LG LG KU990 Viewty, 5 MegaPixels, 3" Touch Screen, HSDPA

tony_chew
post Dec 26 2007, 04:12 PM

55 posts

Got the Viewty last nite from BB Plaza, 1999 plus the so-called free Canon printer. I also have the N82. I also had the K850i for exactly one night, but that's another story.

Comparison wise, as a camera the N82 beats the Viewty any which way you look. In low light situations, nothing beats the Xenon flash. Night mode which is highly usable on the N82, is not as good on the Viewty.

In favor of the Viewty, the UI is easy to use and the screen is very nice, large and bright. Sound clarity as a phone is top notch.

For some reason, using Celcom is frustrating with this phone. Maxis works, though and I presume Digi should work too. My postpaid Celcom on Unlimited Data package would constantly say Connection Unavailable, while on Maxis I could get HSDPA no problem in my area.

However, like the K850i it is not my cup of tea, so anybody looking for a cheap day-old Viewty can email me at pedang_AT_gmail_dot_com. smile.gif

EDIT: The price was 1999, not 1099, very sorry for the typo. blush.gif

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 26 2007, 06:18 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 26 2007, 06:15 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 26 2007, 04:22 PM)
tony_chew: how on earth did you manage to get the viewty at RM1099?!?!?! please tell me it is a typo or some very special case, or else, i think i'm going to jump off the cliff...  blink.gif
Ooops...1999... solly! But the offer still stands, anybody looking to get the Viewty can email me as above. One guy did already but he must've been confused when he saw my mistake. I can't blame him, who wouldn't be? Anyway, the Viewty is practically unused as I only used it to take a few photos. I find the touchscreen not very easy to get used to for old man like me, it's more suitable for younger person.

Added on December 26, 2007, 6:16 pm
QUOTE(N0eL @ Dec 26 2007, 04:39 PM)
Kysham,

I'm only presented with keypad, handwritting screen & handwritting box. No keyboard option for me to choose.

Btw. Hacking the phone and inserting custom flash background is feasible right now.

go to www.KU990.co.uk
Very strange for you, as the qwerty keypad is available on my Viewty without any hacks or anything.

Added on December 26, 2007, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 26 2007, 04:28 PM)
wahlao... this i got to ask... i need to get myself at least one unit... hahahahha that is real cheap bro.. rm1099 with free printer.. xD
Amended my typo, 1999 lah, not 1099. If can get this cheap, I must be LG President bro-in-law or sumting. haha

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 26 2007, 06:21 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 26 2007, 07:30 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Dec 26 2007, 07:18 PM)
why is everybody selling off their viewty?
whats wrong?
what is it that u dont like about viewty?
I speak for myself only, and for me I ran away from WM devices to Symbian because of the touchscreen, and after using the Viewty, made me remember what made me dislike WM so much. haha

I have no problem keeping this phone actually. I remember how I felt the same way initially about my Nokia E61i.

I had wanted to sell it off a few hours after I bought it, and yet now, it is the one device I rely on even after buying other phones since then (N95, N91, E90, 6120C, N95 8GB, N82, SE K850i and now Viewty). I guess the E61i is just nice for me because it has the keyboard, although I know it is not stylish enough for a lot of you young people. haha

So if you want to get this Viewty, make sure you can live with the touchscreen input before spending all your money.
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 03:24 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 27 2007, 09:06 AM)
tony_chew: talk about taking pics, did you notice a peculiarity with the Viewty's camera function? i found out that if i set the ISO to 100, then the flash will not fire. In any other ISO settings, the flash will fire. Is this the funny thing with this phone?

And why is it that I have to enter the time everytime i removed the battery from the phone? Is this another one of those LG "features"? sorry, this is the first time i'm using LG so not sure if this is a norm or not.  whistling.gif
Yes I noticed that about the ISO100 setting. In most cameras, this shouldn't happen so I'm guessing it's a software/firmware issue.

Affirmative about the time resetting, as well. I think this is also firmware issue.

Added on December 27, 2007, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(ahza7880 @ Dec 27 2007, 03:18 PM)
I'm planning to get pouch for my handphone.. is magnetic pouch safe for this handphone since i heard it can effect the touch screen?
I bought a magnetic leather slip-in case for my Viewty. Very cool. But everytime I put the phone in and take it out, the screen goes on. Plus, if you read the manual (don't remember the page) which states to keep magnets away from the back of the phone.

Needless to say, I am using a sock-type cover for the Viewty now. haha

As for the Viewty, I have to say it is growing on me. The touchscreen is not too bad, and as seaedge said, as long as you refrain from sms-ing whilst driving it's easy to use. And I am beginning to get the hang of the camera too and I have to say, it is giving my N82 a run for its money (IMO, the N82 is THE ultimate camera phone because of its Xenon flash).

Just have to remember not to expect miracles in low light indoors situations (TRICK: use flash, get close to your subject), and in good light, pictures can come out quite excellent. I don't think I'm selling my Viewty anytime soon.

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 03:38 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 05:56 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Dec 27 2007, 04:38 PM)
Tony,

Hows HSDPA for Viewty currently? any speedtest screenshots?
No lah, sorry no have speedtest. But I can get H most of the time (HSDPA on the Viewty), when on Maxis. Enough for me, la.

Surfing speed has too many variables, anyway, so speedtests are pretty useless, for my money. Variables include, but not limited to, # of persons in the same area surfing at the same time, weather conditions (don't laugh, it's true), your device processor speed, the website you're surfing to (i.e. use Javascript, amount of pictures & graphics, etc), # of running programs in background, and d@mn worst of all, because you have no say in it, network problem.

So speedtests for me don't really tell much and practically useless. Sorry.

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 05:57 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 27 2007, 06:06 PM

55 posts

This is the sock-type leather case I use for my Viewty. Best of all, it can also fit my N95 8GB (a bit tight), and my N82 as well. It measures 5in x 2.8in wide. It's a For Nokia case, btw.

It looks fat because the N95 is in there when I took the picture. haha

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Dec 27 2007, 06:07 PM
tony_chew
post Dec 28 2007, 02:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Dec 28 2007, 12:44 AM)
hi guys.. any stability issue/technical glitches with your unit so far?
No stability issues but I have sent mine back to check the camera. I get hot spots and chroma noise in the dark areas when I take indoor pics. Do any of you have the same problems with your camera? Try this: take an indoor picture with or without flash on Auto ISO, at night, of a scene with dark background, maybe your cupboard or dark wall. When I do this, I get white spots (hot spot) and red spots (chroma noise).

tony_chew
post Jan 1 2008, 09:50 PM

55 posts

If need more than 300 saved sms, get a MPC or other smartphone. The Viewty is a dumbphone after all, although for a dumbphone, it's actually quite smart too. smile.gif

Added on January 1, 2008, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(asura_86 @ Jan 1 2008, 12:05 PM)
does this phone have any sms/contact limit? i'm stuck in deciding whether a n95 or this viewty, both are within my budget..
If you have very specific needs about how much sms you need to always have with you, get the S60 smartphone. The Viewty is quite smart, although not a smartphone, and you should look into it only if your interest is mostly having a good camera with you all the time, as well as a phone. If you want a total all in one, even better smartphone, great camera night and day, then your budget got to rise up a bit. I won't say what that phone is, though, as some people say it doesn't exist. haha

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Jan 1 2008, 09:55 PM
tony_chew
post Jan 2 2008, 01:55 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Mr7077 @ Jan 2 2008, 12:21 PM)
any idea where to get the leather pouch for this phone ? can the pouch for iphone fit ?
I think someone mentioned they managed to use the one for the iPhone, but I use this instead.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
tony_chew
post Jan 2 2008, 04:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Jan 1 2008, 11:06 PM)
what?? why so limited??
doh.gif
I have version 10c of the Viewty firmware, and I can store up to 5 numbers for each Contact in any combination, plus separate fields for email, home address, office address and web address. For e.g. I have one contact with 3 handphone numbers, 1 office number and 1 fax number, and I was able to assign that no problem. Probably some of you have more than 500 separate individual contacts, but I don't although I do have contacts with more than one handphone number, so this phone's limitations works for me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Jan 2 2008, 04:36 PM
tony_chew
post Jan 3 2008, 01:32 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 3 2008, 09:56 AM)
where did you get the latest firmware?
The Zitron service center installed it when I sent my phone in for them to check the camera.

tony_chew
post Jan 3 2008, 01:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Jan 3 2008, 01:22 PM)
Bought this few days ago.. $2099 with a free canon printer.

Not really impress me, did I need to tweak something? Any guide to make it better?
What isn't impressing you? The phone? Camera? PIM functions? MP3 playback? Everything? Need your specific complaint maybe we can compile a list and send it in to LG as ideas for a new firmware. Although I do also hear that LG are not very responsive when it comes to after sales support, but too late for us owners now I guess, and we have to sink or swim with them, at least until we sell off our phones. whistling.gif

Added on January 3, 2008, 1:37 pm
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jan 3 2008, 01:35 PM)
carpathia... wait for wat.. go update to latest firmware.. tongue.gif

juine, are you referring to the phone speed?
Actually I can't really see much of a difference between this one and the B-Version I had previously. Talking specifically about picture noise issues in indoor and low light situations.

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Jan 3 2008, 01:37 PM
tony_chew
post Jan 3 2008, 03:55 PM

55 posts

The burr-ing vibrate on the onscreen keypad and qwerty of the Viewty really rock for me. I guess juine not used to touchscreen phones? Because as I remember it, MPC touchscreen keypads are worse.
tony_chew
post Jan 4 2008, 04:22 PM

55 posts

Normally seller of barang should also use the barang he sell, rite or not? haha
tony_chew
post Jan 7 2008, 07:14 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jan 5 2008, 06:34 PM)
for indoor, even all canon /panasonic compact and prosumer fail badly, you expect a camera phone to be able to take good indoor?
The only camera phone that can take excellent indoor/night pictures, as at this moment, is the Nokia N82. I posted these a while back on another forum, and can take a look. http://www.pbase.com/tony_chew/chiangmai_2007__n82

N.B.: Comments about poor camera skills will be ignored. haha

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Jan 7 2008, 07:14 PM
tony_chew
post Jan 8 2008, 02:43 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jan 7 2008, 07:17 PM)
LOL, have you seen I-mobile 902 in action for night shot, N82 cant even beat it.
Thanks for the heads-up. I agree with you the Thailand-made I-Mobile 902 with the 5MP Sony CCD sensor can beat most cameraphones in terms of picture quality. I did not mean to beat up on your 902 because I did mention that IMO the N82 is the best camera phone out in the market for night and indoor pics, that is out today. If we had to compare all camera phones, there is no doubt there were better ones before.

But from what I read about that phone on the web, going back to 2006 since amazingly that was when this phone came out, it was slow and used to hang horribly, not unlike the LG KU920 which was also a big failure for the same reasons. Example here, http://forum2.mobile-review.com/showthread...?t=47489&page=2

However, beating out even these two for picture quality let's not forget the Sharp 903SH. However I had to let mine go after just a few weeks because sadly it was just impossible to use as a phone for anything other than to make and receive calls.

I found some fairly recent picture comparisons, the first between the 902 and the N95, made sometime last year. I agree with that tester who said that the 902 edged the N95 slightly, although I can't really say it was that much better than even my lousy efforts with the N82. I may be biased. brows.gif The tests are here http://justamp.blogspot.com/2007/08/nokia-...902-part-2.html

The other comparison was between the 902 and the 903SH which can be found here http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=1113017

As a matter of interest, you can buy one of these 902 here http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1271945 That poor guy has been trying to sell his off since November. Help him out, people?

This post has been edited by tony_chew: Jan 8 2008, 02:51 PM
tony_chew
post Jan 8 2008, 02:52 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Jan 8 2008, 02:50 PM)
wa LG come out this cool phone... is the phone in the market now? looking pretty great. anyone plan to get this?
Can you please be more clear what LG phone you are referring to?
tony_chew
post Jan 8 2008, 08:29 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jan 8 2008, 07:10 PM)
hey does anyone wanna sell their canon selpy?? please pm me! wanan buy!
Go look at mypd@cafe buy and sell got one guy want to sell his printer.

0.0408sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:56 PM