944 posts

no im not gonna ... so ill just buy the normal ram la ... thanks man
lucifah
post Dec 1 2008, 07:10 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Dec 1 2008, 01:51 PM)
Hey guys, Im looking to get a new pc. but for now, I'm contemplating on whether to get the  AMD x2 6000+ or the intel E5200.

Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of both processors?

I cant seem to get any more infos on the two processors.
not to be bias between any brand, but the e5200 has better power management. in term of speed, i have no idea since cpu speed is irrelevant nowadays, save for those hardcore benchmark freaks

QUOTE(prinny101 @ Dec 1 2008, 03:12 PM)
ok, i know how many volts my whole rig using, but I dunno how many percentage of that power am I using from my PSU.

how do I find that out?
use these measuring devices:

http://www.professionalequipment.com/xq/AS.../qx/default.htm

http://www.ccrane.com/science/instruments/kill-a-watt.aspx
prinny101
post Dec 1 2008, 09:17 PM

101 posts

any idea if they do sell a watt measurement device at low yat?
headhunter7
post Dec 1 2008, 10:14 PM

2,355 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 1 2008, 07:10 PM)
not to be bias between any brand, but the e5200 has better power management. in term of speed, i have no idea since cpu speed is irrelevant nowadays, save for those hardcore benchmark freaks

Hm. Not that I'm an overclocker, but I just wanna know if one has the advantage over the other. Mind shedding some light over this..?

Been through some websites, but I'd want first hand comments, if possible. blush.gif
akmalzakishuib
post Dec 2 2008, 01:54 AM

ok this is a real noob question :

1) For driver update, should i download straight from the manufacturer's website ? ; or

2) download from the cd first, then download the update ; or

3) if i already installed a driver , should i remove the old driver and re-install with the new update.

4) should i install a beta version >?

5) i just downloaded asus xonar d2x driver. when i open the zip file there are setup icon and an XP folder (inside the XP folder another setup icon) so which setup to click la ?

Cheers to all help !!!

insane.gamer
post Dec 2 2008, 02:28 AM

944 posts

download from the website la thats what i do icon_rolleyes.gif
akmalzakishuib
post Dec 2 2008, 09:35 AM

rclxub.gif ermm ... maybe that folder have installation guide ... i'll check later , in the meantime anyone else care to shed more lights to this noob ?
vobboblogs
post Dec 2 2008, 10:46 AM

200 posts

you download it from the website of company that make it. for example, asus board with amd chipset/integrated graphics etc. download it from amd/ati website. this is what i did. i hope i'm not wrong. lol..
Prodigenous Zee
post Dec 2 2008, 11:21 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(akmalzakishuib @ Dec 2 2008, 01:54 AM)

1) For driver update, should i download straight from the manufacturer's website ? ; or

3) if i already installed a driver , should i remove the old driver and re-install with the new update.

5) i just downloaded asus xonar d2x driver. when i open the zip file there are setup icon and an XP folder (inside the XP folder another setup icon) so which setup to click la ?

Cheers to all help !!!
3) Usually no. Just install the new one over the old one.

Usually the drivers that come with the hardware are outdated. You can choose to install these first and then install newer ones or just install the newer ones.
cstkl1
post Dec 2 2008, 11:24 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(akmalzakishuib @ Dec 2 2008, 01:54 AM)

Cheers to all help !!!
dude y didnt ask me.. kekeke
no dont install the one from the cd.
i had a hard time removing all traces of it.

download from the website.
if u try the one on the cd will crash on some games.

download and fresh install. and yes try the beta version.uninstall the previous one before u do this
and just click the setup button.

also told u many times..
so many jokers here dont even have the hardware and never even installed it before
they never learn
assumption is the mother of all f***ups. ( UnderSiege 2 tongue.gif)

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ Dec 2 2008, 11:21 AM)
3) Usually no. Just install the new one over the old one.

Usually the drivers that come with the hardware are outdated. You can choose to install these first and then install newer ones or just install the newer ones.
talking more rubbish to collect some stars

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 2 2008, 11:26 AM
~UGPM~
post Dec 2 2008, 05:22 PM

17 posts

hi, i have noob question here:

1)i already have Q6600 proc and plannig to get ati 4870 card. which one is the best mobo that i can get to optimize my rig? (prefer asus)

2)is it a waste if i get high fsb mobo (1600 fsb) due to my proc fsb?

need some sifu advice. thx

keanoppy
post Dec 2 2008, 09:19 PM

Click click click
1,090 posts

got difference ma pci-e with pci?
SUSsoundsyst64
post Dec 2 2008, 09:27 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Dec 2 2008, 09:19 PM)
got difference ma pci-e with pci?
huge differene in terms of slot position and speed

PCI rated 4x, while PCI-e rated either 8x or 16x

PCI can put soundcard, LAN card while PCI-e can put graphics card.
keanoppy
post Dec 2 2008, 09:35 PM

Click click click
1,090 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 2 2008, 09:27 PM)
huge differene in terms of slot position and speed

PCI rated 4x, while PCI-e rated either 8x or 16x

PCI can put soundcard, LAN card while PCI-e can put graphics card.
how to know wheter pc got pci-e on board?
i only know on my board got pci...but how to know can support pci-e?

Added on December 2, 2008, 9:58 pmIf change mainboard,nid to install windows all that?

This post has been edited by keanoppy: Dec 2 2008, 11:14 PM
akmalzakishuib
post Dec 3 2008, 12:17 AM

wei kevin dude ! you are the real pro here-lah thumbup.gif

yeah noticed one of the advice given by other dude was kinda strange because i remember reading somewhere the old driver need to be uninstalled before installing a new one doh.gif

aiyo being a noob very susah lah, read read read computing stuff until i cry blood

Added on December 3, 2008, 1:08 amsigh , should have just googled ...

useful link for my fellow noobs

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vis...o-new-hardware/

Cheers !

This post has been edited by akmalzakishuib: Dec 3 2008, 01:08 AM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Dec 3 2008, 10:05 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Dec 2 2008, 09:35 PM)
how to know wheter pc got pci-e on board?
i only know on my board got pci...but how to know can support pci-e?

Added on December 2, 2008, 9:58 pmIf change mainboard,nid to install windows all that?
Try search your motherboard model and google for specification.

If you decide to change motherboard, i'm not so sure either need to install windows again. try google for it. smile.gif
Prodigenous Zee
post Dec 3 2008, 10:13 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ December 2, 2008, 9:58 pm)
If change mainboard,nid to install windows all that?

Check page 117 of this thread
akachester
post Dec 3 2008, 03:10 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Noob question here, where can i get Value Ram packaging only without the ram itself? tongue.gif
anonymous111
post Dec 3 2008, 06:19 PM

49 posts

noob question here, should i get 9600GT,9800GT or HD4850 for my 32 inch LCD TV? pls help
livinzo
post Dec 3 2008, 08:27 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(anonymous111 @ Dec 3 2008, 06:19 PM)
noob question here, should i get 9600GT,9800GT or HD4850 for my 32 inch LCD TV? pls help
HD4850 1gb will do... 1gb is a must... what game will you be playin?

123 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:06 AM