This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 19 2024, 10:50 AM
Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!
Sep 19 2024, 10:49 AM
8,667 posts Joined: Aug 2019 From: Penang <-> Singapore |
Last USD FD at DBS SG due today, money left for IBKR. Overall, since 1st Dec 2022 when my first USD FD came in to DBS SG, I earned an IRR of 4.63% p.a. DBS SG account all clear and empty by now.
![]() This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 19 2024, 10:50 AM |
Sep 19 2024, 12:23 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
48 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(Gwynbleidd @ Sep 19 2024, 10:28 AM) Yes, it is easy to open an account and transfer funds. Thank you. There isn't any need for Tradestation anymore. Are we open the account online like IBKR too ? Yeah, you are right, however I’m exploring options to target TradeStation users for my services. Also, do they have an office in MY or SG? Just to know in case there are more complicated matters that might require an in-person visit. |
Sep 19 2024, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 10:32 AM) Yea, it's easy. There is no point using TSG as they are just an introducing broker for IBKR, so no matter how you calculate the fees have to be higher than IBKR so that they can earn a profit. Totally understand. I’m just surveying and checking out options for business purposes as well. Cut through the middleman and go straight to IBKR... Looking to broaden the range of brokers beyond just IBKR. TOS liked this post
Sep 19 2024, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(lhshyong @ Sep 19 2024, 12:28 PM) Totally understand. I’m just surveying and checking out options for business purposes as well. Seems like you are trying to start another Rakuten-like broker in Malaysia?Looking to broaden the range of brokers beyond just IBKR. For your case, if you are trying to offer brokerage solution and use IBKR as backend you might want to look at the fixed pricing instead of tiered pricing. The fixed pricing is cheaper for larger volumes vs tiered pricing (geared towards low-volume trades like those from retail investors). |
Sep 19 2024, 12:32 PM
3,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 19 2024, 12:35 PM
FT Opinion | Lex
Private equity is doing badly — however you measure it Investors desperate to get cash back are putting pressure on funds to capitulate on sales https://www.ft.com/content/490633f3-c612-44...e5-5c5a15865d4f (No paywall): https://archive.ph/ttwlz |
Sep 19 2024, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 12:30 PM) Seems like you are trying to start another Rakuten-like broker in Malaysia? May i know how is the Rakuten broker model working in Malaysia ?For your case, if you are trying to offer brokerage solution and use IBKR as backend you might want to look at the fixed pricing instead of tiered pricing. The fixed pricing is cheaper for larger volumes vs tiered pricing (geared towards low-volume trades like those from retail investors). Ar ,thanks for your advise, however I am not ready to be broker yet. We are tech vendor that provide integration service or develop automation tools, mainly for IBKR, and some client always inquiry about other broker especially Tradestation etc. Therefore i exploring the integration work with it. Yeah, previously, some clients planned to provide brokerage solutions, thats relying on them to work things out since it involves regulatory compliance. |
Sep 19 2024, 02:34 PM
Sep 19 2024, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(lhshyong @ Sep 19 2024, 02:32 PM) May i know how is the Rakuten broker model working in Malaysia ? Oh you provide tech support I see. You know how to do algorithmic/program/portfolio trading? Ar ,thanks for your advise, however I am not ready to be broker yet. We are tech vendor that provide integration service or develop automation tools, mainly for IBKR, and some client always inquiry about other broker especially Tradestation etc. Therefore i exploring the integration work with it. Yeah, previously, some clients planned to provide brokerage solutions, thats relying on them to work things out since it involves regulatory compliance. I don't know much about Rakuten as I don't use their service. You may ask in this thread for matters pertinent to Rakuten: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4293611/+1980 Or maybe other sifus can chip in here. |
Sep 20 2024, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 10:02 PM) Oh you provide tech support I see. You know how to do algorithmic/program/portfolio trading? Yeah, sure, most popular so called trading bot, hah.I don't know much about Rakuten as I don't use their service. You may ask in this thread for matters pertinent to Rakuten: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4293611/+1980 Or maybe other sifus can chip in here. We develop trading related system, algo, arbitrage, backtest, portfolio analysis, order management etc, and place order to IB. Even want to integrate with Trading view or want to use AI module etc. Previously we also exploring opportunity to integrate with bursa broker for algo trading, but no luck yet. TOS liked this post
Sep 20 2024, 10:01 AM
FT Opinion Insurance
Life insurance becomes less boring with creative financial engineering As the Fed cuts rates, markets are rallying — but there are long-term risks from experiments by Gillian Tett https://archive.ph/KQEdV |
Sep 20 2024, 01:25 PM
PE is just kicking the can down the road... Yet another example with Continuation Vehicle...
FT Private equity PE firm’s many roles attract scrutiny as car parts maker seeks bankruptcy Clearlake Capital bought, sold and continued to own Wheel Pros even as it collapsed under $1.7bn in debt https://archive.ph/gHA5V |
Sep 20 2024, 06:04 PM
More bad things about PE... dividend recapitalization
FT Leveraged loans Private equity firms seek new terms to increase payouts on deals Lenders are pushing back on ‘high-water ebitda’ provisions and most have been excised from terms https://www.ft.com/content/03061bdc-d880-4e...01-b4d92f51800b https://archive.ph/qwK39 ----------------------------- FT Alphaville | Private credit The dodgy details of private equity’s ‘dividend recaps’ The impact of leveraged payouts examined https://archive.ph/3lpIe And the NBER paper for your reference: https://d1e00ek4ebabms.cloudfront.net/produ...8e9d1746f09.pdf |
Sep 20 2024, 11:08 PM
FT Alphaville | Fund management
Renaissance’s shrinking hedge funds Good gRIEF https://archive.ph/QkLvy |
Sep 21 2024, 08:28 PM
6,247 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(lhshyong @ Sep 20 2024, 01:26 AM) Yeah, sure, most popular so called trading bot, hah. do you have a bot product or website? pls pm... thanks.We develop trading related system, algo, arbitrage, backtest, portfolio analysis, order management etc, and place order to IB. Even want to integrate with Trading view or want to use AI module etc. Previously we also exploring opportunity to integrate with bursa broker for algo trading, but no luck yet. |
Sep 22 2024, 04:34 PM
Sep 22 2024, 04:46 PM
Take a chance to checking with all sifu.
Can TWS allow us to place special combo orders, similar to options spread orders, eg, mix futures with commodities in a single order? I’ve done some research and found posts suggesting this is possible, but I couldn’t locate the necessary menu options in my TWS. I’m concerned that I may be restricted from these features due to permission settings or tier issues, but I haven't been able to confirm. If you guys having experience on this maybe can clarify if this type of combo order is indeed supported and what steps I need to take to enable it? Thank you all. |
Sep 25 2024, 02:58 AM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
Hi all, LowYat lurker here, so the current ecosystem for cheapest transfer from MYR to IBKR SG is MoneyMatch or SunwayMoney, right? No need do calculation for me, I just need to know a quick answer
Sep 25 2024, 05:36 AM
||||||
3,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
stephanieKingsley yes and no. (since u wanted quick answer right?) always compare if u can. when forex is volatile (especially right now), only wise is the one with stable fees (since it's doing business internally with Wise MY vs Wise sg). the others are known to jack up their fees. QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Aug 2 2024, 01:32 PM) QUOTE Just update here this afternoon compare to online XE rate. Wise around 0.69% difference. Sunway money and money match around 0.6%. WISE direct to ibkr in usd around 0.6%...I will try Wise to ibkr directly. Do I need to initiate from ibkr or just do it from wise directly? The setup done previously. this post made me recheck the wise/moneymatch/duitnow rates and surprisingly, Wise is cheapest for 2 days now
This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Dec 21 2024, 12:07 PM stephanieKingsley liked this post
||||||
Sep 25 2024, 03:55 PM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
Just an update:
RM20000 to SGD Wise: 6,179 MoneyMatch: 6201 (+ RM5 fee) SunwayMoney: 6208 (+ RM8 fee) So today is SunwayMoney the best. Immediately transferred some more. Thanks everyone! This post has been edited by stephanieKingsley: Sep 25 2024, 03:57 PM |
| Change to: | 0.1527sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:50 AM |