Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

shaun_kok
post Nov 4 2019, 02:46 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Hzz @ Nov 3 2019, 12:19 PM)
Hi congrats for V2. I want to ask what is the function of RF OUT at the back of decoder? Can i use it for my other tv? Since my other tv is an IDTV, so i think i just need a female to female connector straight to my second tv right?
QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 3 2019, 02:58 PM)
It is for super super old TVs and devices that does not have AV (composite) inputs.
You connect that RF OUT port to an analogue TV's ANT IN port, and then you perform auto scan, you will see there's one analogue TV channel is showing the video output of the digital TV box.

Basically, it works like you're watching it on RCA (AV composite) output from the digital TV box, but it's this, is watching it via 1 analogue TV channel.
You switch channels on the digital TV box, the picture on that analogue TV channel changes too. It's just a video output.

Old TVs that doesn't have AV composite input are very rare la seriously. For those who still using that, ugh, just get a new TV...  sweat.gif
Yes, you may connect your IDTV via RF Out function to get DTT signal, as long the cable is high quality (HDMI/TV Boxes will affect DTT reception). Some of the DTT boxes (in overseas) indeed have RF Out function to convert digital TV into analogue TV signal for video input (like what we saw in some old school Astro decoders). The RF OUT port, at least on the MYTV DVB-T2 box, only provide signal passthrough for existing analogue (no longer exists)/DTT signals. This mean that you can hook up many TV Boxes, provide if these TV boxes have RF OUT and the signal is strong enough and both set top boxes are also connected (DTT signal levels will reduce when you hook up from one box to another). These boxes must be in standby/On mode, otherwise the passthrough won't work.
shaun_kok
post Nov 4 2019, 10:40 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Nov 4 2019, 04:47 PM)
Does this mean that the RF out is just a passthrough, not an old way to connect to the TV?
Yup. As I know so far the RF OUT on SKMM certified Malaysian DVB-T2 boxes is just an passthrough. If someone with very old TV want to convert their TV to digital TV, they may buy an RF transmitter so that digital TV can be displayed on old TV via analogue RF channel (Some may want to keep their useable old TV as long as possible, one of my relatives actually still have a very old working TV on their bedroom) or just buy a newer flat screen TV with DVB-T2 function.
shaun_kok
post Nov 5 2019, 09:29 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Hzz @ Nov 5 2019, 08:51 AM)
I see, so it is usable for my IDTV to use the RF out function to get digital signals? Meaning that one box can be used for two TV right since the signal will pass through.
Yup. Just make sure that the set top box is on when you want to watch TV on IDTV if you connect your TV via RF OUT on the set top box. It won't work if there is no power.
shaun_kok
post Nov 29 2019, 08:52 AM

1,074 posts

joshhd Will attempt to check audio quality/bitrate of Mediacorp DTT channels after they upgraded their audio system. Currently Mediacorp is using 256kbps 5.1 AAC (may be 96KHz HE-AAC as my video records shown) and 64kbps HE-AAC audio.

RTM TV1 could be received via UHF DTT but the signal is not reliable due to possible interference from Indosiar analogue TV from Batam. Mediacorp is using TV3 from myFreeview DTT as their news source when reporting Malaysian news.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 29 2019, 08:59 AM
shaun_kok
post Nov 29 2019, 11:36 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 29 2019, 09:20 AM)
All Mediacorp DTT channels, the stereo audio track is HE-AAC v1 64kbps?
And 5.1 audio sampling rate is 96KHz, not 48KHz?
The stereo audio track is 64kbps HE-AAC, and it is meant for dual sound audio. The 5.1 Sound track sound format has to be checked after all, as on LC-AAC 48khz mode it cut offs at around 13khz. For CNA, the main sound track is 96kbps HE-AAC 48khz stereo.
shaun_kok
post Nov 29 2019, 04:52 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 29 2019, 12:02 PM)
I think most probably they will increase the stereo audio bitrate... But until how many kbps then I don't know... But base on the bandwidth they have, they want to use 320kbps also can...
In this case, there will be 3 audio tracks, with Stereo audio as the main soundtrack, rather than 2 audio tracks based on their press release. This is meant for maintaining sound consistency while changing channels for stereo TV sets.

The new configuration will be :

Before 3 Dec 2.30 a.m.
Main/Default audio : 5.1 Surround Sound AAC (Stereo HE-AAC on CNA)
Second audio : Stereo HE-AAC (for dual sound service)
No third audio available.

After 3 Dec 5 a.m.
Main/Default audio : Stereo HE-AAC / AAC
Second audio : Stereo HE-AAC (for dual sound service)
Third audio : 5.1 Surround Sound AAC (Likely unavailable on CNA)

Those who use 5.1 home theater systems will have to toggle themselves to the third audio track (which carries 5.1 soundtrack).

https://www.mediacorp.sg/en/mediacorp-in-th...icleId=12129528

shaun_kok
post Nov 30 2019, 09:58 PM

1,074 posts

The picture quality on Singapore DTT is sometimes bad especially on high action content and during their NDP (where all channels simulcast same video), even if it has higher, decent bitrates (~7Mbps) than our DTT. It looks okay in most situations.
Malaysian DTT, it may be HD but has rather low bitrate for both video and audio, looks s*** most the time, not forgotting that syok sendiri watermark. Even some movement guarantees breakup.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 30 2019, 10:04 PM
shaun_kok
post Dec 3 2019, 11:54 AM

1,074 posts

As promised, Mediacorp have upgraded/modified their audio system. After the changes, there are 3 audio tracks on all their channels except CNA, transmitting in 96kbps HE-AAC Stereo (main audio, as used on CNA), 64kbps HE-AAC Stereo (second audio, for dual sound tracks) and also 256kbps AAC 5.1 (this was their main audio before the change). Video bitrates remain unchanged, as well as CNA, which remained at 2 audio tracks. I had include the video links before and after the change for all to download (for Channel 5), in both MKV and raw TS file.

shaun_kok
post Dec 3 2019, 05:55 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Dec 3 2019, 04:46 PM)
Thanks for the update .... would you know the video bit rate for all the Mediacorp TV Channels?
Around 6-8Mbps for all channels.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 3 2019, 05:57 PM
shaun_kok
post Dec 5 2019, 12:23 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Dec 4 2019, 10:25 PM)
The same reason Singapore can - tiny coverage area, so no need for dozens of transmitters and the very expensive satellite links feeding the transmitters.
For comparison the UK uses about 6 Mbps for a HD channel
All of the transmitters in SG can be/are feed by fiber optics, considering their small size and they already have such infrastructure in place.

While in HK only 3 channels have high bitrate (TVB Jade 10M, RTHK TV 31 8M, Open TV 14M). First two channels is feed terrestrially while the third is feed via cable (signal could be tuned via normal DTT/DTMB tuner if connected to MATV socket). Half of TVB Jade spectrum is shared with ViuTV, while TVB also have a multiplex that is used solely for 4 HD channels. Open TV has 1 MUX (feed via Cable) that carries 1 Cantonese and 1 English channel. RTHK has 1 MUX for 2 of their own channel + relay of CCTV-1. RTHK MUX is often not carried on some MATV systems, despite being public broadcasting. (HK DTMB MUX has around 21-22Mbps per MUX) Viewers which tune via antenna can only watch TVB, ViuTV and RTHK channels only.

Other channels (ViuTV, Other TVB channels .etc) have the usual/common HD bitrate (4-6Mbps), although ViuTV had transmitted in 9Mbps before the start of their English channel ViuTVsix. Before ATV's closure, they had transmit their sole HD channel in 13-14 Mbps.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 5 2019, 12:35 AM
shaun_kok
post Dec 5 2019, 12:55 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 5 2019, 12:32 AM)
Wah, seriously that high? shocking.gif
They use 64QAM or 256QAM?
You have any idea how many channels/mux they use to cover nationwide?
They can use bitrate that high because the mux are owned by them, and is not single operator like Malaysia, right?
And how come they can use so many mux? Because they got money?  biggrin.gif
HK uses a vastly different terrestrial system (Chinese DTMB) to ours (DVB-T2) and the nett bitrate for HK DTMB is around 21-22Mbps. In HK there are 4 MUX, which all of them are bulit and then owned by the broadcasters, so the broadcasters have absolute control (unlike in Thailand, Malaysia and similar with Singapore, Taiwan, Japan, Korea) on how much bitrate they want to use on each channel. HK only have 12 terrestrial TV channels, so they can use higher bitrates for great picture quality. 3 MUX are transmitting over the air while the fourth is transmitting solely via MATV/Cable systems. Based on the information of HK OFCA, the broadcasters uses more than 30 transmitters to cover city wide, given the hilly terrain in HK. TVB have 1 standalone MUX for 4 channels + 0.5MUX (1 Channel) which is shared by ViuTV (2 channels). RTHK (PSB) have 1 standalone MUX for 2+1 channels, but this MUX is left out by some older MATV system as only a few watches RTHK TV channels due to upgrading MATV systems costs a lot of money. while HK Open TV has another standalone MUX for 2 channels, transmitting via MATV/Cable only. Before the end of ATV broadcasts, ATV had owned 1 MUX + 0.5MUX shared with TVB too.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 5 2019, 01:16 AM
shaun_kok
post Dec 6 2019, 09:39 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 6 2019, 09:08 PM)
These are the DTT frequencies after frequency restacking is being carried out for Mux 1 and Mux 2.
Source (as of 6 Dec 2019): https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/pdf/Lists-of-frequency.pdf
Original PDF for archive purposes: [attachmentid=10370434]

In conclusion, the total frequency range they'll use after frequency restack is between 546MHz to 682MHz.
682MHz (678-686MHz), just right enough to prevent interference from upcoming 700MHz 4G/5G band.

Although I do hope that they would use 470-610MHz frequency range for DTT instead...

So far MYTV only announce there'll be 5 transmitters to complete the frequency retune exercise by end of this year.
The rest are still haven't announce...
That could mean the one that they just uploaded to their website, is still subject to change then?  hmm.gif
Will see how...  biggrin.gif
Seems like for this time, it will affect another analogue channel (RCTI instead of Indosiar) in the south which its power has been reduced. I think MYTV has to negotiate with Indonesian authorities (KOMINFO, RCTI) to redesign the analogue transmitting panels for RCTI before doing any changes in Johor Bahru, which I think will be the last to move, to avoid potential interference with Indonesian analogue TV, which is a issue here for DTT reception, and there is no more analogue fallback for Malaysian TV. Imagine the complaints for the loss of RTM TV reception in numerous areas, which has already happened in the past. The usage of 470-610 MHz would be impossible in some areas, like in the south without reserving any frequencies in the future.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 6 2019, 09:46 PM
shaun_kok
post Dec 6 2019, 09:51 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(bayoudo @ Dec 6 2019, 09:39 PM)
Dear Sifus,
I need guidance. I read most of the post and yet I still don't understand much. Sorry for the really noob question but I'm really unfamiliar with this kinda of stuff.
We have a Bed and Breakfast of 9 rooms located in a very kampung area in Kundasang, Sabah. No streamyx, no unifi. Each room has a tv.
We recently spoke to a local electrician and he told us that we need to get satellite dishes to view FreeView because we are located in the hills.
I called the myfreeview's 1800 number alot of times but was told to email them. It's been a month and I still haven't received a reply from them.
Since we have 9 TVs, does it mean I need to get 1 decoder and 1 satellite dish or do I need to get 9 decoders and 9 dishes....? Where can I get MyTv satellite dishes? Does it have to MyTv, or other brands would work too? I tried searching MyTv dishes on Shopee, but there was none. Mostly other random brands.
I'm really at lost what to do as the holiday season is around the corner...
Thank you in advance and sorry if my post was confusing.
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/06/5wvKsG.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/06/5wvKsG.md.jpg </a>
Before that, what is the transmitter you were using for receiving analogue TV? You may be receive digital terrestrial signals if you were able to get TV3 analogue in the past. If there was only 2 channel (TV1/TV2) no chance unless in Lahad Datu and Kudat. Based on the coverage map and DTH coverage prediction, you can only get satellite TV as the only form of TV reception, which can mean up to 9 set top boxes and 9 satellite dishes in your case.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 6 2019, 10:00 PM
shaun_kok
post Dec 7 2019, 01:01 AM

1,074 posts

joshhd I understand that some antenna adjustments has been done, on Channel 47 and 49 in the past by Kominfo. The transmissions that will cause interference is Channel 43/647mhz which will definitely need some adjustments/transmitter pattern redesign soon in Indonesian side for this frequency.

Although there are benefits of lower band giving better coverage when the DTT signals move to <600mhz, Existing transmitting antennas will have to be modified, significantly if the signal is going to move from around 690mhz to 550mhz. There is a reason why most transmitters move their DTT MUX 2 transmissions to Channel 43 and not lower bands. Those transmitters who move to Channel 32 fir MUX 2have existing transmission on Channel 30. MYTV is not going to spend that money, considering most DTT transmitting antenna panels are only 2-4 years old and their unwillingness to expand DTT coverage to some capital cities/Federal territory namely Seremban, Labuan and Kangar and rural areas, instead using DTH for these areas.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 7 2019, 01:14 AM
shaun_kok
post Dec 11 2019, 11:22 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 11 2019, 10:43 PM)
This one I don't really agree.

Satellite technology is very reliable actually, in fact even more reliable than undersea fibre cable to some extend, especially when it comes to backup solutions...
Service availability are at least 99% up-time, meaning the possibility of it to have failure is very very small till the point that you no need to think about it.

MYTV are primarily relies on C band satellite backhaul via ABS 2 satellite to deliver its channels to the digital TV platform.
So if, ABS 2 satellite occur some failure, then whole Malaysia no more digital TV broadcast, which is so very unlikely to happen.

When you see Measat satellite has major failure?
Even RTM's TV1 and TV2 channels, as well as TV3 also relies on Measat 3 C band as backhaul/to provide channel feed to Sabah and Sarawak.
You don't hear that there's ever any broadcast disruption over at Sabah and Sarawak due to satellite failure, right?

If there is a failure to international undersea fibre cable or satellite, they can route its services to other undersea cable providers or other satellites as a temporary backup, so that service disruption can be minimal r even unnoticeable by users.
Agree with that. Satellite TV (C-Band) is extremely reliable, with 99.995% uptime, after considering sun outages that will happen twice a year. Ku-Band is not reliable whe compared to terrestrial TV/C Band due to weather issues. Sun outages is different in each area so if one area is affected, it will typically not affect other. Only very selective users, like the military, require more than 1 satellite as they require 100% uptime. DTT is very realiable too, but however it is subject to transmitter outages. But since no one want to have 2-3 meter satellite on their house due to legal issues/looks ugly in some situations, DTT remains the best system.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 11 2019, 11:26 PM
shaun_kok
post Dec 27 2019, 06:54 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 27 2019, 06:12 PM)
based on myfreeview page, there's change of frequency. anyone feel any difference?
https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/pdf/lists-of-frequency.pdf

KL bukit besi (20 dec 2019) > 1st signal = UHF45 666MHz , 2nd signal = UHF43 650MHz
KL tower (27 dec 2019) > 1st signal = UHF45 666MHz , 2nd signal = UHF43 650MHz

I tried to scan 650MHz but got nothing?  hmm.gif  I'm still getting signal on 666 & 698 MHz in selangor area.  rclxub.gif
DTT service retuning is not yet done in any transmitters. 698MHz will still work as usual until the announced retune date. An announcement will be done by MYTV in the future regarding the DTT retune process.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 27 2019, 06:58 PM
shaun_kok
post Jan 17 2020, 11:50 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 16 2020, 03:09 PM)
Latest channel list according to mux.

Mux 1:
- TV3 HD
- CJ Wow Shop Malay
- CJ Wow Shop Chinese
- ntv7
- 8TV
- TV9
- Go Shop HD

Mux 2:
- TV1 HD
- TV2 HD
- TV Okey HD
- RTM Sports HD
- BES HD
- TV Alhijrah HD
- Bernama
Radio: NAS FM, Minnal FM, Ai FM, Traxx FM, Klasik FM, Asyik FM

Suddenly move the 2 channels to another frequency (from Mux 1 to Mux 2) without notice in advance.
Those who use digital TV boxes or IDTVs that doesn't support auto update channel list ones, will experience "No signal/No service" when tune to Al Hijrah and Bernama starting today.
So have to perform auto/manual channel search again to get those channels.

I have no idea why they suddenly move to another mux like this.
But it could be due to the reason that both Al Hijrah and Bernama are operated by government related parties since pre-GE14 era (although both channels, are not directly related to RTM).
And they wanna make channels that is government related ones to be in the same mux together?  hmm.gif

Then those who have difficulties in receiving or no signal on Mux 2 frequency due to whatever reasons, and you watches that 2 channels often,
then you got to find ways to realign the antenna and/or rewire the cable that connects to the antenna.
Seems that MYTV never learned their lesson during when RTM channels changes MUX or removing channels in the past. Just add, moved or delete channels as they wish abruptly without placing any holding slides for a while informing the move. Expect some complaints to them during frequency restacking in the future. Not everybody is tech savvy nor everybody has a set top box/TV who do auto tuning. The technical team of MYTV is incompetent and unprofessional by allowing avoidable issues happening for many times. Please do everybody if you see this, do a complaint to MCMC regarding this awful situation.This gives more space to MUX 1 though for new channels (unlikely) or allowing all channels moving to HD (also an unlikely scenario) as Media Prima cannot even settle down 8TV in HD due to their tight financial situation.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Jan 18 2020, 12:01 AM
shaun_kok
post Feb 15 2020, 08:08 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Feb 14 2020, 10:08 PM)
Already version 2 ?
anyway , I would like to ask ,I had been searching for mytv but I can't find any episode guide at all.

It only show what is on air but no tvguide of the episode.

Where can i find the tv schedule or guide on each episode ?
The schedules on the DTT platform is famously unreliable sometimes due to the problem on the broadcaster forgot to update.

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 15 2020, 02:38 AM)
This one you got to ask either MYTV or the broadcaster themselves (RTM or Media Prima).
Cuz it's not new to all of us that MYTV has some inconsistencies in providing EPG data onto their channels.
The broadcaster are the one decides to provide the EPG data to viewers.

Alternatively, you can refer to Astro's EPG data instead.
Astro's one is consistent and reliable.
https://whatson.astro.com.my/channels
Click on the channel you want (e.g. TV3), then you'll see a full complete list on the programmes that is to be aired now and the next 7 days. Pretty reliable.
Even Astro' s own EPG is sometimes not that reliable too for the terrestrial channels if you want to see the schedule for the next few days. However they will at least provide a schedule based on the old data in case the terrestrial channels forgot to update their schedule.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 15 2020, 09:13 AM
shaun_kok
post Feb 24 2020, 02:05 PM

1,074 posts

The frequency used before (682MHz and 698MHz) and after the retune (666MHz and 650MHz) is still pretty much unusable in the South unless the Indonesian side has switch off analogue signals. This is despite the signal levels of analogue Trans TV (663.25MHz/Channel 45) and RCTI (647.25MHz/Channel 43) is lower than SCTV (679.25MHz), which has caused significant reception issues at start of the digital broadcasting. The panels for the affected TV channels in Batam has to be readjusted as well. In fact, the viewers living in some parts of Southern Johor has better chance on receiving the multiplexes transmitted for the Northern Johor rather than the Southern Johor as there are no interference at all for now on 546MHz and 562MHz. As we see, the digital TV retune exercise has been completed/planned in many areas but no date has been announced in the South so far when I was writing this post! Anyway, I don't think any significant retune will done in the south unless the transmission issues has resolved although i know that this is done to make way for 700MHz 4G/5G.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 24 2020, 07:30 PM
shaun_kok
post Feb 24 2020, 07:45 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 24 2020, 05:52 PM)
Gunung Pulai haven't announce any frequency retune exercise yet. But it is planned by MYTV that Mux 2 will be using 650MHz CH43 though...
Unless if RCTI take the initiative to switch off their analogue TV signal for Batam region first, as some Indonesian analogue TV channels in Batam region has already switched off quite some time ago without any notice given to the viewers there.
Then for MYTV to use 650MHz CH43 for Mux 2 for Gunung Pulai should be fine.
Understand that why DTT retune only involve one of two frequencies on most areas as many things will have to be changed including MATV changes, antenna panels (for transmitter) and more. However in case for the south, both MYTV multiplexes will be affected for the retune, as opposed of one for most masts on a future date. Anyway, it is a good time for the viewers in the Johor Bahru region to update the TV and DTT boxes in the south as many lineup changes has been done.

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1056sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:50 AM