52 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

mzack1104
post Mar 3 2021, 05:00 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 3 2021, 04:11 PM)
Yeah, most collectors don't know how hard it is to achieve the same level of finishing on normal kits if they have to paint themselves. If you guys don't believe me, try doing your own titanium finish/metallic coating.
If you did custom paint job before than u will know how hard to do that and risk to do mistake which might cause you the whole paint job to be disaster sweat.gif ..
besides, special coating parts need to undergo a secondary process of coating to achieve those effect and color after molded out which add extra cost to it.. sweat.gif

the box also thicker although the same no of runners:

it is due to the packaging of individual runner for the special coating.. to avoid scratches I guess sweat.gif
Kage X
post Mar 3 2021, 05:26 PM

20 posts

Got my first clear kit 2 years ago which was an RG Sinanju. Got it at one of the Gundam Expo/GBWC which I built during the March-May MCO last year.

I must say that it is a beautiful kit despite everyone saying that it is a hand grenade. I have not have parts fallen off yet. Still have a normal RG Sinanju which I have not built.

This post has been edited by Kage X: Mar 3 2021, 05:26 PM
carpathia
post Mar 4 2021, 12:36 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Mar 3 2021, 05:00 PM)
If you did custom paint job before than u will know how hard to do that and risk to do mistake which might cause you the whole paint job to be disaster sweat.gif ..
besides, special coating parts need to undergo a secondary process of coating to achieve those effect and color after molded out which add extra cost to it.. sweat.gif

the box also thicker although the same no of runners:

it is due to the packaging of individual runner for the special coating.. to avoid scratches I guess sweat.gif
Yup, that's why i will always pay a bit more for titanium and special finish kits...still cheaper and less time consuming than doing it yourself lol

QUOTE(Kage X @ Mar 3 2021, 05:26 PM)
Got my first clear kit 2 years ago which was an RG Sinanju. Got it at one of the Gundam Expo/GBWC which I built during the March-May MCO last year.

I  must say that it is a beautiful kit despite everyone saying that it is a hand grenade. I have not have parts fallen off yet. Still have a normal RG Sinanju which I have not built.
Yeah, mine was ok too

On another note....this new premium unicorn model is very nice but also pricey

kllonely1
post Mar 4 2021, 12:43 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 4 2021, 12:36 AM)
Yup, that's why i will always pay a bit more for titanium and special finish kits...still cheaper and less time consuming than doing it yourself lol
Yeah, mine was ok too
On another note....this new premium unicorn model is very nice but also pricey

boleh sumbat masuk satu itx pc tak?
carpathia
post Mar 4 2021, 12:10 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Mar 4 2021, 12:43 AM)
boleh sumbat masuk satu itx pc tak?
mana boleh lol
matsheikh
post Mar 5 2021, 01:38 PM

149 posts

What are good Titanium kit?
Not many are available on Shopee and prices are quite steep.
carpathia
post Mar 6 2021, 10:22 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(matsheikh @ Mar 5 2021, 01:38 PM)
What are good Titanium kit?
Not many are available on Shopee and prices are quite steep.
i love all titanium kits but the ones that really stands out are red colour kits ( sinanju ) and Blue colour kits ( Banshee)
Yes, they are pricey for a reason bcos the paint job is hard to do on your own
UnknownMy
post Mar 6 2021, 03:28 PM

296 posts

Not sure if it is asked before, may I know what is a Titanium Finish and special coating kit? Any different between two?
carpathia
post Mar 6 2021, 03:41 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(UnknownMy @ Mar 6 2021, 03:28 PM)
Not sure if it is asked before, may I know what is a Titanium Finish and special coating kit? Any different between two?
Titanium finish has a very nice glossy piano like finish, every titanium finish kits have the same high level quality and colours.

Special coating have many different variations- some comes in chrome bright finish, some in high gloss + matte finish... so you really need to check before you buy.
UnknownMy
post Mar 6 2021, 03:57 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 6 2021, 03:41 PM)
Titanium finish has a very nice glossy piano like finish, every titanium finish kits have the same high level quality and colours.

Special coating have many different variations- some comes in chrome bright finish, some in high gloss + matte finish... so you really need to check before you buy.
So basically both is pre-painted kit with different method of painting finish and quality. No wonder the price is so different with the normal build kit...
carpathia
post Mar 7 2021, 12:07 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(UnknownMy @ Mar 6 2021, 03:57 PM)
So basically both is pre-painted kit with different method of painting finish and quality. No wonder the price is so different with the normal build kit...
go and look for the titanium and special finish kits. you will be amazed
matsheikh
post Mar 7 2021, 10:13 PM

149 posts

Titanium kit is rare now. Will keep a lookout for a new release.

Who here has experience buying fr PBandai jp via proxy ie buyee, zenmarket etc?

I tried sampling a MG unit and shocked at the total fee + shipping cost. A ¥4000 item will end up costing ¥10000 with EMS.

Any tips?
carpathia
post Mar 8 2021, 07:56 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(matsheikh @ Mar 7 2021, 10:13 PM)
Titanium kit is rare now. Will keep a lookout for a new release.

Who here has experience buying fr PBandai jp via proxy ie buyee, zenmarket etc?

I tried sampling a MG unit and shocked at the total fee + shipping cost. A ¥4000 item will end up costing ¥10000 with EMS.

Any tips?
Just buy from local resellers la... will need to pay a bit more but less hassle.

mzack1104
post Mar 8 2021, 10:22 AM

256 posts

Both done assembled thumbup.gif
Special coating really nice.. love the crimson color scheme biggrin.gif ..

matsheikh
post Mar 8 2021, 04:59 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Mar 8 2021, 10:22 AM)
Both done assembled  thumbup.gif
Special coating really nice.. love the crimson color scheme biggrin.gif ..
Awesome! That crimson color really pop.
mzack1104
post Mar 9 2021, 10:11 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(matsheikh @ Mar 8 2021, 04:59 PM)
Awesome! That crimson color really pop.
yup, really nice in actual.. looks like red aluminum sheet thumbup.gif
Hisodin
post Mar 12 2021, 12:52 PM

Hi everyone, I'm new to gunpla.

I have bought two MG:

1) Zaku Custom Lunamaria Hawke (3 x 5 x 9 inches)

2) Shin Musou Gundam (23.23 x 25.59 x 16.14 inches)

Recently I saw a gaming shop stocked up on Model Display Box for Gundams, need all the Gurus here for advice on whether the display box can fit them?

Here are the measurements:

Gunpla Accessories VT040 - Model Display Box with RGB LED [21.5cm x 21cm x 26cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT043 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 25cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT046 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 35cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT047 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 20cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT048 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 30cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT049 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 40cm]

doket
post Mar 12 2021, 06:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Hisodin @ Mar 12 2021, 12:52 PM)
Hi everyone, I'm new to gunpla.

I have bought two MG:

1) Zaku Custom Lunamaria Hawke (3 x 5 x 9 inches)

2) Shin Musou Gundam (23.23 x 25.59 x 16.14 inches)

Recently I saw a gaming shop stocked up on Model Display Box for Gundams, need all the Gurus here for advice on whether the display box can fit them?

Here are the measurements:

Gunpla Accessories VT040 - Model Display Box with RGB LED [21.5cm x 21cm x 26cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT043 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 25cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT046 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 35cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT047 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 20cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT048 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 30cm]
Gunpla Accessories VT049 - Model Display Box with White LED [20cm x 20cm x 40cm]
1 inches is 2.54 cm
xKeneshirox
post Mar 12 2021, 09:57 PM

338 posts

Any thoughts regarding Sazabi MG and RG? The MG seems a lot more affordable, but im curious about the quality.

Also, why is there such huge price variation? I see some selling the MG for 170, some sell 300
GameFr3ak
post Mar 12 2021, 11:08 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Mar 12 2021, 09:57 PM)
Any thoughts regarding Sazabi MG and RG? The MG seems a lot more affordable, but im curious about the quality.

Also, why is there such huge price variation? I see some selling the MG for 170, some sell 300
170? Need to check if it's scam or bootleg (daban etc)... Personally I prefer the MG as I found the details nicer with the psychoframe...

here's my version biggrin.gif

52 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:18 AM