52 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

karwaidotnet
post Mar 15 2021, 09:50 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 15 2021, 09:19 PM)
look at what Carpathia said below. Meanwhile, for me, I prefer light weathering. It depends what level of weathering you're going for. The best advice for weathering is always "less is more". It's very easy to go too heavy on weathering.
Carpathia is right here, it might be beneficial to visit a hobby store, they can straight away recommend tools or paints that you need for weathering and give you some good tips.
Honestly, godhands are not really recommended for beginners. You'll see a lot of photos of people breaking their godhand nippers. Try some local brands like what Carpathia said, I personally started using AT Abe-Sado nipper and it's pretty good. Godhands are good but it's very fragile and it doesn't mean that you won't need to do any cleaning up, just less......
just got myself a tamiya nipper. hmm...but it feels a bit like rusted. can i oil/lubricate it with WD40?
GameFr3ak
post Mar 15 2021, 09:52 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Mar 15 2021, 09:50 PM)
just got myself a tamiya nipper. hmm...but it feels a bit like rusted. can i oil/lubricate it with WD40?
oof... try support local la biggrin.gif Yeah, you can try spraying some WD40 on it and give it a light sand with sandpaper. Then lube it with some singer oil but make sure to clean the excess...
xKeneshirox
post Mar 15 2021, 11:45 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 15 2021, 08:21 AM)
Where are you located btw ? i would highly advise you to visit a local hobby store to get hands on tips
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 15 2021, 10:19 PM)
look at what Carpathia said below. Meanwhile, for me, I prefer light weathering. It depends what level of weathering you're going for. The best advice for weathering is always "less is more". It's very easy to go too heavy on weathering.
Carpathia is right here, it might be beneficial to visit a hobby store, they can straight away recommend tools or paints that you need for weathering and give you some good tips.
Ye, I live in Kedah area, but becuz I stay wit people more susceptible to covud, I paranoid go out.
But tq anyway for the advise. My Tallgeese is otw, with a can of matte coat!

I've seen people spray piece by piece, limb by limb and one whole model in one go. If i speay piece by piece, is there risk of the pieces not fitting?
GameFr3ak
post Mar 16 2021, 10:26 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Mar 15 2021, 11:45 PM)
Ye, I live in Kedah area, but becuz I stay wit people more susceptible to covud, I paranoid go out.

I've seen people spray piece by piece, limb by limb and one whole model in one go. If i speay piece by piece, is there risk of the pieces not fitting?
Piece by piece is unnecessary. I do it limb by limb. I usually paint > assemble > panel line > decals > final top coat...
carpathia
post Mar 16 2021, 12:53 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Mar 15 2021, 11:45 PM)

Kedah i think your best hobby store is this one ? https://www.facebook.com/ebuy.str
sorry i seriously dont know if any hobby store up north have facilities like in KL, where they have spray booth area with professional builders ready to help.

Modelland is in penang , not sure if they have spray booth area now .... havent been there in a while as they only open in the evenings.

xKeneshirox
post Mar 16 2021, 09:01 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 16 2021, 11:26 AM)
Piece by piece is unnecessary. I do it limb by limb. I usually paint > assemble > panel line > decals > final top coat...
Alright! Thanks!

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 16 2021, 01:53 PM)
Kedah i think your best hobby store is this one ? https://www.facebook.com/ebuy.str
sorry i seriously dont know if any hobby store up north have facilities like in KL, where they have spray booth area with professional builders ready to help.

Modelland is in penang , not sure if they have spray booth area now .... havent been there in a while as they only open in the evenings.
It's ok. Kedah memang rarely got this kinda store. I'll figure out something
carpathia
post Mar 23 2021, 04:45 PM

2,619 posts

Her builds are so much better than mine....

GameFr3ak
post Mar 24 2021, 11:13 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 23 2021, 04:45 PM)
Her builds are so much better than mine....

Her builds are awesome
limfreelance
post Mar 27 2021, 02:48 PM

343 posts

seen like this item is running shortage.
i PO at 570, now already up to 700 -750.
Fuuu. the B2 figure is pre painted (color separation), just need to assembly it (u may need to lipstick the mouth).

This post has been edited by limfreelance: Mar 27 2021, 06:15 PM
carpathia
post Mar 27 2021, 03:58 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Mar 27 2021, 02:48 PM)
seen like this item is running shortage.
i PO at 570, now already up to 700 -750.
Fuuu. the B2 figure is pre painted (color separation), just need to assembly it (u may need to lipstick the mount).
Sometimes i wonder if the price went up or our ringgit getting weaker ?

also, for all you collectors, i highly recommend getting this Vetop steel storage rack. Damn solid, direct from factory in malaysia. I still can't believe i managed to store over 70+ boxes using just 2 racks

limfreelance
post Mar 27 2021, 06:14 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 27 2021, 03:58 PM)
Sometimes i wonder if the price went up or our ringgit getting weaker ?

also, for all you collectors, i highly recommend getting this Vetop steel storage rack. Damn solid, direct from factory in malaysia. I still can't believe i managed to store over 70+ boxes using just 2 racks

actually im quitting hobby.
my display glass shelf look quite empty.
now i only looking for some interesting mecha.

limfreelance
post Mar 27 2021, 09:19 PM

343 posts

just build the figure (1/25)...so far so very good. thumbup.gif
alot of accessories, the figure look good without painting, the glossy plastic make it look like latex suit.
u may need to paint a little flesh color on cloth of the chest part.
even the boob part come with separation. Just that the katana may need to paint.
very well make for 1/25 scale. can said as well as figma. setakat figure already satisfied. wub.gif wub.gif
the Ho229 mecha is side dish.
need to take out the skirt in order to sit in joytoy mecha.

This post has been edited by limfreelance: Mar 27 2021, 09:20 PM
carpathia
post Mar 27 2021, 11:17 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Mar 27 2021, 06:14 PM)
actually im quitting hobby.
my display glass shelf look quite empty.
now i only looking for some interesting mecha.
y quitting
limfreelance
post Mar 28 2021, 10:22 AM

343 posts

no time to build and passion gone.
bside kit is getting expensive.
look at figma, from rm150...now become rm350.
carpathia
post Mar 30 2021, 12:34 AM

2,619 posts

Gundam Build Real episode 1 review is already out!!

vreis
post Mar 30 2021, 08:33 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

I've come across some old kits which is very much cheaper than new, other than the details & less joinery movements, any other differences? such as need glue or painting? as I prefer something that can assemble without glue or painting .
carpathia
post Mar 30 2021, 04:49 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Mar 30 2021, 08:33 AM)
I've come across some old kits which is very much cheaper than new, other than the details & less joinery movements, any other differences? such as need glue or painting? as I prefer something that can assemble without glue or painting .
which kits. be specific
TSnazrul90
post Mar 30 2021, 04:52 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Mar 30 2021, 08:33 AM)
First of all, check what grade is the kit? MG kits mostly you don't need to paint the kit.

Second, check the year gunpla made on the box. Kit released in 2005 and above are generally decent made.
vreis
post Mar 30 2021, 05:29 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 30 2021, 04:49 PM)
which kits. be specific
Eg will be HG 1/100 Deathscythe Hell custom compare to some random HG 1/144 models.

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Mar 30 2021, 04:52 PM)
First of all, check what grade is the kit? MG kits mostly you don't need to paint the kit.

Second, check the year gunpla made on the box. Kit released in 2005 and above are generally decent made.
Eg above both are HG but diff scale though almost same price , is it maybe its an old kit, hence cheaper?
The one I saw is I think FG, costing abt rm20 for 1/144, looks older than 2005
TSnazrul90
post Mar 30 2021, 05:41 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Mar 30 2021, 05:29 PM)
Eg will be HG 1/100 Deathscythe Hell custom compare to some random HG 1/144 models.
Eg above both are HG but diff scale though almost same price , is it maybe its an old kit, hence cheaper?
The one I saw is I think FG, costing abt rm20 for 1/144, looks older than 2005
FG is generally no good.
If you want cheap kit but full colors get the Entry Grade RX-78-2 just recently released last year.

52 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:03 AM