RTM 1080p myklik stream dropped quality from 3.96Mbps to 2.2Mbps.
Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV
Nov 10 2019, 12:52 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
RTM 1080p myklik stream dropped quality from 3.96Mbps to 2.2Mbps.
Nov 10 2019, 01:20 AM
7,790 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 10 2019, 12:38 AM) Noted and.thanks! Yes it supports digital. I'm online shopping for 40 inch TV. Even a digital TV also need antenna to received broadcasts? https://shopee.com.my/product/28075514/1553228050?smtt=0.0. This Toshiba TV is digital? As long you see DVB-T2 or DTTV Malaysia label on the product page or the TV, that means it is digital TV built in. Yes. Make sure to use good UHF antenna. Refer to that myFreeview website to know more. |
Nov 10 2019, 03:08 AM
1,184 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Nov 10 2019, 10:48 AM
6,790 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Nov 10 2019, 11:49 AM
1,448 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
pj this morning until this time posting, 666 signal lost, only 698 is available but like oreo only signal.
Nov 10 2019, 02:59 PM
18 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Can you please sticky the PDF attachment to the top post as well? Proved useful and can't seem to find that information from the official site.
On my new TV with the IDTV decoder, I only managed to receive some channels using automatic tuning. Turns out the channels are broadcasted over two frequencies / channel, and manual tuning helped me solve that. [quote=9M-MAS,Nov 4 2019, 07:13 AM] [/quote] Include this PDF attachment as well, it can also used for archived purpose. https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/pdf/Lists-of-frequency.pdf [/quote] |
Nov 10 2019, 05:29 PM
My friend took down his 10+ years old UHF antenna from rooftop to "rewire" the antenna to connect to a RG-6 cable.
![]() I believe this is 17-E UHF antenna, right? 17 elements... ![]() ![]() *click the image to view in full resolution This antenna doesn't have the F connector output like most of the UHF antennas you buy today, so he had to wire it himself with a short RG-6 cable and terminate it with F connector (male), then connect to a F connector joiner (female-to-female) so that he can connect the rest of the RG6 cable to his TV/digital TV box. Because it's simply difficult to bend the RG6 cable too much for it to come out from this "small box" (likely because it was designed for wire those old and thinner 3C-2V / 5C-2V cable), so he strip the cable jacket, exposing the insulator, making it easier to bend and "look lesser strain" to the cable. ![]() Close up to that "box". As he tighten the 2 (kinda rusty) screws (top and bottom one) on that metal "holder" (I don't know what is it called) to secure the insulator, that holder just barely able to fit it right. And he bend the core at the end to make it slightly secure along the screw. ![]() This is how it looks like when the "box" is closed. ![]() Bottom view of the cable. ![]() Also, this antenna was originally in yellow colour but was discoloured to almost white. It's 10+ years already though... So I wanna ask some of the sifus here... Did he rewire his outdoor UHF antenna it correctly? Looks like not so proper lol... He's able to receive digital TV signals, and the signal is about 50-70%. He was expecting to be able to get much stronger signal, like 80-95% Strength. Not sure is it because there's a hill along the direction from his house to the nearest TV transmitter, or simply the antenna has degraded due to age. He tried indoor antenna (passive type), no signal. He doesn't have active indoor UHF antenna. |
Nov 10 2019, 06:13 PM
9,616 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Nov 10 2019, 09:21 PM
1,422 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Southern Kledang |
QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 10 2019, 05:29 PM) My friend took down his 10+ years old UHF antenna from rooftop to "rewire" the antenna to connect to a RG-6 cable. The braided shielding coming out of the RG6 should be under the plate secured by two screws (polish if possible to ensure better electrical contact). He simply cut the braided shielding off!? That may explain the relatively low signal strength.![]() Close up to that "box". As he tighten the 2 (kinda rusty) screws (top and bottom one) on that metal "holder" (I don't know what is it called) to secure the insulator, that holder just barely able to fit it right. And he bend the core at the end to make it slightly secure along the screw. F connector ends on antennas on the market in my experience means it's not locally manufactured - most Thai manufactured ones have this. Locally manufactured ones, such as you friend's still require such "manual" termination. They are common at local electrical shops. One curiosity - why did he decide to terminate and do a connection just so shortly out of the box? Why not run the whole length of the cable from the back of the decoder / TV? Introduction of such connections in my experience usually increase risk of signal degradation. This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Nov 10 2019, 09:26 PM |
Nov 10 2019, 10:14 PM
44 posts Joined: May 2017 |
QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 10 2019, 05:29 PM) My friend took down his 10+ years old UHF antenna from rooftop to "rewire" the antenna to connect to a RG-6 cable. He is lucky to get the signals. I also use this kind of antenna before this for about 10+ years also. Using a very old 3C-2V cables and connect to my decoder I didn't get any signals. Then i change to RG6 cables and new 5E antenna bought online, everything went well after that. I think if he bought a new antenna that have a F connector, the signals would be better. Since he doesn't need to strip the cable.![]() I believe this is 17-E UHF antenna, right? 17 elements... ![]() ![]() *click the image to view in full resolution This antenna doesn't have the F connector output like most of the UHF antennas you buy today, so he had to wire it himself with a short RG-6 cable and terminate it with F connector (male), then connect to a F connector joiner (female-to-female) so that he can connect the rest of the RG6 cable to his TV/digital TV box. Because it's simply difficult to bend the RG6 cable too much for it to come out from this "small box" (likely because it was designed for wire those old and thinner 3C-2V / 5C-2V cable), so he strip the cable jacket, exposing the insulator, making it easier to bend and "look lesser strain" to the cable. ![]() Close up to that "box". As he tighten the 2 (kinda rusty) screws (top and bottom one) on that metal "holder" (I don't know what is it called) to secure the insulator, that holder just barely able to fit it right. And he bend the core at the end to make it slightly secure along the screw. ![]() This is how it looks like when the "box" is closed. ![]() Bottom view of the cable. ![]() Also, this antenna was originally in yellow colour but was discoloured to almost white. It's 10+ years already though... So I wanna ask some of the sifus here... Did he rewire his outdoor UHF antenna it correctly? Looks like not so proper lol... He's able to receive digital TV signals, and the signal is about 50-70%. He was expecting to be able to get much stronger signal, like 80-95% Strength. Not sure is it because there's a hill along the direction from his house to the nearest TV transmitter, or simply the antenna has degraded due to age. He tried indoor antenna (passive type), no signal. He doesn't have active indoor UHF antenna. |
Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Nov 10 2019, 09:21 PM) The braided shielding coming out of the RG6 should be under the plate secured by two screws (polish if possible to ensure better electrical contact). He simply cut the braided shielding off!? That may explain the relatively low signal strength. You mean polish the plate secured by two screws? Why removing the braided shielding would affect signal strength? The screw that has contact with the cable is the copper core of the cable, isn't it? And the thing is if he would wire the RG6 further in the box, he have to bend down the cable more so that cable can coming out from bottom of the box. Bending the cable too much will have permanent damage to the cable and affecting signal strength, isn't it? Cuz it's really doesn't seem to design for RG6's thick cable, unlike those older and thinner 3C-2V or 5C-2V. F connector ends on antennas on the market in my experience means it's not locally manufactured - most Thai manufactured ones have this. Locally manufactured ones, such as you friend's still require such "manual" termination. They are common at local electrical shops. One curiosity - why did he decide to terminate and do a connection just so shortly out of the box? Why not run the whole length of the cable from the back of the decoder / TV? Introduction of such connections in my experience usually increase risk of signal degradation. Besides the connector, is there any other differences if the antenna is locally assembled or not? Cuz I would prefer to have the ones with F connector, as I find it better and easier to connect and disconnect the cable. Why last time those local ones have to terminate manually? Bcuz he want to make it like those antennas where it straight away has F connector output, making it easy to connect and disconnect. He want it like this so that easier for him to carry around, do signal testing, kind of temporary setup rather than install it permanently on rooftop to watch TV. Some of u might find this weird 😂 but then that's his hobby anyway... Anyhow, I'll let him know. How about this one? You think this is better? ![]() QUOTE(Hzz @ Nov 10 2019, 10:14 PM) He is lucky to get the signals. I also use this kind of antenna before this for about 10+ years also. Using a very old 3C-2V cables and connect to my decoder I didn't get any signals. Then i change to RG6 cables and new 5E antenna bought online, everything went well after that. I think if he bought a new antenna that have a F connector, the signals would be better. Since he doesn't need to strip the cable. But if his old antenna are still able to receive signals (although not very strong), he wanna continue using it whenever possible. If he buy new antenna (e.g. JP-5E, JP-8E, or 14-E ones) and throw this old one away, is like kinda wasteful cuz still can use it... So he's kinda hesitating to decide. He also still have VHF antenna, and he tried using that to receive digital TV signals, and it works! But the signal is very hard to receive (hard to lock), lose signal easily and signal readings isn't strong. |
Nov 11 2019, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM) You mean polish the plate secured by two screws? Why removing the braided shielding would affect signal strength? The screw that has contact with the cable is the copper core of the cable, isn't it? It's part of the electrical connection between your TV/decoder and antenna. WAtch this QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM) Besides the connector, is there any other differences if the antenna is locally assembled or not? Cuz I would prefer to have the ones with F connector, as I find it better and easier to connect and disconnect the cable. Why last time those local ones have to terminate manually? It's not a universal truth, rather an observation. I think it's manufacturer preference to make it easier to install, perhaps. You can still find antennas requiring manual termination on sale even today. Those on the market here with ready connectors to accept F plugs you will find are almost always Thai brands.QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM) Bcuz he want to make it like those antennas where it straight away has F connector output, making it easy to connect and disconnect. He want it like this so that easier for him to carry around, do signal testing, kind of temporary setup rather than install it permanently on rooftop to watch TV. Some of u might find this weird 😂 but then that's his hobby anyway... Anyhow, I'll let him know. QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM) Can be better - watch the Youtube video I posted above. Make sure the braiding is connected (touching) to the plate, while the core should be insulated from the same.QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2019, 07:51 AM) But if his old antenna are still able to receive signals (although not very strong), he wanna continue using it whenever possible. If he buy new antenna (e.g. JP-5E, JP-8E, or 14-E ones) and throw this old one away, is like kinda wasteful cuz still can use it... So he's kinda hesitating to decide. He also still have VHF antenna, and he tried using that to receive digital TV signals, and it works! But the signal is very hard to receive (hard to lock), lose signal easily and signal readings isn't strong. His old antenna should work just fine. I did part time antenna installation once and aligned dozens of such old antennas with perfect reception and signal strength. Just modify the connection re the braiding.VHFs in my experience you can use if you're very, very close to the transmitter. Otherwise the performance varies greatly from the UHF. This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Nov 11 2019, 09:00 AM |
Nov 11 2019, 09:02 AM
[quote=mbhkoay,Nov 10 2019, 02:59 PM]
Can you please sticky the PDF attachment to the top post as well? Proved useful and can't seem to find that information from the official site. On my new TV with the IDTV decoder, I only managed to receive some channels using automatic tuning. Turns out the channels are broadcasted over two frequencies / channel, and manual tuning helped me solve that. Include this PDF attachment as well, it can also used for archived purpose. https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/pdf/Lists-of-frequency.pdf [/quote] [/quote] done |
Nov 11 2019, 12:06 PM
PJ right now, 666 frequency fluctuating below 60%[around 55% and below], while 698 is 60%-80% watchable and sometimes pixelated. i'm suspecting my neighbor is operating some kind of equipment using 666 frequency to jammed my signal.
Nov 11 2019, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(birain @ Nov 11 2019, 12:06 PM) PJ right now, 666 frequency fluctuating below 60%[around 55% and below], while 698 is 60%-80% watchable and sometimes pixelated. i'm suspecting my neighbor is operating some kind of equipment using 666 frequency to jammed my signal. Hmm... I also have stronger signals on Mux 2 than Mux 1. Maybe you try use outdoor antenna la... Dont put too much hope that MYTV DTT signals will work reliably on an indoor antenna. Have you tried power off all nearby devices that uses HDMI? Like what we previously mentioned, some low quality HDMI cables may cause RF interference to certain DTT signals. Try turn all off first, such as Astro box, android tv box, karaoke system, bluray player, etc. What makes you certain that your neighbours is interfering your TV signal reception? |
Nov 11 2019, 01:33 PM
my wifi also 100% power, drop to 80% only.
Nov 11 2019, 03:40 PM
2,048 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Coming from old school CRT TV hooked to an outdoor antenna, can the antenna be reused for the Digital transmission ?
Currently guided my dad to hook up the DVB-T2 boxes to TV and the same antenna from the old CRT TV, but he couldn't manage to tune in anything. Local electrical shop told him that the antenna is different and that he need to install a new set of antenna. Aren't both old analog and new digital transmission supposed to be using the same UHF frequencies ? (sans the minor different connector termination) |
Nov 11 2019, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 11 2019, 03:40 PM) Coming from old school CRT TV hooked to an outdoor antenna, can the antenna be reused for the Digital transmission ? Can. Just recheck the connection and cables (if the cable is 'injured' anywhere) - replacing it with Astro cable (RG6 cable) highly recommended. In addition, check antenna alignment.Currently guided my dad to hook up the DVB-T2 boxes to TV and the same antenna from the old CRT TV, but he couldn't manage to tune in anything. Local electrical shop told him that the antenna is different and that he need to install a new set of antenna. Aren't both old analog and new digital transmission supposed to be using the same UHF frequencies ? (sans the minor different connector termination) And by the way, is the old antenna equipped with the orange booster box? Defunct boxes can block digital signals...suggest doing away with it altogether (doing a direct connection between the decoder and antenna). This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Nov 11 2019, 03:48 PM |
Nov 11 2019, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 11 2019, 03:40 PM) Coming from old school CRT TV hooked to an outdoor antenna, can the antenna be reused for the Digital transmission ? Are you using outdoor UHF antenna? If not sure, can take pic show us. Currently guided my dad to hook up the DVB-T2 boxes to TV and the same antenna from the old CRT TV, but he couldn't manage to tune in anything. Local electrical shop told him that the antenna is different and that he need to install a new set of antenna. Aren't both old analog and new digital transmission supposed to be using the same UHF frequencies ? (sans the minor different connector termination) And try rewire new cable to that antenna using the new RG-6, which is also the same type of cable used for Astro. Analogue TV broadcasts in both VHF and UHF. Digital is only in UHF. Make sure the cable connection are connected directly only to your UHF antenna, and not splits into 2 cables to merge with VHF and UHF (if u have VHF antenna). And don't connect to any masthead amplifier (known as booster, typically the small white box that needs to powered on near your TV set). |
Nov 11 2019, 04:39 PM
336 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Changlun, Kedah |
Anyone have good UHF aerial DIY website ? I try to contruct the aerial suit to 698MHz wavelength for RTM mux, if have spare time. RTM mux kind of pain in ass in my area, 666MHz for media prima so far so good.
| Change to: | 0.0168sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:57 PM |