427 Pages « < 353 354 355 356 357 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Sep 27 2023, 06:03 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2023, 05:54 PM)
Access to so many markets. Wholesale exchange rate and only usd2.00 per conversion of foreign currency Tell me one broker that offer the above.

All kind of fees. Look at how much they local brokerage charge Vs western brokerage. Let's not forget markup foreign exchange fees quarterly platform fees, dividend fees. If you like paying fees to your brokerage by all means go ahead. Make your broker and they thank you for it. My sg brokerage all empty and transfer over to interactive broker. I don't hold any reits any more especially no dividend growth but rather dividend cuts.

If you know how ibkr operate you will feel really safe with them. Especially if you how kiasu they are. Almost Chinaman like.
You may not know how much effort they spent on lobbying Washington DC politicians to relax regulations to protect retail investors otherwise...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Peterf...political_views

Anyway, I think my points are well conveyed above. It's up to the readers to make their own judgement and interpretations.

As a matter of fact, I am counting on SIPC as well... so... all my Spore brokerage accounts are empty. laugh.gif
labtec
post Sep 27 2023, 06:24 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 27 2023, 05:38 PM)
Competitive as in? Yes, it's cheap, judging by fees. But you cannot just look at pricing alone. Again, no free lunch. It's cheap because they make money from you in another way: the fact that they can trade against you.

You gain on one hand, you lose on the other.
Of course, to answer Ramjade as well, for long-term investors, the fact that they trade against you won't affect your long-term returns if you are a buy-and-hold investors. But prop trading introduces unnecessary risks. IBKR is not just facilitating the game, it's playing it. Your "broker" could have just charged a fixed commission and earn from both buyer/seller in a typical stock/options trade.

But now, because of greed, they venture further. If they make money by fronting your trade, for instance, the broker will survive, but if they take opposite bets against you and the market sentiment turns yet they have positions which they could not unwind in a short period of time, they will fail. (Then of course, you will claim SIPC can step in... ok this moral hazard part... I cannot argue...)

In short, prop trading destabilizes the broker's finances. You make money in a bull market, like everyone does. When tail risk sets in, it's whole another story. (Citadel, Virtu etc., being market makers, are a different beast.)

I am not saying that there are serious problems with IBKR, but as its users, you gotta know what's going on behind the scene.

It's good to have a second brokerage account to standby, just in case. E.g., I have DBS Vickers + FSM SG, both linked to my CDP account in Spore. Those who can't open a CDP account can have open other brokerage accounts to standby.
Ah, so this is the risk the customer would have, worst case gg like hedge fund shorting GameStop
SUSTOS
post Sep 27 2023, 06:34 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Sep 27 2023, 06:24 PM)
Ah, so this is the risk the customer would have, worst case gg like hedge fund shorting GameStop
Yea, worst case. The lucky thing is so far it's "limited" prop trading. (My HKUST finance prof told me CICC HK is doing it as well, and regulators "close one eye").

To quote Charles Prince of Citi... https://www.reuters.com/article/financial-c...819810820100408

As long as the music is playing, you’ve got to get up and dance,” he said. “We’re still dancing.

How much positions are IBKR taking against you, and how much risk are they bearing, that's not publicly disclosed. Not sure if you can guestimate the numbers from their financial statements though... this one need to consult... ikanbilis laugh.gif
xerxesbear_1 P
post Sep 27 2023, 09:12 PM

Probation
35 posts

GG Guys! TD Ameritrade Singapore to stop serving retail customers from Dec 1 2023!

By Oct 27th 2023 non accredited investors will be charges a USD 50! Anyone has an account with them!?!? what should I do?!
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2023, 09:26 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Sep 27 2023, 09:12 PM)
GG Guys! TD Ameritrade Singapore to stop serving retail customers from Dec 1 2023!

By Oct 27th 2023 non accredited investors will be charges a USD 50! Anyone has an account with them!?!? what should I do?!
Just transfer over to interactive broker.

It's all online
https://www.ibkrguides.com/clientportal/tra...cattransfer.htm
SUSTOS
post Sep 27 2023, 10:02 PM

8,667 posts

TDA's withdrawal is good business for IBKR... anyway...

FT UK financial regulation

UK regulator to launch review of private market valuations
Financial Conduct Authority will examine ‘disciplines and governance’ as concerns over potential blow-ups increase

by Laura Noonan in Dublin (4 HOURS AGO)

Source (with paywall): https://www.ft.com/content/ee008ac7-2f0f-4b...16-0e2ec00e8c26

-----------------------

FT Opinion | Lex

Private equity: financial engineering prevents valuation check
The sector finds continuous ways to bypass the issue of true price discovery and keep their fee stream running

SEPTEMBER 21 2023

Source (with paywall): https://www.ft.com/content/d6891146-f8ff-4c...e3-739e7793d0e4

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 27 2023, 10:02 PM
cire2
post Sep 28 2023, 09:32 AM

106 posts

(deleted)

This post has been edited by cire2: Sep 28 2023, 10:32 AM
labtec
post Sep 28 2023, 10:49 AM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2023, 09:26 PM)
Just transfer over to interactive broker.

It's all online
https://www.ibkrguides.com/clientportal/tra...cattransfer.htm
Can we transfer from TD Ameritrade individual account to ibkr joint account? Or only allow for individual account?
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2023, 10:51 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Sep 28 2023, 10:49 AM)
Can we transfer from TD Ameritrade individual account to ibkr joint account? Or only allow for individual account?
Should be able. Follow the instructions in the link
james.6831
post Sep 28 2023, 10:52 AM

937 posts

do any of you guys buy short term treasury etf? how does it work ah? the chart confuses me tbh (using sgov as an example...)
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2023, 12:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 28 2023, 10:52 AM)
do any of you guys buy short term treasury etf? how does it work ah? the chart confuses me tbh (using sgov as an example...)
Yes, I do. BIL ETF is the preferred one due to its high liquidity, though cost-wise it's not the best.

It works like this:

1. ETF buy US T-bills/T-notes/T-bonds with your money (either from primary market or secondary market).
2. US Treasury will refund the ETF the "discount".
3. Upon maturity 1-3 months later, the principal is returned to you as well.
4. The ETF will rollover the money by reinvesting the "discount" and principal into future/other issuance of T-bills/T-notes/T-bonds with maturities of 1-3 months.

The chart is confusing because the ETF makes a monthly distribution/"dividends" to ETF holders, so on ex-date, the new ETF holders are not entitled to the said distributions, and so the unit price will decline accordingly. But cash-flow wise, you get a return close to what a risk-free 1-3 month T-bill offers you.

It's the IRR which matters to you eventually.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 28 2023, 12:15 PM
james.6831
post Sep 28 2023, 02:48 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2023, 12:15 PM)
Yes, I do. BIL ETF is the preferred one due to its high liquidity, though cost-wise it's not the best.

It works like this:

1. ETF buy US T-bills/T-notes/T-bonds with your money (either from primary market or secondary market).
2. US Treasury will refund the ETF the "discount".
3. Upon maturity 1-3 months later, the principal is returned to you as well.
4. The ETF will rollover the money by reinvesting the "discount" and principal into future/other issuance of T-bills/T-notes/T-bonds with maturities of 1-3 months.

The chart is confusing because the ETF makes a monthly distribution/"dividends" to ETF holders, so on ex-date, the new ETF holders are not entitled to the said distributions, and so the unit price will decline accordingly. But cash-flow wise, you get a return close to what a risk-free 1-3 month T-bill offers you.

It's the IRR which matters to you eventually.
Ahhh ok that makes sense. So if i were to buy, buying now or waiting for oct wouldn’t make much of a difference then? Do we still get taxed 30% on the dividend?
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2023, 03:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 28 2023, 02:48 PM)
Ahhh ok that makes sense. So if i were to buy, buying now or waiting for oct wouldn’t make much of a difference then? Do we still get taxed 30% on the dividend?
Buying etf yes. Buying treasuries directly no tax. Cause etf is like a stock.
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2023, 04:14 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 28 2023, 02:48 PM)
Yes, buy now you earn more interest due to time value of money. Of course, this assumes interest rate remains the same, if it goes up further, then you benefit more; if it goes down in the future, your return will reduce accordingly.

As far as I know, 30% WHT is not applicable to US Treasury ETFs. You will be taxed 30% WHT first by your broker (e.g. IBKR), and the IRS will refund you the money next year. (Previous member mentioned it's early next year, though I have not experienced that as I only started buying US T-bill ETF this year. Will update you guys here when the money is in...)

Not all brokers qualify for the 30% WHT refund though. Stashaway have to switch to the UCITS version of their original US T-bill ETF due to IRS ruling that they are not qualified for a refund.
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2023, 04:19 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2023, 04:14 PM)
Yes, buy now you earn more interest due to time value of money. Of course, this assumes interest rate remains the same, if it goes up further, then you benefit more; if it goes down in the future, your return will reduce accordingly.

As far as I know, 30% WHT is not applicable to US Treasury ETFs. You will be taxed 30% WHT first by your broker (e.g. IBKR), and the IRS will refund you the money next year. (Previous member mentioned it's early next year, though I have not experienced that as I only started buying US T-bill ETF this year. Will update you guys here when the money is in...)

Not all brokers qualify for the 30% WHT refund though. Stashaway have to switch to the UCITS version of their original US T-bill ETF due to IRS ruling that they are not qualified for a refund.
Ok. Didn't know that.
dwRK
post Sep 28 2023, 07:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

ibkr should not have to apply wht on qualifying interest/dividend income in the first place...

i doubt they pay irs first and then claim it back next year to refund y'all...

anyways...

SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2023, 07:30 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 28 2023, 07:20 PM)
ibkr should not have to apply wht on qualifying interest/dividend income in the first place...

i doubt they pay irs first and then claim it back next year to refund y'all...

anyways...
As far as I know, the WHT deductions appear on my IBKR activity statement:

And previous info from our friend Gwynbleidd confirms this. You can read the posts from here onwards: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107454178
dwRK
post Sep 28 2023, 10:48 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2023, 07:30 PM)
As far as I know, the WHT deductions appear on my IBKR activity statement:

And previous info from our friend Gwynbleidd confirms this. You can read the posts from here onwards: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107454178
yes i know what they are doing... but why?

they don't pay irs... because its not required...

so essentially, they took 30% of your money for their own use, until next year...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 29 2023, 12:00 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2023, 10:53 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 28 2023, 10:48 PM)
yes i know what they are doing... but why?

they don't pay irs... because its not required...

so essentially, they took 30% of your money for their own use, until next year...
Woah this I don't know. Upon further reading looks like no withholding is necessary in the first place.

https://www.ssga.com/library-content/produc...us-en-ssiit.pdf

Not sure if they apply the withholding due to ease of administration. You think can complain?

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 29 2023, 03:24 PM
dwRK
post Sep 29 2023, 12:01 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2023, 10:53 PM)
Woah this I don't know. Upon further reading looks like no withholding is necessary in the first place.

https://www.ssga.com/library-content/produc...us-en-ssiit.pdf

Not sure if they apply the withholding due to ease of administration. You think can complaint?
customer can ask/complain whatever smile.gif

427 Pages « < 353 354 355 356 357 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:14 PM