Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

GameFr3ak
post Jul 3 2020, 07:15 PM

3,847 posts

So I recently did the odd looking Kimaris 1/100 Booster Unit. Not that I like the design, but I got it for cheap (damaged box, just a small crease though lol). Given that it's actually one of my first few full length video of a project, please excuse any silly mistakes or annoying part of the video biggrin.gif

Just a tiny channel doing what I love thumbup.gif

GameFr3ak
post Sep 28 2020, 03:09 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 28 2020, 10:27 AM)
Frankly speaking, i like to buy from shops that gives the best SERVICE. I like to get recommendations/advices (on especially tools) and honest with me ( what tools/kits i should not waste my money and time on). If you want cheap , just buy from toypanic.com la...free delivery to your house

Depending on your location, my few favourite stores are

1) The Hobby Store
2) Angel Trend Trading
I think you're the guy who runs the awesometoys youtube channel right? I think I've seen you guys recording a video with azrulhazimin at Angel Trend's shop. How's the youtube scene for the hobby?
GameFr3ak
post Sep 29 2020, 04:49 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 28 2020, 09:16 PM)
Yes sir
The Youtube scene is tough, maybe bcos of my face lol
If you are beginner

lol I don't even show my face and my channel growth have been slow as well. And the hobby takes too much time per video.
GameFr3ak
post Oct 5 2020, 10:04 AM

3,847 posts

On this episode of my custom gunpla build, I moved away from working with plaplates and went back to scribing. I also tried a couple of new methods to customize the look of the hips that involves a hammer lol. Thankfully it came out alright.

GameFr3ak
post Oct 29 2020, 02:25 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Oct 19 2020, 03:06 PM)
So, I have some chisel from a hobby leather project. And I was working on BT Liger Zero Panzer. Considering it is a not HMM, lots of work needs to be done. So, instead of using pocket knife to trim the nubs, I tried using the chisel. Much better in cleaning the nub mark. Often, the color remains the same or slightly darker than surrounding. It also helps to 'level' all the imperfection edges of the imitation kits. I don't have any hobby knife though.

Anyone else use non-standard tools for cutting and cleaning the parts from the spruce?
You can get a lot of necessary tools from Mr. DIY. They work decently.

Also my latest video is out with my most ambitious scribing attempt yet.

GameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2020, 11:23 PM

3,847 posts

It's finally DONE. Good god... it's been a long ass 4 months biggrin.gif

GameFr3ak
post Nov 28 2020, 10:59 AM

3,847 posts

GameFr3ak
post Dec 20 2020, 06:50 PM

3,847 posts

I did an ASMR-esque video of the EVA01 build. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Dec 20 2020, 06:50 PM
GameFr3ak
post Dec 31 2020, 08:56 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(Json188 @ Dec 31 2020, 03:26 PM)
Hi Guys, do u know if there is any good shops in KL/Selangor to buy plamo tools like sandpaper and etc, preferably selling madworks tools.

Also, do u guys know what happen to the 2nd floor toys shop section? did all of them just closed down or move to other places?
2nd floor of which shop? Eh... perhaps angel trend trading...

btw... just finished building this cute lil kit...

GameFr3ak
post Jan 1 2021, 01:13 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 31 2020, 09:33 PM)
I just want the hello kitty head ... lol....
lol.. i like the kitty's head too

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jan 1 2021, 11:30 AM)
I take it you are referring to the shops in the old Berjaya Timesquare second floor. IT Toys moved to Jalan Klang Lama, Time Machine I heard changed name and moved somewhere else too.

There is a small hobby shop, CKTan in Brem Mall Kepong selling variety of model kit accessories and supplies.
I thought Time Machine moved in to online only?
GameFr3ak
post Jan 2 2021, 02:15 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(imbugz @ Jan 1 2021, 08:32 PM)
Hi guys, need some opinion or advice

I'm currently building this 1/144 Barbatos Lupus (Iron blooded coating). I'm getting quite a few black nub marks as shown in the picture I attached. Since the runners are coated in chrome, sanding seem kinda impossible. Is there a way or any kinda similar color marker out there to hide the black nub mark.

Thanks!

Best you could do is to find a similar metallic paint (acrylics/enamel) and patch those nub marks. It's also why I don't think it's a good idea to buy special coated kits... these problems will likely occur.

btw, I unboxed and reviewed something interesting that's quite useful (IMO).

GameFr3ak
post Jan 12 2021, 09:08 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 12 2021, 07:11 PM)
Good news : PGU on display at Damen Litt Tak Store
Bad News : no stock & due to MCO, shop will be closed starting tmrw for 2 weeks.

quite sad for the businesses but much needed sacrifice to fight covid... btw, not gonna get the kit ar? And have you considered getting a gimble?
GameFr3ak
post Jan 15 2021, 03:01 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 12 2021, 10:03 PM)
1) when shops closes, the staffs have to suffer paycut. not good for them
2) the PGU is sold out everywhere.... i think maybe i wait for titanium version lol
3) Gimbal - yeah need to invest in one for my sony zv-1 . Still looking for a good one. Any recommendations ?

next two weeks all of us stay at home and build gunpla la
ya lor always have to choose la... safety or livelihood...wah the normal version already expensive.. titanium would be insane... I've heard of zhiyun gimble.... but if it's a camera then perhaps zhiyun but I don't have one la since I don't need it for my videos
GameFr3ak
post Jan 19 2021, 06:31 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 15 2021, 11:15 PM)
What is everyone building during lockdown ? show some pic ?
Still doing the EVA01, almost done but the video is far from being uploaded sad.gif

how about you? Hope you're keeping well..
GameFr3ak
post Jan 27 2021, 06:45 PM

3,847 posts

Just finished painting the Eva 01. The semi matte candy finish is growing on me.. now to make a diorama for it biggrin.gif

GameFr3ak
post Jan 27 2021, 09:24 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 27 2021, 07:47 PM)
very nice!! the whole RG Eva series is damn poison but im resisting...... need to focus on my gunpla kits
Pretty fun build, looks awesome... fantastic articulation but a pain to paint biggrin.gif
GameFr3ak
post Feb 7 2021, 12:06 AM

3,847 posts

It's finally done. Time to start another project biggrin.gif

GameFr3ak
post Feb 7 2021, 10:41 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 7 2021, 04:05 PM)
Nice wo.... you do commission ? how much for this ah
No la, not commission. Only do for fun and youtube is a byproduct for now biggrin.gif I don't think I'm qualified for commission yet, lots of flaws sweat.gif
GameFr3ak
post Feb 9 2021, 07:02 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 8 2021, 07:02 PM)
Do one commission for me la

lol m..maybe.. which kit ?

edit: also the nub marks on that candy finish sazabi is brutal :/

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Feb 9 2021, 07:22 PM
GameFr3ak
post Feb 10 2021, 03:29 PM

3,847 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 9 2021, 11:30 PM)
I pm you later..... most probably MG kit ? or RG ?
Sure thing man ... I guess it depends what's "needed" for the project biggrin.gif But the EVA is my first RG kit... other than that I've exclusively done 1/100 kits

0.0400sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:35 AM