> Vivian Balakrishnan remarks that Malaysia-, -Singapore water deal is "morally wrong"

TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 01:30 AM, updated 7y ago

what /k think??? hmm.gif

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 01:35 AM

240 posts

perception > everything else.

that's what rakyat really wants.

TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 01:42 AM

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 01:35 AM)
perception > everything else.

that's what rakyat really wants.
so....just keep playing game.... hmm.gif
smallcrab
post Mar 3 2019, 01:45 AM

139 posts

i always thought Vivian is a she
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 01:45 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Mar 3 2019, 01:30 AM)
what /k think???  hmm.gif

well he's right.

it is red herring on TDM's part.

and look at his credentials. no fake degree there.

btw, tdm should really ask who benefits from water deal between Singapore and johor.

specifically, how much does the Syarikat air johor (co-owned by ranhill and johor state govt.) make from selling treated water to johoreans and malaccans using water bought from Singapore.

(in case ppl think johor ppl drink Singapore's newater, do understand and realise that all of the water Singapore sold to johor came from johor and never ever left johor)

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 01:50 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Mar 3 2019, 01:42 AM)
so....just keep playing game....  hmm.gif
well rakyat never was serious 100% of the time anyway...
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 01:52 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Mar 3 2019, 01:45 AM)
i always thought Vivian is a she
Vivian is for male.

Vivienne is female form of Vivian.

like how Danielle is female form of Daniel.

and so on...
aLittleMisfit
post Mar 3 2019, 01:54 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

bullshit

talk about moral when they know they are buying really cheap and unfair price, then wants to hide behind the deal

bullying malaysia while trying to be on high moral ground really makes us puke

This post has been edited by aLittleMisfit: Mar 3 2019, 01:55 AM
TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 01:45 AM)
well he's right.

btw, tdm should really ask who benefits from water deal between Singapore and johor.

specifically, how much does the Syarikat air johor (co-owned by ranhill and johor state govt.) make from selling treated water  to johoreans and malaccans using water bought from Singapore.

(in case ppl think johor ppl drink Singapore's newater, do understand and realise that all of the water Singapore sold to johor came from johor and never ever left johor)
i see what you did there.... laugh.gif

they able to refute the claim by MY deal so fare and all using knowledge and fact...

i really hope our govt ready a good team to counter them
SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Mar 3 2019, 01:59 AM

58 posts

Okla, singapore pay rent to johor to balance it

🏃🏽‍♂️💨
Feugo
post Mar 3 2019, 02:01 AM

111 posts

Cut the water. Lets fight at ICJ

more fun.
kamfoo
post Mar 3 2019, 02:24 AM

845 posts

singapore is usa/israel proxy
tatsuyachiba
post Mar 3 2019, 02:27 AM

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Dec 9 2019, 06:32 AM
weissPC
post Mar 3 2019, 02:30 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Feugo @ Mar 3 2019, 02:01 AM)
Cut the water. Lets fight at ICJ

more fun.
Cannot cut as it seems from the video that Johor is dependent on Singapore to supply 16 +6 million gallons of treated water.

Furthermore, as indicated in the video, if Malaysia increase the price of raw water, what is there to prevent Singapore to jack up the price of treated water to Malaysia? Isn't that stupid?

If die die want to cut water supply, Johoreans also won't have enough treated water, and it will be considered an act of war by Singapore, and Singapore just need to invade and take over Johor, then their natural resources problems will be solved, Malaysia will definitely retaliate, but is that what both countries want?

In the end this water issue benefits no one and is a non-issue that Tun M has played up many times and is very tiring, just move on and focus on other bread and butter issues la...

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 02:44 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(weissPC @ Mar 3 2019, 02:30 AM)
Cannot cut as it seems from the video that Johor is dependent on Singapore to supply 16 +6 million gallons of treated water.

Furthermore, as indicated in the video, if Malaysia increase the price of raw water, what is there to prevent Singapore to jack up the price of treated water to Malaysia? Isn't that stupid?

If die die want to cut water supply, Johoreans also won't have enough treated water, and it will be considered an act of war by Singapore, and Singapore just need to invade and take over Johor, then their natural resources problems will be solved, Malaysia will definitely retaliate, but is that what both countries want?

In the end this water issue benefits no one and is a non-issue that Tun M has played up many times and is very tiring, just move on and focus on other bread and butter issues la...
A lot of the raw water of Johor already diverted to Singapore in the first place so how to produce enough treated water? This agreement, just like the building of the Causeway, was another trick by the British. On the surface, it looked as if both the building of the Causeway and the water agreement would benefit Malaysia but in fact we kena conned left, right and center.

tokdukun
post Mar 3 2019, 02:47 AM

376 posts

Meanwhile SG people butthurt their water tariff gonna increase, but cost is still same as 1962 price.
agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 02:48 AM

He's right in a sense.

Depriving people of water is morally wrong

On the other hand, I can understand that people look at Singapore's prosperity and think that it's time they pay more for water

In fact I would say that a rate hike is a must, to account for inflation

Most people don't even know Newater is not drank except in times of emergency such as war, normally it's used for lesser industrial purposes

and invented by ex-Malaysian Chinese whistling.gif

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 02:44 AM)
A lot of the raw water of Johor already diverted to Singapore in the first place so how to produce enough treated water? This agreement, just like the building of the Causeway, was another trick by the British. On the surface, it looked as if both the building of the Causeway and the water agreement would benefit Malaysia but in fact we kena conned left, right and center.
We can moan endlessly that we kena con

Or we can learn not to kena con

Guess which Msians have been doing for literal centuries rolleyes.gif

But going back to 1962 - well at the time we were so happy that we booted out all the undesirables to a little island, for a long time there was much rejoicing that we had kicked them out

But as we basked in our hubris and lenggang lenggok, people were working hard. Now we dengki and we say we kena con, they steal our land, bla bla

In my life I've watched the island's fortunes grow, from 2.2 to 2.3 to 3.0... in the meantime we are still stuck where we are

How much longer are we going to bitch and moan? When will we get down to business?

This post has been edited by agent sawyer: Mar 3 2019, 02:54 AM
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 02:52 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 02:48 AM)
Most people don't even know Newater is not drank except in times of emergency such as war, normally it's used for lesser industrial purposes

and invented by ex-Malaysian Chinese whistling.gif
Hyflux is in deep financial trouble.

agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 02:55 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 02:52 AM)
Hyflux is in deep financial trouble.
I know
1 of these days I'll go down and find my Hyflux contact, ask him what the hell happened

Singkies also get complacent, not just us. But their previous hard work gives them the safety net to rebound. Whereas we are constantly toeing the line...
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 3 2019, 02:58 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

well he's right.

specifically, how much does the Syarikat air johor (co-owned by ranhill and johor state govt.) make from selling treated water  to johoreans and malaccans using water bought from Singapore.

see how civilised them in the august house

k!nex
post Mar 3 2019, 03:01 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

Its okay. Then lets make life harder for SG. Play the ILS card. Keep building skyscrapers in Pasir Gudang. Be it for residential or even a giant monument also can .
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:02 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 02:55 AM)
I know
1 of these days I'll go down and find my Hyflux contact, ask him what the hell happened

Singkies also get complacent, not just us. But their previous hard work gives them the safety net to rebound. Whereas we are constantly toeing the line...
Maybe Singapore thought that by using desalination they can eventually be free from the need to import water from Johor. In a way that's possible, but I think that is a huge blunder on their part. Because they would have to depend more on energy imports instead to power their desalination plants.

agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 03:05 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:02 AM)
Maybe Singapore thought that by using desalination they can eventually be free from the need to import water from Johor. In a way that's possible, but I think that is a huge blunder on their part. Because they would have to depend more on energy imports instead to power their desalination plants.
I would not be surprised if SG is the first ASEAN state to become nuclear capable.

It's the inevitable future.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:13 AM

1,985 posts

Or we can learn not to kena con

Guess which Msians have been doing for literal centuries rolleyes.gif

But going back to 1962 - well at the time we were so happy that we booted out all the undesirables to a little island, for a long time there was much rejoicing that we had kicked them out

But as we basked in our hubris and lenggang lenggok, people were working hard. Now we dengki and we say we kena con, they steal our land, bla bla
Even Tunku Abdul Rahman, our first prime minister, was conned into agreeing to merge with Singapore:

In my life I've watched the island's fortunes grow, from 2.2 to 2.3 to 3.0... in the meantime we are still stuck where we are

How much longer are we going to bitch and moan? When will we get down to business?
Talking about 2.2 to 2.3 to 3.0 means you don't understand Singapore's monetary policy lah. They use exchange rate policy, not interest-rate monetary policy like the rest of the world.

Why Singapore’s Central Bank Has No Key Rate

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:15 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 03:05 AM)
I would not be surprised if SG is the first ASEAN state to become nuclear capable.

Haha. That would be a big joke. A single accident would wipe out the city state.

agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 03:23 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:13 AM)
Talking about 2.2 to 2.3 to 3.0 means you don't understand Singapore's monetary policy lah. They use exchange rate policy, not interest-rate monetary policy like the rest of the world.

Why Singapore’s Central Bank Has No Key Rate
The means is simply the means, but we are talking about the end result

MAS's objective has always been to push the rate down

If they let it run free, it'll probably be higher than it is today - what does that say about the attractiveness of their economy vs ours?

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:15 AM)
Haha. That would be a big joke. A single accident would wipe out the city state.
On a smaller scale perhaps, pushed out to one of the islands around Jurong. An accident isn't strictly de rigeur when it comes to nuclear power you know.

It'll come sooner or later. Possibly in our lifetime, perhaps not.

This post has been edited by agent sawyer: Mar 3 2019, 03:24 AM
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:38 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 03:23 AM)

If they let it run free, it'll probably be higher than it is today - what does that say about the attractiveness of their economy vs ours?
No, they have no control over interest rates. Their intention is to control inflation, that's all. They remove Singapore dollars from the economy by pushing it up in order to reduce its availability for their people to spend.

They are well known to be a attraction for corporate tax avoidance activities. Profits from neighbouring countries which should be rightly be taxed locally are siphoned off to be taxed very lowly by them instead.

agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 03:43 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:38 AM)
They are well known to be a attraction for corporate tax avoidance activities. Profits from neighbouring countries which should be rightly be taxed locally are siphoned off to be taxed very lowly by them instead.
Our corporate tax is just as low and we can get "dirty things done dirt cheap" better than them

So why does Singapore attract FDI and not us? Hmm... maybe because this is not the sole or even major factor in their success...

This post has been edited by agent sawyer: Mar 3 2019, 03:44 AM
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:48 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 03:43 AM)
Our corporate tax is just as low and we can get "dirty things done dirt cheap" better than them

So why does Singapore attract FDI and not us? Hmm... maybe because this is not the sole or even major factor in their success...
Haha. You are indeed quite ignorant about them. On the surface it looks like their corporate tax rates are not much lower than us. But multinational companies get special deals with them if offshore profits are transferred to Singapore instead. How low? Less than 1% also possible.

shirohamada
post Mar 3 2019, 04:07 AM

944 posts

agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 04:09 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:48 AM)
Haha. You are indeed quite ignorant about them. On the surface it looks like their corporate tax rates are not much lower than us. But multinational companies get special deals with them if offshore profits are transferred to Singapore instead. How low? Less than 1% also possible.
Well we can give Lynas practically 0% deal, who wins biggrin.gif
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:21 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 04:09 AM)
Well we can give Lynas practically 0% deal, who wins  biggrin.gif
You can even equate an investment incentive of a genuine investor with transfer pricing activity? Why are you trying so hard to protect Singapore's morally wrong behaviour of helping others to avoid paying taxes in the countries that generated the profits?

kendo88
post Mar 3 2019, 04:34 AM

45 posts

We have quite a few tax goodies too e.g MSC status, labuan

One of my previous comps also set up biz in msia to fully exploit this, once the term expired, they just scale down and got rid major chunk of the employees over here and shift back to Singapore.
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 3 2019, 07:18 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 03:05 AM)

That's suicide. Just take down nuclear station and their land will be contaminated for thousands of years
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 3 2019, 07:26 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 03:23 AM)

On a smaller scale perhaps, pushed out to one of the islands around Jurong. An accident isn't strictly de rigeur when it comes to nuclear power you know.

It'll come sooner or later. Possibly in our lifetime, perhaps not.
They are not so stupid. Rather bribe Indonesia to have it on Batam island or further and drag power lines to supply Singapore.

Nobody so stupid to place a ticking time bomb in a such small land mass country
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 3 2019, 07:29 AM

4,561 posts

Where u get this info from ?? 1% that's super low
+3kk!
post Mar 3 2019, 08:16 AM

8,275 posts

On another note, its their local papers drawing it up

i have CNA on my facebook, everyday its water this and that

here? we worrying about semenyih
SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:38 AM)
No, they have no control over interest rates. Their intention is to control inflation, that's all. They remove Singapore dollars from the economy by pushing it up in order to reduce its availability for their people to spend.

It is really too simplistic to say SG succeed by lowering its tax rates n all corporates will put HQ there.

How abt Labuan?

The sad truth is Malaysians all dun want to work. Only want tongkat.
SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 3 2019, 08:16 AM)

Our papers had never reported the amount of money SG spent in water treatment plants in johor. The 1st water treatment plant had been handed over to Johor in 2011.

Talk to any Johorians esp those in JB n they will tell you that water rationing is not as common as in other parts of MY.

Actually, really think it is a complete waste of time for us to discuss water.

What we need is to up our own game which obviously is more difficult than just playing politics.

deodorant
post Mar 3 2019, 08:38 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 3 2019, 08:16 AM)
Same same lah, Tun playing up water issue to distract from our domestic issues, SG also happy to play it up to district from their domestic issues.
deodorant
post Mar 3 2019, 08:40 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(agent sawyer @ Mar 3 2019, 02:55 AM)
The official explanation apparently is that hyflux betted big on energy generation in their latest tuaspring plant, but then energy prices tanked so nobody wanted to buy it over and so they just bled money until coffers were dry.
Gon Freaks
post Mar 3 2019, 09:17 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Mar 3 2019, 02:27 AM)
It is ironic that Vivian used "red herring" because his arguments were full of them as well.

Let's look at Singapore's points:
1) The 1962 water agreement is a contract and contracts cannot be broken and are sacrosanct.
BS. Contracts are broken all the time. Even treaties can be broken. What follows are consequences

2) The 1965 contract is a basis of the separation and to break it calls into question the very Separation.
BS. The water agreement is not a foundational principle of the Separation but an accommodation to the Separation.
He is saying if the water agreement is not adhered to, the Separation agreement flounders. We need to distinguish between them.

3) Malaysia did not review rates in 1987 and hence has lost all right for further review.
This is debatable. Does passing on a milestone review negate any right forever to review it in perpetuity? Can be argued that Malaysia delayed a decision without prejudice.
For Singapore to say this with finality is disingenuous.

What Malaysia says:
1) This is an unfair contract. Unfair commercial contracts are brought before judicial review or arbitration all the time
2) Singapore is profiting tremendously at their own citizens' expense. Singapore always downplays this.

The reality:
1) Malaysia can choose to terminate but there are consequences. The biggest consequence is that Johor and Melaka rely on Singapore's water. If Malaysia starts building capacity here, then we can get Singapore's attention and bargain. Right now we have no leverage.
2) Malaysia can dam the water out of spite. There is no win win here so this is an immature response. But it creates leverage and uncertainty for Singapore which may help with negotiations
3) Malaysia can propose terms for extending supply if rates are backdated to today. Little strategic value as in the long run, Malaysia does not ned to $ and would still rely on Singapore to furnish water to Johor.
4) at the end, Malaysia's response has always been to tie the water to a package of agreements in the main: ILS Seletar, Johor port harbour limits, KYM land, CPF of West malaysians etc etc

The unknown:
LKY's Singapore hsa said they would defend and go to war over water. The Singapore armed forces strategy has always been to hold ground in Johor for 72 hours and sue for peace.
This doctrine is questionable today. Singapore has always had the hardware to do so but what has changed is how interconnected its economy is to the rest of the world. Before it was port shipping, whichSingapore could protect with its navy. But today, Singapore runs and trades on sentiment and services. The moment the first bullet is fired, Singapore's knowledge economy will be ruined and may never recover. Investors will flee, its sizeable foreign expertise will run and its primary mechanism of inflation management, the S$ will collapse. Malaysia can hunker down for the long term. A war, even if limited and precise, will hurt Singapore irreparably.
wow, you brought up some good points. can channel this to the team that handles the agreement?

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 09:56 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Mar 3 2019, 02:27 AM)

The reality:
1) Malaysia can choose to terminate but there are consequences. The biggest consequence is that Johor and Melaka rely on Singapore's water. If Malaysia starts building capacity here, then we can get Singapore's attention and bargain. Right now we have no leverage.
2) Malaysia can dam the water out of spite. There is no win win here so this is an immature response. But it creates leverage and uncertainty for Singapore which may help with negotiations
3) Malaysia can propose terms for extending supply if rates are backdated to today. Little strategic value as in the long run, Malaysia does not ned to $ and would still rely on Singapore to furnish water to Johor.
4) at the end, Malaysia's response has always been to tie the water to a package of agreements in the main: ILS Seletar, Johor port harbour limits, KYM land, CPF of West malaysians etc etc

1. only part of johor and parts of melaka rely on water treated by Singapore. as mentioned, the raw water never left Malaysian soil, it has always been processed by Singapore's PUB water treatment plants inside Johor's borders.

technically johor (well, ranhill bhd) has been building capacity over the years as well as getting some of the previously-owned-by-Singapore water treatment plants (those set up by Singapore in the lapsed 1961 agreement that ended in 2011).

2. as Vivian mentioned, johor got a free dam (lingggui dam) out of all this.

3. once the 1962 agreement ends in 2061, all Singapore water plants located in johor will be given FOC to johor (like what happened to 1-2 treatment plants under the 1961 agreement which ranhil-SAJ took over in 2011). and Singapore must find a new source of water if they don't want to buy any more water (raw or treated) from johor.

hence the plan by Singapore to buy water from Indonesia laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 09:58 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 02:44 AM)
clearly many ppl are underinformed.
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:00 AM

240 posts

finally someone with a smart answer to all of this.

congrats. there is hope amongst malaysians
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:02 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 3 2019, 02:58 AM)
see how civilised them in the august house
that's what happen when you properly use a cadre system to pick your MPs and inevitably future leaders.

but of course it will mean only the elites will rule...
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:09 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 08:24 AM)
Our papers had never reported the amount of money SG spent in water treatment plants in johor. The 1st water treatment plant had been handed over to Johor in 2011.

Talk to any Johorians esp those in JB n they will tell you that water rationing is not as common as in other parts of MY.

Actually,  really think it is a complete waste of time for us to discuss water. 

What we need is to up our own game which obviously is more difficult than just playing politics.
this.

though there have been occasional water rationing or shortages.

only south and south east johor benefit from Singapore-treated water plants, all other districts get water from fully Malaysian plants.

let's not forget kluang had a very bad water shortage problem just a few year's back.

but 1 thing that is very commendable is the water quality sold to us by SAJ.

in johor you don't need those water filters as the water is clean (unlike say Selangor where water filter is a must).

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 3 2019, 08:40 AM)
The official explanation apparently is that hyflux betted big on energy generation in their latest tuaspring plant, but then energy prices tanked so nobody wanted to buy it over and so they just bled money until coffers were dry.
Hyflux (by itself) is just one plant. It is unlikely the Sg government will let the plant come to waste. This is essentially a private company. The Sg government is watching events very closely. The real issue I have heard is not energy. But membrane technology. The membranes developed by Hyflux the company is more expensive than the ones imported from other countries e.g. germany. It killed them. If the Sg government is to take over, it will use the most cost efficient membrane. But I would think the Sg government wants to see whether Hyflux, a homegrown company, can still survive.

SG do have a number of desalination plants, SingSpring (Hyfluz and Keppel), Sungei Tampines, Tuaspring (Hyflux), Tuas Desalination Plant (TDP3) (PUB -SG government), Keppel Marina East Desalination Plant (KMEDP) (PUB - Sg government), Jurong Island Desalination Plant (JIDP)( PUB-Sg government, and more under development e.g. Changi Desalination Plant (CDP) (PUB- SG government), etc.

Sgreans are tactical and work on the basis of long term strategy and what is cost efficient and failing that, a balance of achieveable best aims. I have a feeling they can in fact be self reliant now if they increase production of new water and clean water from their New Water and desalination plants. But, it will cost them more to use desalination (of course they can afford it). Also, the cost of desalination is going down as tech matures.

Do not be surprised if they say suddenly decide to not buy water anymore i.e. way before 2016. In fact, the number of new desalination and New Water plants coming online suggests that they will no longer indeed need Malaysian water. The Sg government does not want to be distracted by this childish argument about an international agreeement agreed and signed by both countries and one in which Malaysia ( "sleeping" as admitted by Daim) forgot to exercise its right of review. The eventual money involved is inconsequential or small to what they earn.

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:28 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 3 2019, 07:29 AM)
Where u get this info from ?? 1% that's super low
I hope our government takes action just like what the Australian tax authorities are doing to their tax-avoiding large companies:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-11-20/tax-...-fight/10512732

At issue was the margin on mark-ups for commodities BHP sold to its Singapore operations. The island nation's headline company tax rate is 17 per cent, but in years gone by, companies like BHP have been able to legally reduce it to near-zero, thanks to generous incentives from Singapore's Government.

Marketing hubs established by the mining giants allow commodities dug up in Australia, such as iron ore and coal, to be sold to the companies' own operations in Singapore, before they are subsequently sold with a high mark-up to China and other nations.

Imagine we have a factory here that produced something at RM100 and intending to sell to China at RM150. The factory can avoid paying tax on the RM50 profit by "selling" to their Singapore "marketing arm" for RM100.01 and then its "marketing arm" "sells" to China for RM150, with Singapore only levying perhaps a tiny 0.25% tax on the RM49.99 profit.

This, to me, is morally wrong.

pgsiemkia
post Mar 3 2019, 03:42 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Mar 3 2019, 01:54 AM)
bullshit

talk about moral when they know they are buying really cheap and unfair price, then wants to hide behind the deal

bullying malaysia while trying to be on high moral ground really makes us puke
Cos their politicians high iq and creditable degrees from real university not like here. Smarter and wiser to manipulate org kampung here
KopiChia
post Mar 3 2019, 03:50 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 01:52 AM)
Vivian is for male.

and so on...
Ever heard of Vivian Hsu? Go Google her.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 03:58 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 03:52 PM)
sg is already self sufficient in water through NEWater and desalination. in fact, sg has been supplying johor with water when it had shortages in the past few years. malaysia has been threatening to cut for a long time not.

i think just cut water is good, just cut all. sg can also send all malaysians working in singapore back to malaysia. also embargo malaysia, dont buy anything or invest in malaysia. let all the malls and properties and businesses collapse.

sg can simply buy fruits and food from thailand or indonesia instead, sg doesnt need malaysia for anything, including water these days.

go go go  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
No, Singapore is still not self sufficient in water on their own. If it is, there is no point for them to defend the very unfair agreement.

Singapore cannot afford to send back Malaysians working there because they have a huge baby shortage problem.

Yes, Singapore can always buy food from Thailand or Indonesia but that simply means higher prices because of higher transportation and storage costs. Is that going to help the most expensive city in the world?

amidamaru
post Mar 3 2019, 04:02 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 03:55 PM)
a war may see peninsula malaysia including KL being ceded to singapore forever.

malaysia stands no chance against sg in a war.

not to mention sg is one of the biggest investor in msia, and many msians work in sg to send money home.

msia economy will collapse first, not that it has much of a high-value-services sector to begin with.

many msians will want to be singaporean citizen rather than msian citizens as well.
Hahahaha. If war happen. I can see sporean will take the money and run 1st.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:05 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 03:55 PM)

malaysia stands no chance against sg in a war. 100 state of the art fighter jets will be over msia's skies 5 mins in and johor will be lost in 2 days. usa/australia may help and the seventh fleet with another 200 airplanes and ships will block out the sunlight in peninsula malaysia.

not to mention sg is one of the biggest investor in msia, and many msians work in sg to send money home.

msia economy will collapse first, not that it has much of a high-value-services sector to begin with.

many msians will want to be singaporean citizen rather than msian citizens as well.
I don't think Malaysia would be stupid enough to go to war without somebody else backing us up. What happens if Russia and China backs Malaysia? Just shoot some rockets at all the power stations in Singapore and the island is totally paralysed.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:06 PM

535 posts

See their game? Buying raw water from us, treated it and selling it back to us, now, we are paying them instead of they paying us.

Singapore pays 3 sen (1 Singapore cent) per 1,000 gallons of raw water, and sells treated water back to Johor at 50 sen per 1,000 gallons.

Singapore drawing up to 250 million gallons a day (mgd) of raw water from the Johor River, and Johor entitled to 5mgd of treated water from Singapore.

Per above, SG buying raw water from us @ rm 7500, they are selling treated water to us @ rm 2500.
In the video, the minister admitted that they are selling more than the agreement of 5mgd @ 16 million gallons of treated water back to us. So they paid us rm7500, we pay them rm 8000.00. We actually paying then rm 500 daily.

Walao, we give them 250 m gallons, they give us back 16 m gallons and we need to pay them at the end of the day. Win liao lo.

We don't know how to treat water? We don't have land to build water treatment plant? We don't have money? Don't have technology? I suggest no more exporting raw water to sg, they want buy, buy treated water from us @ rate 40 cent / 1000 gallon (20% below what they selling us) we will build water treatment plant in johor.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 04:10 PM
aLittleMisfit
post Mar 3 2019, 04:07 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:00 PM)
sg has been self sufficient 10 years ago, sg only imports water because it is cheaper. sg can produce water to cover 2x-3x of what it uses.

sg can send all malaysians back home and replace them with 1 billion indians or chinese or thais EASILY, just cancel all their work visas and within a year all gone. many chinese/indians/filipinoes, all want to work in SG. there is no lack of low skilled workers wanting to work in SG

buying food from thailand is not much more expensive than buying from msia, thai rice and msian rice same price anyway.
this sums up their bullying mindset. please take the fake high moral mindset back. hypocrites
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:12 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:00 PM)
sg has been self sufficient 10 years ago, sg only imports water because it is cheaper. sg can produce water to cover 2x-3x of what it uses.

sg can send all malaysians back home and replace them with 1 billion indians or chinese or thais EASILY, just cancel all their work visas and within a year all gone. many chinese/indians/filipinoes, all want to work in SG. there is no lack of low skilled workers wanting to work in SG

buying food from thailand is not much more expensive than buying from msia, thai rice and msian rice same price anyway.
Self sufficient? Singapore produces its own oil and gas to power the desalination plants? They cannot afford to totally depend on desalination because it is too costly.

Without many Malaysians travelling to work everyday at the island, how is Singapore going to solve the huge housing problem if they import others to replace all the Malaysians? Anyway, how do you replace hundreds of thousands of skilled people overnight?

I didn't know Singaporeans only eat rice alone everyday.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:16 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:10 PM)
u use the tap water in johor, it is so fresh and clean, all colourless can drink straight. because sg treats the water for johor.

u go kl and use the tap water, it is yellow with sediments, a bit disgusting.

u see the difference in STANDARDS when singaporeans do things and other ppl do things?

without singaporeans investing and shopping in johor, tomorrow all can go back farming vegetables, all the malls and shops and service sector will close.
Press when we can, pull when we have to. SG need us more or we need them more? without raw materials what can SG do?

We can milk them, we have to milk them.

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:18 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 04:06 PM)
See their game? Buying raw water from us, treated it and selling it back to us, now, we are paying them instead of they paying us.

Singapore pays 3 sen (1 Singapore cent) per 1,000 gallons of raw water, and sells treated water back to Johor at 50 sen per 1,000 gallons.

Singapore drawing up to 250 million gallons a day (mgd) of raw water from the Johor River, and Johor entitled to 5mgd of treated water from Singapore.

Per above, SG buying raw water from us @ rm 7500, they are selling treated water to us @ rm 2500.
In the video, the minister admitted that they are selling more than the agreement of 5mgd @ 16 million gallons of treated water back to us. So they paid us rm7500, we pay them rm 8000.00. We actually paying then rm 500 daily.

Walao, we give them 250 m gallons, they give us back 16 m gallons and we need to pay them at the end of the day. Win liao lo.

We don't know how to treat water? We don't have land to build water treatment plant? We don't have money? Don't have technology? I suggest no more exporting raw water to sg, they want buy, buy treated water from us @ rate 40 cent / 1000 gallon (20% below what they selling us) we will build water treatment plant in johor.
It was a clear-cut con job by the British, just like the building of the Causeway. Too bad we didn't realised that back then and got trapped.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:18 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:08 PM)
these plants can already produce 2-3x the amount of water singapore uses.

signapore has NO NEED to import water from johor anymore but does so because it is CHEAPER.

it is the same old silly politicians trying to stir crap...but their brains still stuck in 1970s...SG is already in 2020!!
Then why they die die want to buy from us? Die die don't want to let go the raw water deal? Because the cost is higher, they knew it. We knew it as well.
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:21 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 04:18 PM)
It was a clear-cut con job by the British, just like the building of the Causeway. Too bad we didn't realised that back then and got trapped.
Yup, without the causeway, ship don't need Singapore. They can pass between SG and Malaysia.

So crooked bridge is also a must for us.
fabianz03
post Mar 3 2019, 04:22 PM

4,649 posts

Water issues aside
Damn these Singaporean politicians really know how to speak
Calm, collective, intellectual, straight to the point, clear, soft spoken, civilised

They sound so educated
Maybe because they are
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:26 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:21 PM)
sg has no need for msia for anythiing, from food to workers.

everything can be swtiched to another source.

the only need was water but that has ceased 10-20 years ago. even before that, 30-40 years ago, with some water rationing, sg will be okay even if water was cut.

sg will hit gdppc 80k in 2030, while msia will still be stuck at 15k, and politicians will still talk about sg being 'little brother' lol.

sg just got 4 new submarines and will be getting f35 soon. the japanese are getting 100 f35s as well.

good luck  unsure.gif
You think malaysia need sg? What has sg contributed to Malaysia? Tourism? Why don't you say sg citizens are bored there in SG and finding a cheaper vacation gateways?
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:27 PM

1,985 posts

the only need was water but that has ceased 10-20 years ago. even before that, 30-40 years ago, with some water rationing, sg will be okay even if water was cut.

sg will hit gdppc 80k in 2030, while msia will still be stuck at 15k, and politicians will still talk about sg being 'little brother' lol.

sg just got 4 new submarines and will be getting f35 soon. the japanese are getting 100 f35s as well.

good luck  unsure.gif
Haha. Then why the UK gave back HK island to China in 1997 when they don't have to. They only need to give back the New Territories.

Like you said, Singapore can get their food and water from elsewhere. Same with HK island, right? Of course, but the costs would be many, many times higher. Get it?

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:28 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:23 PM)
ships can use any malaysian ports now but msias ports cannot compete with sg or even china.

sg is more efficient, no corruption (wont go missing), can transport out better.
It's for the shipping company to decides which country they prefer, they want pay rm or sgd, but we need to lift up the blockade @ causeway first.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:28 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:23 PM)
ships can use any malaysian ports now but msias ports cannot compete with sg or even china.

sg is more efficient, no corruption (wont go missing), can transport out better.
Transfer pricing lah.

They are stealing our profits.

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:39 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:34 PM)
even the nice properties in kl or johor, who do you think are buying them?

1 million ringgit, can the average msian afford?

or sporeans buying second homes (300k sgd)?
Totally no need Singaporeans to buy. China investors can snap them all up if DrM decides to find fault with Singapore rather than China.

rcracer
post Mar 3 2019, 04:42 PM

?????
3,772 posts

just use excuse pump broken, valve broken and hence sell less buy less also
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:45 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:31 PM)
of course, sg tourists spend lots of money in msia. when you go to johor, u see the malls, who are buying things? sg people or msians working in sg.

how u think these malls or starbucks stay open and pay rent? how you think the cofeeshop, retail, hotel, bars, repair shops all collect money to pay their staff?

sg also is one of the largest investor in msia, the amount is not a lot u are right, so feel free to cut sg off, i guess msia will surivive for sure as well.

https://www.dosm.gov.my/v1/index.php?r=colu...nMwNjdoK3g4QT09

FDI BY COUNTRY

The top five investing countries for inflows in 2014 namely Singapore, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Cayman Islands and Bermuda. These countries recorded a total of RM22.4 billion or 63.4 per cent of the total inflows in Malaysia. With regard to position as at end 2014, FDI investment was mainly originated from Singapore, Japan, Netherlands, USA and Norway which amounted to a total of RM257.7 billion or 55.1 per cent of total position in Malaysia. In term of income, USA, Singapore, Netherlands, Japan and Bermuda were the top earner in 2014. These countries recorded a total of RM39.0 billion or 62.3 per cent of total income in Malaysia.
QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:34 PM)
even the nice properties in kl or johor, who do you think are buying them?

1 million ringgit, can the average msian afford?

or sporeans buying second homes (300k sgd)?

money doesnt flow from msia to sg, msia is just a developing country with not much money. money flows from sg to msia, it is the other way around.

and money flows from china, eu, usa, japan to sg.
The foreigner property investors per above, is benefitting Malaysian or benefitting Singaporean? Sure, they paid taxes, but are they paying taxes without making any profit?

As of investment, as long as there are money to be make, anyone will make it, don't necessarily only come from SG people. And to be honest, I don't think they will give up making money and stop investing in Malaysia just because of water deal and crooked bridge.

As of tourist, who is the one get bored and wanted to find some entertainment? Have you heard how Malaysian are complaining about how Singaporean driving up the cost of living in JB?

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 04:47 PM
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:50 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:38 PM)
BTW almost every sporean i know wants msia to do well and develop well and be safe and stable country.

sporeans got another nice country to live in, retire, shopping, etc.

many sporeans willingly go msia for holiday, spend money, buy coffee, buy houses even.

but as you know, it is the old corrupted politicians and all their bs divisive stories floating around for decades in msia.
They will continue doing so even with new water deal and crooked bridge. Look at Indonesia, no matter how fuck up the country is, Singaporean still going there for vacation.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 04:50 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 04:45 PM)
The foreigner property investors per above, is benefitting Malaysian or benefitting Singaporean?  Sure, they paid taxes, but are they paying taxes without making any profit?

As of investment, as long as there are money to be make, anyone will make it, don't necessarily only come from SG people. And to be honest, I don't think they will give up making money and investing in Malaysia just because of water deal and crooked bridge.

As of tourist, who is the one get bored and wanted to find some entertainment? Have you heard how Malaysian are complaining about how Singaporean driving up the cost of living in JB?
I think if crowded Singapore is situated in the middle of the Indian Ocean, most of the inhabitants would have gone mad if there is no cheap budget flights out of the island.

SUSAllnGap
post Mar 3 2019, 04:52 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:28 PM)
I hope our government takes action just like what the Australian tax authorities are doing to their tax-avoiding large companies:

Imagine we have a factory here that produced something at RM100 and intending to sell to China at RM150. The factory can avoid paying tax on the RM50 profit by "selling" to their Singapore "marketing arm" for RM100.01 and then its "marketing arm" "sells" to China for RM150, with Singapore only levying perhaps a tiny 0.25% tax on the RM49.99 profit.

I knew it was low, but not so low. No wonder there got so much of cash stashed in their banks

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:53 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:48 PM)
And we bloody hell said this is SG fault?

Our JB MB had jux admitted that we will plan to reduce dependence on SG on treated water😡

We are behaving like master race accusing other race of doing well because they work hard?
Im not saying it's SG fault, I'm just saying it's time we milk what we can from other country instead of milking from our own people.
It's time we being more competitive against other country at the same time building good trade relationships. By good trade relationship, I mean good trading, one where the profits are shared.
SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 04:54 PM

I find it strange that Malaysia media kiasu kiasi dont dare to report SG had invested billions of RM in Johor-owned Lingui dam which was handed over in 2011, upon expiry of 1st H2O agreemwent.

Any views?

ALeUNe
post Mar 3 2019, 04:59 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Humkaling Mamakthir should honour the agreement.

Abislah Johor if Singapore stops supplying treated water to Johor.
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 04:59 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 04:50 PM)
I think if crowded Singapore is situated in the middle of the Indian Ocean, most of the inhabitants would have gone mad if there is no cheap budget flights out of the island.
Yup, fully agreed, yet some forumer here are scared of losing SG tourist and investors. They aren't China. We have nothing to be scare of SG, they will still do things they are doing now because the other alternative is exspensive.
SUStikaram
post Mar 3 2019, 05:03 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:55 PM)

malaysia stands no chance against sg in a war. 100 state of the art fighter jets will be over msia's skies 5 mins in and johor will be lost in 2 days. usa/australia may help and the seventh fleet with another 200 airplanes and ships will block out the sunlight in peninsula malaysia.

Ok for me.

Meaning those malaysian come back n replace bangla here.

Meaning vegi and fish price cheaper.
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 05:06 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:54 PM)
I find it strange that Malaysia media kiasu kiasi dont dare to report SG had invested billions of RM in Johor-owned Lingui dam which was handed over in 2011, upon expiry of 1st H2O agreemwent.

Any views?
Interesting you bring in lingui dam into discussion, there are no free meal in the world, especially when dealing with Singaporean. They will milk whatever they can.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...VcZ5dtOpHAcmdt2

Together with the water agreement signed, there was also another agreement signed with Malaysian oil company Petronas that secured the supply of 150 million cu ft (about 4.2 million cu m) of natural gas from Terengganu to Singapore.[7]Talks leading up to the 1990 water agreement had begun as far back as August 1982 when Singapore and Malaysia agreed to study ways, including the joint development of new water facilities, to enable both Singapore and Johor to draw more water from the Johor River to meet their future needs
aLittleMisfit
post Mar 3 2019, 05:06 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 04:10 PM)
u use the tap water in johor, it is so fresh and clean, all colourless can drink straight. because sg treats the water for johor.
u go kl and use the tap water, it is yellow with sediments, a bit disgusting.
u see the difference in STANDARDS when singaporeans do things and other ppl do things?

without singaporeans investing and shopping in johor, tomorrow all can go back farming vegetables, all the malls and shops and service sector will close.

sg will hit gdppc 80k in 2030, while msia will still be stuck at 15k (the kind of standards sg had in 1980), and politicians with brains stuck in 1970s will still talk about sg being 'little brother' lol.

good luck  unsure.gif
wow! do u even know what ur argueing?
its like saying US or China can take over any country which is deemed "lower" than them
whose brain if stuck backward? i'm sure even sg politicians wont make such statement

please for the water, just admit u guys are cheapskate trying to squeeze the deal at expense of others. and will do whatever cheap underhand way to make it ur way.
gogocan
post Mar 3 2019, 05:07 PM

485 posts

Trump pull out of a fair agreement all the time no problem..why malaysia pull out of illogical agreement causing problem?

Malaysia so soft..why not stop the water and bring the case to ICJ? I confident even the judge there will find the term in the agreement ridiculous

This post has been edited by gogocan: Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM
SUSleongfish3
post Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM

Honestly speaking, there are more pressing matters for us to attend to n work on than this stupid H2O thing.

Instead of upping our own game n increase our competitiveness.

How about bringing back all our overseas workers who are contributing to other economies(yes, including those in SG)?

vanillapire
post Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM

375 posts

Having said that is morally wrong, Singapore!
A deal is a deal and must be renegotiated that matches current environment and contexts
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:09 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:48 PM)
And we bloody hell said this is SG fault?

Our JB MB had jux admitted that we will plan to reduce dependence on SG on treated water😡

We are behaving like master race accusing other race of doing well because they work hard?
Not sure if it was naivety, greed or laziness that got us trapped by the British.

If the British can even cut off the thumbs of Indian mill workers in order to destroy their textile industry, we are probably lucky just to kena conned by them.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 05:10 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 3 2019, 04:59 PM)
Humkaling Mamakthir should honour the agreement.

Abislah Johor if Singapore stops supplying treated water to Johor.
I didn't know Johor cannot treat it's own water in future. Im not talking about now, im talking about in future.
SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(gogocan @ Mar 3 2019, 05:07 PM)
Trump pull out of a fair agreement all the time no problem..why malaysia pull out of illogical agreement causing problem?

Malaysia so soft..why not stop the water and bring the case to ICJ? I confident even the judge there will find the term in the agreement ridiculous
Do you know SG is selling treated watet at a loss to Johor?

SG quoted S$2.40 to treat water. So far, no MY govt officer dispute the figure😡

Will judge consider this?
gogocan
post Mar 3 2019, 05:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(leongfish3 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM)
Honestly speaking,  there are more pressing matters for us to attend to n work on than this stupid H2O thing.

Instead of upping our own game n increase our competitiveness.

How about bringing back all our overseas workers who are contributing to other economies(yes, including those in SG)?
Najib last time even abolish toll collection for malaysian working in sinkapor. Hopefully new govt will introduce back the toll. At least money from the toll can be used as a form of replacement tax to those working and paying tax to singakapor govt.

SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(gogocan @ Mar 3 2019, 05:16 PM)
Najib last time even abolish toll collection for malaysian working in sinkapor. Hopefully new govt will introduce back the toll. At least money from the toll can be used as a form of replacement tax to those working and paying tax to singakapor govt.
You are ignoring the elephant in the room!

What kind of rubbish govt we have that depends on other countries / govt to provide jobs for our own citizens?

gogocan
post Mar 3 2019, 05:25 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:11 PM)

SG quoted S$2.40 to treat water.  So far,  no MY govt officer dispute the figure😡

Cost to treat water in malaysia is RM 2.30. So rather than paying RM 7.20 to singkapor why not use the balance to build a better water treatment plant in johor.

Maybe can ask Johor MB to consider this.
iGamer
post Mar 3 2019, 05:26 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Johor should not do any other infrastructure development until they build their own water treatment plant.

Then we process our own water, what little balance we have only we sell to cheapskate Singaporean.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:26 PM

1,985 posts

So far I noticed in history that many would break agreements (fair or unfair) it they are or have become militarily stronger.

The United States broke many treaties with many Indian tribes because its army was far stronger.

The Communists in China ended many unequal treaties after they defeated the Nationalists.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 05:28 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:20 PM)
I can buy an apartment for only 450k myr, which takes me only 2-3 years to save due to govt subsidies. I can sell it later for more.

Look like you're one of the people milking malaysia as well. No wonder such a strong rejection.

Have a personal question would like to ask you, have you visited genting highland? Just wondering if SG people prefer sentosa island or genting highland.

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:15 PM)
they will never go back to msia and let their standards if living drop
Maybe for retirement or family they would.
Another example of how SG is milking MY. Hope Malaysian will wake up.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 05:32 PM
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:35 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 3 2019, 04:52 PM)
I knew it was low, but not so low. No wonder there got so much of cash stashed in their banks
This kind of bloodsucking behaviour should be stopped. I hope the income tax department comes out with a policy to audit every year every company that have invoices that originate from Singapore.

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:39 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:20 PM)
Working in sg, I get paid 2-3x what lawyers in msia get paid.

I can just drink from the tap, food and water is so clean, I feel healthy.

Everything is clean and modern.

I can buy an apartment for only 450k myr, which takes me only 2-3 years to save due to govt subsidies. I can sell it later for more.

I can go to uni and I got a degree from a top 15 world ranked uni for just 20k SGD. First class hons as well.

I am so thankful for being born Singaporean.
Are you thankful to the host that your country is sucking from?

SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 05:35 PM)
This kind of bloodsucking behaviour should be stopped. I hope the income tax department comes out with a policy to audit every year every company that have invoices that originate from Singapore.
You seemed like a smart cookie.

Why cant we lower our tax rate to be sama sama as SG?

We are definitely in better position to lower as we hv oil, palm oil, durian, rubber n all kind of resources.

Wait, we hv Labuan. What happen?

We really must not behave macam master race.

Always blame other race for working hard n succeed.

This post has been edited by mleemlee232: Mar 3 2019, 05:51 PM
Heroicage
post Mar 3 2019, 05:54 PM

265 posts

They could also devise an external water cost to Singapore the same,but now .. Malaysia will not provide piping. And if Singapore wishes to get the piping, pay X amount per metre. Malaysia by right is still selling cheap water,but now,... Singapore needs to pay for the pipe at a different cost. Not sure how detail is the contract binding.
ALeUNe
post Mar 3 2019, 05:56 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Meh... Trump pulls out from unfair agreement.
He loves fair agreement.
Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 06:06 PM

Lol. This thread gives me a headache.

Anyway... discuss and agree on a new pricing if you will. Let me repeat this. The cost is small to what Sg or My earns.

The question begs itself to be answered.. and the answer is that this issue is being politicised for Mahathir's benefit.

After a bit of googling, I found this fact (revealed in Sg's parliament):

"Malaysia previously acknowledged that they chose not to seek a review of the deal in 1987 because they benefited from the pricing arrangement.

"Mahathir... was the prime minister at that point of time, and himself explained that Malaysia did not review the price as any revision would affect the price of treated water sold by Singapore to Malaysia," he told the Singapore Parliament yesterday.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/466302

----------------

Now Sg unlike My's make a flying car type of minister or the Johor MB's suddenly vanished degree, will not spout nonsense, especially in its Parliament.

If Sg's foriegn minister said that, they can certainly back it up with proof e.g. letters of correspondenc, etc. I fully expect Sg to release such docs if Tun continues to spout nonsense.

So what does it show? It was Tun who created this mess. Here's another trick question: Did he create other messes as well? Oh why did we see him as some form of saviour. /facepalm.

VeeJay
post Mar 3 2019, 06:33 PM

3,844 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:22 PM)
Water issues aside
Damn these Singaporean politicians really know how to speak
Calm, collective, intellectual, straight to the point, clear, soft spoken, civilised

They sound so educated
Maybe because they are
Exact;y...i thought the same as well, its so clear, no emotional statement and putar belit...its full of chronological facts
Heroicage
post Mar 3 2019, 06:33 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:59 PM)
Msia has no leverage over sg anymore, 0.

Even in terms of military, sg has built up a military that is much stronger than msia, so when push comes to shove, sg does not fear msia.

There is really nothing msia can gain by trying to screw sg over.

There is a lot msia can gain by working with sg
You make me laugh with your answers, You don't get what I was trying explain, but nvm. I don't wanna screw your small island coz there is nothing interesting at all. I just want my gov to charge for servicing our water piping....and if you folks needed water , u can opt to recycle your toilet water if u find our water is too expensive.
agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 04:21 AM)
You can even equate an investment incentive of a genuine investor with transfer pricing activity? Why are you trying so hard to protect Singapore's morally wrong behaviour of helping others to avoid paying taxes in the countries that generated the profits?
Msia do it = investment incentive

Singkie do it = morally wrong behaviour to avoid paying taxes

rolleyes.gif

Pulling "morally wrong" card against Lynas is especially... erm....

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 3 2019, 07:26 AM)
They are not so stupid. Rather bribe Indonesia to have it on Batam island or further and drag power lines to supply Singapore.

Nobody so stupid to place a ticking time bomb in a such small land mass country
Nuke =/= explosion

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 3 2019, 08:40 AM)
I have no idea

I really should be more aware of these things... but just so much to handle

QUOTE(KopiChia @ Mar 3 2019, 03:50 PM)
>expects Chinese to spell or use English names right

Son...

We don't know how to treat water? We don't have land to build water treatment plant? We don't have money? Don't have technology?

Tongkat lebih penting
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 08:15 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 07:39 PM)
SG is msia big customer, what do u get by pissing off ur big customer, who buys your farm produce, titbits, manufactures, houses, shopping products, etc?

Lol

China on the other hand is a developing country at 8k gdppc and they are msias largest competitor in the region.

U got ur customer and competitor mixed up!
I see it at another angle, SG can't get any better deal except from Malaysia, reason SG buying from Malaysia because it's cheap.

Take below article for example, about importing chicken egg from my.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...fGO6rrBgN4QYsM4

SG said they can import egg from TH. The things is the market cost for 10 egg in TH is 45 bath = myr 5.77 and the alternative SG is saying is more exspensive than malaysia. That haven't including logistics cost, transporting egg from TH to SG is impossible to be cheaper than transporting from Johor to SG.

You knew it, we knew it. So stop trying to say SG is Malaysia biggest customers. SG had other alternative but why they can't exercise it? So, we push when we can, because you will still buy from us even though we are exerting political pressure on your government. Water deal is coming, I don't see why we need to back down and Singaporean will still buy from Malaysia. Water or farming products or other things for as long as we are cheaper.

China isn't our competitor, they are our trading customers, it's always been like that since years ago, Singapore is our competitors in Malacca strait competing to get China monies. There are resources and technologies which China have and we don't have, but there are nothing that Singapore have which we dont have.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 08:22 PM
Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:15 PM)
I see it at another angle, SG can't get any better deal except from Malaysia,  reason SG buying from Malaysia because it's cheap.

SG said they can import egg from TH. The things is the market cost for 10 egg in TH is 45 bath = myr 5.77 and the alternative SG is saying is more exspensive than malaysia. That haven't including logistics cost, transporting egg from TH to SG is impossible to be cheaper than transporting from Johor to SG.

You knew it, we knew it. So stop trying to say SG is Malaysia biggest customers. SG had other alternative but why they can't exercise it? So, we push when we can, because you will still buy from us even though we are exerting political pressure on your government. Water deal is coming, I don't see why we need to back down and Singaporean will still buy from Malaysia. Water or farming products or other things for as long as we are cheaper.
Errr. myr 5.77 is about $1.20 Sg dollars for ten eggs or abt 10 Sg cents per egg. Given their already high income, that is peanuts. Even if it doubles, it is still peanuts. The cost of one miserable cup of coffee in their kopitiam is more than $1.20 Sg dollars.

They may complain. But it doesn't mean they cannot afford it.

This post has been edited by Mai189: Mar 3 2019, 08:25 PM
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 08:34 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Mar 3 2019, 08:25 PM)
Errr. myr 5.77 is about $1.20 Sg dollars for ten eggs or abt 10 Sg cents per egg. Given their already high income, that is peanuts. Even if it doubles, it is still peanuts. The cost of one miserable cup of coffee in their kopitiam is more than $1.20 Sg dollars.

They may complain. But it doesn't mean they cannot afford it.
They can afford it, I didn't say they can't afford it, but why still choosing Malaysia? Because it's better options.

Same goes to water deal, SG can opt for alternatives and not to buy from us. They already found the alternative years ago, they can turn sea waters and waste waters to drinkable waters.
Yet, they dying to protect the MY SG water deal. Why?

You like it or not, water deal is going to be push through, so Singaporean should prepare to pay few cent more for the water laugh.gif they can afford it. Few cent increase of price for a cup of coffee in kopitiam wouldn't kill them. At least the price won't double.
SUSujayucho
post Mar 3 2019, 08:34 PM

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:54 PM)

Any views?
Think it is morally bankrupt of both Dr M n MY media not to mention abt

- 1987 review not done during Dr M's 1st tenure, mayb he forgot?

- SG selling subsidised water to Johor (more than contracted amt)

- SG spent billion of RM on Johor water infrastructure (1st plant aldy handed over in working condition in 2011).

Imagine go to court.

Will judge will look at all the above factors?
TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 08:45 PM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 05:09 PM)
Not sure if it was naivety, greed or laziness that got us trapped by the British.

If the British can even cut off the thumbs of Indian mill workers in order to destroy their textile industry, we are probably lucky just to kena conned by them.

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 03:28 PM)

very thank you for this 2 info notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 08:49 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ujayucho @ Mar 3 2019, 08:34 PM)
Think it is morally bankrupt of both Dr M n MY media not to mention abt

- 1987 review not done during  Dr M's 1st tenure,  mayb he forgot?

- SG selling subsidised water to Johor (more than contracted amt)

- SG spent billion of RM on Johor water infrastructure (1st plant aldy handed over in working condition in 2011).

Imagine go to court.

Will judge will look at all the above factors?
87 we opt not to renew = we forever no need review? That's more than 30 years ago. And the agreement is 50 years ago.
Morality?

SG selling water back to MY? Good business eh? getting 234 mgd of raw water for free and MY need to pay rm 500 more. The cost of treating water is higher than what SG is selling us? Believe me, we can also treat water in Malaysia at 1/3 the cost of SG.

SG spend billion for water facilities in Johor at the same time getting side contract with petronas? Also who is paying maintainance fees after the facilities is handed to us?
SUSleongfish3
post Mar 3 2019, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Mar 3 2019, 08:45 PM)
very thank you for this 2 info  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Any experts can explain why our Labuan cant be the marketing arm that books the majority of corporate profits?

Thot it is supposed to be the ultimate or mother of tax haven?

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 08:53 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 08:39 PM)
There is plenty of Thai food in sg, and the guy talks as if sg cannot afford to.import from.Thailand...

Europe usa Australia Japan

No difference to the average sporean

$1.2 is so cheap, eggs are usually $3 in sg.
Then you have to stop your trader from buying cheap egg and selling at premiums to get profits, they should get better egg from AU. Or TH since they are selling at higher price.
TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(leongfish3 @ Mar 3 2019, 08:50 PM)
Any experts can explain why our Labuan cant be the marketing arm that books the majority of corporate profits?

Thot it is supposed to be the ultimate or mother of tax haven?
better ask other...i dont know much about it...mr Artus ...can help to explain...
SUSujayucho
post Mar 3 2019, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:49 PM)
87 we opt not to renew = we forever no need review? That's more than 30 years ago. And the agreement is 50 years ago.
Morality? No

SG selling water back to MY? Good business eh? getting 234 mgd of raw water for free and MY need to pay rm 500 more. The cost of treating water is higher than what SG is selling us? Believe me, we can also treat water in Malaysia at 1/3 the cost of SG.

SG spend billion for water facilities in Johor at the same time getting side contract with petronas?  Also who is paying maintainance fees after the facilities is handed to us?
- if our grandfather sold our land in 1962, can we go back n ask buyer to increase px? Agreement had a 1987 provision for review. We confirm din review liao. Why dun we jux tell the whole world that rule of law has no place in Baru MY n we can suka suka change?

- then wtf is Johor doing since Dr M became PM since 1980s?Depend on assistance fm SG n still bash SG? Do we have shame?

- dun know abt side contract but you can tell us more. SG paid for Johor water infra n you still want them to continue paying for maintenance? Tongkat not enuff? Still want turbo wheel chair?

This post has been edited by ujayucho: Mar 3 2019, 09:12 PM
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 09:09 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ujayucho @ Mar 3 2019, 08:56 PM)
- if our grandfather sold our land in 1962, can we go back n ask buyer to increase px?

- then wtf is Johor doing since Dr M became PM since 1980s?Depend on assistance fm SG n still bash SG? Do we have shame?

- dun know abt side contract but you can tell us more. SG paid for Johor water infra n you still want them to continue paying for maintenance?  Tongkat not enuff?  Still want turbo wheel chair?
Can't believe you're actually comparing consumable goods with properties. Do you know that Malaysia didn't sell the river to SG? Our grandfather who once eat rice at few cent sgd is now eating the same rice at 1 dollar, can we go back and ask the Society to sell it at few cent? Why not?

It's not too late, johor can do that now, instead of raw water, why not we sell treated water to SG?

Side contract with petronas? I post the link earlier, go find the link yourself. Very smart, want us to pay maintainance fees for Singaporean benefits, my as well we pay everything and get the water treated here in Malaysia since we aready doing some of it.

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:34 PM)
They can afford it, I didn't say they can't afford it, but why still choosing Malaysia? Because it's better options.

Same goes to water deal, SG can opt for alternatives and not to buy from us. They already found the alternative years ago, they can turn sea waters and waste waters to drinkable waters.
Yet, they dying to protect the MY SG water deal. Why?

You like it or not, water deal is going to be push through, so Singaporean should prepare to pay few cent more for the water laugh.gif they can afford it. Few cent increase of price for a cup of coffee in kopitiam wouldn't kill them. At least the price won't double.
Well; logically you will aim for something cheaper of course when say 2 shops sell the same thing.

My point is that the price difference is inconsequential in your telur example. in fact, the ones suffering will be our local egg producers as they will lose Sg customers.

My goodness.. what is a few cents or dollars more to a Singaporean?

This price thing on water has been going on like decades. They are still paying the same price..As I work here, I can say that most sg people simply want to terminate the deal. But Sg government will continue to seek out and maintain the best deal..why not right? win win for SG.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 09:14 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Mar 3 2019, 09:11 PM)
Well; logically you will aim for something cheaper of course when say 2 shops sell the same thing.

My point is that the price difference is inconsequential in your telur example. in fact, the ones suffering will be our local egg producers as they will lose Sg customers.

My goodness.. what is a few cents or dollars more to a Singaporean?

This price thing on water has been going on like decades. They are still paying the same price..As I work here, I can say that most sg people simply want to terminate the deal. But Sg government will continue to seek out and maintain the best deal..why not right? win win for SG.
Yes win win, so why is it so difficult to increase the cost from 3 cent myr to 17 cent myr? SG can afford it. MY will be happy and its win win no?

Why keep on protesting it? Just agree with it and move on.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 09:15 PM
syahmie8
post Mar 3 2019, 09:17 PM

18 posts

Better Johor/Malaysia gov start to make our own water treatment plant la.. What holding us from doing so??

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 09:14 PM)
Yes win win, so why is it so difficult to increase the cost from 3 cent myr to 17 cent myr? SG can afford it. MY will be happy and its win win no?
Sorry, I really dont know how to bridge the logic behind your cranium. The international agreement signed by both countries determined the price to be like so. So why would Sg opt for a price that is even slightly higher? If you haggle over the price of an item, you would naturally aim to maintain the price you want to pay. So Sg will hold on to that price for as long as it can. Who is smiling?

SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(syahmie8 @ Mar 3 2019, 09:17 PM)
Better Johor/Malaysia gov start to make our own water treatment plant la.. What holding us from doing so??
Agreed.

If our flying car YB n our "degree disappeared" MB are fully committed to the cause, think by tmr 5pm, they will hv a Press conference n announce plant ready jor.😀
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 09:25 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Mar 3 2019, 09:18 PM)
Sorry, I really dont know how to bridge the logic behind your cranium. The international agreement signed by both countries determined the price to be like so. So why would Sg opt for a price that is even slightly higher? If you haggle over the price of an item, you would naturally aim to maintain the price you want to pay. So Sg will hold on to that price for as long as it can. Who is smiling?
It's contradicting what you're saying now with your post earlier. So if I understand it correctly, SG can afford to pay more but will not be paying us more because of an agreement made 50 years ago and felt that it is morally right?

Hope SG is in the position to do so, to protect the deal for as long as they can.
Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 09:25 PM)
It's contradicting what you're saying now with your post earlier. So if I understand it correctly, SG can afford to pay more but will not be paying us more because of an agreement made 50 years ago and felt that it is morally right?

Hope SG is in the position to do so, to protect the deal for as long as they can.
Well I do not know what is morally wrong about keeping to your part of the agreement. Lol. Do not listen to Tun too much. Heed my advice. He is an opportunistic politician. May allah and especially the people whom he offended all this while forgive him.

Let's say you rent a room at say 5 myr per day and there is a signed agreement between you and the landlord. Obviously, you will seek to maintain the rent at 5 myr. It is a totally different thing if the landlord inserted a clause stating that the price will go up several months down the road.
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 09:48 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(KopiChia @ Mar 3 2019, 03:50 PM)
yes.

and the fact is that she used the wrong spelling for her name.

The spelling Vivian was historically used only as a masculine name, and is still used as such in the UK with this spelling, but in the 19th century was also given to girls and was a unisex name until the early part of the 20th century;
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 09:52 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 03:52 PM)
sg is already self sufficient in water through NEWater and desalination. in fact, sg has been supplying johor with water when it had shortages in the past few years. malaysia has been threatening to cut for a long time not.

the water that SG supplies johor came from johor and never ever left johor. Singapore's PUB just processes the raw water from johor rivers at their plant in johor and piped them straight into SAJ's pipes.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:09 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Mar 3 2019, 09:43 PM)
Well I do not know what is morally wrong about keeping to your part of the agreement. Lol. Do not listen to Tun too much. Heed my advice. He is an opportunistic politician. May allah and especially the people whom he offended all this while forgive him.

Let's say you rent a room at say 5 myr per day and there is a signed agreement between you and the landlord. Obviously, you will seek to maintain the rent at 5 myr. It is a totally different thing if the landlord inserted a clause stating that the price will go up several months down the road.
Tun isn't going to live forever, but the water deal will laugh.gif and an agreement without exit clause, without price increments/adjustment due inflation, without clause to renegotiate, is it still applicable in today's agreement standard? Is it morally right? What so if one of the direct party is not happy with the agreement.

Don't misunderstand what I mean, we aren't asking for things which aren't us, we are just asking for things which we deserves.

Let say you're the landlord, are you going to rent the room at 5 myr for 10 years? 20 years? 50 years? You know it's impossible right? We arent asking for 1 dollar, just 14 cent myr and you admit that SG can very well afford it.

I think we should put a stop on SG leeching on MY resources to make themselves wealthier. From manpower, raw resources to controlling Malacca Strait.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 10:10 PM
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:10 PM

240 posts

kesian tak baca any of my explanation.

or didn't realise it cost RM2.40 to Singapore to treat 1,000 gallon of raw water that Johor got for only RM0.50....

so Singapore lose RM1.90 for every 1,000 gallon that they sell to Johor.

BTW, here's some enlightenment:

1. johor never exported raw water to Singapore and Singapore never imported raw water from johor.

2. all water that flow thru those pipes you see at the causeway are treated water and not raw water.

the water flow only 1 way (from johor to Singapore)

3. all raw water that Singapore collect go to their water treatment plant located in Johor. you can see one of such previously owned by Singapore water treatment plants beside the road at jalan skudai, just before the exit to UTM skudai.

now that plant is owned by ranhill as the lease expired with the end of the 1st agreement back in 2011.

but the kampung that the previous staff of the plants stayed nearby has always been called kampung PUB (public utilities board, the name of Singapore's water utility company).

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:14 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:10 PM)
kesian tak baca any of my explanation.

or didn't realise it cost RM2.40 to Singapore to treat 1,000 gallon of raw water that Johor got for only RM0.50....

so Singapore lose RM1.90 for every 1,000 gallon that they sell to Johor.

BTW, here's some enlightenment:

1. johor never exported raw water to Singapore and Singapore never imported raw water from johor.

2. all water that flow thru those pipes you see at the causeway are treated water and not raw water.

the water flow only 1 way (from johor to Singapore)

3. all raw water that Singapore collect go to their water treatment plant located in Johor. you can see one of such previously owned by Singapore water treatment plants beside the road at jalan skudai, just before the exit to UTM skudai.

now that plant is owned by ranhill as the lease expired with the end of the 1st agreement back in 2011.

but the kampung that the previous staff of the plants stayed nearby has always been called kampung PUB (public utilities board, the name of Singapore's water utility company).
Thanks for your explanation, then it's better for johor not selling it at raw water price, straight selling it as treated water to Singapore right? It make much more sense that way.

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:15 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:11 PM)

SG quoted S$2.40 to treat water.  So far,  no MY govt officer dispute the figure😡

ah finally someone who bothered to read up on the issue
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:19 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Mar 3 2019, 05:25 PM)
Cost to treat water in malaysia is RM 2.30. So rather than paying RM 7.20 to singkapor why not use the balance to build a better water treatment plant in johor.

Maybe can ask Johor MB to consider this.
kesian x faham.

what mleemlee232 is saying is that the water Singapore sold to us for RM0.50 per 1k gallon costs RM7.20 to Singapore.

it's Singapore that are losing money selling treated water to johor.

but no one from Johor will admit this publicly bcos then it will open a huge can of worms...
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:23 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:19 PM)
kesian x faham.

what mleemlee232 is saying is that the water Singapore sold to us for RM0.50 per 1k gallon costs RM7.20 to Singapore.

it's Singapore that are losing money selling treated water to johor.

but no one from Johor will admit this publicly bcos then it will open a huge can of worms...
If so, no need for them to sell at lost to us and subsidise us. We treat it from our end and selling it to them @ X% of the rate of what they will sell to their consumer.
SUSujayucho
post Mar 3 2019, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 10:09 PM)
Tun isn't going to live forever, but the water deal will laugh.gif  and an agreement without exit clause, without price increments/adjustment due inflation, without clause to renegotiate, is it still applicable in today's agreement standard? Is it morally right? What so if one of the direct party is not happy with the agreement.

Don't misunderstand what I mean, we aren't asking for things which aren't us, we are just asking for things which we deserves.

Let say you're the landlord, are you going to rent the room at 5 myr for 10 years? 20 years? 50 years? You know it's impossible right? We arent asking for 1 dollar, just 14 cent myr and you admit that SG can very well afford it.

I think we should put a stop on SG leeching on MY resources to make themselves wealthier. From manpower, raw resources to controlling Malacca Strait.
But there was a 1987 provision for price review n none other than Dr M himself chose not to review😡 the reason is because SG paid hundreds of million of dollars to build water treatment plant.

Alot of Malaysians dun know abt this as Dr M n MY media kept radio silence over this. I hope i m not leaking state secrets😟

Imagine if we go to court, judge will surely look at the SG investment cost as a factor to consider. But in any case, we lost our right to review in 1987 liao😡

This post has been edited by ujayucho: Mar 3 2019, 10:25 PM
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:30 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ujayucho @ Mar 3 2019, 10:23 PM)
But there was a 1987 provision for price review n none other than Dr M himself chose not to review😡 the reason is because SG paid hundreds of million of dollars to build water treatment plant. 

Alot of Malaysians dun know abt this as Dr M n MY media kept radio silence over this.  I hope i m not leaking state secrets😟

Imagine if we go to court,  judge will surely look at the SG investment cost as a factor to consider.  But in any case,  we lost our right to review in 1987 liao😡
1987 is 30 years ago, who's paying the maintainance for the plant? Also we didn't charge SG the cost of treated water since they help with water treatment plant. We are selling as raw waters for 30 years since 87 no?
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:33 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(syahmie8 @ Mar 3 2019, 09:17 PM)
we already did, but why build too much water treatment plants when we will eventually inherit those built by Singapore by year 2061?

as it is we already got a very nice water treatment plant that Singapore built for us back in 2011 when the 1st water agreement signed in 1961 lapsed in 2011.
SUSujayucho
post Mar 3 2019, 10:35 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 10:30 PM)
1987 is 30 years ago, who's paying the maintainance for the plant? Also we didn't charge SG the cost of treated water since they help with water treatment plant. We are selling as raw waters for 30 years since 87 no?
SG paying maintenance costs for the plant that supplied treated water to Johor since 1987.

Thot it is clear that SG is subsiding Johor. Thats why Johor continue to rely on SG. johor din hv to lift a finger n treated water will be sold at 50 sen to them (when actual cost is S$2.40) n above contracted quantity in the agreement.

This post has been edited by ujayucho: Mar 3 2019, 10:36 PM
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:42 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 10:14 PM)
Thanks for your explanation, then it's better for johor not selling it at raw water price, straight selling it as treated water to Singapore right? It make much more sense that way.
the deal is Singapore buy raw water not treated water.

but when deal is signed Singapore didn't have land for treatment plant.

land in johor cheaper then.

besides treating water for Singapore's use, they also treat the water for Johor's use.

that was the deal.

the deal signed has provisions whereby the plants that Singapore build will be handed over to johor once deal lapses.

as mentioned many times Singapore already gave johor the 1st water treatment plant built under the 1st agreement that lapsed in 2011.

johor in turn gave rights to operate that water treatment plant and sell water to crony company ranhill…

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:44 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ujayucho @ Mar 3 2019, 10:35 PM)
SG paying maintenance costs for the plant that supplied treated water to Johor since 1987.

Thot it is clear that SG is subsiding Johor. Thats why Johor continue to rely on SG.  johor din hv to lift a finger n treated water will be sold at 50 sen to them (when actual cost is S$2.40) n above contracted quantity in the agreement.
Yup, that's tongkat, no need do anything money coming in. I think it's time for johor to buy back the plant or building their own plant and start treating water on their own. Nothing good coming from tongkat and if we are to work on it is better.

We see no problem for Selangor doing so (treating own water)
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:48 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:42 PM)
the deal is Singapore buy raw water not treated water.

but when deal is signed Singapore didn't have land for treatment plant.

land in johor cheaper then.

besides treating water for Singapore's use, they also treat the water for Johor's use.

that was the deal.

the deal signed has provisions whereby the plants that Singapore build will be handed over to johor once deal lapses.

as mentioned many times Singapore already gave johor the 1st water treatment plant built under the 1st agreement that lapsed in 2011.

johor in turn gave rights to operate that water treatment plant and sell water to crony company ranhill…

whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Means now we are paying for the plant maintaince fees since 2011? Walao , really no free meal from sg. We are paying them 250mgd -16mgd raw treated water, paying them rm500 everyday and still need to pay to maintain the treatment plant?

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:51 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 10:34 PM)
I don't think msia has the ability to run a world class water treatment plant.

U see when sg treats the water, it is crystal clear and u can drink it straight.

U go to places like kl, the bloody tap water is yellow with thick chlorine and has sediments and floating stuff inside.

So there u go.

But nowadays even a xiaomi water purfier has membrane technology and can filter waste water to become drinkable...for 1000 ringgit so it is not like we are in 1960s
that one is bcos syabas never replaced their old pipes.

besides that's what you get from free or cheap water whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:54 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:51 PM)
that one is bcos syabas never replaced their old pipes.

besides that's what you get from free or cheap water  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Well we can sell it @ 40 cent to SG, it's their problem the treated water isn't up to their standard. It fits our standard. What do you think? whistling.gif
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:54 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 10:30 PM)
johor have been selling raw water to Singapore since 1920s.

bcos back then johor and Singapore were under same british influence.

especially with Singapore as it's a proper settlement colony.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 10:56 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 10:48 PM)
Then what is Dr M barking about?

He was the PM that chose not to review in 1987.

He purposely din build water treatment plant in Johor.
He not review it @87 doesn't mean he can't review it in future. Your landlord doesn't increase the rental @ years ago doesn't mean he can't review the rental next year.
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:56 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 10:39 PM)
Yes and johor govt will sell that 50 sen water to ppl in johor for a lot more like 1.99 ringgit? And make a profit doing nothing.

That's the real reason why they don't want to cut water.

U think they have billions and the expertise to run a water treatment plant as well as sg?

Maybe but surely not as well
the real question is who benefits from selling water supplied by Singapore to johor customers?

since cost to the seller is zero?

Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 10:59 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 10:48 PM)
Means now we are paying for the plant maintaince fees since 2011? Walao , really no free meal from sg. We are paying them 250mgd -16mgd raw treated water, paying them rm500 everyday and still need to pay to maintain the treatment plant?
hello my friend?

you got comprehension problem?

johor doesn't pay any money to Singapore for the treated water la.

the amount they buy from us is bigger than the amount we are buying from them.

it's net loss to Singapore.

coyouth
post Mar 3 2019, 11:09 PM

820 posts

i knew a Singaporean was gonna post this to see Malaysian's reaction to it.
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 11:25 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:59 PM)
hello my friend?

you got comprehension problem?

johor doesn't pay any money to Singapore for the treated water la.

the amount they buy from us is bigger than the amount we are buying from them.

it's net loss to Singapore.
The amount they buy from us is high but the amount we charge them is lesser, way lesser.
Faidzal
post Mar 3 2019, 11:26 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 11:25 PM)
The amount they buy from us is high but the amount we charge them is lesser, way lesser.
I bet you suck at math.
syahmie8
post Mar 3 2019, 11:30 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:33 PM)
we already did, but why build too much water treatment plants when we will eventually inherit those built by Singapore by year 2061?

as it is we already got a very nice water treatment plant that Singapore built for us back in 2011 when the 1st water agreement signed in 1961 lapsed in 2011.
Then buy the water treatment and stop selling water to Singapore la.. Why need to wait until 2061??? Lepas tu menyalak tak dpt jual air mahal.. Kena beli air mahal.. Wat the heck.. Oh well.. Something secret agreement that benefits some people la ni where the rakyat need to suffer.. 😄
TSzacky chan
post Mar 3 2019, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(coyouth @ Mar 3 2019, 11:09 PM)
i knew a Singaporean was gonna post this to see Malaysian's reaction to it.
i'm Malaysian...from perak...still in Malaysia... biggrin.gif

its good to see how other do thing compare to us here....nothing wrong with seeing that... tongue.gif
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 11:54 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 11:26 PM)
I bet you suck at math.
Your math is good? Then help answer 3 simple math questions below.

How much is the total cost for 250 million gallon selling rate at 3 cent / thousand gallon

How much is the total cost for 16 million gallon of water with selling rate of 50 cent / thousand gallon?

Which one is higher per above?

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 12:14 AM
wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 11:58 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 11:33 PM)
Thats because Malaysia din lift a single finger😡

SG build, pay n maintain all the water infrastructure n will be handing over to Johor in working condition upon expiry of agt.  1st one handed in 2011 liao.  Go google.
I know and we will be paying the maintainance fees of the treatment plant after the handover. You catch the deal? See short terms we getting free treatment plant, try see long term. We maintaining it+ selling water at lower rate

Also there are side deal with petronas in exchange of SG helping us building the treatment plant.

In a nutshell there are no free lunch given by Singapore, we are at lost again and again.

I post the link earlier. Try look for it.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 12:00 AM
weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 12:09 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 11:54 PM)

How much is the total cost for 250 million gallon selling rate at 3 cent / thousand gallon

How much is the total cost for 16 million gallon of water with selling rate of 50 cent / thousand gallon?

Bro, you read or not?

The cost of treating the water is a few times higher than the 50 cents Singapore is charging Malaysia, it's not selling price, it's cost of subsidy and if people build infra for you what's wrong of you paying maintenance because you already untung by not paying for the infra.

I really suspect your maths and comprehension. Malaysian to a Malaysian.
weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 12:16 AM

316 posts

If we want to argue, we need to do it properly, not use emotions, that's how we lose to the Singaporeans who use logic (but their downfall will be their pride, as is seen this thread).

This post has been edited by weissPC: Mar 4 2019, 12:17 AM
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 12:17 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(weissPC @ Mar 4 2019, 12:09 AM)
Bro, you read or not?

The cost of treating the water is a few times higher than the 50 cents Singapore is charging Malaysia, it's not selling price, it's cost of subsidy and if people build infra for you what's wrong of you paying maintenance because you already untung by not paying for the infra.

I really suspect your maths and comprehension. Malaysian to a Malaysian.
Don't care about the cost of treating the water. Bro you admit it yourself, sg is going to transfer the plant ownership to us in the future.
We are to pay for its maintainance fees, so you think SG maintainance fees and costs is going to remain as it is forever?
Our selling price is, if we don't do anything about it now.

Do you even have any ability to analyze the future? When all plant is given to Malaysia? Who's paying to maintaining it?

No wonder it's so easy for SG to milk Malaysia, the sight is so short. Long term advantage or disadvantage also dunno?

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 12:22 AM
weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 12:24 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 12:17 AM)
Don't care about the cost of treating the water. Bro you admit it yourself, sg is going to transfer the plant ownership to us in the future.
We are to pay for its maintainance fees, so you think SG maintainance fees and costs is going to remain as it is forever?

Do you even have any ability to analyze the future? When all plant is given to Malaysia? Who's paying to maintaining it?

No wonder it's so easy for SG to milk Malaysia, the sight is so short. Long term advantage or disadvantage also dunno?
You tell that to the court of arbitration that you ignore the cost of treating water, can ah?

Like a Singaporean said, make a win-win agreement, we're complimentary economies, we need each other to win, and you're thinking about maintenance cost when the bigger picture is China, and potentially all the sea trade bypassing us thru Myanmar direct to China.

This post has been edited by weissPC: Mar 4 2019, 12:26 AM
Artus
post Mar 4 2019, 12:26 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:50 PM)
You seemed like a smart cookie.

Why cant we lower our tax rate to be sama sama as SG?

We are definitely in better position to lower as we hv oil,  palm oil,  durian, rubber n all kind of resources.

Wait,  we hv Labuan.  What happen?

We really must not behave macam master race. 

Always blame other race for working hard n succeed.
Singapore's corporate tax rate is 17% whereas ours is 24%.

Corporate income taxes is a very important source of revenue for both governments. In the case of Singapore corporate taxes is 20% of their total revenue so they cannot simply be lowered.

What I was talking about was the kind of special tax rate that is given to foreign companies that want Singapore's help in running away from paying on profits made in other countries. That's why I gave the Australian example where a big company there avoided paying the Australian corporate tax rate of 30% by doing a transfer pricing via their Singapore-based "marketing arm".

This kind of special tax rate can be closed to zero. Singapore is not bothered to tax the profit because the profit was not really generated by the Singapore company anyway. This kind of activity is damaging to neighbouring countries.

weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 12:36 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 4 2019, 12:34 AM)
Who started Labuan?

Labuan is a tax haven😡

badawi or Bijan?

Where is their moral compass?
If I remember, it's PM4...
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 12:41 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 4 2019, 12:22 AM)
Agreed.

Really hope no sinkies reading this.

They will die of laughing 😁
indeed I agree, SG will definitely laugh at us.

Summary
Sg -My 24 November 1990 agreement- agreements would expire in 2061

Singapore to build a dam across Sungei Linggiu to facilitate the extraction of water from the Johor River

Singapore would compensate Johor RM$320 million for the land needed to build the dam and its surrounding facilities. This was in addition to a premium of RM18,000 per ha (per 10,000 sq m) and an annual rent of RM30 for every 1,000 sq ft (per 92.9 sq m) of the land.

Singapore would also bear the cost of constructing and maintaining the dam, which would be transferred to Johor at a later date

Together with the water agreement signed, there was also another agreement signed with Malaysian oil company Petronas that secured the supply of 150 million cu ft (about 4.2 million cu m) of natural gas from Terengganu to Singapore.

So stupid is Malaysian, got milked like a cow still feeling grateful because they are feeding us fodder.

QUOTE(weissPC @ Mar 4 2019, 12:24 AM)
You tell that to the court of arbitration that you ignore the cost of treating water, can ah?

Like a Singaporean said, make a win-win agreement, we're  complimentary economies, we need each other to win, and you're thinking about maintenance cost when the bigger picture is China, and potentially all the sea trade bypassing us thru Myanmar direct to China.
Above article sure is a win to sg. Because got stupid people who see 310 million sgd owai.. Its myr, can feed us forever.

Cancelling 1 hsr project already cost us double or triple of 310 million myr.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 12:45 AM
Artus
post Mar 4 2019, 12:55 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 11:08 PM)
Aiyo,  jux say whether we want Malaysia to honour signed agreements or not lah.

If yes to honour agt, it was provided in 1987. None other than Dr M himself consciously chose not to. Both MY media n Dr M din publicly disclose this bit. Prob to mislead the MY public to paint this agt as unfair with no px adjustment mechanism.

If no to honour agt,  then MY shld announce to the whole world that any written agt can b unilaterally changed by MY alone if the govt feel it is unfair.  Also can.

But China is a gd example.  Its lease of HK to UK is lagi unfair as China was forced to sign.  However, it stick to 1997 agt with no drama.  Instead,  it did the right thing to up its own game n see where it is now.
I have already said that the UK didn't need to return Hong Kong Island back to China. Hong Kong Island and Kowloon was ceded in perpetuity to Britain after the First and Second Opium Wars. What that meant was that both the Hong Kong Island and Kowloon belonged to the UK - they were not leased from China.

What was leased for 99 years from China was the New Territories and the lease was to expire in 1997. The UK wanted to extend the lease on the New Territories beyond 1997 but China refused. On top of the refusal to extend the lease, China demanded the return of Hong Kong Island and Kowloon together with the New Territories when the lease on the New Territories expires in 1997.

The PM of the UK at that time, Margaret Thatcher, refused to return Hong Kong island and Kowloon and China's Paramount Leader at that time, Deng Xiaoping threatened an invasion of Hong Kong if the UK refused. Thatcher chickened-out.

Just like how Britain used its stronger military power back in the 19th century to force China into giving them Hong Kong and Kowloon, a much stronger China in the 20th century can easily demand back Hong Kong without even firing a shot.

Now you may understand why Singapore spends so much on its military. It probably need to ensure that all the unfair agreements in its favour, to continue.

Artus
post Mar 4 2019, 01:45 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 10:50 PM)
Sg is the best at treating water, number one in the world. There are research centres, sg been doing it since a long time, and we even do it in china for them. Cleanest water in the wold

I doubt msia can treat water as well as us.

Johor tap water will be yellow and with rocks as well.
You mean like this?

PUB explains rusty brown water flowing from tap in Ang Mo Kio HDB flat

Rusty water is very common because sure got some sediments in the water supply. Found around the world. Singapore also no exception. The bigger the water distribution network, more occurrence of broken pipes.

As long as drinking straight from the tap doesn't make you ill is good enough.

If totally don't want sediments then maybe drink your desalinated water 100% but that might kill you:

Scientists reveal public health risks with desalination

This post has been edited by Artus: Mar 4 2019, 01:46 AM
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 01:56 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(syahmie8 @ Mar 3 2019, 11:30 PM)
Then buy the water treatment and stop selling water to Singapore la.. Why need to wait until 2061??? Lepas tu menyalak tak dpt jual air mahal.. Kena beli air mahal.. Wat the heck.. Oh well.. Something secret agreement that benefits some people la ni where the rakyat need to suffer.. 😄
1. there is a binding agreement that ends in 2061

2. why buy water treatment plant when you can get it for free?

3. why stop selling when you also get benefits from selling (effectively getting free treated water)?

and yes, who benefits from this water deal?

bukit berlari?

This post has been edited by Faidzal: Mar 4 2019, 02:24 AM
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 02:25 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 11:54 PM)

did you factor in the cost for Singapore to treat 1000 gallon of raw water?

of course you didn't bcos you didn't read any of the other replies as well.

ok la I humour you

1. answer is 7500 = A

2. answer is 8000 = B

but unfortunately equation no. 2 is supposed to be 16x1000x7.20 = 115,200 = C

with 7.20 the cost to Singapore to treat the water for both sides.

instead of selling water at 115,200, Singapore sold it for 8000.

C- B = Singapore loses 107,200 each time they sell to Malaysia

told you you suck at math

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 02:31 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 11:58 PM)
I know and we will be paying the maintainance fees of the treatment plant after the handover. You catch the deal? See short terms we getting free treatment plant, try see long term. We maintaining it+ selling water at lower rate

Also there are side deal with petronas in exchange of SG helping us building the treatment plant.

In a nutshell there are no free lunch given by Singapore, we are at lost again and again.

I post the link earlier. Try look for it.
1st of all who is we?

there's no 'we'. there's only the water concession holder which in this case is ranhill.

the ranhill corp. pay maintenance fee only for the plants that supply water to johor. as per agreement.

they get money to do maintenance from johor ppl who buy their water.

as for plants that supply both johor and Singapore, it's Singapore that's responsible. as per agreement

not only you suck at math, you lack understanding of law as well.

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 02:37 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 12:41 AM)
indeed I agree, SG will definitely laugh at us.

Summary
Sg -My 24 November 1990 agreement- agreements would expire in 2061

Singapore to build a dam across Sungei Linggiu to facilitate the extraction of water from the Johor River

Singapore would compensate Johor RM$320 million for the land needed to build the dam and its surrounding facilities. This was in addition to a premium of RM18,000 per ha (per 10,000 sq m) and an annual rent of RM30 for every 1,000 sq ft (per 92.9 sq m) of the land.

Singapore would also bear the cost of constructing and maintaining the dam, which would be transferred to Johor at a later date

Together with the water agreement signed, there was also another agreement signed with Malaysian oil company Petronas that secured the supply of 150 million cu ft (about 4.2 million cu m) of natural gas from Terengganu to Singapore.

So stupid is Malaysian, got milked like a cow still feeling grateful because they are feeding us fodder.
Above article sure is a win to sg. Because got stupid people who see 310 million sgd owai.. Its myr, can feed us forever.

Cancelling 1 hsr project already cost us double or triple of 310 million myr.
singaporeans only laugh at YOU and you alone bcos you really are stupid.

others already pointed out your mistakes.

darth5zaft
post Mar 4 2019, 02:39 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 10:34 PM)
I don't think msia has the ability to run a world class water treatment plant.

U see when sg treats the water, it is crystal clear and u can drink it straight.

U go to places like kl, the bloody tap water is yellow with thick chlorine and has sediments and floating stuff inside.

So there u go.

But nowadays even a xiaomi water purfier has membrane technology and can filter waste water to become drinkable...for 1000 ringgit so it is not like we are in 1960s
Kek

Thinking water everywhere in marehsia the same lousy quality as the one run by selangor.

The reason why KV water suck is because they never built a dam, and then take the water straight from the river on the downstream. You can see how busuk the river water in kajang and bangi already and guess what the intake is further downstream near Putrajaya.

I suggest you go pahang, penang(the island, mainland one lousy) and perak and see how the pipe water there works. Even in the afternoon the pipe water is cold.
nabelon
post Mar 4 2019, 02:55 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Mar 4 2019, 02:39 AM)
Kek

Thinking water everywhere in marehsia the same lousy quality as the one run by selangor.
The reason why KV water suck is because they never built a dam, and then take the water straight from the river on the downstream. You can see how busuk the river water in kajang and bangi already and guess what the intake is further downstream near Putrajaya.
I suggest you go pahang, penang(the island, mainland one lousy) and perak and see how the pipe water there works. Even in the afternoon the pipe water is cold.
This is so true, born and raised in penang, i find that water in other states not to par with the sweetness of penang island water. No wonder our food tastes so much better too.
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 03:05 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 02:25 AM)
did you factor in the cost for Singapore to treat 1000 gallon of raw water?

of course you didn't bcos you didn't read any of the other replies as well.

ok la I humour you

1. answer is 7500 = A

2. answer is 8000 = B

but unfortunately equation no. 2 is supposed to be 16x1000x7.20 = 115,200 = C

with 7.20 the cost to Singapore to treat the water for both sides.

instead of selling water at 115,200, Singapore sold it for 8000.

C- B = Singapore loses 107,200 each time they sell to Malaysia

told you you suck at math
Look, you answered my questions, we are paying net 500 ringgit end of the day.

You keep on harping about the actual cost SG paid and how much they subsidize us.

You really think we need myr 7.20 to treat 1000 gallon of water? You know how much is selangor selling for 1000 gallon to the consumer? Try compare Ranhill rate with syabas rate. Its 80 cent/ first 20 m3 agaisnt 57 cent / first 20 m3. Its more expensive even with sg so called subsidies, why?

So you're saying we can't treat the water ourselves at cheaper rate? We can't get treated water under 50 cent if we do it ourselves?

And I'm not even talking about their cost to begin with, I'm talking about our selling price to them.

If you want to hug on the debate of Singapore subsidies us their actually cost is higher, then why not we take over the treatment plant and sell treated water to Singapore? They are selling sgd 1.19 / first 40 m3, we can sell them 1 sgd for first 40m3 & so on they can goyang kaki and earn 19 cent sgd for first 40m3 & so on.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 03:30 AM
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 03:11 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 02:31 AM)
1st of all who is we?

there's no 'we'. there's only the water concession holder which in this case is ranhill.

the ranhill corp. pay maintenance fee only for the plants that supply water to johor. as per agreement.

they get money to do maintenance from johor ppl who buy their water.

as for plants that supply both johor and Singapore, it's Singapore that's responsible. as per agreement

not only you suck at math, you lack understanding of law as well.
Ranhill is Malaysia company no? Malaysia companies is paying for the maintainance fees no? What are you trying to proves?

Of course, Singapore is paying for the maintainance for now, how about in future? try explain below sentence then,

What you understand as per the law?
TSzacky chan
post Mar 4 2019, 03:24 AM

QUOTE(nabelon @ Mar 4 2019, 02:55 AM)
This is so true, born and raised in penang, i find that water in other states not to par with the sweetness of penang island water. No wonder our food tastes so much better too.
yeah....penang water is sweet.....owai.....is this sarcasm or what??? laugh.gif

although i live at penang for 5 years and drink straight from water tap after sport and jog....no bad things there... biggrin.gif
Nannostomuss
post Mar 4 2019, 04:44 AM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:15 PM)
I see it at another angle, SG can't get any better deal except from Malaysia,  reason SG buying from Malaysia because it's cheap.

China isn't our competitor, they are our trading customers, it's always been like that since years ago, Singapore is our competitors in Malacca strait competing to get China monies.  There are resources and technologies which China have and we don't have, but there are nothing that Singapore have which we dont have.
There is something which Singapore and we dont have. Good governance and proper use of talents, if you step on a gold mine and not being able to mine it. Whats the point of having one?

One of our largest investor, largest oversea consumer and tourism income. tens of thousands our people crossing the causeway every day to earn their living for their family, young kids and adult feeling hopeful being educated in one of the best educational institutions in the world.

Grandma and grandpa seeking health care for diseases and old age issues. These are some of the many examples of why Singapore is so important. We can just shut up and live peacefully with them life is actually better. if our prime minister wants to pick a fight with them. FUCKING make better use of his brain to think of making our life better not for the worse than our people will not need to seek Job in Singapore. Stop talking about water price or land etc....havent he heard of MONEY IS KING...strength our economy and life then when we can demand whatever we like.

feeling very sad...with Najib gone thought life is probably better. Now it seems that it isnt...sorry folk i have lost hope for this nation and our people. after reading these comments, we are still living in denial, keep bashing Singapore out of sour grapes will not be better out life.

Imagine what it would be like if johor merge with Singapore, think life will be better lol

This post has been edited by Nannostomuss: Mar 4 2019, 04:50 AM
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 07:46 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 03:05 AM)

You keep on harping about the actual cost SG paid and how much they subsidize us.

You really think we need myr 7.20 to treat 1000 gallon of water? You know how much is selangor selling for 1000 gallon to the consumer? Try compare Ranhill rate with syabas rate. Its 80 cent/ first 20 m3 agaisnt 57 cent / first 20 m3. Its more expensive even with sg so called subsidies, why?

So you're saying we can't treat the water ourselves at cheaper rate? We can't get treated water under 50 cent if we do it ourselves?

And I'm not even talking about their cost to begin with, I'm talking about our selling price to them.

If you want to hug on the debate of Singapore subsidies us their actually cost is higher, then why not we take over the treatment plant and sell treated water to Singapore? They are selling sgd 1.19 / first 40 m3, we can sell them 1 sgd for first 40m3 & so on they can goyang kaki and earn 19 cent sgd for first 40m3 & so on.
lulz, you really think johor or ranhill or whatever the entity that you refer to 'we' is paying Singapore for treated water?

so naïve of you.

net pay of RM500?

topkek.

you already mentioned this didn't you?

did you bother to calculate how much Singapore is paying Johor back on those cukai tanah the plants are sitting on?

and that is for the new dam and accompanying water plant, but what about the other older plants?

kesian your comprehension really bad.

and keep mentioning about maintenance cost to me. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

bro once we own the plants only then we pay, as it is maintenance cost is part of the calculation of the water tariff ranhill/syabas/PBA etc. water company charge consumers for the water.

ppl have been copy pasting the agreement and also you yourself copy pasted the agreement.

what part of that agreement you can't understand?

1. Singapore has right to draw raw water from johor and sell treated water to johor

2. agreement is until 2061, and it's been since the 1920s, only that latest terms are set in 1990, all this while they have been drawing raw water but even johor can't supply what they require bcos Singapore didn't invest much up until johor and Singapore agreed to the terms you copypasted.

3. once agreement ends in 2061, everything reverts to johor and Singapore can't get a drop of water from johor unless they do a new agreement.

you keep mentioning that johor should take over the water treatment? do you understand 'breach of contract'?

here's some nice old news about how much Singapore actually paying johor to supply johor with water:

https://www.quora.com/Under-the-1961-1962-w...n-for-raw-water

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 08:04 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 03:11 AM)
Ranhill is Malaysia company no? Malaysia companies is paying for the maintainance fees no? What are you trying to proves?

Of course, Singapore is paying for the maintainance for now, how about in future? try explain below sentence then,

What you understand as per the law?
here's an analogy

1. Singapore and Johor need house.

2. Johor has land but not so much money, so Singapore builds house using 100% of Singapore's money on Johor's land.

3. Johor and Singapore make agreement, whereby Singapore pays for everything (quit rent, assessment, bills, unifi, furnishing etc.) and Johor pay token sum of rm500/month to use everything inside the house and stay inside house as well.

no matter how you calculate it, Singapore pays more compared to johor in this regard.

4. however in same agreement Johor will also get the house in 2061 for free and Singapore must move out, but cannot remove anything from house at all, cannot claim anything at all.

5. Johor also all this while sublet the some of the rooms in the house that Singapore and Johor share to Johor's cousins and friends, and the amount Johor collects from the subletting effectively exceeds the rm500/month that Johor pay to Singapore, and this is also in the agreement and Singapore can't object to other ppl staying in the house bcos they are Johor's friends and cousins.

Johor's cousins and friends who live in Johor's part of house don't have to leave after 2061, unlike Singapore...

Once Singapore leave house Johor get a bigger house and can even increase rent to his cousins and friends who still stay there...

if Singapore wants to continue living inside the now-legally-owned-by-johor house beyond 2061, they have to do new agreement.

despite it's Singapore that effectively built and kept the house...

now you understand?

weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 09:20 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Nannostomuss @ Mar 4 2019, 04:44 AM)
There is something which Singapore and we dont have. Good governance and proper use of talents, ....

Imagine what it would be like if johor merge with Singapore, think life will be better lol
Yeah, acquiring Johor (politically or militarily) will solve a lot of Singapore's problems but will definitely create a lot of new problems with the remaining butthurt states of Peninsula Malaysia.

This could be in Singapore's military doctrine that's not publicly known, so instead of upping our game, and in the meantime leveraging on each other, spending so much time and effort by getting butthurt that we're paying Singapore RM500 (is it SGD or MYR?) per day for water and the fact that we will be paying maintenance on infra that Singapore built in the future.

This lack of vision and kiasuness by some Malaysians will doom us to remain backwater nation for a long long time.
MishimaZ
post Mar 4 2019, 09:29 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Mar 4 2019, 02:55 AM)
Now that explains on why Penangites semua otak tak center one.

But gotta give Penang gutter food some credit, really the worst and overrated junks I had ever tasted out in the universe.
smwah
post Mar 4 2019, 09:35 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(Nannostomuss @ Mar 4 2019, 04:44 AM)
There is something which Singapore and we dont have. Good governance and proper use of talents, if you step on a gold mine and not being able to mine it. Whats the point of having one?

One of our largest investor, largest oversea consumer and tourism income. tens of thousands our people crossing the causeway every day to earn their living for their family, young kids and adult feeling hopeful being educated in one of the best educational institutions in the world.

Grandma and grandpa seeking health care for diseases and old age issues. These are some of the many examples of why Singapore is so important. We can just shut up and live peacefully with them life is actually better. if our prime minister wants to pick a fight with them. FUCKING make better use of his brain to think of making our life better not for the worse than our people will not need to seek Job in Singapore. Stop talking about water price or land etc....havent he heard of MONEY IS KING...strength our economy and life then when we can demand whatever we like.

feeling very sad...with Najib gone thought life is probably better. Now it seems that it isnt...sorry folk i have lost hope for this nation and our people. after reading these comments, we are still living in denial, keep bashing Singapore out of sour grapes will not be better out life.

Same case if you deal with rich company. If you have no money how to earn your stand? How do you feel being bully by richer country? Same as you cronies bullying we citizen in own land. You made mistake then you should deal it humbly not like kids crying over split milks.
You comment is fully agreed. Same…e as we live in Malaysia society, if you nothing . No body bother bout you, if you rich and somebody ppl will jilat you.
Stop talking fairness, you got cash you are king.

Level 60 Wizard
post Mar 4 2019, 09:48 AM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

morally wrong doesnt stand in court

true story

i can say that fella arrogant as fuck, but if it's not against the law, then nothing can be done.
MistaKid
post Mar 4 2019, 09:53 AM

fuzzy
post Mar 4 2019, 09:56 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,104 posts

SUSekookekook
post Mar 4 2019, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 03:05 AM)

Let me try to help you Malaysian to Malaysian smile.gif

You now want to sell treated water to SG at S$1 for 1st 40m3 and so on.

Then wtf is SG doing when they sell to MY at RM0.50 per 1,000 gallons?

If you still dun understand, SG is subsidizing Johor for treated water.

Bear in mind, Johor din lift a single finger to build, pay or construct all the water infra. This means the water will just flow into the open sea, ie Cantonese say salt water sea.

It is quite sad that no MY govt officers had disputed a single word in SG's statements since the 1990s.

If this goes to any court, the judge will surely take the entire transaction as a whole and not just 3 sen per 1,000 gallons.

https://www1.mfa.gov.sg/SINGAPORES-FOREIGN-...ater-Agreements

The above will show the full facts which both DR M and the MY media will not want the MY public to know vmad.gif

wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 10:16 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 07:46 AM)
lulz, you really think johor or ranhill or whatever the entity that you refer to 'we' is paying Singapore for treated water?

so naïve of you.

net pay of RM500?

topkek.

you already mentioned this didn't you?
did you bother to calculate how much Singapore is paying Johor back on those cukai tanah the plants are sitting on?

and that is for the new dam and accompanying water plant, but what about the other older plants?

kesian your comprehension really bad.

and keep mentioning about maintenance cost to me.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

bro once we own the plants only then we pay, as it is maintenance cost is part of the calculation of the water tariff ranhill/syabas/PBA etc. water company charge consumers for the water.

ppl have been copy pasting the agreement and also you yourself copy pasted the agreement.

what part of that agreement you can't understand?

1. Singapore has right to draw raw water from johor and sell treated water to johor

2. agreement is until 2061, and it's been since the 1920s, only that latest terms are set in 1990, all this while they have been drawing raw water but even johor can't supply what they require bcos Singapore didn't invest much up until johor and Singapore agreed to the terms you copypasted.

3. once agreement ends in 2061, everything reverts to johor and Singapore can't get a drop of water from johor unless they do a new agreement.

you keep mentioning that johor should  take over the water treatment? do you understand 'breach of contract'?

here's some nice old news about how much Singapore actually paying johor to supply johor with water:

https://www.quora.com/Under-the-1961-1962-w...n-for-raw-water
Bro, by just paying rental cukai tanah etc, that is already enough? Top kek la you. They don't have land, use our land, paying for cukai tanah and rental is expected. We now talking about new water rate, not land leasing. If you want to drag land leasing into discussion, why don't you drag and show me total taxes paid by Singaporean in johor? Total business they bring?

Even if we raise the water rate, they will continue paying cukai tanah and rental, and even we increase the water price, SG knew it will still be cheaper options, they also don't have enough land.

Don't you see ranhill is charging higher rate why? To cover for the plant maintainance which was hand over to us like you mention, end of the day who pay? Malaysian. By 2061, water rate we Malaysian (in Johor) pays will increase again.

Johor can't supply enough water? Because they found the tongkat of buying and selling and not bothering supplying. Johor is able to supply for both Johor and Singapore.
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 10:27 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 08:04 AM)
here's an analogy

1. Singapore and Johor need house.

2. Johor has land but not so much money, so Singapore builds house using 100% of Singapore's money on Johor's land.

3. Johor and Singapore make agreement, whereby Singapore pays for everything (quit rent, assessment, bills, unifi, furnishing etc.) and Johor pay token sum of rm500/month to use everything inside the house and stay inside house as well.

no matter how you calculate it, Singapore pays more compared to johor in this regard.

4. however in same agreement Johor will also get the house in 2061 for free and Singapore must move out, but cannot remove anything from house at all, cannot claim anything at all.

5. Johor also all this while sublet the some of the rooms in the house that Singapore and Johor share to Johor's cousins and friends, and the amount Johor collects from the subletting effectively exceeds the rm500/month that Johor pay to Singapore, and this is also in the agreement and Singapore can't object to other ppl staying in the house bcos they are Johor's friends and cousins.

Johor's cousins and friends who live in Johor's part of house don't have to leave after 2061, unlike Singapore...

Once Singapore leave house Johor get a bigger house and can even increase rent to his cousins and friends who still stay there...

if Singapore wants to continue living inside the now-legally-owned-by-johor house beyond 2061, they have to do new agreement.

despite it's Singapore that effectively built and kept the house...

now you understand?
Bro, what's wrong for Singapore to pay more? It's expected. They need vital water sources and gas. In the agreement they get both resources.

Please, we don't have myr 320 million? Really? We can't afford it? We aren't talking about billions here.

We get the facilities in 2061 for free? At what cost? Maintaining it. End of the day who is paying the maintainance? Ranhill? No, it will be Malaysian.
2061 we draft new agreement? Why not we draft new one now? Taking into consideration cost we need absorb to maintaining the world class treatment plant.
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 10:33 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(ekookekook @ Mar 4 2019, 10:06 AM)
Let me try to help you Malaysian to Malaysian smile.gif

You now want to sell treated water to SG at S$1 for 1st 40m3 and so on.

Then wtf is SG doing when they sell to MY at RM0.50 per 1,000 gallons? 

If you still dun understand, SG is subsidizing Johor for treated water.

Bear in mind, Johor din lift a single finger to build, pay or construct all the water infra.  This means the water will just flow into the open sea, ie Cantonese say salt water sea. 

It is quite sad that no MY govt officers had disputed a single word in SG's statements since the 1990s.

If this goes to any court, the judge will surely take the entire transaction as a whole and not just 3 sen per 1,000 gallons.

The above will show the full facts which both DR M and the MY media will not want the MY public to know vmad.gif
Bro try tell me which state have the most exspensive water rate in Malaysia?

You will understand, whatever subsidy paid by Singapore is useless if the water rate is still highest in Malaysia. My as well we sell to Singaporean , profit from them and use the profit to subsidies Malaysian.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 10:36 AM
SUSekookekook
post Mar 4 2019, 10:37 AM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 10:33 AM)
Bro try tell me which state have the most exspensive water rate in Malaysian.

You will understand, whatever subsidy paid by Singapore is useless if the water rate is still highest in Malaysia. My as well we sell to Singaporean , profit from them and use the profit to subsidies Malaysian.
MY can obviously propose selling treated water to SG anytime we are ready.

However, do you intend to respect the current contract?

If yes, ayam proud.

If no, where is the respect for written and signed agreements in Baru Malaysia?

The whole world is watching rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ekookekook: Mar 4 2019, 10:38 AM
pgsiemkia
post Mar 4 2019, 10:42 AM

470 posts

Don't buy if dun like. No one forcing you, singkies!

wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 10:44 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(ekookekook @ Mar 4 2019, 10:37 AM)
MY can obviously propose selling treated water to SG anytime we are ready.

However, do you intend to respect the current contract?

If yes, ayam proud.

If no, where is the respect for written and signed agreements in Baru Malaysia?

The whole world is watching rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Respecting current contract which was drafted without exit clause, review terms in future and was 50 years old?

Is it a fair contract?

SUSp1ulua3
post Mar 4 2019, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Mar 4 2019, 10:42 AM)
Don't buy if dun like. No one forcing you, singkies!
Are you Malaysian?

Do you respect written agreement?

Wait, are you BN macai cos Baru Malaysia and PH respect rule of law rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

hiro2016
post Mar 4 2019, 10:49 AM

19 posts

Malaysia will always fight cause they said that the water is sold is too cheap for Singapore, and Singapore will always fight back cause it's within the agreement and they sell back the treated water to Malaysia in a cheaper price.

I believe if Malaysia insist to renegotiate, Singapore would love it, cause they can also increase the price of treated water, then I guess that Malaysia will threaten to stop water supply to Singapore.

As for now, Singapore might still need the water from Malaysia, and if you are in Singapore you will know, Singapore aim to be self water reliance by the date of the contract ends. This is because Lee Kuan Yew has projected Malaysia will threaten Singapore with water agreement again sooner or later.

Personally i think it's a political gimmick by Tun M, he's been there in the beginning and now suddenly raise up this issue, even other ministers just diam diam. It's not so easy to recontract the things, and he knows it. Just making some headlines to stir up some public perceptions. Anyway I would love to see how this issue proceeds, cause it's a new govt after all, dealing with Singapore govt. Looking at this video, you can see that how Singapore govt works, with facts and figures... you can say they are hiding something, but you can't deny that what they said is true.

=)
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 10:53 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(MistaKid @ Mar 4 2019, 09:53 AM)
thanks. as budak2 wechat will ask, "tak faham la, lukis boleh?"

great infographic btw...

btw the company getting rich in all of this is bukit berlari.

as insinuated many2 times before in this tered.

duHwaN
post Mar 4 2019, 10:55 AM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 10:44 AM)
Respecting current contract which was drafted without exit clause, review terms in future and was 50 years old?

Is it a fair contract?
I can imagine when they first signed it, malaysia thought they are getting themselves a deal to be selling something they have abundant and freely falling from the sky... and would have gone to waste (without monetizing) otherwise.

Blame it on short-sightedness.
SUSp1ulua3
post Mar 4 2019, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:49 AM)
Malaysia will always fight cause they said that the water is sold is too cheap for Singapore, and Singapore will always fight back cause it's within the agreement and they sell back the treated water to Malaysia in a cheaper price.

I believe if Malaysia insist to renegotiate, Singapore would love it, cause they can also increase the price of treated water, then I guess that Malaysia will threaten to stop water supply to Singapore.

As for now, Singapore might still need the water from Malaysia, and if you are in Singapore you will know, Singapore aim to be self water reliance by the date of the contract ends. This is because Lee Kuan Yew has projected Malaysia will threaten Singapore with water agreement again sooner or later.

Personally i think it's a political gimmick by Tun M, he's been there in the beginning and now suddenly raise up this issue, even other ministers just diam diam. It's not so easy to recontract the things, and he knows it. Just making some headlines to stir up some public perceptions. Anyway I would love to see how this issue proceeds, cause it's a new govt after all, dealing with Singapore govt. Looking at this video, you can see that how Singapore govt works, with facts and figures... you can say they are hiding something, but you can't deny that what they said is true.

=)
Can you imagine this issue goes to the courts? Will the judge take into account SG's subsidized water sale to Johor?

Think answer is obviously YES.

What I find most disgusting is that the Malaysian public had been deliberately misled and misinformed by both Dr M and the media.

The link below shows the full facts which Malaysia (including our new PH govt) did not dispute since the 1990s.

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 10:58 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 10:16 AM)
Bro, by just paying rental cukai tanah etc, that is already enough?
yes, in fact johor and ranhill profit from all this water business.

as many others have even drawn it in nice infographic to you.

Malaysians pay more to Malaysian company or govt.? why this is normal, where have you been?

if you still cannot or would not understand this then mmg you bodo sombong

fadzly
post Mar 4 2019, 10:59 AM

1,757 posts

I suppork Singapore
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 11:02 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 10:27 AM)
Bro, what's wrong for Singapore to pay more? It's expected. They need vital water sources and gas. In the agreement they get both resources.

Please, we don't have myr 320 million? Really? We can't afford it? We aren't talking about billions here.

We get the facilities in 2061 for free? At what cost? Maintaining it. End of the day who is paying the maintainance? Ranhill? No, it will be Malaysian.
2061 we draft new agreement? Why not we draft new one now? Taking into consideration cost we need absorb to maintaining the world class treatment plant.
hello genius, if we ask Singapore to pay market rate for our raw water now, they also have right to ask Johor to pay market rate for their treated water.

as this guy already mentioned WAY WAY EARLIER in this tered:

any more smart suggestions?
buncho89
post Mar 4 2019, 11:04 AM

282 posts

siapa la pandai sgt sign contract panjang panjang..when does it expire? when time to review then better start drafting a more fair agreement...
arsenwagon
post Mar 4 2019, 11:04 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 01:52 AM)
Vivian is for male.

and so on...
Frk... Can i unfap to vivian Hsu????

?oh nnooooooo
wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 11:06 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 10:58 AM)
yes, in fact johor and ranhill profit from all this water business.

as many others have even drawn it in nice infographic to you.

Malaysians pay more to Malaysian company or govt.? why this is normal, where have you been?

if you still cannot or would not understand this then mmg you bodo sombong
Tbh, it isn't hard to understand by buying 50 cent selling 3.20 without doing anything.
Profiting on tongkat? End of the contract , who profiting?

Why 2061? Why not forever? Because they are waiting for technology breakthrough of getting water from the sea at cheaper rate.

Even as it is now, the water rate in Johor is high. Penang and Selangor also isn't as high as Johor. Can't imagine what the new rate will be after we absorbing the other plant in 2061.
Profit now, don't care later. No wonder it's easy to take advantage. Just like loan, get money now, pay later.

I prefer to see it long term.

wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 11:08 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 11:02 AM)
hello genius, if we ask Singapore to pay market rate for our raw water now, they also have right to ask Johor to pay market rate for their treated water.

as this guy already mentioned WAY WAY EARLIER in this tered:
any more smart suggestions?
Hello more genius, we can get the treated water ourselves at cheaper rate than what Ranhill is currently charging. Just like the other forumer here point out, got tongkat, why want work for it mentality is stopping us from doing that.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 4 2019, 11:10 AM
hiro2016
post Mar 4 2019, 11:10 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(p1ulua3 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:55 AM)
Can you imagine this issue goes to the courts?  Will the judge take into account SG's subsidized water sale to Johor? 

Think answer is obviously YES.

What I find most disgusting is that the Malaysian public had been deliberately misled and misinformed by both Dr M and the media.

The link below shows the full facts which Malaysia (including our new PH govt) did not dispute since the 1990s.

To be honest, I do not think Malaysia will bring this to court, if they know what they are doing.

Same goes to the high speed rail, they keep 'tekan' Singapore saying they will cancel and etc. but in the end, they choose to postponed and paid Singapore compensation.

Singapore is a kiasu country, they will make sure that they will have every ammo they have if they want to fight. Not easy to cheat them.

Politic can be disgusting and ugly... to be honest this PH govt is not doing very well at the time being... especially those important issues. and keep blaming the previous govt and 1MDB.

anyway, there's a time limit for them 5 years, we will see.
zerorating
post Mar 4 2019, 11:13 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(MistaKid @ Mar 4 2019, 09:53 AM)
kepala hotak dia free, piping and dam no need maintain ka, salary to maintain those infra no need to pay ka?
selling at 3cent per 1000gallon is like selling at loss.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Mar 4 2019, 11:15 AM
yeelong
post Mar 4 2019, 11:15 AM

K for /K
1,218 posts

Open out the agreement details then only we can read and debate. Now it's only heresay.

1) Why wasn't Malaysia insist of review the new rate in 1987?
2) Does the agreement has a clause that both countries will have reserved the right to review the price in the future when it deem to be unfair to either one of them?

And a lot of question marks. But agreement/contract is signed and must honored regardless. Like how Malaysia cancelled some project with China and need to compensate for the cancellation of the contract. That will apply the water deal as well.

SUSp1ulua3
post Mar 4 2019, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(zerorating @ Mar 4 2019, 11:13 AM)
kepala hotak dia free, piping and dam no need maintain ka, salary to maintain those infra no need to pay ka?
You are damn right.

Like other MY public, I din know it is SG that pay for all these costs.

On top of this, SG is selling treated water at a heavily subsidized price of 50 sen to Johor.

Totally disgusted that Dr M and the media did not tell us this fact vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

You can read the facts from the link below:

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 11:24 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 11:08 AM)
Hello more genius, we can get the treated water ourselves at cheaper rate than what Ranhill is currently charging. Just like the other forumer here point out, got tongkat, why want work for it mentality is stopping us from doing that.
hello genius, what part of this infographic you don't understand?

johor are getting treated water at ZERO (0) cost, what is more cheaper than ZERO?

as mentioned many2 times in this tered also, why is ranhill charging us higher?

how much is ranhill paying johor govt.?

who else is ranhill paying from the fat 100% profit they make each time they sell water to consumers?

TL; DR who is really getting richer from selling free stuff?

open your eyes and see who has been conning who....

Mai189
post Mar 4 2019, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 11:10 AM)
To be honest, I do not think Malaysia will bring this to court, if they know what they are doing.

Same goes to the high speed rail, they keep 'tekan' Singapore saying they will cancel and etc. but in the end, they choose to postponed and paid Singapore compensation.

Singapore is a kiasu country, they will make sure that they will have every ammo they have if they want to fight. Not easy to cheat them.

Politic can be disgusting and ugly... to be honest this PH govt is not doing very well at the time being... especially those important issues. and keep blaming the previous govt and 1MDB.

anyway, there's a time limit for them 5 years, we will see.
I do hope malaysia brings this to icj or whatever. Just to proof Tun wrong. Im appreciative of truths but not outright lies..that is deceiving the rakyat and morally wrong.

For info, Sg will not lose as it is complying with the international agreement. Malaysia, on the other hand, wants a change to a signed agreement.

There is no way

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 11:25 AM

240 posts

1. Singapore pays for all of that too, until end of 2061.

so, it is free. to johor and ranhill.

kenapa, tak percaya ke?
prophetjul
post Mar 4 2019, 11:34 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:49 AM)

=)
SG is already self reliant as far as treated water is concerned. Except of course, its more expensive to treated using RO technologies.

AFAIK they have already in place treatement capacities which are more than demand in place.
Howevre, due to water security, in early 2000, they have already planned to have capacities of 2 TIMES the demand. biggrin.gif

wanted111who
post Mar 4 2019, 11:38 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 4 2019, 11:24 AM)
hello genius, what part of this infographic you don't understand?

johor are getting treated water at ZERO (0) cost, what is more cheaper than ZERO?

as mentioned many2 times in this tered also, why is ranhill charging us higher?

how much is ranhill paying johor govt.?

who else is ranhill paying from the fat 100% profit they make each time they sell water to consumers?

TL; DR who is really getting richer from selling free stuff?

open your eyes and see who has been conning who....
Johor getting treated water at zero cost? The 50 cent we paying SG is not a cost?

Also you admitted that Ranhill is taking over the plant hand over by SG in 2011, they are maintaining it. Pay 50 cent for treated water from SG, summore pay to maintain the 44 plant taken over in 2011 from SG.

Go figure.
In 2061, there are another plant hand over to us.

weissPC
post Mar 4 2019, 11:47 AM

316 posts

Singapore paid for the infra (dams, piping, water treatment plants, the land required, etc), not to say I prefer this arrangement but Singapore follow the agreement and even went beyond the agreement to supply extra treated water to Johor. And when Johor cannot supply enough water as per the agreement, Singapore built extra infra for Malaysia which will be given to Malaysia once the contract period expires.

I'd say we better wise up to what Tun M is doing, and make our own conclusions.

We can say we kena conned by building a causeway that prevented ships to bypass Singapore port but that could be moot if China's belt and road initiative works (China is planning multiple infra to bypass Straits of Melacca, from Myanmar, or Isthmus of Kra in Thailand, or Port Klang to Kuantan Port, or even from Europe straight to China by rail).

Building the stupid crooked bridge won't help and arguing over the water agreement won't help in the big scheme of things.

Why need to compete when you can complement and strive for win-win? Up our game, focus on our strengths and let Singapore focus on theirs. Tun M is letting old wounds cloud his judgement or divert from what's really urgent, and saying things that rakyat don't want to hear.

Furthermore, spending money on military hardware upgrades to show to your neighbours is also not the best use of resources when you can make peace and divert the money to better use.

All this emo emo and political posturing is not really helping the day to day struggles that Malaysians are facing.
80ers
post Mar 4 2019, 12:03 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(weissPC @ Mar 4 2019, 11:47 AM)
Singapore paid for the infra (dams, piping, water treatment plants, the land required, etc), not to say I prefer this arrangement but Singapore follow the agreement and even went beyond the agreement to supply extra treated water to Johor. And when Johor cannot supply enough water as per the agreement, Singapore built extra infra for Malaysia which will be given to Malaysia once the contract period expires.

I'd say we better wise up to what Tun M is doing, and make our own conclusions.

We can say we kena conned by building a causeway that prevented ships to bypass Singapore port but that could be moot if China's belt and road initiative works (China is planning multiple infra to bypass Straits of Melacca, from Myanmar, or Isthmus of Kra in Thailand, or Port Klang to Kuantan Port, or even from Europe straight to China by rail).

Building the stupid crooked bridge won't help and arguing over the water agreement won't help in the big scheme of things.

Why need to compete when you can complement and strive for win-win? Up our game, focus on our strengths and let Singapore focus on theirs. Tun M is letting old wounds cloud his judgement or divert from what's really urgent, and saying things that rakyat don't want to hear.

Furthermore, spending money on military hardware upgrades to show to your neighbours is also not the best use of resources when you can make peace and divert the money to better use.

All this emo emo and political posturing is not really helping the day to day struggles that Malaysians are facing.
Lol, people keep on bringing that bridge!

Did you all know that even with that crooked bridge big ships cant go through there because of 2nd bridge?

Not only that, the strait water is way too shallow and narrow.

Lastly, with the treacherous route, do you guys really think it will save a lot of time going through that straits?

aciko
post Mar 4 2019, 12:10 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 09:51 PM)
Also if msia cuts sg water, I think many sg ppl will boycott msia imported goods and pull investments out.

Johor GDP will fall 50% the next year for sure.

Most of their malls will.collapse, all the condos no one will buy, all the parks like venting or legoland all will.collapse. all the factories and farms will suffer and maybe close unless they can switch to exporting to another developed country with rich consumers like Australia, Japan or Korea (probably cannot as they have no connections)

If sg wants, it can also not renew all.msian work visas and send them home the economy will suffer further.

Maybe usa or UN will.sanction msia for breaking contract and no buy msian products, economy will fall even more.

So don't think it is cost free even if there is no war.

Like I said, sg is a developed country and it is the big customer of msia.
and how are they going to survive without water? and how are they going to justify 3sen per 1000gallon of water in2019 ? no one will say this agreement is fair ? johor will collapse ? maybe singapore will collapse first without water
Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 12:19 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 4 2019, 11:38 AM)
Johor getting treated water at zero cost? The 50 cent we paying SG is not a cost?

Also you admitted that Ranhill is taking over the plant hand over by SG in 2011, they are maintaining it. Pay 50 cent for treated water from SG, summore pay to maintain the 44 plant taken over in 2011 from SG.

Go figure.
In 2061, there are another plant hand over to us.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

I give up.

what part of getting paid RM3.10/1000 gallon for doing nothing that you refuse to understand?

what part of getting a multi million dollar water treatment plant for FREE that you can't understand?

what part of ranhill and johor govt. profiting from johor consumers that you seem to not understand?

even if after 2061, cost to treat water stay the same (RM2.40), cost of raw water is now zero (bcos it's all water in johor and we don't sell anymore to Singapore) and selling it at RM3.60, that's still gross profit of RM1.20 from previous of RM3.10.

no loan to pay off from building water plant etc.

free money! from selling raw water!

bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

Faidzal
post Mar 4 2019, 12:21 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 4 2019, 11:50 AM)
Let me try to understand you.

Think your intellect is unmatched in MY except by Dr M himself rclxms.gif

SG built a house (free of charge) for us, handed to us and we are complaining why SG is not continuing to pay for its upkeep.

Is this what you are saying?
his usual counter is that we pay singapore RM0.50! not free! Singapore tipu!

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Zot
post Mar 4 2019, 12:24 PM

7,934 posts

The main point is that barang sudah naik harga dalam masa beberapa tahun tapi air tak naik berpuluh-puluh tahun
Mai189
post Mar 4 2019, 12:36 PM

And Sgs point is that this is an international agreement. Kejanjian antara dua jiran. Nevermind the moral part of keeping to your promises or what Islam says about it. Furthermore, Tun forgo the right of review in 1987. So why the fuss?

To tell you the truth. I do believe Sg given its wealth is prepared to pay more. But how did My approach Sg? Accuse this..accuse that. Do you really expect Sg to say yes esp. when it is economically, militarily and financially better.

Sg will just sit there and watch My moan and groan. In a few years, they will just stop buying - this is their stated goal anyway.
ja836kyau
post Mar 4 2019, 12:49 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(aciko @ Mar 4 2019, 12:10 PM)
and how are they going to survive without water? and how are they going to justify 3sen per 1000gallon of water in2019 ? no one will say this agreement is fair ? johor will collapse ? maybe singapore will collapse first without water
Are you suggesting that Baru Malaysia should not honour the written agreement and sacrifice Johor?

The world is watching us cry.gif

This post has been edited by ja836kyau: Mar 4 2019, 12:50 PM
smwah
post Mar 4 2019, 01:30 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Ok. Is the whole damn popping and treatment is all build by own cost Sg? Then if yes, why hoo haa. We pay for treated water and sell it with profit to consumer with profit. If you say Sg profit, but then they had to bare for operation cost. At the end both parties also no loose. We sell raw and and resale treated water to consumer and profit.

Since we got the plant for foc why not sell raw water more expensive so we can earn more at both sections.
Off course is good idea. But you think Sg bodoh like how to enforce those indah water charges on us? We dun have tongkat card to play with Sg.Over here, as long tongkat card activated we can't do anything.

This post has been edited by smwah: Mar 4 2019, 01:33 PM
ja836kyau
post Mar 4 2019, 01:55 PM

27 posts

Just sad that our PM and media willfully announce selected information about the water deal sad.gif

Dont think Malaysians know about SG spent billions of RM and handover Lingui dam and water infrastructure to Johor in 1990.

No wonder Dr M didn't review the price of water in 1987 as provided in the agreement.

hiro2016
post Mar 4 2019, 02:22 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 4 2019, 11:34 AM)
SG is already self reliant as far as treated water is concerned. Except of course, its more expensive to treated using RO technologies.

AFAIK they have already in place treatement capacities which are more than demand in place.
Howevre, due to water security, in early 2000, they have already planned to have capacities of 2 TIMES the demand.  biggrin.gif
i think it's the desalination plants.. yea it's quite pricey.. haha..
hiro2016
post Mar 4 2019, 02:23 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Mar 4 2019, 11:25 AM)
I do hope malaysia brings this to icj or whatever. Just to proof Tun wrong. Im appreciative of truths but not outright lies..that is deceiving the rakyat and morally wrong.

For info, Sg will not lose as it is complying with the international agreement.  Malaysia, on the other hand, wants a change to a signed agreement.

There is no way
hahaha.. if they bring.. then the AG will have a very very hard time.. lol..
SUSekookekook
post Mar 4 2019, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:23 PM)
hahaha.. if they bring.. then the AG will have a very very hard time.. lol..
Think Malaysia sure lose.

The court will have full information. Especially the fact that SG paid billions of RM in building Lingui dam and Johor water infra.

Only the Malaysian public who had been misled and mis-informed by Dr M and the Malaysian media will think otherwise.

styrwr91
post Mar 4 2019, 02:40 PM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

QUOTE(aciko @ Mar 4 2019, 12:10 PM)
and how are they going to survive without water?
they saw this coming and has been preparing since. years ago they spent a lot of money on building water catchment/purifying facilities, reservoirs and educating their citizens abt how they are working towards water self sufficiency..

they should be self sufficient now, if not close too... there's little meaning in threatening sg on closing the tap, aside from cheap publicity
cassian948
post Mar 4 2019, 02:42 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(ja836kyau @ Mar 4 2019, 01:55 PM)
Just sad that our PM and media willfully announce selected information about the water deal sad.gif

Dont think Malaysians know about SG spent billions of RM and handover Lingui dam and water infrastructure to Johor in 1990.

No wonder Dr M didn't review the price of water in 1987 as provided in the agreement.
Over a billion dollar spend since 1962 for 3 sen water price (57 years price lock)
ja836kyau
post Mar 4 2019, 02:54 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:42 PM)
Over a billion dollar spend since 1962 for 3 sen water price (57 years price lock)
RM 1billion in 1990s dollars is how much today?

Anyway, DR M agreed not to review in 1987. Scold him if you think he is stupid.

The key issue is the Malaysian public is not aware of this FACT vmad.gif vmad.gif
Artus
post Mar 4 2019, 03:07 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 4 2019, 11:36 AM)
Just realized Dr M set up tax haven, Labuan.

Any views?

Did he think about neighbouring countries?
Tax havens depend on double-taxation agreements with many countries to survive. Singapore is not technically a tax haven. Most tax havens don't have personal income, corporate and sales taxes.

If another country doesn't have double-taxation agreement with Labuan, its companies cannot make use of it to avoid tax.

What Singapore is doing is disguising transfer pricing activity as some kind of a value-added activity when they are actually just small office set up there to do re-invoicing. Nothing compared to the full scale factory or mine or plantation of the origin country that earned the profit.

For this kind of set up the Singapore government gives an investment incentive such as a corporate tax rate of below 1%. Even at 0%, Singapore already earned from all the accounting, IT and legal services, rent, utility, salaries. But the other countries lose a lot of revenue. Revenue that they totally deserve.

Artus
post Mar 4 2019, 03:17 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:22 PM)
i think it's the desalination plants.. yea it's quite pricey.. haha..
It could even be pricier if they use distillation as the method of desalination.

Right now Singapore is using reverse osmosis, which is not as energy-intensive as distillation. But reverse osmosis cannot remove everything, only distillation can.

Pharmaceuticals, herbicides, pesticides can be found in the reverse osmosis water. Not easy to remove them all. That's why scientists are warning about the use of desalinated water.

I thought I read some ktard said that RO water in Singapore is making some people sick and had been stopped so it is used for industrial purposes instead.

pgsiemkia
post Mar 4 2019, 03:52 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(p1ulua3 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:45 AM)
Are you Malaysian?

Do you respect written agreement?

Wait, are you BN macai cos Baru Malaysia and PH respect rule of law rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Diam-la dupe! need to create new account to answer? All singkies know is how to con malaysians...water deal is one sided from day one. Who needs the water more, singkies or johor? Laws and contracts can be broken if unfair and one-sided..

Strike
post Mar 4 2019, 04:15 PM

51 posts

well msians support madey

those oppose are traitors macai bn
SUSp1ulua3
post Mar 4 2019, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Mar 4 2019, 03:52 PM)
Diam-la dupe! need to create new account to answer? All singkies know is how to con malaysians...water deal is one sided from day one. Who needs the water more, singkies or johor? Laws and contracts can be broken if unfair and one-sided..
Strange you still think the water deal is one sided.

Because SG paid 3 sen?

How about SG spent billions of RM in building Lingui dam and Johor infra?

How about Dr M chose not to review in 1987 because of SG billions?

The facts can be found here.

We are macam BN macai defending 1MDB if we don't know the full facts sad.gif

This post has been edited by p1ulua3: Mar 4 2019, 04:20 PM
SUSp1ulua3
post Mar 4 2019, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(Strike @ Mar 4 2019, 04:15 PM)

I support PH and Baru Malaysia.

Because I want my children to respect rule of law and honour agreements.

The last thing I want is samseng behavior macam Jamal Yunos.

TSzacky chan
post Mar 4 2019, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(Strike @ Mar 4 2019, 04:15 PM)

nod.gif
Nannostomuss
post Mar 4 2019, 11:06 PM

Don’t even attempt to bring this issue to the international court haven’t we had enough of embarrassment we lost the island and now if we go court and the math genius next door will start tipping on their calculator from facilties management to human resource than times how many years then back date 100 years ago lolZ. Like i said stop living in denial. The more we flip and flop the worse our life will be...FDI will be Super cautious when investing in Malaysia, fyi there are tons of foreign companies in Singapore and they eyeing us like a hawk for better or worse.

This post has been edited by Nannostomuss: Mar 4 2019, 11:07 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 5 2019, 07:15 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Mar 3 2019, 10:02 AM)
that's what happen when you properly use a cadre system to pick your MPs and inevitably future leaders.

but of course it will mean only the elites will rule...
dari kasi power to monkeys who cannot behave well...

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0492sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 06:45 PM