Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

blurjoey
post Dec 14 2007, 02:51 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Dec 14 2007, 01:21 PM)
Update.

I checked up and down and didnt find any blood stain inside the tank. I hold her and check no more blood shit leow.
I hope she is fine now.
Another question:

I am using Habitrail Mini, can I use those part from Safari or Playground or Ovo ?

All habitrail tubes (ovo, safari, mini, space station, etc) can connect to each other...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 14 2007, 08:49 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Looks like we all have been outdated... I must edit the part for Winter Whites now hahahah.....

Winter Whites are not sociable and won't live together peacefully unless they are siblings, but even then, the hamsters might fight fatally. It is advised to keep them single, as in wildlife each of them has a territory of 12kmē.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winter_White_...n_Dwarf_Hamster
sOuLx
post Dec 14 2007, 08:55 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 14 2007, 08:49 PM)
Looks like we all have been outdated... I must edit the part for Winter Whites now hahahah.....
new info there.. i saw a WW in a tank at 1U petshop got an injured on its head maybe coz of fighting..
if i bring extra money,i'll buy that pity little hammy at that time..
but some WW did well living together rite..? hmm.gif
abang brother
post Dec 14 2007, 11:29 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 14 2007, 08:49 PM)
Better change it before some new people read it then doom. xD
Voxe
post Dec 15 2007, 12:30 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Dec 13 2007, 03:52 PM)
prestige of course la the best one..
habitral is the best from the cheap brand (eg: delikate..)

i mix various brand of mixed food for my hamster/ gerbil food..
prestige + harry hamster + habitral + hoppel mobbel + kaytee + britter bunny
How much is prestige? I only want the best for hairy friends!
dien
post Dec 15 2007, 12:35 AM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 15 2007, 01:30 AM)
How much is prestige? I only want the best for hairy friends!
around rm17 - 18..
missgeek
post Dec 15 2007, 03:08 PM

318 posts

I just bought exercise ball for MoFo tongue.gif it also comes with a stand so I put it in a cage to replace his wheel. It's about the same size with his old wheel but since it's round, it fits him better than the wheel with the potruding pin thingy in the middle. He was so happy I think haha, keep playing with his ball (LOL). Here a pic:

I'm thinking of buying the bath sand and potty sand and renovate his hs, might add another tank, hehe Qs:

1. Will he knows how to peepee and poopoo inside the litter sand?
2. Also on the bath sand, no need teach?
3. Can tubes be attached to the tank? Can see the round hole on the tank top. Suggestion where to buy tubes, good but cheap biggrin.gif

Thanks people!
dien
post Dec 15 2007, 03:39 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

just wondering, does he can enter the ball himself??

if we want our hamsters poo and pee in the toilet, so we have to train them..
maybe you can try this way, by putting some of their pee and poo in the toilet as a beginning.. usually hamster pee in one place.. but poo another story.. tongue.gif

you can attach tubes to your tank..
(see this page post #2016)..
you can ask her more la..

This post has been edited by dien: Dec 15 2007, 03:40 PM
sangels
post Dec 15 2007, 04:11 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 15 2007, 03:08 PM)
I just bought exercise ball for MoFo tongue.gif it also comes with a stand so I put it in a cage to replace his wheel. It's about the same size with his old wheel but since it's round, it fits him better than the wheel with the potruding pin thingy in the middle. He was so happy I think haha, keep playing with his ball (LOL). Here a pic:

I'm thinking of buying the bath sand and potty sand and renovate his hs, might add another tank, hehe Qs:

3. Can tubes be attached to the tank? Can see the round hole on the tank top. Suggestion where to buy tubes, good but cheap biggrin.gif

Thanks people!
My Jack Jack know how to pee in the bowl that we gave him with toilet sand in it. rclxms.gif initially, he like to sleep inside the bowl with the sand together, but now, he only pee inside. Poo, still everywhere, can't help it. They'll pee at one place only.

Suggest you to buy tubes from habitrial. Can get the habitrial ovo tubes or safari tubes, cos MoFo is big like Jack Jack, only this 2 types of tubes can go through. We put tubes for my 2 robos (Jery and Remy) from the 2 feet tank and connected to the loaf on top of the tank. We didn't put tubes for Jack Jack as he'll climb the tubes up to the lid and bite the lid cover, they are smart boys. sweat.gif Thats why we are using Hagen ZooZone 2 for Jack Jack. biggrin.gif Look for 2nd hand tubes, cheaper. The new ones are selling per piece, and you need the connector to connect the tubes. So, it's costly. sweat.gif

Sand bath, hmm... Jack Jack don't like sand bath. blush.gif We gave him before and he end up mess the whole place with the bathing sand but digging it out from the bowl. Maybe you can try, maybe your MoFo will like it. hmm.gif

blurjoey
post Dec 15 2007, 04:12 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 15 2007, 03:08 PM)

Thanks people!
1. I can tell that JackJack poopoo everywhere. Not only in the toilet bowl setup for him. He poopoo and eat at the same place. Sleep there too... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
2. I remember seeing someone's pic of a syrian poopoo in the toilet setup. Think can train.
3. You can cut away the 2 small holes cover on the lid. I have setup with Habitrail mini's tubes for my robos, Remy & Jery. So I think you can get Habitrail Safari, Playground or OVO's tubes as they are big enough for syrians. But cleaning will be troublesome for the tubes and take long time as the hamsters will sleep, poopoo and pee inside... Junnie87 is selling new hamster stuffs "click here". I think she is from PetShack as the pictures looks like taken in front of PetShack.

If you can buy a bigger tank like the Hagen Zoozone1 or Zoozone2.

Zoozone1

Zoozone2

This the email from Hagen Malaysia about where to buy Hagen products. Hagen is also the manufacturer for Habitrail products.
Dear Jeremy

Thank you for your enquiries.

Kindly look out for our dealers e.g. Pet Safari at Ikano Power Centre or The Pet Family at Taman Megah PJ.

Another dealer would be Pets More at Kepong Carrefour or Cheras Queens Park Carrefour outlets.

Once again we thank you and appreciate your support with Hagen products.

Best regards,
Emily

JackJack, Remy & Jery is me and sangels' hamsters. But sangles is the one keeping in her house...

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Dec 15 2007, 04:23 PM
missgeek
post Dec 15 2007, 07:47 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Dec 15 2007, 03:39 PM)
just wondering, does he can enter the ball himself??

if we want our hamsters poo and pee in the toilet, so we have to train them..
maybe you can try this way, by putting some of their pee and poo in the toilet as a beginning.. usually hamster pee in one place.. but poo another story..  tongue.gif

you can attach tubes to your tank..
(see this page post #2016)..
you can ask her more la..
Hehe he can... they are pretty smart.. I am amused actually! Hahah... he squeezed his way in, usually do funny things like going in the hole above than the easy one below... rolleyes.gif He peed in his old wheels before... but he hasnt in the new ball... maybe he likes it too much too pee in it, lol! Now I can't detect where he peed, the dried alfafa (an looking at the tonnes I put inside) covers the smell... but poo, yeah... he pooed everywhere, inside his lil house also, next to his stashed kuachi. Sigh...

It's so funny when I put him inside the ball and let him loose around the house, haha! Super cute and funny... I can't stop laughing, he walks around with his fat arse left and right, hahahaha!

P.S. My dwarfs run, pee and poo at the same time. sweat.gif

@sangels & blurjoey
Hmm, I will check the tubes and the threads u show smile.gif I am thinking of getting a smaller/larger tank, put the tubes, put the tank above/below the current one (depending which one is larger)... so that MoFo could have like 2 story condo, teehehe. The new tank (if smaller) will be his pee & bath area... hmmm.. but the zoozone niceeeeee blush.gif

I hope he likes to take bath, well at least pee at one place cos the pee is the one that smells bad sweat.gif my dwarfs smell WORSE! Why ah? Their pee stinks to the highest heaven, rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 15 2007, 07:58 PM
kembara
post Dec 16 2007, 12:28 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

missgeek,
previously i heard some of our sifus said..
syrian acvtually dont really need sand bath..bcoz they can groom themselve
experienced people said, syrian will only dig dig the sand bath...will not rolling in it like dwarf hamsters did
sangels
post Dec 16 2007, 12:35 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 15 2007, 07:47 PM)
Hehe he can... they are pretty smart.. I am amused actually! Hahah... he squeezed his way in, usually do funny things like going in the hole above than the easy one below... rolleyes.gif He peed in his old wheels before... but he hasnt in the new ball... maybe he likes it too much too pee in it, lol! Now I can't detect where he peed, the dried alfafa (an looking at the tonnes I put inside) covers the smell... but poo, yeah... he pooed everywhere, inside his lil house also, next to his stashed kuachi. Sigh...

It's so funny when I put him inside the ball and let him loose around the house, haha! Super cute and funny... I can't stop laughing, he walks around with his fat arse left and right, hahahaha!

P.S. My dwarfs run, pee and poo at the same time.  sweat.gif

@sangels & blurjoey
Hmm, I will check the tubes and the threads u show smile.gif I am thinking of getting a smaller/larger tank, put the tubes, put the tank above/below the current one (depending which one is larger)... so that MoFo could have like 2 story condo, teehehe. The new tank (if smaller) will be his pee & bath area... hmmm.. but the zoozone niceeeeee  blush.gif

I hope he likes to take bath, well at least pee at one place cos the pee is the one that smells bad  sweat.gif my dwarfs smell WORSE! Why ah? Their pee stinks to the highest heaven,  rclxub.gif
Hmm.... You must be getting your ideas from hamsterhideout.com, we thought of doing that also, but come to think of the cleaning part, sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif already tired with the cleaning for 2 tanks and all the tubes and accessories using for our 3 hammies. rclxub.gif

hmm.gif I wonder if MoFo will go pee and poo in the 2nd floor in his new condo??? hahaha... hmm.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 12:37 am
QUOTE(kembara @ Dec 16 2007, 12:28 AM)
missgeek,
previously i heard some of  our sifus said..
experienced people said, syrian will only dig dig the sand bath...will not rolling in it like dwarf hamsters did
You have your point. Jack Jack never roll in the bathing sand. He trying to stay away instead. But he 'comb' himself everyday... look super cute whenever he doing that and I'll just stay and look at him. wub.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Dec 16 2007, 12:37 AM
missgeek
post Dec 16 2007, 04:10 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Dec 16 2007, 12:28 AM)
missgeek,
previously i heard some of  our sifus said..
Hmm.. then no need la.. I realised also MoFo licking himself like crazy, look so vain and cute, hahahaha... OK! I will not get the sand bath lor. smile.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(sangels @ Dec 16 2007, 12:35 AM)
Hmm.... You must be getting your ideas from hamsterhideout.com, we thought of doing that also, but come to think of the cleaning part,  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif already tired with the cleaning for 2 tanks and all the tubes and accessories using for our 3 hammies.  rclxub.gif

hmm.gif I wonder if MoFo will go pee and poo in the 2nd floor in his new condo??? hahaha...  hmm.gif
Hahahahaha, I wonder about it too, haha. But if he really only pee at one place he would I think? Or put the pee place near his little house cos usually he do his stuff right after he wakes up... and upstairs put stuff like the wheel, toys...

I have a Q.. I realised the spot he always peed on. It's the same spot nod.gif BUT UNFORTUNATELY this spot is right under his water bottle... of all the places he wants to pee la right? If i put the sand there, then would be ma fan for him to drink. So, my Q... if I clean the tank, wash it etc etc... will he remember to pee at that place again ah? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 16 2007, 04:15 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 16 2007, 09:32 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Syrians do not produce excess oils like dwarf hamsters, so there is no need for a sand bath. Of all hamsters, I can personally say Syrians are the cleanest when it comes to grooming themselves and they smell less unless on heat.

All hamster will poop whenever and wherever they like, peeing is always at one spot.

To get rid of the pee smell and also dried stains, soak the pee area with White Vinegar(can get at supermarket). The best is soak it overnight. Then the next day wash the whole cage with soap and water. Then it's Clean!
missgeek
post Dec 16 2007, 11:11 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 16 2007, 09:32 PM)
Syrians do not produce excess oils like dwarf hamsters, so there is no need for a sand bath. Of all hamsters, I can personally say Syrians are the cleanest when it comes to grooming themselves and they smell less unless on heat.

All hamster will poop whenever and wherever they like, peeing is always at one spot.

To get rid of the pee smell and also dried stains, soak the pee area with White Vinegar(can get at supermarket). The best is soak it overnight. Then the next day wash the whole cage with soap and water. Then it's Clean!
Ahah! Will do that! The same spot my dwarfs pee are in the wheel... geeeez! Will have to do the same with the wheel then.
Thanks crazymouse! nod.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 11:17 pmHmm... one more thing... MoFo is ok now, he is no longer cautious or terkejut with my hands in the cage or petting him... mayb one or two time when I caught him off guard. but he's a sweet boy, he didnt attempt to bite, just move away.

But he sleeps a lot.. during the day I understand, but he only wakes up around 10pm... and play for a while.. then sleep again... he doesnt look sick, no discharge, clear eyes, no wet tail... body temp is normal (well, he's not hot, just same like I first got him anyway)..

Is this normal? or is he unhappy? sad.gif He's only 'alive' when I take him out, play on my palm or let him roam on my bed, hehe. Or is it because he's old? PS told me he's 5 mths... maybe he missed his bro in the cage? They were 2 of them in the tank when I got him... but syrian supposed to be solitary, right?

PS.: I do think he got into a fight before, there we blood on one of his finger sweat.gif I think one finger is half gone.... poor boy!

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 16 2007, 11:17 PM
sangels
post Dec 16 2007, 11:51 PM

829 posts

Here is JackJack zoozone2 after cleanup... Also the 2 feet tank for Jery & Remy after cleaning also. Took out the tubes as was unable to put nicely without some shaped tubes.

Also JackJack in the toilet bowl 'merajuk' after we clean his zoozone2 sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 16 2007, 11:11 PM)
Ahah! Will do that! The same spot my dwarfs pee are in the wheel... geeeez! Will have to do the same with the wheel then.
Thanks crazymouse!  nod.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 11:17 pmHmm... one more thing... MoFo is ok now, he is no longer cautious or terkejut with my hands in the cage or petting him... mayb one or two time when I caught him off guard. but he's  a sweet boy, he didnt attempt to bite, just move away.

But he sleeps a lot.. during the day I understand, but he only wakes up around 10pm... and play for a while.. then sleep again... he doesnt look sick, no discharge, clear eyes, no wet tail... body temp is normal (well, he's not hot, just same like I first got him anyway)..

Is this normal? or is he unhappy? sad.gif He's only 'alive' when I take him out, play on my palm or let him roam on my bed, hehe. Or is it because he's old? PS told me he's 5 mths... maybe he missed his bro in the cage? They were 2 of them in the tank when I got him... but syrian supposed to be solitary, right?

PS.: I do think he got into a fight before, there we blood on one of his finger sweat.gif I think one finger is half gone.... poor boy!
Missgeek,

This is normal as JackJack also sleeps during the day & night unless we play with him or take him out of the zoozone2. But he will run the wheel and eat during the wee hours in the morning...

He is now sleeping in the toilet bowl but he was very active when we took him out while cleaning the zoozone2.

This post has been edited by sangels: Dec 16 2007, 11:55 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
NewbieBetta
post Dec 17 2007, 11:07 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

sleeping in the toilet..haha..
a_sim
post Dec 17 2007, 11:18 AM

203 posts

I have a question about my hamsters - Ryuuk and Rem. They have been with me for a year now since they were babies.

For the past couple of weeks, both of them have been fighting like mad and it's bloody. The first brutal fight I witnessed was when Ryuuk bit Rem near the neck and it was bleeding. I thought Ryuuk was culprit because he is scared of people touching him and will pounce on your finger and bite if you try to touch him.

But I was wrong, it seems Rem is the culprit because I started noticing that Rem is always initiating the fights and chasing Ryuuk around in the cage.

Now I have seperated them and both of them have scars because of the fight.

I would like to know why Rem has become so brutal and disliking Rem so much. Before this, they were ok. Although they did fight, but only for a couple of seconds then everything's back to normal with both of them sleeping beside each other. Now they can't even stay in the same cage. Is it some mid-life crisis thing because they are a year old now.

blurjoey
post Dec 17 2007, 11:30 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Dec 17 2007, 11:07 AM)
sleeping in the toilet..haha..
Jery & Remy is also sleeping in the corner toilet if you look at the 2 feet tank on the left.

126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:32 PM