My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

defaultname365
post Jun 17 2019, 02:41 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jun 8 2019, 03:42 PM)
Dark Phoenix (2019) - very good, maybe i'm X Men fans...  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Good for you... I wouldn't dare spend money watching in cinema something with that kind of reception though.

I'll watch later and see how good is good.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jun 17 2019, 02:41 PM
defaultname365
post Jul 1 2019, 10:37 AM

1,098 posts

Pet Sematary (2019)

Lack of horror scares, relying mostly on jump scares with a somewhat predictable story. There were just a couple of truly horrifying scenes. Execution/direction wise is pretty decent. The acting performances from the main cast was convincing as well. Heard it is better than the 1989 film, so that's a good thing I guess.

Overall a decent horror flick but nothing too memorable. Worth a watch if you're aching for a horror fix.

At best this is a 6/10.
defaultname365
post Nov 21 2019, 12:11 PM

1,098 posts

Frozen 2 (2019)

Hmmm... where to begin.

First of all, living up to "Frozen" (2013) is going to be mighty challenging so expectations would be quite high.

And secondly, "Let It Go" - - - how do you top this song? biggrin.gif

The sequel sees our gang going on an adventure through an enchanted forest. Great animation work as always, the voice acting is there, Olaf shines yet again, and some sparkly stuff thrown here and there haha...

Not really into Disney Princesses films but Disney does know how to keep adult's attention and it certainly does here. Most of the humor are still geared for kids. I heard kids laughing the most tongue.gif It's great fun and this time around, the

plot is definitely darker.

So what is there to fault? Well, I wasn't fond of the musical numbers. Compared to the first, this one is "Just OK" to me. Nothing remotely close to "Let It Go".

The other thing I didn't really like was the constant 'sombre' tone throughout - - some joy scattered but mostly dark tones. It does get better but overall, quite a moody / emo film sweat.gif

Expected more, but what I got was OK at best.

The ending (no spoilers) - - I didn't like it. At one point I thought, "That's it?" confused.gif

It is good, but not great.

At best a 7.5/10
defaultname365
post Nov 21 2019, 02:37 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 21 2019, 12:51 PM)
Haha quick get away movie after office i guess laugh.gif laugh.gif
Yes tongue.gif One of the good things of having office 1 minute away from cinema biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post Nov 23 2019, 04:18 PM

1,098 posts

Abrupt ending... that's how I felt how the film ended. A film can be short with a nice ending, but Frozen 2's ending was abrupt. sweat.gif

Really, the sequel is totally inferior to the first one. I will be amazed if anyone manages to find it better than the first especially the musical numbers / tone tongue.gif
defaultname365
post Dec 22 2019, 03:32 PM

1,098 posts

Jojo Rabbit

A beautiful film set in WWII Germany told from the view point of an innocent kid who thinks he is a Nazi extremist with Hitler appearing as his imagination tongue.gif

What I thought was going to be a straightforward laugh-out-loud funny parody of the era, turns out to be a lot more than that and some moments really can hit you hard.

There's an unexpected turn in the movie that I did not see coming which is great as it keep the movie a lot more interesting to the end.

Definitely recommended and one of the most enjoyable films of the year, another solid work from Taika.

A lot of meaningful themes and lessons to be had from this film especially this day and age.

9/10
defaultname365
post Apr 5 2020, 12:51 AM

1,098 posts

The Gentlemen (2019)
Could have been better perhaps on the action front, great acting chops from the leads, Henry Golding's character is a welcomed one while overall the way the film is told is quite unique.
7.5/10

Onward (2020)
Not the best of PIXAR films, but it certainly has heart. The act before the final part but underwhelming and the jokes weren't even that funny. Luckily, the ending was a saving grace and is what you would come to expect from a PIXAR film (...the ending only). Overall though, didn't really think it was that great and a skipping it wouldn't be a bad idea. Didn't really feel much for the supporting characters.
7/10

Vivarium (2019)
I love mindf*** films tongue.gif This was definitely one of it. Apparently the reception was quite divisive and I can see why. Great acting performance from Imogen Poots while Jesse Eisenberg plays Jesse Eisenberg as usual. Very unique idea and I liked the whole 'loop' thing, though I can't say this was never done before. The execution was effective. The ending will not give you the answers you had from the beginning, but at least it does shed some light as to the 'exact nature' of what happened. Go watch it if you like to tease your brains a bit + sci-fi fan.
8/10

The Call of the Wild (2020)
At first I was disappointed with the use of CGI, but as the movie went on, you kinda embraced the dogs in CGI. Seem more proportioned towards younger audiences as most of the action were 'animal humor/comical situations'. I thought it would be a full blown eye watering kinda relationship but it wasn't the case. If you love animal films and well, Harrison Ford (don't we all), you can watch this though I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for something with a more impactful animal-human story.
7/10

Underwater (2020)
I was a little hesitant to watch this due to the reception and the comparison to Alien, but this is a real surprise. Kirsten Stewart delivers a decent performance while the whole premise of being trapped under the sea plot was quite effective. Thanks to some stellar direction, you may not love the supporting cast but the clever use of action set pieces and the use of the suit POV (the suit is really cool) seem to really help drive their roles respectively. This is like The Abyss + Alien meets 47 Meters Down. The film may get tedious, but eventually does build up towards a huge final act. Surprised to learn who the 'character' was in the final act (hint: H.P. Lovecraft). I kinda liked the ending... it does leave you thinking 'wow'. The other creatures that popped up more often were your run-of-the-mill generic sea monsters.
8/10

defaultname365
post May 27 2020, 09:21 AM

1,098 posts

Revenge (2017)

Thriller-revenge type film. Highly effective direction and superb acting from the lead actress. It is one of the bloodiest [no spoiler] end sequence I've seen. Highly recommended if you're into this genre. It may be slow paced for some but to me, it was incredibly effective as this helps to get into the mindset of the whole revenge.
9/10

The Guest (2014)

Think Jack Reacher + Taken + Kingsman... this one is for the action fans. A really stellar action flick that is really well made - - I love the ambiguity of the main character; it actually never really dwells into "Why he is the way he is". You get hints of it, but it is never explicitly revealed which is something I love (apparently they did a test audience and decided to remove these bits). The action when it kicks off it is incredible but not on an overly large scale - more of a 'skirmish'. I've seen Dan Stevens previous works but this one really stands out.
9/10

The Willoughbys (2020)

I see Ricky Gervais' name, I watch tongue.gif This is a heart warming and 'Looney Tunes' style 3D animated flick. If you are fan of "Despicable Me" then this is right up your alley. Maybe it's me but I felt the overall story to be quite familiar (perhaps the book adaptation for this had inspired other films). Overall really humorous and a welcomed one especially this day and age where animated films tend to favor realism. This is one wacky ride worth checking out.
8/10

defaultname365
post Oct 25 2020, 08:16 PM

1,098 posts

Borat Subsequent Movie Film (2020)

If you didn't like the first one, you should skip this. But if you're OK with over-the-top humour that may cross the line, go for it!
I didn't expect the sequel to be as good as the first, but surprise, surprise, it was. Instead of a one-man Borat show, it was Borat
and his daughter traveling the States doing the most ridiculous things with real life reactions. A great follow up and highly
recommended for those who love the character of Borat. Oh, and I was curious to see Rudy "Rudolph" Giuliani in action biggrin.gif
9/10

Love and Monsters (2020)

Decent story line and remarkably good CGI make this a fun watch. It's well made but the ending was a little meh in my opinion.
If you're a fan of "monster movies" with some heart, worth checking out. It does open up for a sequel.
8/10

American Murder: The Family Next Door (2020)

I didn't quite know the story of Shannan and her kids, so the revelation as to who the perpetrator was, was quite shocking. I literally
couldn't stop thinking about what was done to the little kids. As a fan of investigate process / forensics, this one is among the best
I've seen. The clever use of text messages and recorded FB / social media content really makes you understand the character of these
individuals. Highly recommended.
9/10
defaultname365
post Nov 14 2020, 02:28 AM

1,098 posts

Long list...

The Witches (2020)
Great performances from the cast, great for kids but doesn't have say, the level of Disney magic. It's a remake of the 1990 film that was based on the novel. Overall, it's OK nothing special.
7/10

Sponge On The Run (2020)
I was looking forward to this since announcement and finally did see it. I was hoping it would be as good as "Sponge Out of Water" and it kinda was, but wasn't as good as the previous film. The speech towards the end was quite emotional laugh.gif Totally worth watching for Spongebob fans!
8/10

Possessor (2020)
Brandon Cronenberg's works (though limited) are always visceral. This is no different. Hyper violent and mixed with surrealism, this one will definitely get your sci-fi mind going. Worth watching.
8/10

His House (2020)
I really enjoyed this horror flick... and it's definitely one of the better ones in recent times. High praise to the main two leads and effective use of jump-scares. It also angles on migrant issues which is a rarity for a horror genre.
9/10

Spell (2020)
Another 'horror' type film. It was OK, highly predictable but overall a fun watch. Nothing really memorable but it was entertaining and never boring.
7.5/10

Aliens (1986)
While flicking through Netflix, I watched this... I know I had seen it as a kid but can't remember much. It's better than the first and definitely has some good Alien-on-Human action especially towards that heart-stomping ending. Highly recommended (I guess you already know that).
9/10

The Craft Legacy (2020)
Oh dear. David Duchovny is in this film... and it feels like he doesn't want to be in it! tongue.gif Bad acting, subpar plot and terrible CGI make this almost a direct-to-DVD type film. I think Cailee Spaeny did a decent job but overall, the film was below average. Skip.
4/10

Jungleland (2020)
It's a boxing-sport-action type film but more towards action thriller drama. Worth watching if you're a fan of this genre. Great acting performances from the cast. Overall an enjoyable watch but nothing really memorable. Jessica Barden did a really good job with her character.
7/10

Unhinged (2020)
This movie is about a man that has a road rage > 9000 level. It's a really, really fun watch, as you see Russell Crowe do damage at anything that comes in his way. It's not that meaty or with substance, just some good old fashioend beat-em-up'. This movie reminds me of "God Bless America (2011)" that I highly recommend watching if you enjoyed this.
7.5/10

Mulan (2020)
Overall the live-action adaptation was decent but I felt they 'chopped' the movie up quite a bit as most of the characters lack depth. The omittance of Mushu is a real shame (but they have a Phoenix / shape-shifting baddie?) because I thought, this was a grounded to reality film. I had no idea there was a supernatural aspect to it! sweat.gif It is not bad but not great either. Nice to see a cameo from Ming-Na Wen.
8/10

The New Mutants (2020)
Oh dear... this is bad. After numerous delays it is finally released and it turned out to be (in my opinion) even worse than X-Men Dark Phoenix. CG was decent but the story is horribly thin. I was like "That's it??" at the end. Skip this.
4/10

On the Rocks (2020)
Always liked Rashida Jones' performance (Parks & Rec / The Office) and of course Bill Murray. Nice to see Marlon Wayans in a more serious role. It's dialogue heavy and a slow burner but you'll be rewarded if you were rooting for the main character Laura. A24 films rarely has a misstep.
8/10
defaultname365
post Dec 8 2020, 09:57 PM

1,098 posts

Another long list...

Greenland (2020)
Did you see the film "2012"? If so, then this is almost the same except downgraded... another Gerard "no-other-better-film-project-to-do-so-I'm-doing-this" Butler movie. It's decent, but really average when compared to "2012".
6/10

Come Away (2020)
It's Alice In Wonderland, except there's no wonder at all. Seemingly pointless to the point where I'm hoping something at least happens in the end but no... if you can guess from the start what the story is, then you'll be sorely disappointed. Honestly didn't find it enchanting even when it tried.
5/10

Chick Fight (2020)
Women power! Malin Akerman delivers a decent performance in this comedy worth checking out. It's a bit SJW... but overall, it was quite entertaining though it's been done before countless times.
6.5/10

Jiu Jitsu (2020)
puke.gif Nicolas Cage - please, stop. This is cheapskate Halloween Predator version. Story? What story? CGI looks like pre-viz instead of final cut.
2/10

Run (2020)
Fantastic. Really enjoyed this one. It has an M Night Shyamalan feel to it. Newcomer Kiera Allen delivers a stunningly believable performance in this thriller film with Sarah Paulson. Highly recommended for thriller/horror fans. Nice twist too. If you enjoyed "Searching", you will absolutely love this (and like wise). I googled later about Kiera Allen and was shocking.gif about her actual condition. She has a great acting future ahead!
8.5/10

Dreamland (2019)
Pretty decent I guess... it's a bit formulaic, guy falls for girl but is a criminal, they fight for freedom... you get the idea. Predictable ending but worth checking out.
7/10

The Lego Star Wars Holiday Special (2020)
Started average at best, felt like another rushed Holiday special that was going to butcher the series but surprisingly, it wasn't. If you're a Star Wars fan, you'll get to see plenty of references and callbacks to the original and the prequels. It has a runtime of about 45 minutes, so it's kinda like an extended TV episode. Overall doesn't add much but it's a fun watch.
6.5/10

The Nest (2020)
This was an interesting film. I went in not knowing what it was about (horror? thriller?) but turned out pleasantly surprised. It's a mix of horror & thriller to be honest lol, as the film doesn't give you all the answers but keeps you wondering from start to finish. Jude Law delivers a great performance. Overall worth watching if you're a fan of the genre.
8/10

Fatman (2020)
Very interesting premise, but fails to deliver the goods. This is the bloody version of Santa Claus (complete with 'little helpers'). I thought Mel Gibson did quite well but it's such a wasted opportunity as the film doesn't really take off. You get to see some decent gunplay but overall I expected a lot more considering how rare we get this kind of treatment to the 'Christmas' spirit tongue.gif
6.5/10

Boss Level (2020)
Roy Pulver is a man that dies and then gets revived, and he gets to 'play' this over and over again, each time getting closer to his goal. It's "Edge of Tomorrow" meets video game madness. I kinda liked it, but didn't really feel fulfilled with how it ended. Overall a fun watch but it can great repetitive (though intended) as you don't really care much for the characters.
6/10

Alien Covenant (2017)
I re-watched Alien, Aliens, Alien 3 and Alien Resurrection recently and decided to watch this. I guess I now know why fans hated "Prometheus" as it didn't deliver the Alien kicking action and story they wanted. "Covenant" tries to be better and to me, it really does deliver the Alien action fans enjoyed but overall, it still harkens onto the David-story line from "Prometheus" (which is a little surprising) while the newer version "Walter" takes center stage. I skipped "Covenant" in cinemas but I did watch it later on, though I could barely remember much of it until now. I hope there's a third post-Alien Resurrection film that completes the David/Walter story line.
7.5/10

Let Him Go (2020)
Nice hidden gem. Kevin Costner and Diane Lane once again play husband-wife with really good chemistry. I really felt the connection between the parents and the daughter-in-law while the friction with the in-laws really get to you... and I mean really get to you in the most uncomfortable of ways. It's bloody, it's violent and it's really heart aching. Nice ending... quite memorable. Recommended!
8.5/10

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 8 2020, 10:00 PM
defaultname365
post Nov 5 2021, 10:19 PM

1,098 posts

Alamak, 50% on RT for Eternals... I'd rather see Shang Chi at this point (haven't seen it, streaming coming way sooner than I thought Nov 12).

Eternals set to be the lowest rated MCU film but fans seem to like it way more.
defaultname365
post May 22 2022, 01:19 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Apr 19 2022, 08:19 PM)

Please don't sit on this movie, take a leap of faith and walk out from theater with a satisfying smile guaranteed. It's more than just a silly comedy.
Just watched this (not at the cinema though) and holy cow... what a bloody damn good movie. Exceptionally good acting, editing work and a superbly heartful story mixed with plenty of comedic elements.

This undoubtedly is one of the best films I've seen this year.

My mind is still reverberating with scenes from the movie.

And (no spoilers) the way it ended after all that multiversal journey, really really moved me.
defaultname365
post May 24 2022, 04:10 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 22 2022, 09:20 AM)
Just found out, they initially wanted Jackie Chan. Thank god it didn't come true. Otherwise my enjoyment of the film severely unsatisfactory. I know a lot of fans still regard him a cinema hero. Not a fan of him ever since he became a CCP mouthpiece.
It was already a perfect cast, I feel if they added "another super famous" actor like Jackie Chan it would take some light away from Michelle Yeoh (no offence to Jackie Chan fans).

Btw, possibly an easter egg, the multiverse sequence of Evelyn:

defaultname365
post May 3 2023, 10:59 PM

1,098 posts

Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 3

It's been awhile since I watched a Marvel film in the cinema. The last one I watched was "Dr. Strange In The Multiverse of Madness" like a year ago (time flies!). Skipped the next 3 films largely due to the reception. Later when I did get to watch them - - it was as I expected, underwhelming. The last one, "Quantumania" was really mediocre IMO sweat.gif Even the CGI was super inconsistent and Kang was reduced to like a run-of-the-mill villain that plagued some of the early Marvel films (after all the hype he provided us from "Loki").

Well, this time around, I thought it had to be special since not only was James Gunn returning (one last time for a Marvel film?) but it's also a farewell to the gang. I'm quite confident though, Star-Lord or one of the characters will reappear in the future (only watched the mid-credits scene, later I shall check the post-credits scene).

I went in with a cautious expectation (the last I checked on RT it was sitting at 79%, no audience score yet) so I felt safe since it was at least going to be good.

Well, in many ways, I think it surpassed my expectations. It was emotional in places, funny (the last few Marvel films felt forced), the world building was superb (especially the flesh planet that was reminiscence of the superb Eidos-Montréal Guardians of the Galaxy game that was released in 2021) and the ridiculous intentional background characters. There were even suits/armor that looked straight out of Power Rangers yet it felt right tongue.gif

Clocking in at around 2 1/2 hours, I was surprised it didn't feel draggy or boring. There were barely any lengthy conversations or stop-gaps for the next phase of action, it was just non-stop fun. It felt like the older Marvel films to be honest that had that MCU magic.

As for the emotional bits:

As for the hype about Adam Warlock, I felt the writers (it was James Gunn only I think) didn't really know how to utilize him fully. I believe there were already too many things happening in Vol. 3, that Adam Warlock felt like a passer-by hero/villain-type thing. The scene where he was flying around was similar to Supes flying in "Man of Steel" which was super cool but unfortunately, there weren't many scenes of him doing that. Overall, I feel a little mixed about Adam Warlock's appearance though it was never a bad thing.

Cosmo the Spacedog was done and utilized well. I recognized that distinct voice almost immediately haha.. (voiced by Maria Bakalova, and heard she also provided mo-cap for it).

CGI was exceptional -- I noticed some jarring and inconsistent CGI in "Wakanda Forever" and "Quantumania" but this time around, it was superb.

Overall, this feels like a return to Marvel classic story-telling and humor. Did it feel like a farewell? Somewhat. I think we'll see more of the characters in the future but the gang itself I doubt it.

This one gets a nice 8.5/10 from me. Not really a must watch, but highly recommended if you want a return to form with what made you love the Marvel films in the first place.

defaultname365
post Nov 3 2023, 10:47 PM

1,098 posts

Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour (2023)

If you need one sentence to sum it up, it's this: If you're a Taylor Swift fan, this is an unmissable performance.

Almost 3 hours long (also thanks to my cinema having issues with the video twice, each time they rewinded 5–10 minutes before the issue) with an astonishing count (my own count) of 35 songs.

The Eras Tour, if you haven't already known, encompasses her "major" songs from each album, including surprises from her self-titled album all the way from 2006, right up to Midnights.

The amount of effort that went into this Tour is mind-boggling. If you're a movie aficionado, you know the amount of work it takes to shoot a script, and live play is way more complicated with many moving and intricate pieces.

Now think high-octane music, set design, lights, performers, and interaction with the stage elements—all happening at breakneck speeds, one after the other.

I don't know if the real live tour has any "breaks" or intentional "pauses", but here the level of moving pieces (metaphorically & literally) sequentially is incredible.

I enjoyed "Reputation", "Red", "1989" and the super-sultry "Midnights" eras the most.

Cinema-wise, apart from the video issue I mentioned, the video clarity was impeccable & the audio was great, though still not in-person concert-level (Red Tour 2014, that will forever be etched in my memory).

But... this will be the closest some of us will get to being on her Eras tour, from the comfort of our local cinemas, unless you are flying to South America, Australia, Europe or even Singapore tongue.gif

Overall, this is a very memorable experience and a must-watch for Swift fans, though if you enjoy concert films in general, this one is worth experiencing.

I'm glad I (or rather, we) got the chance to watch it on the big screen especially after the initial scare that it might never be here. I know for a fact that watching it later on streaming or video services will NOT do justice.

10/10

One of the best "cinema" experience for me this year, and definitely the best concert film I've seen in a cinema thus far. Memorable to the last bit.
defaultname365
post May 26 2024, 02:12 AM

1,098 posts

Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024)

Watched it a week ago. I thought the reboot trilogy ended beautifully and there was no more story to tell. It's a brilliant idea to do a time jump. Overall, I feel they have gotten the formula right with this (supposedly) reboot sequel trilogy.
The CGI still holds up really well (nothing groundbreaking but still stellar), with mo-cap performances that Andy Serkis would be proud of and most importantly a story that is worth telling. Highly recommended if you love the reboot trilogy
and can't get enough of the apes. Some pacing issues but not a big deal as the story holds up beautifully right until the end.

8/10

Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga (2024)

What a lovely day prequel! Anya Taylor-Joy and Chris Hemsworth performances are nothing short of extraordinary. It's a very worthy prequel to Fury Road. The action sequences and stunts were as good as Fury Road. However, I must say,
you might be wondering "why" and "what" if you didn't watch Fury Road. There's way too many references, callbacks and backstory that lays down the trajectory for Fury Road. You will still enjoy it, but you would not be able to truly appreciate it
without seeing Fury Road. Overall, for me, this is one of the best movies of the year I've seen, and I watched it on IMAX (I can't recall when was the last movie I watched on IMAX to be honest... probably pre-pandemic) and it was truly memorable.
It's a revenge story set in the wastelands with non-stop chase sequences and vehicular combat. George Miller has done it again though I will still say that Fury Road gets my vote over which is "better" (this is a prequel so comparing
the two may not be entirely fair to be honest). No noticeable footage was cut for Malaysian audiences, but some artwork being blocked out, no biggie. I think it's worth watching on IMAX, to me it was worth the ticket admission. Do I feel the urge to rewatch it again?
Probably not. Fury Road... I watched 3 times back in 2015; once on IMAX, second time on D-Box, and third on regular, and remains one of the best action movies ever made. cool2.gif

9/10
defaultname365
post Aug 17 2025, 11:54 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Aug 9 2025, 10:15 AM)

The guy who brought us Barbarian, his latest doesn't disappoint. Rumors has it bitter bidding war behind the scenes for getting this movie made. The jizz is the mystery of missing students but unravel via Rashomon type of storytelling. Each iteration of the account intensifies as the main culprit came to the surface. Good watch with enough suspense and some masterful jump scare. Great cast who brings in the horror and surprised humor to drive the movie.
Watched it yesterday. For fans of horror/thriller/suspense/mystery, this is highly recommended. Zach Cregger delivers yet another brilliant movie after Barbarian. I cannot wait to see his take on the Resident Evil reboot.

The cast is excellent, the acting strong and I loved how the characters’ stories are told from their own perspectives before converging toward the end. It kept me guessing the whole way through, and the trailer wisely gave very little away.

Definitely one of the strongest films I’ve seen this year.

I’d rate it a 9/10

P/S: Due to commitments I couldn’t catch it last week and by this week the number of showings had already dropped a lot (at least in my area). Catch it while you still can.

0.0746sec    0.39    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:50 AM