Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

lhshyong
post Jan 28 2022, 03:28 PM

48 posts

Halo all taiko,

I would like to do some market survey, need get some opinion or advice.

We are solution provider, currently we have working on one auto trading system that connected IB. Based on user predefined indicator rules and target to reduce workload and free up user time in front pc.

would like to know does this system have market potential and demand?

lhshyong
post Feb 2 2022, 01:41 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 28 2022, 08:03 PM)
show me details pls...
Hi, what details you want to know ?

Here some feature details
- Its web based system
- Create strategy for trading asset, 1 minutes, 5 , 15, 30 to 1 hour timeframe
- Supports FX, Stock, Options
- Rules based on sma indicator / price / index etc.
- Transaction history table
- Portfolio dashboard
- Backtesting

We would like to understand what are the common pain points and see any chance we able to improve it.

This post has been edited by lhshyong: Feb 2 2022, 02:16 AM
lhshyong
post Feb 3 2022, 04:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 2 2022, 03:56 PM)
hi... do you have a working demo or trial?

web based... means browser needs to be open, running your script? can run headless?

how many assets can be traded at the same time?

how many rules/indicators can you use for a strategy?

how many timeframes can you use for a strategy?

thanks...
Unfortunately, we dont have trial now, we need to setup demo in advanced.
We can share some screen photo.

Web, server engine is running 24X7, browser just used to check status from anywhere with internet.

total asset can trade at same time depends on server spec, api and time frame, currently the system is running on 40-50 strategy.

Currently we only setup with 3-4 MA indicator , several index , eg VIX, STOCH etc. should able extend up to most common indicators.

time frame have 1 ,5, 30 minutes , 1 hour and daily just used for reference. anyway time frame can extend as needed.

Hope this answer your question, anything else you inter est to know ?

Do you think this kind of auto trade system has demand in community ? Thanks bro

lhshyong
post Feb 4 2022, 02:40 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 3 2022, 05:17 PM)
thanks for the feedback

automated trading is more prevalent in forex and crypto. there are plenty of free and paid EA bots for the MT4/5 platforms, and quite a bit running Java, Python, etc for crypto.

imho... I don't think there is any demand here in lowyat for automated stock trading... from what I can see, most ppl here are long term value stock/etf investors

myself trade futures hence this piqued my interest... I also have a crypto bot so am familiar with the workings and limitations
Hi, thanks for your opinion.

Ya. Agree with you that there are lot stuffs in MT platform and auto trade more suit for forex.
Now our system also now start with fx, for stock , options and future etc is only alpha stage and still long way to go.
Long term stock investor not suitable for auto trade, unpredictable fundamental factors impact a lot.
The Recommendation/Portfolio Rebalance system is more suit for long term investor.

Mind to share some idea what is the most common working and limitations for auto trade bot ?
The client convince us to JV into this auto bot system.
We are not so familiar with the industry thus thinking gathering some opinion and feedback before really step into it.

lhshyong
post Sep 18 2024, 06:00 PM

48 posts

Halo

Good day all sifu. I am newbie here.
I reactivate my account to follow up and get updates related to IBKR here.
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lhshyong: Sep 18 2024, 06:02 PM
lhshyong
post Sep 18 2024, 06:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 18 2024, 06:06 PM)
Welcome to Lowyat's IBKR community. biggrin.gif

We are active here as always. Ready to update you anytime, anywhere...

Maybe we should start a news subscription service soon.. charges will be... laugh.gif
Thanks taiko

I was bump into this when checking about trade station.

Not sure anyone know about this,
I bit confused about
-tradestation
-tradestation International
-tradestation Global

are they same ?
can we malaysian open account for tradestation , not sure where is their nearest office...SG ?

lhshyong
post Sep 19 2024, 09:30 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 18 2024, 08:55 PM)
You are probably my taiko tongue.gif

We don't use Tradestation (TSG) anymore after IBKR removed the inactivity fee back in July 2021, now we just bypass all introductory brokers and go straight for IBKR.

IBKR serves as TSG's backend "white label" broker, not unlike Rakuten Malaysia right now.

As for the differences between the different "TSGs": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TradeStation

Tradestation Securities is the US version offered to US residents, Tradestation International is the UK version catering to the rest of the world. Tradestation Global is just an alternative name for TS International.

The company was acquired by Monex Japan back in 2011 and all info about Tradestation can now be found in Monex Japan's website: https://www.monexgroup.jp/en/investor.html

Hope that helps. smile.gif
Thanks for clear clarification.It very clear.

I wonder is it easy for us to open account, transfer fund etc.

Some of my client who use IBKR also inquiry about Tradestation, i am checkout on it.

lhshyong
post Sep 19 2024, 12:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gwynbleidd @ Sep 19 2024, 10:28 AM)
Yes, it is easy to open an account and transfer funds.

There isn't any need for Tradestation anymore.
Thank you.
Are we open the account online like IBKR too ?

Yeah, you are right, however I’m exploring options to target TradeStation users for my services.

Also, do they have an office in MY or SG?

Just to know in case there are more complicated matters that might require an in-person visit.

lhshyong
post Sep 19 2024, 12:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 10:32 AM)
Yea, it's easy. There is no point using TSG as they are just an introducing broker for IBKR, so no matter how you calculate the fees have to be higher than IBKR so that they can earn a profit.

Cut through the middleman and go straight to IBKR...  smile.gif
Totally understand. I’m just surveying and checking out options for business purposes as well.
Looking to broaden the range of brokers beyond just IBKR.
lhshyong
post Sep 19 2024, 02:32 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 12:30 PM)
Seems like you are trying to start another Rakuten-like broker in Malaysia?

For your case, if you are trying to offer brokerage solution and use IBKR as backend you might want to look at the fixed pricing instead of tiered pricing. The fixed pricing is cheaper for larger volumes vs tiered pricing (geared towards low-volume trades like those from retail investors).
May i know how is the Rakuten broker model working in Malaysia ?

Ar ,thanks for your advise, however I am not ready to be broker yet.
We are tech vendor that provide integration service or develop automation tools, mainly for IBKR,
and some client always inquiry about other broker especially Tradestation etc.
Therefore i exploring the integration work with it.

Yeah, previously, some clients planned to provide brokerage solutions,
thats relying on them to work things out since it involves regulatory compliance.

lhshyong
post Sep 19 2024, 02:34 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 19 2024, 12:32 PM)
they have sg office. However, Malaysian users (based on country of residence) will be under IBKR LLC not IBKG sg

Don't know if sg will layan if anything happens
haha, not sure ler...
If money stuck somewhere not sure can go sg settle or not. >.<
lhshyong
post Sep 20 2024, 01:26 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 19 2024, 10:02 PM)
Oh you provide tech support I see. You know how to do algorithmic/program/portfolio trading?

I don't know much about Rakuten as I don't use their service. You may ask in this thread for matters pertinent to Rakuten: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4293611/+1980

Or maybe other sifus can chip in here. smile.gif
Yeah, sure, most popular so called trading bot, hah.
We develop trading related system, algo, arbitrage, backtest, portfolio analysis, order management etc, and place order to IB.
Even want to integrate with Trading view or want to use AI module etc.

Previously we also exploring opportunity to integrate with bursa broker for algo trading, but no luck yet.

lhshyong
post Sep 22 2024, 04:34 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 21 2024, 08:28 PM)
do you have a bot product or website? pls pm... thanks.
Let me pm you.

Our ready order management system come with basic simple features.
If you feel it doesnt fit your needed and you have an idea, talk to us, we can custom build the personalised system.

lhshyong
post Sep 22 2024, 04:46 PM

48 posts

Take a chance to checking with all sifu.

Can TWS allow us to place special combo orders, similar to options spread orders, eg, mix futures with commodities in a single order?

I’ve done some research and found posts suggesting this is possible,
but I couldn’t locate the necessary menu options in my TWS.
I’m concerned that I may be restricted from these features due to permission settings or tier issues, but I haven't been able to confirm.

If you guys having experience on this maybe can clarify if this type of combo order is indeed supported and what steps I need to take to enable it?

Thank you all.

lhshyong
post Sep 27 2024, 05:51 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 27 2024, 02:10 PM)
In the US it's all custodial account, and it's pooled together with all other clients' funds on a net basis, i.e., they only hold cash balances sufficient to cover client obligations after netting all client's cash positions.

In the US (and Europe), you may opt for registered shares by dealing with transactions via transfer agents like Computershare: https://www.computershare.com/us/becoming-a...isted-companies. There is no central depository like in Asian bourses (SG's CDP or Malaysia's CDS).

In Malaysia, for nominee account, I think it is a similar process except they call it trust account instead of custodial account. Your money is pooled together with other investor's net cash positions in the nominee's trust bank account.
Gain some knowledge de, actually all these macam macam rules for different region make me pening, sometime also confused.
lhshyong
post Sep 27 2024, 05:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 27 2024, 04:34 PM)
no time to really check but looks like "Malaysian Ringgit-denominated Equities and ETFs" no longer have "Coming Soon" anymore. anyone wanna investigate? https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/tradi...sa-malaysia.php

cc TOS
Is this mean we can use IB to buy Bursa stock ?
Last few week i was excited about the news saying trade malaysia market, who knows just CPO and CI future only...

lhshyong
post Sep 27 2024, 05:56 PM

48 posts

I checked on TWS after leave post here., hmm. excited
lhshyong
post Sep 27 2024, 06:13 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 27 2024, 05:57 PM)
not worth it. Minimum RM12 fees unless your monthly trades exceed RM10mil https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/prici...sia-pacific.php

No screenshots as I'm not at desktop
Thanks for the info,
now how much is the lowest local broker fees ar.
I think my fees still high as 42 ler.. but i not trade frequent also la.

another excited reason is coz i am software provider with IB,
previously hard to promote due to IB cannot trade bursa.
lhshyong
post Sep 28 2024, 02:29 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 28 2024, 12:02 PM)
NoComment222 to me, converting from MYR to USD without investing in stocks is high risk. if u convert to USD and invest in T-Bills (annual yield 5%) that is risky as USD might drop 5-10% (in fact the 10% drop already happened)

Don't invest into stocks directly, invest into ETFs to diversify risk
I buy USD since last year till now. Now suffer for the currency lost de.
Now no convert back yet, not sure what to do next..

Maybe have to buy some in T bills for short term. Any other good recommend?
lhshyong
post Sep 28 2024, 02:53 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 28 2024, 02:32 PM)
lhshyong keep calm and invest in USA S&P500/Nasdaq ETF
steady bro,

I also play on some stock, earn some pocket money but lose on currency rate.
Anyway, have to slowly accumulate usd asset.

0.0312sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:35 AM