39 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

Mov_freak
post Mar 11 2020, 10:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Onward (2020)

Pixar makes good movies.

Their ideas are usually unique, and they know how to deliver

They also, in Disney tradition, know how to deliver a family oriented movie, again, this movie deliver.

They are porpular movies and can attract big names to their production.

The "it" guys Tom Hollands and Chris Pratt are in this, playing brothers.

The movie has a comtemplorary feels with magic mixed in.

Because the MacGuffin in this movie is.... "so out there" I am not sure if the really young audience will "get" it.

I enjoyed this.

Not sure I will remember it in glorious details 6 months down the line, and have to emphasize, while I was watching it, I enjoy it.

My Two Sen
skylinelover
post Mar 12 2020, 05:40 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

Haha i still prefer zootopia as the best pixar march release ever laugh.gif

Also lately i been binging netflix movies more than theater movies laugh.gif

I wont say it is better than theatrical but just 4 the sake of less exposed with covid i rather binge netflix movies more laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Mar 23 2020, 06:21 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Midway (2019)

This movie had everything going for it.

Big Budget USD 100,000,000 (estimated)

Big cast Patrick Wilson, Woody Harrelson, Luke Evans, Dennis Quaid, Aaron Eckhart, Darren Criss? (miscast), Nick Jonas?? (another miscast). With this liast, you can see how much testosterone, was, on set.

Known director, Roland Emmerich.

In terms of script, the main character's name, says it all Dick Best (played by Ed Skrein), all the guys on the movie, spends most of the time comparing their "private's" sizes... Funny as it sounds, not easy to sit thru (no offence to the really Dick Best)...

Alot of historians have the opinion that WWII is the last just war America went into and I don't think this movie does that justice.

No offence to Nick Jones, I did the same thing here, I did when I saw him on the 25th Anniversary Les Miserable concert, I went.. "HUH"????

Every person in this movie is so... pedestrian. The movie viewers just... DON'T CARE...

I am watching the making of, now, and have to see, everything the producers/actors/script writer is saying about the movie, the opposite is true...

What a waste of the movie...

I can say nothing redeeming about this movie..

My Two Sen
skylinelover
post Mar 24 2020, 10:55 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 23 2020, 06:21 PM)
Midway (2019)

Big cast Patrick Wilson, Woody Harrelson, Luke Evans, Dennis Quaid, Aaron Eckhart, Darren Criss? (miscast), Nick Jonas?? (another miscast). With this liast, you can see how much testosterone, was, on set.

In terms of script, the main character's name, says it all Dick Best (played by Ed Skrein), all the guys on the movie, spends most of the time comparing their "private's" sizes... Funny as it sounds, not easy to sit thru (no offence to the really Dick Best)...

Alot of historians have the opinion that WWII is the last just war America went into and I don't think this movie does that justice.

No offence to Nick Jones, I did the same thing here, I did when I saw him on the 25th Anniversary Les Miserable concert, I went.. "HUH"????

Every person in this movie is so... pedestrian. The movie viewers just... DON'T CARE...

I am watching the making of, now, and have to see, everything the producers/actors/script writer is saying about the movie, the opposite is true...

My Two Sen
WW2 movie sucked since pearl harbor hahahaha

you better of with classics like TORA TORA TORA
Mov_freak
post Mar 24 2020, 12:32 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 24 2020, 10:55 AM)
WW2 movie sucked since pearl harbor hahahaha

you better of with classics like TORA TORA TORA
I am NOT a war movie person, so my review of Midway is probably bias, having said that I have to say, I am obsess with 1917 at this point in time
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 24 2020, 01:05 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

I am a WW2 buff.

I kinda agree about Nick Jonas.

Kayu actor laugh.gif

Probably too much CGI instead of oldskool filming.

Bad/messed up storytelling.

What I learn from this movie was America almost lost everything.

If not for their code breaking abilities.

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 23 2020, 06:21 PM)
Midway (2019)

My Two Sen
Mickey C
post Mar 25 2020, 12:08 AM

616 posts

Peace.Breaker.2017 - very bad
Project.Gutenberg.2018 - many twist
Sky.Hunter 2017 - ok
Ready or Not 2019 - very good
Close.2019 - slow action
Escape Room (2019) - good

Mov_freak
post Mar 26 2020, 08:32 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Knives Out (2019)

Okay!

I admitted it, I am a BIG murder mystery fan.

I love the last Murder On The Orient Express (2017) based of an Agatha Christie's book.

I am looking forward to Murder on the Nile.

Columbo, A Murder She Wrote (that was an easter egg on this), Monk Alfred Hitchcock, et cetera, et cetera.

Rian Johnson (director) seems to be a dirty name to Star Wars fan (because of the diversive Last Jedi), this movie proves he is an amazing director.

To... purge himself of the Star Wars project, he did this. A story he had been toying with for a long time! What a story!!

The Cast, of my goodness, the cast, here is who is in this?

Daniel Craig (as Benoit Blanc)
Chris Evans (as Ransom Drysdale)
Ana de Armas (as Marta Cabrera)
Jamie Lee Curtis (as Linda Drysdale)
Michael Shannon (as Walt Thrombey)
Don Johnson (as Richard Drysdale)
Toni Collette (as Joni Thrombey)
LaKeith Stanfield (as Lieutenant Elliott)
Christopher Plummer (as Harlan Thrombey)
Jaeden Martell (the kid from IT) (as Jacob Thrombey)

Mind Blown!!!

Everyone one BROUGHT IT!!

Not in a competitive but a complimentary way.

Chris Evans has proven there are good roles after Captain America.

Christopher Plummer is still so good.

Ana de Armas a relatively new actress and went toe to toe with all these veteran actors!!

Daniel Craig, why I do declare, is he s southern colonel here!!?!

I don't want to spoil this for you.

Watch this.

You will not regret it

My Two Sen

Mickey C
post Mar 27 2020, 03:28 PM

616 posts

Bloodshot (2020) - Eiza González, she has a nice body....
Anna (2019) - I like it.... Sasha Luss, thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
Ma (2019) - rclxs0.gif good entertainment..

Hotel Mumbai (2018) - thumbsup.gif
Sniper: Ghost Shooter (2016) - good actions sniper movie...

It Chapter Two (2019) - rclxs0.gif thumbsup.gif
Ford v Ferrari (2019) - filled with energy, very very good. racing movies always give it the best. that engine revving sound is awesome, subwoofer played important role this is movie.... thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

21 Bridges (2019) - worth watching, good movie.. thumbup.gif
Point Blank (2019) - another dirty cops movies, but 21 Bridges is far more better.... thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Apr 4 2020, 12:35 PM
ThalaFan
post Mar 27 2020, 07:48 PM

Central Intelligence: strictly one time watchable. Plot could've been better (if there ever was) though comedy was quite ok.

r2t2
post Mar 28 2020, 10:36 AM

155 posts

The Gentlemen (2019)

Guy Ritchie returning to form ... to his British gangster genre that made him well-known, starting with Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.

Please disregard what those critics were saying, apparently non-critics (majority, us) think the film is a hoot.

Can't remember when a mainstream movie got one of the main characters swearing in Hokkien ...
(The character supposed to be a Cantonese, but I guess Henry Golding couldn't help but to infuse a bit of his Malaysian influence)

Hugh Grant is good ... he should be cast more in grey/villainous roles like this (Cloud Atlas, and Paddington also came to mind).
Matthew McConaughey, smooth as always.
Charlie Hunnam, good sidekick (now with guns, not sword).
Jeremy Strong ... strong from his Succession TV series performance, a bit underplayed here, the character didn't get crazy enuf, but still okay.
Colin Farrell ... didn't get too crazy, just nice.
Michelle Dockery ... the rose among the thorns. IMDB trivia said Kate Beckinsale originally was cast, but couldn't make it.

All in all, a great ensemble of cast, wouldn't be surprised they might be nominated for SAG.

I like the way the film is narrated, with some cinema/filmmaking lingo included ...
, although the plots are not too unpredictable.
This time the characters are more refined and less crass, maybe hence the title.

I hope Guy Ritchie will continue to do this kind of England/London-grounded films with quick-witted dialogues (his Sherlock Holmes films did have his style) ....
Thinking back of his previous similar films ... didn't really like Snatch (2000) the first time I watched it ... rewatching it after few years, I see what the raves were about.
Although RocknRolla (2008) was panned, I quite like it too. Even the short from BMW films, his directed segment called Star (starring his ex-wife, and Clive Owen), was hilarious.

So, ladies and gentlemen, do give the film a shot, and you might find your evening entertained.
skylinelover
post Mar 28 2020, 01:02 PM

11,248 posts

Haha deng

Not a fan of britishey flicks but may give a shot since lock down already cleared all my watch list in 1 go laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 4 2020, 10:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Dolittle (2020)

I am actually flabbergasted...

Why?

The original movie, Doctor Dolittle (1967) did NOTHING at the box office...

Dr. Dolittle (1998) did okay, with Eddie Murphy.

What possess Robert Downey Jr to think that pumping his own money to make this movie, with him as the starer and the movie would make a mint?

Worst off, the whole movie, if you look at the movie poster, that is all Robert Downey Jr. did... Bored out of his mind...

Okay, I get he is trying to get the next generation opportunities

Namely, Harry Collett as Tommy Stubbins.

Okay, so he and Tom Holland hit is off in Spiderman.

I get it, it is good to have new blood to bounce things off...

It is a shame, the movie actually looks gorgeous (Robert Downey Jr. money at work) and have to add, everything else is just so .... meh...

My Two Sen
ThalaFan
post Apr 4 2020, 10:44 PM

Anyone have watched Gangs of London? How is the film?
defaultname365
post Apr 5 2020, 12:51 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

The Gentlemen (2019)
Could have been better perhaps on the action front, great acting chops from the leads, Henry Golding's character is a welcomed one while overall the way the film is told is quite unique.
7.5/10

Onward (2020)
Not the best of PIXAR films, but it certainly has heart. The act before the final part but underwhelming and the jokes weren't even that funny. Luckily, the ending was a saving grace and is what you would come to expect from a PIXAR film (...the ending only). Overall though, didn't really think it was that great and a skipping it wouldn't be a bad idea. Didn't really feel much for the supporting characters.
7/10

Vivarium (2019)
I love mindf*** films tongue.gif This was definitely one of it. Apparently the reception was quite divisive and I can see why. Great acting performance from Imogen Poots while Jesse Eisenberg plays Jesse Eisenberg as usual. Very unique idea and I liked the whole 'loop' thing, though I can't say this was never done before. The execution was effective. The ending will not give you the answers you had from the beginning, but at least it does shed some light as to the 'exact nature' of what happened. Go watch it if you like to tease your brains a bit + sci-fi fan.
8/10

The Call of the Wild (2020)
At first I was disappointed with the use of CGI, but as the movie went on, you kinda embraced the dogs in CGI. Seem more proportioned towards younger audiences as most of the action were 'animal humor/comical situations'. I thought it would be a full blown eye watering kinda relationship but it wasn't the case. If you love animal films and well, Harrison Ford (don't we all), you can watch this though I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for something with a more impactful animal-human story.
7/10

Underwater (2020)
I was a little hesitant to watch this due to the reception and the comparison to Alien, but this is a real surprise. Kirsten Stewart delivers a decent performance while the whole premise of being trapped under the sea plot was quite effective. Thanks to some stellar direction, you may not love the supporting cast but the clever use of action set pieces and the use of the suit POV (the suit is really cool) seem to really help drive their roles respectively. This is like The Abyss + Alien meets 47 Meters Down. The film may get tedious, but eventually does build up towards a huge final act. Surprised to learn who the 'character' was in the final act (hint: H.P. Lovecraft). I kinda liked the ending... it does leave you thinking 'wow'. The other creatures that popped up more often were your run-of-the-mill generic sea monsters.
8/10

skylinelover
post Apr 8 2020, 12:20 PM

11,248 posts

2012 (2009)

Ultimate guilty pleasure classic disaster

You will think again about lockdown after watching this

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Story 5/10 Action 9/10
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 8 2020, 02:13 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Talk about slowpoking laugh.gif

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 8 2020, 12:20 PM)
2012 (2009)

Ultimate guilty pleasure classic disaster

You will think again about lockdown after watching this

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Story 5/10 Action 9/10
Mickey C
post Apr 8 2020, 09:06 PM

616 posts

6 Underground (2019) - Another Michael Bay action movie.
47 Meters Down: Uncaged (2019) - Girls just kept on screaming... doh.gif

Batman and Harley Quinn (2017) - funny Harley..... rclxs0.gif
Underwater (2020) - I enjoyed watching this movie, oh sub woofer really pushing well...
Joker (2019) - OMG! JOKER, is the best film, outstanding & solid performance, truly powerful film, good soundtrack. thumbup.gif

The Fatal Raid (2019) - what is happening to this movie...
Altered Carbon: Resleeved (2020) - Good ninja fighting sense... thumbsup.gif

Brightburn (2019) - scary movie
Frozen II (2019) - not bad la..

Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018) - awesome movie better than Frozen II
Freaks (2018) - full of suspense, superb... worth watching..

Furie (2019) - Great martial arts
Noah (2014) - Not for everybody....

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Apr 16 2020, 08:37 PM
Mickey C
post Apr 8 2020, 09:10 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 5 2020, 12:51 AM)

Vivarium (2019)
I love mindf*** films  tongue.gif  This was definitely one of it. Apparently the reception was quite divisive and I can see why. Great acting performance from Imogen Poots while Jesse Eisenberg plays Jesse Eisenberg as usual. Very unique idea and I liked the whole 'loop' thing, though I can't say this was never done before. The execution was effective. The ending will not give you the answers you had from the beginning, but at least it does shed some light as to the 'exact nature' of what happened. Go watch it if you like to tease your brains a bit + sci-fi fan.
8/10

8/10
TQ, well watch Vivarium one day..
Mov_freak
post Apr 19 2020, 02:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jojo Rabbit (2019)

It is very hard to be original nowadays.

Who would have thunk, the person who I thought destroyed the Thor Movies, Taika Waititi, would develop a parody of WWII, which I would like.

The concept of a WWII parody movie isn't original. Just think Life Is Beautiful (1997) and Inglorious Basterds (2009, wow, that was 11 years back).

What Taika Waititi managed to achieve with this WWII parody through a fresh pair of eyes...

Instead of an amusing Jewish father, with a positive sense of humor or rewriting history from the perspective of America, this movie shows how, in wars, the characters are not one/two dimensional. There are many facets to a person... People do things in life, to... survive. Person are sometime "victims" of circumstance (eg from a perspective of a Nazi??)

I know, believe me, I am as surprised as you are, as I am typing this.

This is an excellent movie.

Will I revisit this again, probably not, because of the subject matter, and also because of what happens to Scarlet Johannson's character, that hit too close to home...

Having said that, it does not reduce how good a movie is.

I do not read up too much on movies that I have not seen, nowadays, so movie can still surprise me.

I am very glad I did that, because this movie, really a jolt to me.

If you have not watch this, I strongly recommend that you do.

My To Sen

39 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0547sec    0.44    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:49 AM