some hamsters may be more territorial attitude..
so they would fight with another hamster to show that it is more dominant..
maybe this also happened to your hamster..
Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs
Oct 5 2007, 04:54 PM
3,254 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: :: Papar - KK :: |
some hamsters may be more territorial attitude..
so they would fight with another hamster to show that it is more dominant.. maybe this also happened to your hamster.. |
Oct 5 2007, 05:20 PM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Far from sights, near to heart |
My hamster babies has opened their eyes and start to run around in cage lo. I also put back the male hamster in to the same cage. However, one funny things i saw is the male keep on hide his food in his mouth making his mouth big like balloon. I wonder wat is this behavior.
Oct 5 2007, 09:12 PM
672 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(arren86 @ Oct 5 2007, 05:20 PM) My hamster babies has opened their eyes and start to run around in cage lo. I also put back the male hamster in to the same cage. However, one funny things i saw is the male keep on hide his food in his mouth making his mouth big like balloon. I wonder wat is this behavior. of course they always keep their food in the cheek pouch..even my babies did it untill they cant get the food out..lolx |
Oct 5 2007, 11:08 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 5 2007, 02:50 PM) If u can breed the white hammies again, I'll be glad to buy a pair from u. I love the white-ness. If they breed la hahaha....I got healthy pet for my robos. But, it prefer to sleep on the tissue on the floor rather on the bedding, it kicked away all of it. How ah ? Well, Hamsters generally likes to sleep on something soft.... My hamsters do not sleep in their wood shavings or healthy pet bedding but on hay. They make a nest using hay. So if you put tissue, they will sleep on tissue. It is normal for them to kick away bedding to make a clearing on the cage/tank floor.... QUOTE(wateverzz @ Oct 5 2007, 03:22 PM) hihi.. i have some problem here..hope u guyz can help me out.. How old are your hamsters? Well, there is only 1 solution and that is separation. Some Winter Whites tend to be very territorial and I see this happen to females more often than males. Yah, they will be ok today when younger but once they reach 5 months old or 6 months old... they will start to be a bit more territorial and can get moody and aggressive if another hamster is around. Be it sibling or partner, they will start to fight. Quite common. Some would fight badly, some would squabble.... some won't show so much aggression so they tolerate each other easily.im now having 2 WW hamsters female, hamster A and hamster B in a cage before this they dont have any problem living together untill this few days. Hamster A seem to be very aggresive and keep on biting hamster B, hamster B seem to be very frightened and running away but luckily there is no injury watsoever. does anyone noe wat happen, and is there any soluction?? thx.. The mistake people normally do is buying a small cage..... For 2 hamsters, you really need a big cage. Get a 50cm cage or tank..... they need space. Habitrails and whatever fancy cages with no 2nd floor or 3rd floor are too cramp for 2.... even those small but tall ones are not suitable. Critter Trail 2 and whatever cage that has 2 storeys are better but make sure it is more than 40cm in length. QUOTE(arren86 @ Oct 5 2007, 05:20 PM) My hamster babies has opened their eyes and start to run around in cage lo. I also put back the male hamster in to the same cage. However, one funny things i saw is the male keep on hide his food in his mouth making his mouth big like balloon. I wonder wat is this behavior. Why you put back the male hamster? You wanna breed again? That is also so risky coz some females will attack another hamster be it her sister or brother or partner coz hamsters got short memories and they cannot remember each other after a few days of separation.....If your hamster keeps taking and keeping his food in his cheeks, it means he is uncomfortable at eating... could be too many hamsters in 1 cage and he is trying to hoard away his food. If he doesn't spit out his food, it can cause cheek pouch infection since bacteria will accumulate in his cheek pouches due to food and saliva in it. |
Oct 6 2007, 12:35 AM
41 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 5 2007, 11:08 PM) How old are your hamsters? Well, there is only 1 solution and that is separation. Some Winter Whites tend to be very territorial and I see this happen to females more often than males. Yah, they will be ok today when younger but once they reach 5 months old or 6 months old... they will start to be a bit more territorial and can get moody and aggressive if another hamster is around. Be it sibling or partner, they will start to fight. Quite common. Some would fight badly, some would squabble.... some won't show so much aggression so they tolerate each other easily. they are 4 months old.. look lik i have to buy them a new cage.. wat kind of cage should i buy?The mistake people normally do is buying a small cage..... For 2 hamsters, you really need a big cage. Get a 50cm cage or tank..... they need space. Habitrails and whatever fancy cages with no 2nd floor or 3rd floor are too cramp for 2.... even those small but tall ones are not suitable. Critter Trail 2 and whatever cage that has 2 storeys are better but make sure it is more than 40cm in length. any suggestion.. better if u can provide me with picture.. thanks thanks a lot.. i appreciate it.. |
Oct 6 2007, 12:38 AM
You can see pictures in the 1st page.... the best so far are tanks...... but you can look at Garage Sales for 2nd hand Habitrail cage....
Oct 6 2007, 08:49 AM
672 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
erm..i need some help/info...my sapphire which is the mummy seems starting to loose its fur behind the ears..its getting obvious and i can barely see the skin on its back behind the ears...any particular reason y this happen?
Oct 6 2007, 12:15 PM
3,819 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
my hammy went through the same thing and oso loose fur a few months back...it was because she kept wetting herself accidently when she passed through her bottle then she fell sick, so she started loosing fur...very obviously...
in the end, i changed her bedding and everything needed and when she finally recover back, her fur was back to normal... maybe your hammy is sick? |
Oct 6 2007, 12:35 PM
6,724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Petaling |
why suddenly my 1month old dwarf hamster's teeth dropped?
Oct 6 2007, 01:49 PM
84 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
huh. hamster teeth drop. that's something new.. never seen and read it yet
Oct 6 2007, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Oct 6 2007, 08:49 AM) erm..i need some help/info...my sapphire which is the mummy seems starting to loose its fur behind the ears..its getting obvious and i can barely see the skin on its back behind the ears...any particular reason y this happen? Could be bacteria.... change the bedding. Or it could be food, stress.... QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Oct 6 2007, 12:35 PM) Drop? You sure it broke off? |
Oct 6 2007, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 5 2007, 11:08 PM) Why you put back the male hamster? You wanna breed again? That is also so risky coz some females will attack another hamster be it her sister or brother or partner coz hamsters got short memories and they cannot remember each other after a few days of separation..... Yaya, i wan them to breed again. I believe they are quite bored if both are separated from each other. It's like separating a couple and preventing them to see each other. They are old lover ma. LOL... I just bought a bigger cage to support the big family before give the youngs to my fren until they are grown up enough to be separated from their mother. All four of the babies now are running like having fun with the mommy and daddy. So happy seeing them so "hang fook"...If your hamster keeps taking and keeping his food in his cheeks, it means he is uncomfortable at eating... could be too many hamsters in 1 cage and he is trying to hoard away his food. If he doesn't spit out his food, it can cause cheek pouch infection since bacteria will accumulate in his cheek pouches due to food and saliva in it. This post has been edited by arren86: Oct 6 2007, 05:54 PM |
Oct 6 2007, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(arren86 @ Oct 6 2007, 05:53 PM) Yaya, i wan them to breed again. I believe they are quite bored if both are separated from each other. It's like separating a couple and preventing them to see each other. They are old lover ma. LOL... I just bought a bigger cage to support the big family before give the youngs to my fren until they are grown up enough to be separated from their mother. All four of the babies now are running like having fun with the mommy and daddy. So happy seeing them so "hang fook"... Looks like you lack family planning... do you know before you breed again, you must let the female rest for 3 months before can have babies again? If she breeds again without letting the body rest, you are making her overbreed, causing her body to recover poorly and it can endanger her health for the next batch of babies too. Also, if you breed a hamster without letting it rest, you can shorten the life span.... so is seeing the mommy hamster live long and happy life better or seeing it become skinnier and die earlier than usual but give you many baby hamsters?Also, did you know that the daddy hamster has no idea if the babies are his daughters or not? Once they turn 4 weeks old, the daddy hamster can rape them, causing early pregnancy that could endanger the baby hamster's life and also growth. Don't put human emotions into animals.... Old lover.... there is no such thing. Hamsters pair up during breedings to populate.... not pair up for companionship.... if say parrots and most birds, yah, they pair up and become lovers for life because they need each other.... but not hamsters. So please do not see them, as old lover, don't want to see male have no sex blah blah.... the hamster only has instinct to breed.... the sons may want to mate, then see the mom is a female so might as well mate with the mom.... they do not think like humans so leave human emotions out of it. |
Oct 6 2007, 10:08 PM
Ok ok.... Sorry lo... i got new cage liao. Now separate them from males alrady.
Oct 6 2007, 10:21 PM
3,706 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
hun..steady steady..u seems pissed off from the way you reply?
Oct 6 2007, 10:42 PM
Ah, no lah.... the way I reply when pissed is not like that loh hahaha.... but sometimes must open up people's mind coz alot of people associate human emotions with animals. They may not have the experience, knowledge or reading material, so this forum already has.... there is a thread here about breeding hamsters and Reanne and I already listed out the Do's and Don'ts.... Still, for the animal's sake, it is best we sometimes be stern when it comes to advising.... it brings out the facts better.
Oct 6 2007, 11:29 PM
Oct 6 2007, 11:41 PM
Oct 7 2007, 07:17 PM
Oct 7 2007, 07:20 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |