11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

backspace66
post Oct 25 2020, 08:08 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Oct 24 2020, 10:01 PM)

Do you have a list the fees of those in SA?

I do not have a list for the expense ratio but you can find all the details here;

https://etfdb.com/compare/

And here

https://www.etf.com/

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 25 2020, 08:10 PM
backspace66
post Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 26 2020, 09:28 AM)
Didnt have time to go through all pages so not sure if this had been discussed....

Anyone planning to withdraw out before US election and wait for the results? Normally I dont agree with timing your investment on robo advisor but for some reasons I've been thinking about this...
it would br much more than dangerous to do it now when it is so near to the election, the volatility could be much higher and nobody want to be caught in the downswing while withdrawing or worse caught in the downswing while selling the portfolio and upswing while buying the other portfolio.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 26 2020, 09:45 AM
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 08:01 AM

2,139 posts

Advance estimate of US GDP for Q3 today. The model below estimated growth at 37%.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 29 2020, 08:03 AM
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 08:12 AM

2,139 posts

https://www.fool.com/amp/investing/2020/10/...-etf-or-the-is/

historically, small caps have performed better than large caps coming out of recessions. In each of the last four recessions -- 1981, 1990, 2001, and 2007 -- small caps have beaten large caps in both one-year and three-year annualized returns after the recessions, according to an analysis by Invesco. The only exception was the three-year return out of the 1981 recession.

Hopefully there is some revision on the small cap etf in the near future.
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 09:34 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Oct 29 2020, 08:37 AM)
ops, forgot today is malaysia holiday, meaning there will be no buy order sad.gif
Not true, i have the same experience before, as long as the fund is already with SA, they will still execute buy order as long as US market open. I have same experience a few months ago, but the fund is already transferred a day earlier. Fund being invested is the leftover which was not completely executed on the previous day.

But of course, we cant jom pay this morning and expect to have invested today due to non working day, but this is limitation of jom pay rather than SA.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 29 2020, 09:51 AM
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 04:46 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Oct 29 2020, 04:38 PM)
If thats the case it will be great! Saving some bullet to go in another round next Monday/Tuesday
If you use jom pay, make sure you transfer in the morning. Alternatively, can transfer tonight as well, just to be sure.
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 05:11 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Oct 29 2020, 05:03 PM)
I used jompay last Sunday night, and it still executes buy order on last Tuesday
Ok, that is really weird as it doesnt happen to me for the past 2-3 months. All amount transferred at night is invested in the next working day and for amount transferred in the morning is invested in the same day.

Not sure if there is anything else affect it in the background such as bank and amount or priority from SA side.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 29 2020, 05:11 PM
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 05:17 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Oct 29 2020, 05:12 PM)
Prob my deposit is not that really of significant amount I guess. Any jompay from me from previous night will be updated by 5pm the next day, and buy orders the next day.
There must be a threshold which is not made known to us. Maybe for fun i will try to transfer a smaller amount next time just to figure it out.
backspace66
post Oct 29 2020, 06:21 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Oct 29 2020, 05:51 PM)
If you transferred before 8am between tuesday to thursday...so far havent seen buy orders on mondays
What are you trying to say here? You transferred and no buy order yet? Not sure why there is variation on this. It was really consistent for me in the past few months especially after direct debit fiasco.

Prior to that, i only have 2 transaction in total that is delayed for one working day.
backspace66
post Oct 30 2020, 07:12 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Oct 29 2020, 11:33 PM)
jompay vs GIRO, which 1 faster ya bro?  biggrin.gif
No idea man, i suggest just use jom pay.
backspace66
post Nov 3 2020, 07:02 PM

2,139 posts

That is an interesting update, my concern is how they determine the price that is acceptable for people to buy in and price that is acceptable to sell out.

Hopefully, it should be around the median range for the etf that day rather than manipulation where the sell price could be at the higher limit and affecting the one who is buying ( or the other way around where it benefits the buyer)
backspace66
post Nov 3 2020, 07:13 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 3 2020, 07:04 PM)
I feel like this update encourages ppl to be market timer. And Stashaway macam kena foot the difference in ETF price.
It is just exchanging the etf internally, let say person A have 1 XLK anf want to sell, person B want to buy 1 XLK, it will be transferred to person B, but my concern is the price where this transfer takes place is bound to manipulation because it is not done at the exchange and not subject to market forces.

Of course SA saves brokerage fee which means they should reduce their fee as well if this is the new direction

That being said, i would agree it is fair to use the median range of the day.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Nov 3 2020, 07:15 PM
backspace66
post Nov 4 2020, 12:38 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 3 2020, 11:58 PM)
I agree on this - another layer of fee to be eaten by SA, make no mistake. How transparent is this, really is out of reach by the users like us. Plus, by doing this, aren't they somehow operating as an exchange themselves? Does their license allow them to do so?

+ What do you think about the latter part of the update (2nd item)? Does this really encourage more market-timing since the orders are filled much faster? (not sure by how much though)

Just trying to wrap my head around this.

Cheers man!
I have seek clarification from SA, it is confirmed that the price where they are going to execute the transaction is equal to the price transacted in the exchange for the remaining balance.

Example person A want to buy 1 unit VGK, person B want to sell 2 VGK. That one VGK will be sold at the exchange and the remaining 1 VGK will be transacted to person A using the same price.

Seems fair to me now, but the advantage is they save on their brokerage which has no apparent to benefit to us. Unless precise market timing.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Nov 4 2020, 12:39 PM
backspace66
post Nov 5 2020, 03:00 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(joshtlk1 @ Nov 5 2020, 02:21 PM)
I'm thinking about all those people who pulled out or reserve their money in cash what they are thinking now? Anyway it just shows we do not know how markets would react. It might drop again in the coming days. Just wanted to say, always have a stretegy and stick to it before and during investing. That way we won't be played by our emotions.

Invested with SA since Aug 19, up +30.96% MWR
It is ok actually, at least they have more experience now in term of timing the market, and that is priceless.
backspace66
post Nov 8 2020, 09:24 AM

2,139 posts

Might be a rally on a split government and it could be a different story if the congress is democrats, none of the fact has changed from previous few days, potential of a split congress with republican senate and democrats house was already on the table since election day itself.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Nov 8 2020, 09:37 AM
backspace66
post Nov 8 2020, 03:18 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Nov 8 2020, 03:00 PM)
Imagine those who opted out and didnt have KWEB lol
It would be interesting if the allocation to kweb is higher and gold reduced. That being said no need to limit our option to any of the old version of the portfolio.

I can confirm, even if u reject the optimisation, you still have access to newer portfolio and you can even transfer the whole of it or partially. If anyone want to know, if you switch fully, you will no longer have access to that previous portfolio.

I have both and rely more on the previous portfolio as i am already exposed to china tech through unit trust.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Nov 8 2020, 03:25 PM
backspace66
post Nov 8 2020, 03:31 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Nov 8 2020, 02:18 PM)
indeed, but can't opt in certain portfolios or opt out certain portfolio on the optimization. Is either entirely optimized or not optimized
You can optimize yourself (if you wanted to). If there is any optmisation, they will inform you and you can accept or reject. Even if you reject you can still changed your mind later by creating a newer portfolio and transfer into it. This newer portfolio will follow the new optimisation..

I did this and changed my mind later and transfered partially into the newer version of portfolio while retaining the older US centric portfolio without gold.
backspace66
post Nov 9 2020, 08:55 PM

2,139 posts

It might not be too bad turning off the optimization now huh.
backspace66
post Nov 9 2020, 10:05 PM

2,139 posts

A none issue right since KWEB carried the whole portfolio?
backspace66
post Nov 9 2020, 10:26 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Nov 9 2020, 10:25 PM)
Tug of war really. XLY + KWEB vs GLD.

GLD allocation is 20% so its a big chunk
That was sarcasm. I have my 85% US centric portfolio intact ,only one bleeding is XLE although recovering now. Also lost on the newer portolio with KWEB and gold but that is limited to 20% of fund in SA.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Nov 9 2020, 10:32 PM

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.6304sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:31 PM