15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Q on in-laws situation (Updates), Updated.

Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 3 2019, 08:45 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,305 posts

edit

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Nov 3 2019, 08:47 AM
3DME
post Nov 4 2019, 04:43 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 3 2019, 06:33 AM)
Is that how bankruptcy works?

According to one local EXPERT, cheaters will have serious health problems & face god in hell for judgement. If both fails, taiko will take over.

YOU ARE WARNED.
lol.
SUSBillCollector
post Nov 7 2019, 07:25 PM

818 posts

Well here's an update :-

-Last Wednesday SIL + MIL left for Bali for a break. Wife and me followed on Thursday. MIL told FIL their children had sponsored her to go for holiday and gave him RM70 to settle his meals. While in Bali she sent him plenty of photos of her having a jolly good time.

-While we were in Bali, the daughter that was expecting gave birth to a pre-term baby. He messaged the SIL and told her about what had happened and he would need to help with settling some of the expenses and he would appreciate it if she could give him any savings she had. She replied to him she can't give him all of it to which he told her even with father must be so calculative. She then told him to not ask her to choose between the mum and him. She told us what had happened, MIL said 1sen also cannot give him.

-He messaged the SIL and asked her to help him ask the elder sister for money, said if between both of them they could give him RM20,000 he won't ask them for money again. SIL asked me what to do, I told her I don't get involved in their family matters but asked her to ask him why he needed that much money as the delivery was in a MoH hospital and would be FOC mostly and better if he could itemize it. Told her it would be easier to convince her sister. She tried, the father said want to give then give, don't ask so many questions. I informed the wife on what the SIL told me, wife said no discussions on this matter and stood with the mum that 1sen also cannot give.

-SIL+MIL returned on Sunday, they found the condo devoid of everything. Basically anything and everything movable had been removed. Only thing remaining were a mattress on the floor, her clothes, some tupperwares and some useless junk here and there. Everything else was gone, even some of the lights and ceiling fans were gone and all the laminate floor boards were gone too. They found a letter at the kitchen stating he had moved out, said he didn't want to be around people that didn't want him around. Stated that he had moved to his 1st (ex)wife's house as they wanted him and took him in unconditionally.

-Wife and me returned from our trip. MIL + SIL came to our house to update us. Said he did not take any of her personal belongings. Only thing he took was the TV and the registration card of the Nissan Xtrail that is in her name. I told her just a TV only just let it be as it is a 7 year old TV and we would buy her a new TV. The Xtrail, it was parked as the gearbox is junk. The keys to the Xtrail was still in the condo. She said she wanted her TV returned to her as the TV belonged to her as she won it at a lucky draw. Also she wanted the registration card for that Xtrail, I told her no need to bother as the car can't be used and it is very easy to get a replacement. Told her most likely it was just a mistake and am sure he would return it if properly asked. She said she wanted it returned without asking.

-SIL called the father, he said got anything to say and dare to say then come to the house he is living at else don't bother.

-I told them to let it be, SIL agreed with me but wife and MIL said then we must go. Going after dinner.
mini orchard
post Nov 7 2019, 07:43 PM

14,511 posts

Most important Q.

Boy or Girl?
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 7 2019, 09:14 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

BillCollector

Looks like things are not turning out as planned, for your MIL and her Team A.

Your FIL has his Team B.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Nov 7 2019, 10:19 PM
KennyKB
post Nov 8 2019, 08:55 AM

1,765 posts

Giving him RM20,000 is not going to be the end of it. This is like a gambler saying settle my debts and I will never gamble again.

Now that FIL is out of the condo MIL has one big headache solved. But better change the lock. If first wife kicks him out he will be back.

Just forget about the TV and the car registration card. If she wants the card go to JPJ and print out another one. I think he took the card to hold it for ransom but nowadays the car registration card isn't worth anything.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Nov 8 2019, 09:00 AM
SUSBillCollector
post Nov 8 2019, 11:34 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 7 2019, 07:43 PM)
Most important Q.

Boy or Girl?
He is a boy.

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 7 2019, 09:14 PM)
BillCollector

Your FIL has his Team B.
Yes quite unexpected that they took him in especially as it does appear that they aren't exactly well off.

He also told the MIL he wanted a divorce and he has already taken what he wanted to take and from now on he didn't want to speak to her or her 2 daughters again. Told her good luck in her life as no one will take care of her from then onward.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 8 2019, 08:55 AM)
Giving him RM20,000 is not going to be the end of it. This is like a gambler saying settle my debts and I will never gamble again.

Now that FIL is out of the condo MIL has one big headache solved. But better change the lock. If first wife kicks him out he will be back.

Just forget about the TV and the car registration card. If she wants the card go to JPJ and print out another one. I think he took the card to hold it for ransom but nowadays the car registration card isn't worth anything.
He said he did not take the registration card. Just found it, turns out it is in my safe at the bank.

Yes we changed the locks, he returned the key and access cards which we told the management to cancel access in case it had been cloned.

Well at the end of it I told my wife to give him RM5,000 and told him to use it to treat the issues with his knees, he threw the money back at her saying he didn't want any money from them.

TV? He admitted to taking it but said he had given it as a gift to his 1st(ex)wife. Told the MIL if she wanted it back to go get it herself as he was done doing things for her. I told my MIL to let it be we will buy her a new and better TV. She is still sulking that she did not get back her TV.

SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 8 2019, 01:19 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 8 2019, 11:34 AM)
He is a boy.

Yes quite unexpected that they took him in especially as it does appear that they aren't exactly well off.

He also told the MIL he wanted a divorce and he has already taken what he wanted to take and from now on he didn't want to speak to her or her 2 daughters again. Told her good luck in her life as no one will take care of her from then onward.
The coming divorce will likely mean your FIL will get back at least a half share of the condo since it is still in your MIL's name, and not in her 2 daughter's name.

If so, things would have been better if your MIL had agreed willingly to give her husband/your-FIL his rightful and legal half share from the sale of the condo for him to buy the birth-name-right from Team B for RM300k = her marriage would have been saved by the sacrifice of some money.
....... Like the Chinese saying, "marry chicken, follow chicken; marry dog, follow dog." If don't follow, no more marriage.

Btw, where is your MIL staying.? Can she take care of herself alone.? What about her physical condition 5 or 10 years down the road.?

Things do not look too bright for your MIL and her Team A.
mini orchard
post Nov 8 2019, 01:29 PM

14,511 posts

What use if someone taking care of you and also harping on money. Better off living in old folks or nursing home.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 8 2019, 01:50 PM
KennyKB
post Nov 8 2019, 03:03 PM

1,765 posts

He is a boy.

He said he did not take the registration card. Just found it, turns out it is in my safe at the bank.

Yes we changed the locks, he returned the key and access cards which we told the management to cancel access in case it had been cloned. 

Well at the end of it I told my wife to give him RM5,000 and told him to use it to treat the issues with his knees, he threw the money back at her saying he didn't want any money from them.

TV? He admitted to taking it but said he had given it as a gift to his 1st(ex)wife. Told the MIL if she wanted it back to go get it herself as he was done doing things for her. I told my MIL to let it be we will buy her a new and better TV. She is still sulking that she did not get back her TV.
RM5000 too little for him? It's his loss.

I have a feeling 1st (ex) wife took him in only due to the prospect of what he will get in a divorce settlement. Smart woman. He stands to gain half the condo value unless MIL can do some magic tricks.

MIL will be happy with a smart TV which can connect to wi-fi for viewing Youtube and Netflix.

SUSBillCollector
post Nov 9 2019, 11:57 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 8 2019, 01:19 PM)
The coming divorce will likely mean your FIL will get back at least a half share of the condo since it is still in your MIL's name, and not in her 2 daughter's name.

If so, things would have been better if your MIL had agreed willingly to give her husband/your-FIL his rightful and legal half share from the sale of the condo for him to buy the birth-name-right from Team B for RM300k = her marriage would have been saved by the sacrifice of some money.
....... Like the Chinese saying, "marry chicken, follow chicken; marry dog, follow dog." If don't follow, no more marriage.

Btw, where is your MIL staying.? Can she take care of herself alone.? What about her physical condition 5 or 10 years down the road.?

Things do not look too bright for your MIL and her Team A.
MIL lives with us. I was the one that told her to pack her bags and come live with us till we sort things out for her. She is in good nick of health.

It is unlikely the FIL would file for divorce anytime soon. Unlikely he has the financial means for any legal battles. Title of the condo is in the midst of being transferred. Should be done in the next 2 weeks.

Our lawyer had some interesting pieces of news, it turns out the house he is living at now is under his name and his name alone and he been owning that house for the last 30 years. Also discovered was he does own a condo as well and he bought it 18 years ago. MIL believes the condo was the one he bought for his mistress but according to the PI our lawyer sent the condo was a student ghetto. Caveats were immediately placed on both. A quick check on iProperty revealed the house he is staying at is worth RM850,000 probably less due to the condition and that condo should be worth around RM600,000 thereabout must check what is the size and condition.

SUSBillCollector
post Nov 9 2019, 12:01 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 8 2019, 01:29 PM)
What use if someone taking care of you and also harping on money. Better off living in old folks or nursing home.
Want to go nursing home also will need money which he doesn't have unless his other children are willing to pay.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 8 2019, 03:03 PM)
RM5000 too little for him? It's his loss.

I have a feeling 1st (ex) wife took him in only due to the prospect of what he will get in a divorce settlement. Smart woman. He stands to gain half the condo value unless MIL can do some magic tricks.

MIL will be happy with a smart TV which can connect to wi-fi for viewing Youtube and Netflix.
He wanted RM25,000 for a knee replacement and said he wasn't interested in the gel injections that I had offered to send him to get done.

We haven't bought her a tv yet since she is now living with us.
mini orchard
post Nov 9 2019, 12:11 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 9 2019, 12:01 PM)
Want to go nursing home also will need money which he doesn't have unless his other children are willing to pay.
Was refering to MIL as someone was concern about her getting old and no one to take care.
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 9 2019, 12:30 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 7 2019 @ 09:14 PM)

Your FIL has his Team B.

He is a boy.

Like the Malay saying goes, "Manusia boleh merancang tapi Allah yang menentukan."

Since you are a Christian and your family has attended Church before, let me say that if things end unfavorably and not to your MIL's planning, it likely means God was not very pleased with your MIL and her planning, eg she was willing to go to the extent of divorcing and leaving her husband/your-FIL homeless and penniless if he makes a fuss about being cheated of his fair and legal half share in the condo.
....... As per ROMANS.1:18 - 2:12, God also rules over the Greek or Gentile unbelievers even if they do not acknowledge Him wrt pouring His wrath upon all willful/intentional/purposeful sinners/evildoers/law-breakers = those who put in meticulous planning in the commission of their sins.
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 9 2019, 12:46 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 9 2019, 11:57 AM)
MIL lives with us. I was the one that told her to pack her bags and come live with us till we sort things out for her. She is in good nick of health.

It is unlikely the FIL would file for divorce anytime soon. Unlikely he has the financial means for any legal battles. Title of the condo is in the midst of being transferred. Should be done in the next 2 weeks.

Our lawyer had some interesting pieces of news, it turns out the house he is living at now is under his name and his name alone and he been owning that house for the last 30 years. Also discovered was he does own a condo as well and he bought it 18 years ago. MIL believes the condo was the one he bought for his mistress but according to the PI our lawyer sent the condo was a student ghetto. Caveats were immediately placed on both. A quick check on iProperty revealed the house he is staying at is worth RM850,000 probably less due to the condition and that condo should be worth around RM600,000 thereabout must check what is the size and condition.
Legally, right now(= before being divorced), your FIL and MIL are legal husband and wife. By legal definition, their matrimonial home is the condo that your MIL and FIL were recently living in.

The 1st wife and mistress are not your FIL's legal wife = the properties occupied or rented by the 1st wife and mistress are legally not the matrimonial home of your FIL and MIL, even though the properties may be in his name.

Like I said before, transferring the condo title to her/your-MIL's 2 daughters will likely have no legal effect during the Divorce Court case. This will be quite a complicated case for the judge of the Family/Divorce Court to decide. I still think your FIL has a better case in divorce court.
....... Of course, as the court case drags on, the divorce lawyers would be laughing all the way to the bank at these 2 silly old folks and their Team A and Team B.

Please keep us updated on the divorce court case.
https://www.legalplus.com.my/division-and-e...ff-in-malaysia/
DIVISION AND ENTITLEMENT OF ASSETS: Is the Wife Worse off in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Nov 9 2019, 01:49 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 9 2019, 01:01 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Oct 31 2019, 01:51 AM)
They do believe if he is kicked out that he would probably go back to the 1st wife's house.

Yup they are into ancestor worship which I think may have something to do with why he is so gung-ho on a child bearing his family name.

Haha... my wife only thinks everything of mine belongs to her. No such thing as half as she like the MIL they believe if they don't own everything of his then another woman can own it too.
Well as repugnant as it is a situation I will definitely have to stand behind her instead of staying neutral.

I would imagine the situation with your father must have opened up some deep raw wounds, hope it has healed by now.
You sure do feel strongly for him smile.gif

Anyway just so you know MIL did tell him she was putting the 2 daughters' names on the title of the condo and only after that they would look into getting a mortgage on it. What she did not tell him was that she is removing her name off the deed as well.

He was agreeable to it and is still under the impression he will be getting his money.

As for getting him out, currently MIL has some knee issues and can't walk far.We are renting a single storey house paid 50:50 by both daughters and both of them will get moved to the rented house. Once he is out, locks will be changed and will get a contractor to start hacking to make the place inhabitable.

Once he is out of there and transfer complete, he will be told mortgage only for RM120,000 and will be told no money to give him as must pay stamp duty and legal fees plus the renovations needed to rent it out. If he doesn't put up a fuss MIL will just let him be, if he does then she will tell him the house they are staying in their 2 daughters rented for her so he has to get out. If he don't want to get out then we will find her another house and let him deal with the landlord.

As you put it earlier hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.
1) She doesn't want any part of the condo to go to him in an event of a contested divorce.

2) At this moment the 3 women couldn't care less if that's what happens to him as they view it that he has betrayed them and they are basically fed up with him.

3) MIL's upkeep is mostly through the 2 daughters giving her RM500 each every month. If she loses the condo then she will live with the 2nd daughter I guess?
Doubt my father would agree to that biggrin.gif
How are your MIL's knees.?
mini orchard
post Nov 9 2019, 04:27 PM

14,511 posts

FIL is rich in assets and can easily solve his problems without having to consult anyone. Why take such a hostile approach to solve a small matter which is 1st wife family & FIL problem.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 9 2019, 04:30 PM
SUSBillCollector
post Nov 9 2019, 05:21 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 9 2019, 01:01 PM)
How are your MIL's knees.?
Fixed smile.gif

All it took was some coaxing, then an appointment with a certain pro at KLSMC, 4 hours and my wallet being RM5,000 lighter. Inclusive of a MRI, fluid and residual drain and gel injection.

Highly recommended.

Good for 5 years or so and next day was good to go for line dancing.

This post has been edited by BillCollector: Nov 9 2019, 05:23 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 9 2019, 05:54 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 9 2019, 05:21 PM)
Fixed smile.gif

All it took was some coaxing, then an appointment with a certain pro at KLSMC, 4 hours and my wallet being RM5,000 lighter. Inclusive of a MRI, fluid and residual drain and gel injection.

Highly recommended.

Good for 5 years or so and next day was good to go for line dancing.
That's good to hear because personally taking care of a non-ambulant or physically-disabled old folk is no joke = can be quite stressful and costly for the caregivers.
Good old folks are those who do not burden the young = those who live long and healthy.

SUSBillCollector
post Nov 10 2019, 03:00 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 9 2019, 12:11 PM)
Was refering to MIL as someone was concern about her getting old and no one to take care.
My wife and me both do not agree with the idea of if a parent had treated us well then in their old age we send them to a nursing home.

She said all her life her mum had treated her well.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 9 2019, 04:27 PM)
FIL is rich in assets and can easily solve his problems without having to consult anyone. Why take such a hostile approach to solve a small matter which is 1st wife family & FIL problem.
Sometimes it is difficult to understand what goes through his head.

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 9 2019, 05:54 PM)
That's good to hear because personally taking care of a non-ambulant or physically-disabled old folk is no joke = can be quite stressful and costly for the caregivers.
Good old folks are those who do not burden the young = those who live long and healthy.
Yes. Personally am fine with it if all it takes to take care of her is just some money.

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:08 PM