Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

jaswwp
post Dec 17 2007, 12:33 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Dec 17 2007, 11:18 AM)
I have a question about my hamsters - Ryuuk and Rem. They have been with me for a year now since they were babies.

For the past couple of weeks, both of them have been fighting like mad and it's bloody. The first brutal fight I witnessed was when Ryuuk bit Rem near the neck and it was bleeding. I thought Ryuuk was culprit because he is scared of people touching him and will pounce on your finger and bite if you try to touch him.

But I was wrong, it seems Rem is the culprit because I started noticing that Rem is always initiating the fights and chasing Ryuuk around in the cage.

Now I have seperated them and both of them have scars because of the fight.

I would like to know why Rem has become so brutal and disliking Rem so much. Before this, they were ok. Although they did fight, but only for a couple of seconds then everything's back to normal with both of them sleeping beside each other. Now they can't even stay in the same cage. Is it some mid-life crisis thing because they are a year old now.

what breed are they? If they are syrian then its expected because syrians are solitary and will fight to the death after they get mature. If dwarfs then on occasion a pair will fight when they do not get along, seperate and re intro again after a few days and see how it goes.
missgeek
post Dec 17 2007, 02:37 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Dec 16 2007, 11:51 PM)
Here is JackJack zoozone2 after cleanup... Also the 2 feet tank for Jery & Remy after cleaning also. Took out the tubes as was unable to put nicely without some shaped tubes.

Also JackJack in the toilet bowl 'merajuk' after we clean his zoozone2 sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 11:55 pm

Missgeek,

This is normal as JackJack also sleeps during the day & night unless we play with him or take him out of the zoozone2. But he will run the wheel and eat during the wee hours in the morning...

He is now sleeping in the toilet bowl but he was very active when we took him out while cleaning the zoozone2.
Phew... ok. Glad to hear that... I am keeping an eye on his eating habit etc... so far he is not stressing, and he is so manja... he even stepped on my hands now when i put it in the tank.... wub.gif me so jakun... I didnt get that from the dwarfs, hehe. Yesterday give him raisin, hahaha.... he faster grab from my fingers and turned his back at me, hahahaha... so funny like eating faster2 scared I will steal back...

JackJack is super cute sleeping in the toilettttt! So round... tongue.gif

is JackJack 5 mths old too? Will they grow more or this is the size they will stay?
sangels
post Dec 17 2007, 03:13 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 17 2007, 02:37 PM)
Phew... ok. Glad to hear that... I am keeping an eye on his eating habit etc... so far he is not stressing, and he is so manja... he even stepped on my hands now when i put it in the tank....  wub.gif me so jakun... I didnt get that from the dwarfs, hehe. Yesterday give him raisin, hahaha.... he faster grab from my fingers and turned his back at me, hahahaha... so funny like eating faster2 scared I will steal back...

JackJack is super cute sleeping in the toilettttt! So round... tongue.gif

is JackJack 5 mths old too? Will they grow more or this is the size they will stay?
Jack Jack is now reaching 6 months as we bought him when he is 5 months old. I think they already fully grown, not growing anymore. He looks the same as we first brought him back even though he eat a lot. sweat.gif No matter what I give Jack Jack, he will just grab and put it in his mouth and hide inside. blush.gif
blurjoey
post Dec 17 2007, 03:25 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

I think they are from the same litter. JackJack does that also whenever we give him treats. You should see him when gobbles up the vegetables and store it in his cheek pouch. Can see the shape of the food inside.

Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 04:53 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

More hamster photos!

To see more and at a higher resolution: http://www.flickr.com/photos/14612396@N08/

If you're curious about my baby's name, here they are:
Mini-chan, the Agouti Winter White. He is named Mini because he resembles the father and so a mini-version of the father.
Junior-chan, another Agouti Winter White. He is named for the same reasons as Mini-chan. They are twins and they look very much alike. I can't even differentiate them.
Sophie, the Pearl Winter White. She is cute, always hangs out with her mother.

This post has been edited by Voxe: Dec 17 2007, 04:53 PM
XiuKeong
post Dec 17 2007, 06:24 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Why my baby hamsters have no fur eventhough they are like 1+ month already?
missgeek
post Dec 17 2007, 06:45 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 17 2007, 04:53 PM)
More hamster photos!
To see more and at a higher resolution: http://www.flickr.com/photos/14612396@N08/

Mini-chan, the Agouti Winter White. He is named Mini because he resembles the father and so a mini-version of the father.
Junior-chan, another Agouti Winter White. He is named for the same reasons as Mini-chan. They are twins and they look very much alike. I can't even differentiate them.
I like this one...
So cute sleeps on her back! That's sophie right? smile.gif Does ur hamsters bite? My dwarfs dont but they nibble... me scared actually, can feel the cold sweat coming out when they start do that... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 17 2007, 06:48 PM
Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 07:36 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

Sophie and her mummy, Snowy. My hamster bites a lot. They have a knack for biting the bars but luckily the bars are resistant to their bites. The paints hard to chip off.

XiuKeong, Maybe different species therefore different growth rate?

This post has been edited by Voxe: Dec 17 2007, 07:37 PM
sogoatticus
post Dec 17 2007, 08:37 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Dec 17 2007, 11:07 AM)
sleeping in the toilet..haha..

see hows my baby sleeps in the toilet wub.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2007, 09:16 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Dec 17 2007, 11:18 AM)
I have a question about my hamsters - Ryuuk and Rem. They have been with me for a year now since they were babies.

For the past couple of weeks, both of them have been fighting like mad and it's bloody. The first brutal fight I witnessed was when Ryuuk bit Rem near the neck and it was bleeding. I thought Ryuuk was culprit because he is scared of people touching him and will pounce on your finger and bite if you try to touch him.

But I was wrong, it seems Rem is the culprit because I started noticing that Rem is always initiating the fights and chasing Ryuuk around in the cage.

Now I have seperated them and both of them have scars because of the fight.

I would like to know why Rem has become so brutal and disliking Rem so much. Before this, they were ok. Although they did fight, but only for a couple of seconds then everything's back to normal with both of them sleeping beside each other. Now they can't even stay in the same cage. Is it some mid-life crisis thing because they are a year old now.

What species..... actually, the best thing for you to do is separate. Syrians, Winter Whites.... they do not like to be together..... they prefer solitary life.... campbells can tolerate each other, Robos are more communal....

Hamsters normally sleep together for warmth, not because they love each other.....

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 17 2007, 04:53 PM)
More hamster photos!

So did you separate the females with the mom and the male with the dad? Coz..... they look like they are sexually mature now....

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 17 2007, 06:24 PM)
Why my baby hamsters have no fur eventhough they are like 1+ month already?
Oh oohh..... yours are Robos? Sorry, I can't remember everyone's hamster species.... anyway, if no fur, still pink and wrinkly or have very thin fur, can still see skin.... means cacat liao..... did you inbreed? Have they open their eyes?

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Dec 17 2007, 08:37 PM)

see hows my baby sleeps in the toilet  wub.gif
Hahah... cutie! Fat lah.... the toilet just nice to fit him only.
Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 09:59 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 17 2007, 09:16 PM)
So did you separate the females with the mom and the male with the dad? Coz..... they look like they are sexually mature now....

Need to seperate already?

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2007, 10:05 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 17 2007, 09:59 PM)
Need to seperate already?
Are they 4 weeks old? You need to separate so no inbreeding.... hamsters do not know who is bro and sis, or mom and dad, as long male and female, they would mate non-stop till the end of their lives....
Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 10:09 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

They were born 25th of November so they are 21 days old.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2007, 10:16 PM

12,047 posts

Ah.... then another week, then you gotta separate before they start to breed with each other.
Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 10:37 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

Better separate now lar. Parting is such a sorrow. I know I would be if I cannot be with my mother again. But then again I'm not a hamster.
dien
post Dec 17 2007, 11:10 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

i just want to share my fur ball RCs pictures..

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

sorry for the blur pictures..

This post has been edited by dien: Dec 17 2007, 11:12 PM
XiuKeong
post Dec 17 2007, 11:35 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Hmm... Their eyes open big big already. I think almost reach mature. But 2 of it are almost furless and skinny. What should I do?
Voxe
post Dec 17 2007, 11:35 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

I saw this at a "Busy Server" web page. So cute!
Underneath it says: "Our hamster powered servers are too busy and begging for few seconds of rest."
dien
post Dec 17 2007, 11:40 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

Voxe, this is WW hamster right??
memang cute.. wub.gif
sOuLx
post Dec 17 2007, 11:45 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

argh.. very tension looking at everybody hamster pics..very cute and chubby2 hamster u guys have..
when will i have one.very hard to find syrian hamster..

126 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:25 AM