REIT, real estate investment...

rayloo
post Nov 13 2009, 10:41 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 13 2009, 10:06 AM)
Actually we need reit themselves to provide more tansparency especially on tenants lease issue so that we as investors can prepare for the risk. I like what axreit had done fully stated when which year their contract with tenants will expire.

Atrium is leasy diversify, at least we are clear what its situation.

Sadly to say, if not mistaken, capital land IPO has been postponed.
Unconfirmed sources said CapitaLand cancel IPO in bolehland, but will be in Singapore. cry.gif Wish it is not true.
SKY 1809
post Nov 13 2009, 10:49 AM

23,851 posts

Singaporeans had bad and bitter experiences in investing our properties.

Our laws changed soon after they took great pain to invest here.

I remember we had something like that way back to Year 1997 and before. Restrictions imposed bcos they " grapped" a lot of our cheap properties.

And now, RPGT again reappears, the actual tax rate is still very subjective. Nothing is wrong but might go against the original promises made.

That happens often in the Bolehland, for good or for bad.

Form your own judgments.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 13 2009, 10:52 AM
jasontoh
post Nov 13 2009, 10:50 AM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 13 2009, 10:41 AM)
Unconfirmed sources said CapitaLand cancel IPO in bolehland, but will be in Singapore.  cry.gif Wish it is not true.
I believe it is true. I read it before
darkknight81
post Nov 13 2009, 11:12 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:49 AM)
Singaporeans had bad and bitter experiences in investing our properties.

Our laws changed soon after they took great pain to invest here.

I remember we had something like that way back to Year 1997 and before. Restrictions imposed bcos they " grapped" a lot of our cheap properties.

And now, RPGT again reappears, the actual tax rate is still very subjective. Nothing is wrong but might go against the original promises made.

That happens often in the Bolehland, for good or for bad.

Form your own judgments.
So your recommendation? Go directly to singapore reits instead?
SKY 1809
post Nov 13 2009, 11:22 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:12 AM)
So your recommendation? Go directly to singapore reits instead?
To be honest, I still prefer Malaysian REITS because they are more towards " cashflow " friendly in approach and do not "tweak " the accounting policies too much.

In actual fact, Singapore REITs might not get the trusted backups from the bankers in term of loans ( i mean cashflows ). Gearing is another issue.

I foresee cash calls from time to time.

You decide what is best for yourself.

I just share a little bit of what i know.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 13 2009, 06:38 PM
darkknight81
post Nov 13 2009, 11:24 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 13 2009, 12:22 PM)
To be honest, I still prefer Malaysian REITS because they are more towards " cashflow " approach and do not tweak the accounting policies too much.

In actual fact, Singaporen REITs might not get the trusted backups from the bankers in term of loansĀ  ( i mean cashflows ). Gearing is another issue.

I foresee cash calls from time to time.

You decide what s best for yourshelf.

I just share a little bit of what i know.
Further more singapore reits have lower yield.

Nobody want to sell UOA yawn.gif

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 13 2009, 11:28 AM
cherroy
post Nov 13 2009, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

One thing good about Mreit is low gearing as compared to overseas reit and debt is more manageable throughout aka mreit is more conservative but at the expense on growth.
rayloo
post Nov 13 2009, 12:56 PM

467 posts

Furthermore public still has little awareness to Mreits, unlike Singapore which is popular. So it is still a budget sales by now.
Jordy
post Nov 16 2009, 04:02 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

AXREIT has touched 2.00 smile.gif
jasonkwk
post Nov 16 2009, 04:08 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

wanna ask expert here.buy REIT for DY or Capital appreciation. which is one is the best investment strategy in the long run(>3 years)
darkknight81
post Nov 16 2009, 04:49 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Nov 16 2009, 05:08 PM)
wanna ask expert here.buy REIT for DY or Capital appreciation. which is one is the best investment strategy in the long run(>3 years)
I am not expert but i think i can answer you tongue.gif . Reits is more to DIVIDEND PLAY. Capital appreciation yes but will not be so significant unless you buy at big discount example Axreit.
Jordy
post Nov 16 2009, 05:06 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Nov 16 2009, 04:08 PM)
jasonkwk,

If you want an investment for 3 years only, don't go for REITs. We invest in REITs for stable passive income as an alternative to property investment. Capital appreciation is just a bonus for us, but the long term goal is to get the best yields from our investment.
myfriend2009
post Nov 16 2009, 05:58 PM

78 posts

Hi, I need some help. Can anyone let me know which stockbroking firm that execute the order very early, sharp at 8:30am and sharp at 2:00pm without delays, provided we key in the orders the earliest

Looking forward some replies.

darkknight81
post Nov 17 2009, 02:28 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

One question here. RPGT WILL affect reits ? What if the reits dispose their properties will be taxed also right?
cherroy
post Nov 17 2009, 02:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 17 2009, 02:28 PM)
One question here. RPGT WILL affect reits ? What if the reits dispose their properties will be taxed also right?
Yes, but generally reit take in more properties instead disposing it.

5% on gain is not a big deal to affect reit. The 5% affecting more in sentiment on properties trade & price appreciation instead a real hinder or significant negative effect on its own.

Real impact on reit is always about yield anf general properties market health.
darkknight81
post Nov 17 2009, 02:55 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 17 2009, 03:47 PM)
Yes, but generally reit take in more properties instead disposing it.

5% on gain is not a big deal to affect reit. The 5% affecting more in sentiment on properties trade & price appreciation instead a real hinder or significant negative effect on its own.

Real impact on reit is always about yield anf general properties market health.
Look at this it will actually boost the yield of reits correct me if wrong. Since the properties price will going up after the tax as the seller will not absorb the cost.
So indirectly ppl might prefer rental as buying properties cost them a lot. wink.gif
smartly
post Nov 18 2009, 03:14 PM

2,148 posts

Hektar storms back to 1.09 after ex. Practically, a free DSP for this round. smile.gif
kmarc
post Nov 18 2009, 03:36 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Nov 18 2009, 03:14 PM)
Hektar storms back to 1.09 after ex. Practically, a free DSP for this round. smile.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
mopster
post Nov 18 2009, 06:35 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

Stareit wants to sell Lot10 and Starhill Gallery to StarhillGlobal (Singapore).... sad.gif sad.gif to buy more hotels...

"Reposition Stareit as a hospitality Reit" aka buy hotel properties...

Bursa Announcement:
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDM...97?OpenDocument

PDF file:
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDM...20-%20Final.pdf

Anyone else holding Stareit can share some opinion plz ?
I have a mixed feeling on the news...

More Info:
YTL Corp to embark on REIT restructuring

YTL Corp: To Restructure MYR8.0 Bln REIT, Hotel Portfolio

This post has been edited by mopster: Nov 18 2009, 10:25 PM
rayloo
post Nov 18 2009, 07:00 PM

467 posts

Seems it is true. CapitaLand will not ipo here, but Singapore on 25th Nov.
Read here
But one thing I am not sure since CapitaMall already listed in Sing, what to ipo ?

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0186sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:22 PM