QUOTE(yongchin89 @ May 27 2020, 01:00 AM)
mind to share what software and the configuration? im finding way to undervolt too, no experience at all
ThrottlestopILLEGEAR Custom Performance Laptops v.4, AMD RYZEN 4800H with FREE AC Valhalla
May 27 2020, 08:51 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
31 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
May 27 2020, 09:25 AM
May 27 2020, 09:52 AM
2,065 posts Joined: Oct 2014 From: Ipoh,Perak |
QUOTE(Prince J @ May 26 2020, 05:42 PM) Hi rapple, may I know what is the FPS you are getting on Rimworld using your ASUS in battery mode? Most of the stuff in Asus (Model: K551LN) laptop is removed and lazy to reinstall back. Kindly enable "Game Mode" in ILLEGEAR Command Center and the FPS should increase by about 20. We have just tested Rimworld in our RAVEN SE just now. I tried but still lag. Fortunately Rimworld is a game you don't really DIE but looking at the game lag/spike really annoys me. If you already know that gaming required the laptop to be plugged in all the time, why none of your sales team say it? There wouldn't be any dissatisfaction like now, if you guys say it upfront. Back to the shipping, payment verification and invoice generating part, let me remind you the day I made an inquiry, confirm the specs & paid a booking. Then your team didn't even need to take 3 hour to generate a Quotation and then the Sales Order. I just felt after you have received full payment the respond from you guys is just not the same. Sorry, maybe my expectation is a bit too much from you guys. |
May 27 2020, 11:35 AM
187 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(chittyserv @ May 27 2020, 08:50 AM) Ill do some test tonight and see if I can provide a solution. Ill try to run dota2 on battery and see what needs to be tweaked. i run dota2 on battery also, fps is definitely feel like 30fps or lower, playable but you'll be frustrated like youre playing in low spec laptop lol |
May 27 2020, 11:40 AM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
May 27 2020, 12:17 PM
https://superuser.com/questions/855372/why-...n-set-to-high-p
Might be a good read on why gaming laptop give better fps while plugged in. |
May 27 2020, 12:23 PM
477 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Aurym @ May 27 2020, 02:10 AM) please do update thanks! i just put in my order for the onyx g and same basic specs like yours. im curious to know just how long that huge battery would last. also would you ever plan to undervolt to try get lower temps? Honestly no. I dun think about undervolt because I am okay with plug in. For me is like desktop replacement So here is the result for me. I use it since 100%. Power saving mode. Just doing some browsing, youtube, PDF reading session. Last about 5 hours. No gaming at all. I think the battery life is average. |
May 27 2020, 01:06 PM
671 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
I don't think you can undervolt any new Illegear laptop.
By default, the factory already undervolt by -50mv and they lock the BIOS to prevent users from configuring the voltage. Maybe they scared people undervolt too much and then the system not stable. For gaming, you definitely need to plug in. The battery is not strong enough to provide more than 50W for the CPU/GPU which needs the power. That is why you have a charging brick rated at least 120W. This post has been edited by ghostcommand: May 27 2020, 01:06 PM |
May 27 2020, 01:07 PM
1,272 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Team ILLEGEAR |
QUOTE(rapple @ May 27 2020, 09:52 AM) Most of the stuff in Asus (Model: K551LN) laptop is removed and lazy to reinstall back. Dear rapple,I tried but still lag. Fortunately Rimworld is a game you don't really DIE but looking at the game lag/spike really annoys me. If you already know that gaming required the laptop to be plugged in all the time, why none of your sales team say it? There wouldn't be any dissatisfaction like now, if you guys say it upfront. Back to the shipping, payment verification and invoice generating part, let me remind you the day I made an inquiry, confirm the specs & paid a booking. Then your team didn't even need to take 3 hour to generate a Quotation and then the Sales Order. I just felt after you have received full payment the respond from you guys is just not the same. Sorry, maybe my expectation is a bit too much from you guys. Please find our Rimworld testing video on RAVEN SE battery mode (no plug in) as below: Average fps is 50 and it's playable on battery mode (without plug in). May I know what fps are you getting on your RAVEN SE Battery + Game Mode? To optimize the hardware performance, you may plug in your power adapter to get 120 fps and above in Rimworld. In regards to the delay in invoice processing, can we get your order number to check on the sales representative phone? We did not just prioritize sales processing because after-sales to us is equally important. In fact some quotation / sales orders are only sent to customers after 2 to 3 days as well due to limited labor force during MCO/CMCO. This post has been edited by Prince J: May 27 2020, 01:09 PM |
May 27 2020, 01:10 PM
187 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(ghostcommand @ May 27 2020, 01:06 PM) I don't think you can undervolt any new Illegear laptop. err, got some question, if plugged in is enough, why my battery percentage will drop when plugged in while gaming? and it will trigger to charge the battery againBy default, the factory already undervolt by -50mv and they lock the BIOS to prevent users from configuring the voltage. Maybe they scared people undervolt too much and then the system not stable. For gaming, you definitely need to plug in. The battery is not strong enough to provide more than 50W for the CPU/GPU which needs the power. That is why you have a charging brick rated at least 120W. This post has been edited by yongchin89: May 27 2020, 01:10 PM |
May 27 2020, 03:02 PM
75 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Ottawa, Canada |
May 27 2020, 03:06 PM
1,272 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Team ILLEGEAR |
QUOTE(Desert Punk @ May 27 2020, 03:02 PM) Does your SE-R have thr Realtek Audio HD manager installed? I tried alot of ways to try to remedy it but to no avail...the damm thing just doesn't want to detect my earphones lol Most probably caused by driver, have you contacted our support to remotely assist you on the audio driver installation? 0182618599 (Whatsapp) |
May 27 2020, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(Prince J @ May 27 2020, 03:06 PM) Most probably caused by driver, have you contacted our support to remotely assist you on the audio driver installation? 0182618599 (Whatsapp) I have not...will definitely contact them once my last few methods that I have in mind doest work...is there anyone in particular on the support team I should look for? |
May 27 2020, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(Desert Punk @ May 27 2020, 03:02 PM) Does your SE-R have thr Realtek Audio HD manager installed? I tried alot of ways to try to remedy it but to no avail...the damm thing just doesn't want to detect my earphones lol Got Realtek audio console, and sound blaster cinema too, maybe you can contact illegear support on this. |
May 27 2020, 03:49 PM
477 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Prince J @ May 27 2020, 03:06 PM) Most probably caused by driver, have you contacted our support to remotely assist you on the audio driver installation? 0182618599 (Whatsapp) Hi prince J, is Onyx G still not ready for support yet? I mean in Illegear support page I can't find the product. Only Onyx V 10th gen Intel |
May 27 2020, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Farkmylife @ May 27 2020, 03:11 PM) Got Realtek audio console, and sound blaster cinema too, maybe you can contact illegear support on this. Yeah will definitely contact them once I exhausted all my options...I'm suspecting it's a problem with the audio port..coz it does detect my earphones maybe 1 out of 10 times..but once I unplugged it and plug it back..it doesn't detect anymore... |
May 27 2020, 08:46 PM
880 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
May 27 2020, 08:49 PM
3,544 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(YVONNE@ILLEGEAR @ May 25 2020, 06:05 PM) Most of our models required the present of both the charger and battery in order for the laptop to perform optimally. The laptop CPU will perform relative same with or without the battery but the GPU clock and memory speed will decreases due the motherboard power delivery designed required both charger and battery power supply to operate efficiently. QUOTE(alexnvidia @ May 27 2020, 08:36 PM) Unfortunately, illegear support staff is right about this. most ODM use this trick to save money on PSU. Rather than supplying us with a bigger PSU, they reduced the PSU size and use the battery instead to provide the extra juice when the PSU is not supplying enough power. In your case, you laptop could be drawing 240W-250W during gaming but the PSU is only rated for 230W, so the extra power is provided by the battery. This is why sometimes after a gaming session you will notice your battery discharged and depending on how long you game, it can discharge 10-15% or more. They have a fancy name for it like "hybrid power source" but it's just a marketing term to reduce cost. Above taken from Selenite thread yongchin89You can read more about it here https://www.asus.com/me-en/support/FAQ/1039026/ So you might not realize it, but if you game a lot, your battery is also under a lot of stress. Example, if your battery is only lightly discharged to 95% after a gaming session, it will charge back that 5% after that. and we all know that battery is under a lot of stress when it's trickle charging at the last 10-20% which explains why your battery got swollen up. in fact, if you take note, a lot of times after you shut down the laptop and go to sleep with battery at 100% charged, the next day when you power on, the laptop will start to trickle charge again (lost 1-2% charge doing nothing) even though it was completely shut down the night before. This is just one of the several annoyances we have to live with this particular laptop. This post has been edited by arslow: May 27 2020, 08:50 PM |
May 27 2020, 09:38 PM
1,237 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
May 27 2020, 09:39 PM
1,237 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
by default its 30FPS cap max. switch it to 60 and add it in optimized game.
But if its not a supported optimized game, not sure if u can disable the battery optimized mode. This post has been edited by chittyserv: May 27 2020, 09:42 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0314sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:58 PM |