184 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

joshhd
post Sep 22 2020, 01:02 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Sep 22 2020, 12:46 AM)
The sampling rate is indeed in 48KHz (in stereo). However 16KHz audio spectrum per channel is almost what the codec and the bitrate (HE-AAC V2 32Kbps) could reach.

Ideally the audio must be in at least 96kbps (HE-AAC) or 128kbps (AAC) stereo for audio sounding similar to FM. If HE-AAC V2 is to be used only 48kbps can be used, which is a compromise between bandwidth and audio quality. Even at 48kbps it still sound poorer than FM. I cannot get the point why 32kbps HE-AAC V2 is used despite having huge spare capacity.

Questions like these, should ask MYTV's very top top top management, or high high level people there.
Those normal CS agents don't know one. They're just following orders given by the people from top management/person in charge.

I mean, compared between 32kbps and 128kbps, that is equivalent to 0.03Mbps and 0.12Mbps difference.
This doesn't look like "saving bandwidth" to me. This look like they're being stingy. But stingy for what, I don't know la.

It seems to me like, those very top management people in MYTV, they just listen it from TV speaker, they hear it like "It sounds okay to me. Where got poor audio quality? dry.gif "
Not until when you ask an audiophile to come and use headphones to listen to the audio quality, then he/she will puke or vomit blood in front of MYTV top management people mad.gif

If I would to describe how does the audio quality on HE-AAC v2 32kbps sounds like, I would describe, it is like:
- some room reverb effect, like simulating stereo effect
- it sounds like you cover the speaker with a plastic bag, and you can hear the plastic bag vibrating
- robot-like sound
- poor audio quality; severe audio compression artifacts

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 22 2020, 01:39 AM
Qash-M
post Sep 22 2020, 05:53 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 22 2020, 01:02 AM)
It seems to me like, those very top management people in MYTV, they just listen it from TV speaker, they hear it like "It sounds okay to me. Where got poor audio quality? dry.gif "
Not until when you ask an audiophile to come and use headphones to listen to the audio quality, then he/she will puke or vomit blood in front of MYTV top management people  mad.gif

"Just blame it on the antenna", it seems the response i'd get. rclxub.gif
surrodox2001
post Sep 22 2020, 07:10 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 22 2020, 01:02 AM)
Questions like these, should ask MYTV's very top top top management, or high high level people there.
Those normal CS agents don't know one. They're just following orders given by the people from top management/person in charge.

I mean, compared between 32kbps and 128kbps, that is equivalent to 0.03Mbps and 0.12Mbps difference.
This doesn't look like "saving bandwidth" to me. This look like they're being stingy. But stingy for what, I don't know la.

Not until when you ask an audiophile to come and use headphones to listen to the audio quality, then he/she will puke or vomit blood in front of MYTV top management people  mad.gif

If I would to describe how does the audio quality on HE-AAC v2 32kbps sounds like, I would describe, it is like:
- some room reverb effect, like simulating stereo effect
- it sounds like you cover the speaker with a plastic bag, and you can hear the plastic bag vibrating
- robot-like sound
- poor audio quality; severe audio compression artifacts
If it's me, i'd think it would be sounds like its in a toilet room with that watery compression artifacts.

I felt it doesn't sound too bad, still legible but it doesn't sound nice sad.gif

I've run some encodes before and determined that 24kbps he-aacv2 is the minimum bitrate for acceptable music quality, sounds like it's in an AM radio...

Still legible, but not nice.

Any hints of MYTV of adding other services to the mux?

surrodox2001
post Sep 22 2020, 07:14 PM

273 posts

And here's a 24k he-aacv2 stream for comparison: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/SIBC24aac.m3u

Yeah, i think media prima is fussing about the quality of sound to make it sounds like 8/16kbps when its 32kbps cbr... doh.gif
joshhd
post Sep 22 2020, 10:21 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 22 2020, 07:10 PM)
If it's me, i'd think it would be sounds like its in a toilet room with that watery compression artifacts.

I felt it doesn't sound too bad, still legible but it doesn't sound nice sad.gif

I've run some encodes before and determined that 24kbps he-aacv2 is the minimum bitrate for acceptable music quality, sounds like it's in an AM radio...

Still legible, but not nice.

Any hints of MYTV of adding other services to the mux?

"Sounds like its in a toilet room with that watery compression artifacts."
MYTV be like:
"Whut are you talking???"
"Toilet room.... Whaat?? I hear it from my TV, it sounds ok."

If you explain further, this is what MYTV Broadcasting will tell you:
"Ah, you must be using a digital TV box that is not certified my MCMC, that's why you face the problem 😉"
or
"Check and readjust your antenna again. Hope it solves your problem. Close case. 😉"

...and here we go again.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 22 2020, 10:46 PM
Qash-M
post Sep 22 2020, 10:47 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Anyway i've forwarded my (re-opened) MYTV complains alongside this thread from previous page. yawn.gif
birain
post Sep 22 2020, 11:09 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 22 2020, 07:14 PM)
And here's a 24k he-aacv2 stream for comparison: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/SIBC24aac.m3u

Yeah, i think media prima is fussing about the quality of sound to make it sounds like 8/16kbps when its 32kbps cbr...  doh.gif
live show even worse, not sharp at all. looks blur only. atleast the analogue is sharp not like now.
shaun_kok
post Sep 23 2020, 08:05 AM

1,072 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Sep 22 2020, 11:09 PM)
live show even worse, not sharp at all. looks blur only. atleast the analogue is sharp not like now.
To get sharp pictures on digital you will need very high bitrate to achieve this. Video encoding are performed "live" during live shows, hence the poor quality.
joshhd
post Sep 23 2020, 11:21 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Sep 23 2020, 08:05 AM)
To get sharp pictures on digital you will need very high bitrate to achieve this. Video encoding are performed "live" during live shows, hence the poor quality.

MYTV CS agents:
"Bitrate? What is that?"
surrodox2001
post Sep 23 2020, 03:19 PM

273 posts

MYTV CS: The rate of bits coming?

They take the bits of bitrate, quite literally lol.gif slow clap
joshhd
post Sep 23 2020, 03:24 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Sep 23 2020, 08:05 AM)
QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 23 2020, 03:19 PM)
MYTV CS: The rate of bits coming?

They take the bits of bitrate, quite literally  :lol2: slow clap

MYTV CS agents:
"To ensure you're getting the best picture quality on digital TV broadcasts, make sure you're using UHF antenna. If you're already using UHF antenna and still facing the same issue, please readjust/realign your antenna."

Macam ada tolong, tapi sebenarnya langsung tidak.
surrodox2001
post Sep 23 2020, 03:31 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 23 2020, 03:24 PM)
MYTV CS agents:
"To ensure you're getting the best picture quality on digital TV broadcasts, make sure you're using UHF antenna. If you're already using UHF antenna and still facing the same issue, please readjust/realign your antenna."

Macam ada tolong, tapi sebenarnya langsung tidak.
Me: Since we're using digital, the use of better aerials is nothing other than to reduce blocking probability, so its useless? confused.gif

Also Me: There's nothing like a UHF antenna, if you like to built an antenna that cover the whole UHF band (300-3000Mhz), you'll need some godlike techs, typically TV aerials are built for a range of frequencies of UHF and not a whole.
joshhd
post Sep 23 2020, 03:36 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 23 2020, 03:31 PM)
Me: Since we're using digital, the use of better aerials is nothing other than to reduce blocking probability, so its useless?  confused.gif

Also Me: There's nothing like a UHF antenna, if you like to built an antenna that cover the whole UHF band (300-3000Mhz), you'll need some godlike techs, typically TV aerials are built for a range of frequencies of UHF and not a whole.

Yes, you should say this to MYTV CS agents, make them speechless. thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif
Use those fancy techie terms, then they confused ady confused.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 23 2020, 03:37 PM
surrodox2001
post Sep 23 2020, 03:48 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 23 2020, 03:36 PM)
Yes, you should say this to MYTV CS agents, make them speechless. thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif
Use those fancy techie terms, then they confused ady  confused.gif
And then they'd just say i dunno and please refer to your store for more information... hmm.gif

CS FAIL doh.gif
joshhd
post Sep 23 2020, 04:11 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 23 2020, 03:48 PM)
And then they'd just say i dunno and please refer to your store for more information...  hmm.gif

CS FAIL  doh.gif

"So far I never receive any viewer's complaints about this poor video and audio quality issue, sir."
So the problem is only you (us). smile.gif

Or, they could be just buat bodoh only, so that they no need to acknowledge the matter.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 23 2020, 04:11 PM
joshhd
post Sep 24 2020, 06:58 PM

7,794 posts

MYTV customer service hotline number will only have one number from now onwards, which is 1300-80-6988, operates from 8am to 10pm
But still, if you are not using the MYTV Broadcasting branded of digital TV receiver, (cuz you'll need to tell them the box's serial number for further checking and so on), then don't need to call them whenever you need help, they won't help you heartfully one.
You're on your own.
surrodox2001
post Sep 24 2020, 07:17 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 24 2020, 06:58 PM)
MYTV customer service hotline number will only have one number from now onwards, which is 1300-80-6988, operates from 8am to 10pm
But still, if you are not using the MYTV Broadcasting branded of digital TV receiver, (cuz you'll need to tell them the box's serial number for further checking and so on), then don't need to call them whenever you need help, they won't help you heartfully one.
You're on your own.
Whats their previous number?

And seems like malaysia is the only country to have dtt platform's own decoder and they're adamant on pushing it, which looks like assteruk.
joshhd
post Sep 24 2020, 09:44 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 24 2020, 07:17 PM)
Whats their previous number?

And seems like malaysia is the only country to have dtt platform's own decoder and they're adamant on pushing it, which looks like assteruk.

1800-18-1088

MYTV is somehow struggling financially mah... So that's why they encourage viewers to buy their MYTV branded box, then only they willing to provide you some help.

Yes, they do let viewers know that they can also tune to digital TV channels through IDTV (TV with built-in digital TV tuner), but they they won't provide further technical support and advice from there.
You have to pandai pandai find your own ways to solve yourself, so usually they'll tell you to refer back to the store you purchased the TV or digital TV box from, including issues that are not related to the viewer's digital TV box (such as some channels don't have EPG data like we highlighted about it earlier) cuz as long you're not using their own product, they will put all the blame on your devices whenever any unrelated issues occur.
SUSWobblyblob
post Sep 25 2020, 10:53 PM

680 posts

On another note, is TV Osem coming?
joshhd
post Sep 26 2020, 01:07 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Sep 25 2020, 10:53 PM)
On another note, is TV Osem coming?

No.
Please stop asking that.

184 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:33 AM