79 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

TSblurjoey
post Mar 17 2022, 03:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(draco072 @ Mar 17 2022, 02:28 PM)
@blurjoey,

I have read your review on this 2 dashcams, however, i am unable to decide.

Can you recommend between thinkware F200pro & Viofo A129 plus in terms of image quality and also better night captures.

Thanks in advance
A129 Plus has a slightly better image quality.

But the F200 Pro shines in the parking mode and other features.

TSblurjoey
post Mar 21 2022, 04:17 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Mar 20 2022, 08:10 PM)
hi guys, dash cam newbie here, would like to ask, if my car no USB, also cigarette power socket is spoilt

the only option for dash cam installation is to go on hardwired fusebox for the power supply?
Or get the ciggie socket fixed laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Mar 22 2022, 04:02 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 22 2022, 08:42 AM)
No new firmware for Viofo A129 Pro Duo? It's has been awhile since I received any notification.
go read dashcamtalk forum. Most of the time they will share new firmware there faster than their website. Even got mod firmware also.
TSblurjoey
post Mar 23 2022, 02:04 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

This looks like a good alternative

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 23 2022, 02:05 PM
TSblurjoey
post Mar 24 2022, 09:29 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(sume2t @ Mar 24 2022, 06:55 PM)
Hi all, looking for a plug and play dashcam for Myvi (got ASA). Just getting started so something basic and easy to plug as don't want to hard wire right now. Please suggest. Thanks!
DDPAI Z40
TSblurjoey
post Mar 25 2022, 01:12 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Tomorrow go look see this fella

TSblurjoey
post Mar 25 2022, 03:58 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(sume2t @ Mar 25 2022, 03:15 PM)
Just wondering... do dashcams get stolen from cars? I have heard stories about the SmartTag but most dashcam surely more expensive than that... Any thoughts?
Saw before a long time ago, a car's front window got smashed and the Yi dashcam was stolen. Saw the Yi dashcam mount on the windscreen only.

Actually, if premium dashcam are more discreet design, so less visible.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 25 2022, 03:59 PM
TSblurjoey
post Mar 28 2022, 10:48 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 26 2022, 09:13 PM)
Guys ddpai z40 Vs 70mai a800s?

Which in realife has better visual quality day and night

I know a800s.has 4k.. but 4k.doesnt means shit if the quality sucks..

Hence anyone tried compare this 2?
It all depends on the fine-tuning of the firmware. Also will be a personal preference on which looks nicer to you. But you're comparing a 2160p (4K) to a 1944p?

Better put into consideration of lithium ion battery vs super capacitor.

QUOTE(maan @ Mar 27 2022, 12:41 PM)
Does ddpai x5pro better (mainly on video graphic n parking mode) than thinkware f790?
Not interested with those lane departure, lane watch and kind of safety features.

Viofo a129plus vs a139, other than the 3 channels, what are the key differences or the reason to choose a139.

https://www.facebook.com/106551681833195/po...50468990774797/
Seems scam...
X5Pro is 4K front and 1080p rear dashcam vs F790 which is 1080p front and rear dashcam. Both use different image sensors. Very hard to compare as it is not apple to apple.

A129 Plus Duo - • Processor: Novatek 96670 • Sensor: Front – Sony STARVIS IMX335 & Rear – Sony STARVIS IMX307 • Lens: Front F1.6 Aperture 140° Wide Viewing Angle & Rear F1.6 Aperture 160° Wide Viewing Angle • 2" LCD screen

A139 - • Processor: Novatek 96687 • Sensor: Front – Sony STARVIS IMX335, Rear – Sony STARVIS IMX291, Interior – Sony STARVIS IMX291 • Lens: Front 140° Wide Viewing Angle; Rear 140° Wide Viewing Angle; Interior 170° Wide Viewing Angle • No screen

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 28 2022, 02:20 PM
TSblurjoey
post Mar 28 2022, 05:04 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 28 2022, 02:18 PM)
I read some people comment that this could potentially damage the ECU as OBD2 is directly linked to the ECU system. It is a bit risky true but can also be reliable if product is properly made. Just take note those thinking of using. Do provide feedback if you are using OBD2 power method.
Where did you read the comments as in his post wasn't any about damage to the ECU? For this brand or other models?

I asked Drex regarding this and he replied:

Pin 16 is +12V constant from the battery with an individual fuse.

Pin 4 is chassis ground

Both have nothing to do with the CANBUS, K-line, any data link to the ECU.

The reason for using an OBD adapter is that this adapter is universal.

It detects voltage drop upon engine start to produce an additional, secondary output as the ACC.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 28 2022, 06:08 PM
TSblurjoey
post Mar 31 2022, 07:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(leelee27 @ Mar 31 2022, 05:42 PM)
Hi, do you have any recommended dashcam for Mazda 3 liftback? i do like the parking mode features but scare of the void of warranty.
If parking mode then you won't go wrong with Korean dashcam like Thinkware and Blackvue.

You can try going over to Sicurez in Sunway and ask.

Regarding the warranty, technically it should not void anything as there is cutting of any wires. But the car manufacturers will look for anything not factory installed. Best if you're kamching with the service center as some will close 1 eye on these and some will report the littlest mods.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 3 2022, 01:06 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(leelee27 @ Apr 2 2022, 10:14 AM)
I see, but thinkware and blackvue are over my budget. Got any other brand that around RM 1k?
Can look at FineVu GX30 also Korean.

TSblurjoey
post Apr 6 2022, 07:40 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 5 2022, 09:32 PM)
Would like to check. Usually what is the lifespan of a dashcam? I installed one on my car about 3 or 4 years ago but rarely use it. As the cable running from the dashcam to the cigarette lighter on the centre console of the car is visible and quite unsightly, I am having thoughts of getting a shop specialist to rerun the cable and hide it somewhere.

If the lifespan of the dashcam is not too long, I may consider changing to a new dashcam but it's a waste to change if it still can work, and for the fact that I don't find the camera to be particularly useful, yet.
Just DIY hide the cable and use your existing dashcam until it dies or you don't like it anymore.

But make sure to check whether the video quality is clear or not first. This could be a deciding factor. And also check if the dashcam is using a lithium battery or not cause long-term less charge will also deteriorate the battery.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 6 2022, 07:41 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Apr 5 2022, 10:59 PM)
If it is from reputable brand, and used in reasonable condition.. should last many many many years. Ofcourse where could always be duds, but reputable should have good QC.

My G1W lasted too long lol
B1W from 2014 still going strong
G1W... My very first dashcam...
TSblurjoey
post Apr 6 2022, 09:12 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 6 2022, 08:47 AM)
Thanks for the responses. The dashcam is Xiaomi 70Mai. Will check if the video is clear or the unit is still working prior to doing anything. The last time I checked which is sometime last year, no issues with the video.

Currently the cable is running at the side but it is visible since it runs on top of the dashboard. I can't DIY the cable myself since to hide the cable, it needs to run inside the A-pillar of the car. I can't pry the A-pillar open just to hide the cable. Not sure if it is advisable to dismantle the A-pillar to insert the cable inside it since it may loosen up the parts which may bring up rattling sound. Will see how it goes.
Actually, you don't need to open the A-pillar to install the cable.

Here is one of the many videos on youtube. It's also how I first I installed my dashcam long long time ago.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 11 2022, 06:13 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Apr 11 2022, 01:14 PM)
@blurjoey Have you compared Thinkware U1000 and Q800 pro? In your opinion is 4K necessary for clear night car plate recording?
The U1000 has better image quality than the Q800 Pro.

Better wait for the successor to Q800 Pro. I heard it's in the works.

Actually, no matter the resolution, fps, etc, image quality for fast-moving in the dark will depend.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 11 2022, 06:14 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Apr 9 2022, 03:10 PM)
Hi blurjoey

Is this shop reliable and recommended in Penang from your first page? I couldnt find any reviews about them on facebook. Getting my new car by end of this month so I'm checking out. What do you think of Thinkware dashcam?

WorldTech Auto Accessories - authorized Thinkware seller & installer in Penang.

Thank you sir!
I got a few friends from Penang who says their service is good.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 12 2022, 05:18 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Apr 12 2022, 03:22 PM)
looking for a subtle dashcam to put in a passat. Honestly only need it just to record for any accidents and not to use as parkingcamera/sensor etc.

Any suggestions?
DDPAI or viofo....
TSblurjoey
post Apr 13 2022, 05:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(rellik_yzarc @ Apr 13 2022, 11:49 AM)
Looking for a dashcam for 2017 Civic and 2022 CRV. Is it better to install it myself or get someone else to install instead?
If you're good with DIY, it's a good experience. I would Civic will be easier to install than the CRV if you're installing a dual dashcam. Cause of the trunk on CRV.

If you're not confident, then it's better to get a pro to install it for you. Especially if you plan to use a hardwire kit for the parking mode if got.

QUOTE(police_pipupipu @ Apr 13 2022, 03:28 PM)
Guys, if use dashcam with parking mode car battery lifespan will effect?
Depends on the dashcam's cutoff and also if the battery is new or old. A newer battery can last longer. Also depends on how long you never drive your car to charge the battery. Many factors.

If you're worried about the car battery then get a dashcam battery pack that can power a dual dashcam for about 20+ hours on a single charge. It won't be connected to your car battery then.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 14 2022, 05:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Got new Viofo A119 mini coming soon.

Performance like A119V3 with 5GHz wifi.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 15 2022, 08:23 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Apr 15 2022, 02:09 AM)
Better than the usual options mentioned in this thread? And any place your recommend to puchase and/or install?
Waiting for it to be out for testers.

If you're in KL or PJ area, you can go to Sicurez in Sunway. They are selling and installing dashcams from 70mai, DDPAI, Viofo, Thinkware, etc.

79 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:36 PM