I juz got a WINTER WHITE hamster....They say won bite....I still dare not catch....Izzit true???It is quite fierce....sigh
Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs
Oct 7 2007, 08:00 PM
18 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I juz got a WINTER WHITE hamster....They say won bite....I still dare not catch....Izzit true???It is quite fierce....sigh
Oct 7 2007, 08:46 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Oct 7 2007, 07:17 PM) Normally I can just hold all my hamsters and check.... hold it upright, make it's mouth face you, then you use your finger and push the lips la... or you can use a piece of food to do it.QUOTE(LittleTeens @ Oct 7 2007, 08:00 PM) I juz got a WINTER WHITE hamster....They say won bite....I still dare not catch....Izzit true???It is quite fierce....sigh Normally WW rarely bite. Do not catch your hamster. You will just make it afraid and it will bite if it feels scared. Use a cup to corner your hamster and scoop it. Then you gently pour him out into your hands.... |
Oct 7 2007, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 7 2007, 08:46 PM) Normally I can just hold all my hamsters and check.... hold it upright, make it's mouth face you, then you use your finger and push the lips la... or you can use a piece of food to do it. o....I try before but that is becoz it is going to a new cage.....Last time I have ROBOS scared like HELL den run here and there......Say frankly did WW bite pain?It is sleeping now really wanna catch seeing all of u post heree and there....Normally WW rarely bite. Do not catch your hamster. You will just make it afraid and it will bite if it feels scared. Use a cup to corner your hamster and scoop it. Then you gently pour him out into your hands.... |
Oct 7 2007, 08:58 PM
Well, it is advisable for you not to disturb a new hamster. Let it be by itself for 2 days. Do not kacau it. Let it rest and get used to new environment lah.
No, the bite is not painful... maybe it would feel pain to you but it will not cause a wound or draw blood lah. Most small animals bite, so you should never be scared of this. If you are, then should have thought about other pets. Basically, anything with a mouth and teeth will bite if they feel there is a need to do so. |
Oct 7 2007, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 7 2007, 08:58 PM) Well, it is advisable for you not to disturb a new hamster. Let it be by itself for 2 days. Do not kacau it. Let it rest and get used to new environment lah. Good.....TQ for u REPLY and also He is now alone....I am thinking of to buy another 1 to acompany him.....No, the bite is not painful... maybe it would feel pain to you but it will not cause a wound or draw blood lah. Most small animals bite, so you should never be scared of this. If you are, then should have thought about other pets. Basically, anything with a mouth and teeth will bite if they feel there is a need to do so. |
Oct 7 2007, 09:07 PM
84 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
![]() my handsome bong. |
Oct 7 2007, 09:11 PM
He is better off alone lah.... if you get another, there is a possibility he will fight and you won't wanna see any hamster get in fights... sometimes a few wounds and scratches but some can get terribly bloody.
Your hamster would be happier alone. They will always sleep during the day, only active quite late at night or early mornings to explore and run around. Being a hamster owner, you should interact and handle him to avoid boredom. |
Oct 7 2007, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 7 2007, 09:11 PM) He is better off alone lah.... if you get another, there is a possibility he will fight and you won't wanna see any hamster get in fights... sometimes a few wounds and scratches but some can get terribly bloody. Ok....Den I won't buy liao.....Your hamster would be happier alone. They will always sleep during the day, only active quite late at night or early mornings to explore and run around. Being a hamster owner, you should interact and handle him to avoid boredom. Added on October 7, 2007, 9:19 pmU mean I can touch his LIPS using FINGER? This post has been edited by LittleTeens: Oct 7 2007, 09:19 PM |
Oct 7 2007, 09:22 PM
Well, I use my fingers to do it... so far have never been bitten. I also do the same to rabbits, guinea pigs, gerbils and rats. Even sugar gliders.
Oct 7 2007, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 7 2007, 09:22 PM) Well, I use my fingers to do it... so far have never been bitten. I also do the same to rabbits, guinea pigs, gerbils and rats. Even sugar gliders. It can be TAME easily rite?I think mine is SAPPHIRE.....Added on October 7, 2007, 9:27 pmThe pet shop say they can CHANGE their COAT......From very Dark color(baby) to very light color(old) This post has been edited by LittleTeens: Oct 7 2007, 09:27 PM |
Oct 7 2007, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(LittleTeens @ Oct 7 2007, 09:25 PM) It can be TAME easily rite?I think mine is SAPPHIRE..... Sapphire winter white is a smokey bluish grey... Well, not all sapphires change winter coat... normal the agouti WW will change more often.Added on October 7, 2007, 9:27 pmThe pet shop say they can CHANGE their COAT......From very Dark color(baby) to very light color(old) And it will only change if you keep it away in a dark room coz in the wild, during winter, there is less sunlight and this causes them to change into winter coats. Again, this really depends on the hamster coz some would change and some not at all. |
Oct 7 2007, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 7 2007, 09:39 PM) Sapphire winter white is a smokey bluish grey... Well, not all sapphires change winter coat... normal the agouti WW will change more often. He wake up already....I try to catch him....haha....Using scoop la....And it will only change if you keep it away in a dark room coz in the wild, during winter, there is less sunlight and this causes them to change into winter coats. Again, this really depends on the hamster coz some would change and some not at all. |
Oct 8 2007, 01:27 AM
84 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Oct 8 2007, 04:34 AM
672 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
my female WW will bite if kacau her home..but if i pick her up slowly sher wont bite..she bit me couple times till bleed..no big deal..lol
Oct 8 2007, 04:51 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
there's a difference between BITE and NIBBLE.
for mine, the female is the heavy nibbler, sometimes turn to biting. not out of aggression or anything though, she just likes to sink her teeth (hard) into any thing she comes by. they don't give bleeding bites la, once they start to nibble you just move your fingers away. |
Oct 8 2007, 09:57 AM
Mine is MALE....I dun want to buy FEMALE...haha
Oct 8 2007, 02:27 PM
4,711 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
kakakkak yesterday weight my bear beara gain they r 1 X 105g, 2 X 115g n 2 X 125g
Oct 9 2007, 12:11 AM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Far from sights, near to heart |
This is my jumping male jumping hamster when i separated him from female bcos the female just give birth to it's baby. This post has been edited by arren86: Oct 9 2007, 12:17 AM |
Oct 9 2007, 05:28 AM
672 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
lol..is it WW or campbell?din know they can jump that high..perhaps u can get a plastic tank..they can chew the paper box n escape
Oct 9 2007, 05:56 AM
3,819 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hahaha..yur hammy really cute la...
so jumpy 1...my hammy doesnt even like to move unless she is running on her wheels |
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:16 AM |