2007, 03:02 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

why are you dissapointed? you buy the phone bcoz u like or bcoz other ppl like? smile.gif its not to tease you but you buy bcoz u like that phone rite???

thats y i always ready opera browser in any of my phone and make sure my phone is at least EDGE connection. so i can check back in LYN whenever i can. smile.gif smart consumer, not rush.
joeysis
post Dec 29 2007, 01:25 PM

u took these 2 pics wit ur Viewty? shocking.gif
the quality look not so good only.... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ahza7880 @ Dec 28 2007, 05:07 PM)
Just bought pouch for my phone.. it's actually pouch for iphone but fit nicely with viewty..

user posted image user posted image

hope it will protect my phone  sweat.gif ..

One more thing, does anyone know what is the maximum size for document we can view with this phone? cos I saved 1 pdf file with 100 mb size but I can not view the file..but i can view the 400kb file..
ahza7880
post Dec 29 2007, 02:32 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(joeysis @ Dec 29 2007, 01:25 PM)
u took these 2 pics wit ur Viewty? shocking.gif
the quality look not so good only.... hmm.gif
Yes, i took those pictures with my viewty.. quite blurry..this what i encounter when snapping indoor picture but when i took outdoor picture the result is quite good.. i think need to use manual setting instead of using auto setting (auto iso etc..)

Sample of my outdoor photos (using macro mode, iso 100/200)..

user posted image user posted imageuser posted image

99 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:41 AM