Gaming laptops approval list, Last update: 9 March 2022

Kanc3
post May 25 2020, 01:51 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 25 2020, 01:19 PM)
RM4.5k you might be able to get 1660Ti

Any preferences on weight and battery life?

Not really have any preference for weight and battery life as long as can handle for my 3 years college design life im fine with it. biggrin.gif maybe need a bit better cooling performance due to may render design hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Kanc3: May 25 2020, 02:01 PM
TSZM Fong
post May 25 2020, 02:13 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Kanc3 @ May 25 2020, 01:51 PM)
Not really have any preference for weight and battery life as long as can handle for my 3 years college design life im fine with it. biggrin.gif maybe need a bit better cooling performance due to may render design  hmm.gif
since you'll be using Adobe programs I would suggest using Intel CPU

unfortunately there's no decent i7+1660Ti model under RM4.5k for now
Soya0883
post May 25 2020, 02:13 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 25 2020, 01:19 PM)
RM4.5k you might be able to get 1660Ti

Any preferences on weight and battery life?

There are some China reviews, I could link you if you want. Or I do a TLDR here

at least 256GB SSD, the RAM&SSD upgrades in the customization page are priced low, therefore manual upgrade isn't needed

note that you can get 80Wh battery by selecting SSD in first storage option
Alright, thanks for the information bro. much appreciated
Kanc3
post May 25 2020, 02:17 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 25 2020, 02:13 PM)
since you'll be using Adobe programs I would suggest using Intel CPU

unfortunately there's no decent i7+1660Ti model under RM4.5k for now
alright no problem, thank you so much thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Kanc3: May 25 2020, 02:17 PM
xxdanialxx
post May 26 2020, 01:05 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ May 15 2020, 12:28 AM)
i fully understand your point, its jz that the SSD kaput less than 3 months after buying
that's way too unacceptable, even when use cheap stuff, should last more than 3 months right?
Understood your frustration bro... go for another brand next time.
Ethan Hunt
post May 26 2020, 01:22 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 24 2020, 10:06 PM)

1650Ti not worth it, upgrade RAM to 16GB for dual channel and lower cost (manual upgrade more expensive)

Thanks bro. Do you know if the Legion 5 can do 180 degree flip?

My current office Laptop is Lenovo Thinkpad X280. I think i got used to the flexibility of the 180 degree flip. Appreciate if my personal laptop able to do the same.

TSZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 01:42 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Soya0883 @ May 25 2020, 02:13 PM)
Alright, thanks for the information bro. much appreciated
QUOTE(Kanc3 @ May 25 2020, 02:17 PM)
alright no problem, thank you so much  thumbup.gif
You're most welcome
QUOTE(Ethan Hunt @ May 26 2020, 01:22 PM)
Thanks bro. Do you know if the Legion 5 can do 180 degree flip?
can open to 180 degress (not flip)
Ethan Hunt
post May 26 2020, 02:15 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 26 2020, 01:42 PM)

can open to 180 degress (not flip)
Oh ya. Open. That is the correct term. Haha. Thanks bro.
snarkienoa
post May 26 2020, 05:33 PM

13 posts

Hi, I'm in the market for new laptop for 3D rendering.
I did my homework and I found these are my options.

Zephyrus g14 Ryzen 4900 8c/16t 2060mq
Onyx G 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Onyx Pro 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Selenite Pro 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Y740 9th gen 6c/12t 2070(?)
Legion 7i 10th gen 6c/12t 2070mq

All of these within 6k-8k
Except for g14 and 7i, price unknown.

I'm leaning towards 7i, but then its hard to justify the price from lenovo canada and bhphoto on it being 6c/12t and 2070mq. North RM8k. I do have student discount. What is your take?

My budget capped at RM8k. Pls help advice.
Thanks!

This post has been edited by snarkienoa: May 26 2020, 05:34 PM
gigigigi99
post May 26 2020, 05:38 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(snarkienoa @ May 26 2020, 05:33 PM)
Hi, I'm in the market for new laptop for 3D rendering.
I did my homework and I found these are my options.

Zephyrus g14 Ryzen 4900 8c/16t 2060mq
Onyx G 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Onyx Pro 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Selenite Pro 10th gen 8c/16t 2070mp
Y740 9th gen 6c/12t 2070(?)
Legion 7i 10th gen 6c/12t 2070mq

All of these within 6k-8k
Except for g14 and 7i, price unknown.

I'm leaning towards 7i, but then its hard to justify the price from lenovo canada and bhphoto on it being 6c/12t and 2070mq. North RM8k. I do have student discount. What is your take?

My budget capped at RM8k. Pls help advice.
Thanks!
choose a proper workstation with Quadro for 3D rendering work instead of gaming gpu
TSZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 05:40 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(snarkienoa @ May 26 2020, 05:33 PM)
Hi, I'm in the market for new laptop for 3D rendering
What programs will you be using? Preferred max weight and min battery life?
snarkienoa
post May 26 2020, 05:54 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gigigigi99 @ May 26 2020, 05:38 PM)
choose a proper workstation with Quadro for 3D rendering work instead of gaming gpu
I'd love to, but I don't do cad. I do 3d with cpu renderer, and looking for possible gpu renderer. I've looked into thinkpad P1 quadro t1000 and find it hard to justify the price since the quadro card is based on gtx with different drivers with a price above my budget.

Gpu renderer is the way forward IMO. UE5 Demo showed us the path.

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 26 2020, 05:40 PM)
What programs will you be using? Preferred max weight and min battery life?
Adobe suite, 3dmax, C4d with redshift
Weight below 2.5kg (with the power brick), max battery life if possible

Do you think I'm better off with egpu setup? Any suggestion for that too?
TSZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 06:27 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(snarkienoa @ May 26 2020, 05:54 PM)
Adobe suite, 3dmax, C4d with redshift
Weight below 2.5kg (with the power brick), max battery life if possible

Do you think I'm better off with egpu setup? Any suggestion for that too?
eGPU doesn't justify the cost and hassle IMO

If you want weight below 2.5kg with power brick, there aren't many options left - maybe can consider Illegear Onyx Pro, however battery is only 63Wh. G14 has reduced performance due to its size (35W HS CPU, 65W MQ GPU), which isn't ideal either
Ethan Hunt
post May 26 2020, 06:45 PM

291 posts

My friend informed me that Acer just released new Triton 300 configuration with RTX 2060, 6GB. SRP at RM4499. Lazada can get as low at RM4199 from reputable seller as NBP Store.

Wow! Cheapest RTX 2060 laptop so far.
leroy87
post May 26 2020, 06:55 PM

484 posts

dear ZM Fong / sifus,

i know theres alot debate in the forum on Illegear vs Level51,
Im on a budget preferably (3.5k-ish).
Been reading and checking out reviews on the Raven SE & FORGE15S.
I'm asking now as they have a promo on the 10th gen I5, was wondering if its better then any AMD chips around the same price point.
Both are quite competitive at the same price point.

any other differences that i need to take note of? Like the cooling / sales service / hardwares?

This post has been edited by leroy87: May 26 2020, 06:58 PM
snarkienoa
post May 26 2020, 06:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 26 2020, 06:27 PM)
eGPU doesn't justify the cost and hassle IMO

If you want weight below 2.5kg with power brick, there aren't many options left - maybe can consider Illegear Onyx Pro, however battery is only 63Wh. G14 has reduced performance due to its size (35W HS CPU, 65W MQ GPU), which isn't ideal either
G14 usb c charging is a plus, that goes to 7i as well if im not mistaken.
Since there wont be any intense work done on the move.

I guess onyx g and onyx pro is the way to go.

Really g14, 7i, and onyx v ryzen price and availability are holding me back from pulling the trigger smh
TSZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 07:08 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Ethan Hunt @ May 26 2020, 06:45 PM)
My friend informed me that Acer just released new Triton 300 configuration with RTX 2060, 6GB. SRP at RM4499. Lazada can get as low at RM4199 from reputable seller as NBP Store.

Wow! Cheapest RTX 2060 laptop so far.
I saw that, but 4c8t i5-9300H is looking outdated nowadays, also need to consider 16GB RAM upgrade (default only 4GB, need to sell it away). Triton 300 using Nitro 5 2019 cooling which isn't good either
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 26 2020, 06:55 PM)
dear ZM Fong / sifus,

i know theres alot debate in the forum on Illegear vs Level51,
Im on a budget preferably (3.5k-ish).
Been reading and checking out reviews on the Raven SE & FORGE15S.
I'm asking now as they have a promo on the 10th gen I5, was wondering if its better then any AMD chips around the same price point.
Both are quite competitive at the same price point.

any other differences that i need to take note of? Like the cooling / sales service / hardwares?
I haven't got info on Forge 15s so can't comment on it

Do you have any preferences on weight and battery life? Usage? What games do you play?
QUOTE(snarkienoa @ May 26 2020, 06:56 PM)
G14 usb c charging is a plus, that goes to 7i as well if im not mistaken.
Since there wont be any intense work done on the move.

I guess onyx g and onyx pro is the way to go.

Really g14, 7i, and onyx v ryzen price and availability are holding me back from pulling the trigger smh
Legion 7i doesn't have USB C / PD charging
leroy87
post May 26 2020, 07:14 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 26 2020, 07:08 PM)
I saw that, but 4c8t i5-9300H is looking outdated nowadays, also need to consider 16GB RAM upgrade (default only 4GB, need to sell it away). Triton 300 using Nitro 5 2019 cooling which isn't good either

I haven't got info on Forge 15s so can't comment on it

Do you have any preferences on weight and battery life? Usage? What games do you play?

Weight and battery life doesnt really matter, usually plug it in when gaming. Into games like Assasins Creed, Tomb Raider kind. Some old games like CSGO/L4d2
snarkienoa
post May 26 2020, 07:30 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 26 2020, 07:08 PM)
Ah too bad.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 26 2020, 07:14 PM)
Weight and battery life doesnt really matter, usually plug it in when gaming. Into games like Assasins Creed, Tomb Raider kind. Some old games like CSGO/L4d2
Imo depends on usage. I'd like to be able to code and troubleshoot projects on the go. Which makes choosing the right one so hard.
TSZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 07:55 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 26 2020, 07:14 PM)
Consider Legion 5 (AMD) customize, use code LENXCIMB. R5-4600H, GTX1650, 16GB RAM

For CSGO you can get higher FPS by disabling Hybrid Mode (MUX feature in budget gaming laptops only in Legion 5 series)

169 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:01 AM