39 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

6so
post May 19 2020, 05:43 PM

135 posts

Think the writers did a very good job of condensing the last few New 52 of JL's arc. Granted they are footnotes of meatier materials. Batman acquiring the Morbius chair differently but quite effective in its usage as plot mechanic. The really smart thing they did is the plot driven by second tier character like Constantine and Dark Raven. It frees up preconceived expectations if the storyline being shepherd by the expected trinity heroes. It allows them to go crazy with the dark undertones as you are seeing it from a more conflicting circumstances.

Suppose the next crops of animation will be based on DC Rebirth timeline. Will they accumulate to the Watchmen Vs JL? Watching Dr. Manhattan took down the entire JL is an epic eye candy proposition.
Mov_freak
post May 19 2020, 10:31 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Trolls World Tour (2020)

Director: Walt Dohrn

Voice Actors: Anna Kendrick, Justin Timberlake, James Corden, Sam Rockwell, Kelly Clarkson and many many more...

This is basically one continuous music video, one after another, squandering all the talents above...

Why????

And having Kenan Thompson as Tiny Diamond, a comic relieve, in a basically light-hearted, techno-colored, endless music videos, is just so... pointless.

So in short, lots of talents in an ultra sugar coated MTV.

You should have a glazed over look on your face while you watch this.

And after viewing, I don't think you can recall anything you had just watched...

Am I making sense...

My Two Sen...
Mov_freak
post May 19 2020, 10:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Scoob! (2020)

Okay!

Another V.O.D. animation (well at least in the States), this time spreadheaded by Scooby Doo.

Another origins movie (about how Scooby Dobby Doo and Shaggy ended up as besties)

Truth to be told, there really is no reason for any form of continuity for Scooby and Gang, each has its merit (or otherwise) and truthfully, I... am getting ahead of myself!

It does actually channel the "spirit" of the original Scooby Doo TV series and surprisingly, updates the different characters to more present day environment...

This movie is also attempting to expend the universe of Scooby Doo (basically all the Hanna Barbera series, may in the future, appear in Scooby Doo as well), which is great!

Scooby Doo's... heritage is surprisingly also touch on, and what a heritage it is!

Who knows, maybe in the next one, Shaggy's heritage maybe revealed!

II actually enjoyed this.

I hope they make more, along the lines of this, in the future.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post May 21 2020, 09:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Call Of The Wild (2020)

A movie, is a tool to tell a story (which I believe alot of director have forgotten how to do one properly).

A book is also a tool to tell a story.

There are differences between the two,

1). A "Hollywood" movie is usually 1 and a half hour to 3 hours. They usually have 3 acts. They almost always have a handsome lead actor and lead actress and in alot of case, they end up together at the end. Whereas in a book, some might argue as formula to them nowadays, I feel has more freedom and writers can allow their imagine run wild.

2). The viewer, at least in the cinema, usually absorb the story in one seating. The book can been put down when the reader, gets bored, does not agree with the book or time does not allow the reader to continue.

3). Movie is constrain by budget, and therefore what it can put on the screen A book can be as big as they want, as weird as they want and as alien as they want, as long as the writer does not run out of ink and paper...

So there are differences between the two media.

Why am I going on and on about this.

There is a love/hate relationship between a book and movie.

Books are often adapted for movies.

And movies, can inspired continuation in books.

This movie is a book to movie adaptation.

It is NOT the first book to movie adaption and have to add, it is one of the more complete, meaning the whole book is adapted into this one movie.

And boy is it a well done job.

Absolutely gorgeous production.

Harrison Ford had not lead a movie for sometime now, and he still "got it".

There are complains that all the dogs here are C.G.I.ed and the complain it that they should have shot it with real life dogs.

The directors of this movie specifically wanted to tell the story from the P.O.V. of Buck (the main dog) and I do not think a really dog could have achieve what the C.G.I dog did.

It is unfortunate that the movie was release just as most countries when into Lockdown (and hence the cinemas were closed down)

Because otherwise,, this would have made way more money that it did.

I strongly recommend you watch this.

You will enjoy it.

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 21 2020, 09:50 PM
skylinelover
post May 22 2020, 12:12 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

Haha dont know if i can watch the ford small screen movies after being exposed with multiple viewings of his 3 biggest popcorn franchises in his career indiana jones blade runner 1st and 2049 lastly star wars 4-6😂😂🤣🤣

This post has been edited by skylinelover: May 22 2020, 12:13 PM
Mov_freak
post May 22 2020, 05:44 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 22 2020, 12:12 PM)
Haha dont know if i can watch the ford small screen movies after being exposed with multiple viewings of his 3 biggest popcorn franchises in his career indiana jones blade runner 1st and 2049 lastly star wars 4-6😂😂🤣🤣
It actually added to it.

I just finished Stars Wars in 4k myself

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 26 2020, 07:51 PM
Mov_freak
post May 26 2020, 06:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Sonic the Hedgehog (2020)

Director: Jeff Fowler

Stars: Ben Schwartz, James Marsden, Jim Carrey, Tika Sumpter

2020, has been a... bummer so far.

Having said that, for what movies we were able to get so far, has turned out to be... good!

I had been putting off this movie for a while, because believe it or not, the awful awful Mario Bros. movie is still burn into my brains.

I overcame my fear and gave it a spin yesterday, and found myself absolutely entertained by this.

Merit where merit is due, this movie would not be half as entertaining, without the quirky Jim Carrey as Dr. Robotnik.

He is back in his goofy glory, for all to see!

I've missed him.

Welcome back, Jim.

Always good to see James Marsden in a movie.

I also understand from further reading that the original rendering of the C.G.I. Sonic had alot of fans up in arms...

Well, from what I can see in the movie, it is very true to it's video game counterpart, so it got fixed.

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 anyone?

My rating: 3.5 out of 5

My Two Sen
defaultname365
post May 27 2020, 09:21 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Revenge (2017)

Thriller-revenge type film. Highly effective direction and superb acting from the lead actress. It is one of the bloodiest [no spoiler] end sequence I've seen. Highly recommended if you're into this genre. It may be slow paced for some but to me, it was incredibly effective as this helps to get into the mindset of the whole revenge.
9/10

The Guest (2014)

Think Jack Reacher + Taken + Kingsman... this one is for the action fans. A really stellar action flick that is really well made - - I love the ambiguity of the main character; it actually never really dwells into "Why he is the way he is". You get hints of it, but it is never explicitly revealed which is something I love (apparently they did a test audience and decided to remove these bits). The action when it kicks off it is incredible but not on an overly large scale - more of a 'skirmish'. I've seen Dan Stevens previous works but this one really stands out.
9/10

The Willoughbys (2020)

I see Ricky Gervais' name, I watch tongue.gif This is a heart warming and 'Looney Tunes' style 3D animated flick. If you are fan of "Despicable Me" then this is right up your alley. Maybe it's me but I felt the overall story to be quite familiar (perhaps the book adaptation for this had inspired other films). Overall really humorous and a welcomed one especially this day and age where animated films tend to favor realism. This is one wacky ride worth checking out.
8/10

Mov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Black Christmas (2019)

Director: Sophia Takal

Stars: Imogen Poots, Aleyse Shannon, Lily Donoghue

Synopsis

A group of female students are stalked by a stranger during their Christmas break. That is until the young sorority pledges discover that the killer is part of an underground college conspiracy.

(Excerpt from imdb)
[QUOTE]

Strike 2

Not having any luck with horror yesterday...

Watched two "Dead on Arrival" (pardon my pun) horror in a row.

There is a movement in Hollywood amidst the Harvey Weinstein and Jeffrey Epstein scandal, of removing "toxic masculinity" from American movies, and this is THE product?

I am flabbergasted.

I am all for equality.

The emphasis here is equality

Not one dominating the other.

This is just BAD.

And by Blumhouse nevertheless...

The "cherry" on top is this is a remake, and I have not watched the original.

I may watch it and try to pin point what exactly makes a movie "toxic masculinity".

I give this a 1.5 out of 5

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:28 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Wretched (2019)

Directors: Brett Pierce, Drew T. Pierce

Stars: John-Paul Howard, Piper Curda, Jamison Jones

Synopsis

A defiant teenage boy, struggling with his parent's imminent divorce, faces off with a thousand year-old witch, who is living beneath the skin of and posing as the woman next door.

(Excerpt from imdb)

This is another direct to V.O.D. movie.

This is a low budget horror movie.

I think the McGuffin they use, is good.

I just don't think the delivery of the movie is... engaging.

Probably did not relate to any of the characters in the movie...

I rate this movie, fair, a 2.5 out of 5.

My Two Sen
cooldude17
post Jul 15 2020, 05:39 PM

693 posts

Peninsula 2020 - Train to Busan sequel.
All different casts from first episode, felt something is missing. Anyway the movie not bad at all, keep me at the edge of my seat from start till finish. The movie is very touching especially the ending part. 8/10 from me.
6so
post Jul 16 2020, 06:18 PM

135 posts

As wide releases pretty much cancel for the most part of this pandemic. Hearing or finding a good movie will be mostly in the streaming space. Palm Springs easily the best movie you never heard of. A new spin on the Groundhog Day formula that are smart and full of heart. Great chemistry of the two leads will keep you engaged and enough newer ideas on the infinite day loop that keep this flick fresh. This will put a smile on you.
skylinelover
post Jul 18 2020, 07:48 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(cooldude17 @ Jul 15 2020, 05:39 PM)
All different casts from first episode, felt something is missing. Anyway the movie not bad at all, keep me at the edge of my seat from start till finish. The movie is very touching especially the ending part. 8/10 from me.
haha itu major jane orang malaysia tau notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

at least now got somebody to compare with blackpink lisa laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 18 2020, 08:18 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Thanks for the mention; otherwise I am clueless.

Interesting sequel.

I like Gang Dong Won.

QUOTE(cooldude17 @ Jul 15 2020, 05:39 PM)
This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jul 18 2020, 08:18 AM
cooldude17
post Jul 18 2020, 12:16 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 18 2020, 07:48 AM)
haha itu major jane orang malaysia tau notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

at least now got somebody to compare with blackpink lisa laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Now I'm only knew, slowpoke me 😀. Wah important role , if Major Jane don't show up , I wonder what will happen to all the protagonists.
skylinelover
post Jul 19 2020, 04:45 PM

11,248 posts

Hahahaha

So korea start back the summer

When is hollywood then hmm.gif hmm.gif
r2t2
post Aug 9 2020, 04:49 PM

155 posts

Looks like cinema-going is very slow until a really must watch film in theater will make cinephiles risked it, like Tenet maybe.

In the meantime, most studios are releasing their films on streaming services ... wonder how Mulan would do with the extra USD30 on Disney+

Anyway, just wanna post a short review of a film on HBO Max recently ... An American Pickle starring Seth Rogen. biggrin.gif

Imho, one of Seth Rogen's best personal films ... I thought he written it himself (due to Jewish, a side mentioned of Canada, etc.), but no, the screenplay and story is by another person.

What I like is it's unpredictable storyline ... didn't go the typical fish-out-of-water way ... unpredictable also becoz never know what the old guy played by Seth Rogen will say ... I was wondering who will play the old guy's great grandson ... it's Seth Rogen again, laugh.gif which is good ... and not just a casting decision but a plot/story device.

For me, it's a bit like Forrest Gump in some parts ... a simple guy who unintentionally get support for something he did/said without really meaning it (audience hear what they wanna hear) ... then suddenly became a not-so-subtle dig at American Trump, with his social media Twitter/news 'directness' and his 'outdated/redneck' speeches still getting unusual support. 😅

Dunno why the IMDb rating is average only ... maybe most are expecting the usual Seth Rogen style of getting high comedy. It's a bit slow in the beginning, but many plots/happenings in the middle act ... but the ending a bit too short for me.
Mickey C
post Aug 20 2020, 06:10 PM

616 posts

Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan (2019) - well done...
Greyhound (2020) - amazing naval movie, worth watching.....good sound & OST was good....
Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion's Revenge (2020) - violent and brutal animated movie, good action pack... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Aug 23 2020, 08:26 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 2 2020, 08:15 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Tenet (2020)

Hello kiddies!

I hope everyone is well and staying safe.

Having said that, Tenet managed to draw me out of my shell and visit an Imax cinema today and...

My head hurts (I don't think I have Covid-19 from this outing. At least I hope not... The things I do for youse...)

It hurts because my brain had to process all THAT info to "get" the movie...

So,

In Inception his explore human's thoughts/perceptions. The Dark Knight, Nolan explored, the darkness of the human psyche. Interstellar, space and in Tenet... time?

What will he think of next? Anti matter? Black Hole?

The start of the movie, is ironic.

The real world is still in the middle of a pandemic.

And the movie begins with a pack concert hall, and not for long...

The movie grabs your attention from the first frame, and does not really let go until the last frame...

I read as little as possible about the movie, before watching it and still, I did know that Robert Pattinson and Kenneth Branagh are in it.

Even with this knowledge, I was surprise to see them, when they appeared on the screen.

I like this feeling!!

Another surprise was to see a hydrofoil catamaran working. I have NEVER seen those before (No that I am very knowledgeable about nautical stuff).

This movie is... good.

I love the casting.

I love the story.

I love the direction.

I really don't want to spoil anything for you.

I have however promise you the following.

1). There are NO Beatles tracks.

2). There are NO sparkling vampires...

I will leave you this quote

His ignorance is our only protection.

This movie supposedly cost Warner Brothers USD 205,000,000 to make.

I think with everything happening, Warner may end up with a BIG winner, in terms of movie producer this year.

Keep safe everyone.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Sep 5 2020, 01:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Mulan (2020)

The animated Mulan was released in 1998.

This live action movie is based on that animation... minus the songs, minus the Eddie Murphy Mushu (Dragon) and... humor...

To make up for what is missing, they added two new characters, namely Honghui and Xianniang.

The 1998 Mulan was Disney attempt to enter the China movie market, and the liberties/artistic licensing to Mulan's story, was received quite luke warmly, is memory serves.

Fast forward 22 years and the present day China is no longer the 1998 China.

Correctly or incorrectly, the average Chinese person sees items from America as "premium"... Armed with this knowledge, Disney is once again trying to make a mint in the Chinese marker.

To make this live action more "realistic", hence the removal of songs and talking dragon...

Also hiring a very popular Chinese actress to headline the movie, namely Yifei Liu.

So, enough blah blah, did I like the movie....

I... actually preferred the animation...

Believe it or not, I found the animation having more... heart!

This movie cost Disney USD 200,000,000 to make...

Honestly... I am not impressed...

The description of Chinese Martial Art was more impressive on the animation!!

Some props look Nordic, rather than Asian...

I know, Donnie Yen and Jet Li are in this, and I still buy the martial arts in the animation feature more...

So to summarized, to write a Chinese story without a Chinese in your writing team is just... wrong...

The 1998 story is not perfect... the this re-iteration is even worst...

The fact that all humor was removed from the movie, sucked all life from the movie...

I never thought I would say this, I actually missed the Yiddish China man Yao, voice by Harvey Fierstein...

Please understand, the above is just my two sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 5 2020, 01:19 AM

39 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0558sec    0.52    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:26 PM