EPF - self contribution, need advise

Wedchar2912
post Dec 10 2025, 12:16 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Dec 10 2025, 12:08 PM)
If contribution is over the 100k limit, how long does it take for them to refund the excess?
cannot remember exactly... but within a few biz days.
fyi: they will refund that entire deposit transaction, not just the excesss.
purplefellow
post Dec 10 2025, 12:59 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 10 2025, 12:16 PM)
cannot remember exactly... but within a few biz days.
fyi: they will refund that entire deposit transaction, not just the excesss.
Thanks, it's almost a week since they notified me about it. sweat.gif
Apparently they are refunding excess now? I've already sent my bank acc, but got no replies after that. I guess I'll just wait and see.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 10 2025, 01:10 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Dec 10 2025, 12:59 PM)
Thanks, it's almost a week since they notified me about it. sweat.gif
Apparently they are refunding excess now? I've already sent my bank acc, but got no replies after that. I guess I'll just wait and see.
oh wow... tq for this new updated info. So looks like they had improved on their process/capability.

Last time when I tested, they called me and informed me all will be returned. This new process is much better, albeit a bit long. rclxms.gif
kochin
post Dec 10 2025, 03:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

greetings.
how does the matching voluntary savings work?
and the limit per annum?

my son is working part time.
i intend to save some money into his account to be eligible for the matching grant.

please advise limit and expectation of grants to be in.

is it RM600 per annum subject to RM6k max in lifetime? or something like that?

thank you.
MUM
post Dec 10 2025, 03:59 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 10 2025, 03:47 PM)
greetings.
how does the matching voluntary savings work?
and the limit per annum?

my son is working part time.
i intend to save some money into his account to be eligible for the matching grant.

please advise limit and expectation of grants to be in.

is it RM600 per annum subject to RM6k max in lifetime? or something like that?

thank you.
Looks like need to go higher education then can only apply and depends on parents income too.
More info......
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/en/simpan-sspn/sim.../geran-sepadan/

Oops, ...that above info and link is for sspn matching grant.
For Epf i am not sure of any matching grant. I only heard of i saraan incentives

Thanks Guy3288 for correcting

This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 10 2025, 04:21 PM
kochin
post Dec 10 2025, 04:03 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 10 2025, 03:59 PM)
Looks like need to go higher education then can only apply and depends on parents income too.
More info......
aiseh.... looks like damn hard wei....

anyway, just revisited the previously podcast or article about turning RM150k into RM1mil.

if you pump in RM100,000k to your child when he/she turns 18 and top up another RM50k when he/she turns 25, he/she should have RM1mil by age 59/60.
I ran a 5% annual interest rate and it's true.

so i guess to enable my child to be millionaire by 60, i need to do something similar!
MUM
post Dec 10 2025, 04:10 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 10 2025, 04:03 PM)

anyway, just revisited the previously podcast or article about turning RM150k into RM1mil.

if you pump in RM100,000k to your child when he/she turns 18 and top up another RM50k when he/she turns 25, he/she should have RM1mil by age 59/60.

so i guess to enable my child to be millionaire by 60, i need to do something similar!
If for me, ... I would just go for some equity investing since hv long investing horizon and transfers to their own investing account when they can open their own investment account.
Also If childten needed money before age 55 later...they can still take out, but if in EPF, ...must reach certain age or met certain conditions

This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 10 2025, 04:33 PM
guy3288
post Dec 10 2025, 04:10 PM

5,896 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 10 2025, 03:59 PM)
More info......
totally different thing he asked biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 10 2025, 04:03 PM)

you are asking about matching i saraan from EPF

or are you asking for matching PTPTn money for the poor
whose kid just received offer letter from recognised university?

so different bro... tongue.gif
nexona88
post Dec 10 2025, 04:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

kochin

Looks like you're asking about i-saraan...

It's actually 500 per year or 5k lifetime.... Not 600 or 6k lifetime (unless your children intended to drive grabs, Foodpanda etc.)

EPF account minimum age is 14yo
kochin
post Dec 11 2025, 08:34 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 10 2025, 04:56 PM)
kochin

Looks like you're asking about i-saraan...

It's actually 500 per year or 5k lifetime.... Not 600 or 6k lifetime (unless your children intended to drive grabs, Foodpanda etc.)

EPF account minimum age is 14yo
yes i-saraan.
to yearly give kiddo rm2,500 to be entitled matching rm500 from gomen?
repeat for 10 years to max out rm5k matching grant?
MUM
post Dec 11 2025, 08:45 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 11 2025, 08:34 AM)
yes i-saraan.
I think it is termed as " incentives"
And yes for 10 yrs, ...if the kiddo still does not hv salary income from employer

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/savings/i-saraan
BenChiew
post Dec 11 2025, 06:45 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 11 2025, 08:34 AM)
yes i-saraan.
Percentage does change every year. Last year was 15%. This year is 20%.
Also another limitation other than max rm5k is up to age 60.
BboyDora
post Dec 12 2025, 10:27 AM

2,367 posts

hi all, wanna ask, the limit self contribute / i saraan is RM 100k, so when should I dump in? beginning of the year January 2026 to get the annual div?
brandonkl
post Dec 12 2025, 10:40 AM

-
997 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 12 2025, 10:27 AM)
hi all, wanna ask, the limit self contribute / i saraan is RM 100k, so when should I dump in? beginning of the year January 2026 to get the annual div?
Yes, before 31 January 2026. Safest is around 27 to 29 January.
nexona88
post Dec 12 2025, 10:41 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 12 2025, 10:27 AM)
January is best time to get maximum dividend

1 day for January + 11 month...

But remember since you only get 1 day for January... Do please deposit last week of January only to minimize interest losses....
BboyDora
post Dec 12 2025, 11:55 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 12 2025, 10:41 AM)

But remember since you only get 1 day for January... Do please deposit last week of January only to minimize interest losses....
arigato!! notworthy.gif
virtualgay
post Yesterday, 08:43 AM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 12 2025, 10:41 AM)

Deposit on December last week so get full divid for the entire 2026 provided you have self contribution limit
A lot of ppl here normally max out so we have to use the January window of last week of Jan
nexona88
post Yesterday, 08:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Dec 13 2025, 08:43 AM)
Deposit on December last week so get full divid for the entire 2026 provided you have self contribution limit
A lot of ppl here normally max out so we have to use the January window of last week of Jan
This one also good suggestions...

Actually didn't think about it...

But like you said... Many have max out their limit for the year... Many quite well off people we have around lowyat forum 💪🤑💵
touristking
post Yesterday, 09:21 AM

5,831 posts

Funny in 2018, people saying EPF will collapse and better take money out. Now, people rushing to put money in instead.

For me, I just put in whenever I have spare cash laying around regardless of which month

This post has been edited by touristking: Yesterday, 09:23 AM
doremon
post Yesterday, 09:31 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 13 2025, 09:21 AM)
Funny in 2018, people saying EPF will collapse and better take money out. Now, people rushing to put money in instead.

For me, I just put in whenever I have spare cash laying around regardless of which month
The way I look at it, EPF is the safest option to treat as a pension scheme, aside from the government pension scheme.

Seventeen of my close personal friends whom I personally know are living on passive income from EPF dividends alone. Youngest is 38 and is getting RM20k monthly from dividends only.

I am almost reaching RM1 million now but I need a few more bonuses to exceed RM1 million.

I don’t care what people say about going for gold, unit trusts, insurance or Bitcoin. I’m going all out with EPF now.

Because if EPF collapses, Malaysia will collapse as well.

295 Pages « < 292 293 294 295 >Top

0.0204sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:01 PM